$24 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 22, 2015 Check-out: Jan 23, 2015

I Residence Hotel Sathorn

3 stars
269/29-30 Suanplu Soi 6 Sathorn Rd., Thungmahamek Sathorn, Bangkok, 10120
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
45 reviews
Very nice hotel

Great value, comfortable beds with hard wood floors so the rooms are easy to keep clean. Good hot... See full review

  • BadNickname
  • Oct 9, 2014
Great rate rooms

Excellent room services and the reception team were greatly professional and friendly while the... See full review

  • Ma yaya
  • Apr 11, 2014
Quiet, inexpensive Bangkok hotel with fitness center and steam baths
Independent travelers watching their budgets keep the I Residence Hotel Sathorn in mind. A great, inexpensive choice down a quiet, tree-lined alley, the I Residence Hotel Sathorn offers studios and suites with kitchenettes and balconies. Though slightly out of the way, the hotel provides its guests with hourly tuk-tuk service to the nearest Skytrain and MRT stations. A café on the 9th floor serves a buffet breakfast and the fitness center includes steam baths.
Highlights
  • Business center with free Internet access
  • Fitness center with steam baths
  • Studios and suites have kitchenettes with microwaves and refrigerator

 

Rooms
Modestly-sized studios and roomier suites at I Residence Hotel Sathorn are clean and bright with plenty of natural light. All of these serviced apartments come with wood floors, balconies and kitchenettes with microwaves and full-size refrigerators. Amenities include satellite/cable TV, hot water kettle and in-room safe. One-bedroom junior suites and two-bedroom family suites offer more space. Wireless Internet access is available (fees apply).

 

Features
The I Residence Hotel Sathorn features studios and suites with kitchenettes that allow for self-catering. The well-equipped fitness center has all the necessities, plus steam baths. A business corner on the 9th floor includes computers with free Internet access. Also on the 9th floor, the café serves a buffet breakfast in addition to meals throughout the day. Though I Residence Hotel Sathorn is tucked down a quiet alley, the surrounding neighborhood is full of local restaurants and convenience stores. The nightlife of Silom is a few minutes away by tuk-tuk or taxi, as are Skytrain and MRT stations.

Transportation
  • Bangkok Suvarnabhumi International Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
  • Don Muang International Airport (16.3 mi/26.2 km)
  • Lumphini MRT station (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sala Daeng BTS Skytrain station (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Complimentary hourly tuk-tuk service to nearest Skytrain station
Attractions
  • Suan Lum Night Bazaar (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Patpong Night Market (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Lumphini Park (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • MBK (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Siam Square (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Wat Pho (3.5 mi/5.7 km)

 

Business
  • High-speed wireless Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed I Residence Hotel Sathorn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

I Residence Hotel Sathorn Rooms

Superior
24 SQm. This room offers one double bed or twin bed with A/C, Balcony/Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenties, Cable/Satellite Tv , Color TV, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.. ****Free Internet conner at lobby and schedule Tuk Tuk to Sky Train and Subway ( Saladeang Staion )Silom Area
Deluxe
30 Sqm. This room offers one double bed or twin bed with A/C, Balcony/Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenties, Cable/Satellite Tv , Color TV, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Ironing board, Kettle, Kitchenette, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone. ****Free Internet conner at lobby and schedule Tuk Tuk to Sky Train and Subway ( Saladeang Staion )Silom Area
Executive Deluxe
35 Sqm. This room offers one king sized bed or double bed with A/C, Balcony/Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenties, Cable/Satellite Tv , Color TV, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Ironing board, Kettle, Full kitchen, Kitchenette, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone. ****Free Internet conner at lobby and schedule Tuk Tuk to Sky Train and Subway ( Saladeang Staion )Silom Area
Junior suite
40 Sqm. This room offers one king sized bed or double bed with A/C, Balcony/Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenties, Cable/Satellite Tv , Color TV, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Ironing board, Kettle, Full kitchen, Kitchenette, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone. ****Free Internet conner at lobby and schedule Tuk Tuk to Sky Train and Subway ( Saladeang Staion )Silom Area
Family suite
50 SQm.( 2 Bed Room ( 1 King Bed with 1 Queen Bed offer Breakfast for 4 Persons) This room offers one king sized bed and twin bed with A/C, Balcony/Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenties, Cable/Satellite Tv , Color TV, DVD player, Hairdryer, Internet access, Ironing board, Kettle, Full kitchen, Kitchenette, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone. ****Free Internet conner at lobby and schedule Tuk Tuk to Sky Train and Subway ( Saladeang Staion )Silom Area

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Suan Lum Night Bazaar: 0.6 mi
  • Lumpini: 0.6 mi
  • Patpong: 0.8 mi
  • Hall of Railway Heritage: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Imaging Technology: 1.3 mi
  • Ratchadamri: 1.4 mi
  • Snake Farm: 1.4 mi
  • Erawan Shrine: 1.7 mi
  • Siam Ocean World: 1.8 mi
  • Siam Paragon: 1.8 mi
  • Hua Lamphong: 1.9 mi
  • Soi Cowboy: 2 mi
  • Platinum Mall: 2.1 mi
  • Central World: 2.1 mi
  • Q Bar Club: 2.1 mi
  • Suan Lum Night Bazaar: 0.6 mi
  • Lumpini: 0.6 mi
  • Patpong: 0.8 mi
  • Hall of Railway Heritage: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Imaging Technology: 1.3 mi
  • Ratchadamri: 1.4 mi
  • Snake Farm: 1.4 mi
  • Erawan Shrine: 1.7 mi
  • Siam Ocean World: 1.8 mi
  • Siam Paragon: 1.8 mi
  • Hua Lamphong: 1.9 mi
  • Soi Cowboy: 2 mi
  • Platinum Mall: 2.1 mi
  • Central World: 2.1 mi
  • Q Bar Club: 2.1 mi
  • Wat Traimit: 2.1 mi
  • Panthip Plaza: 2.1 mi
  • Jim Thompson House: 2.1 mi
  • Emporium: 2.2 mi
  • Phetchaburi: 2.5 mi
  • Bangkok Chinatown: 2.5 mi
  • Ratchathewi: 2.7 mi
  • Princess Mother Memorial Park: 2.9 mi
  • Science Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Phayathai: 3 mi
  • The Golden Mount: 3.1 mi
  • Chalermkrung Royal Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Bed Supper Club: 3.2 mi
  • Pak Khlong Talat: 3.2 mi
  • Wat Ratchanatdaram: 3.3 mi
  • Wat Suthat Thepwararam: 3.3 mi
  • Ban Chang Thai: 3.4 mi
  • Wat Ratchabophit: 3.5 mi
  • Rajadamnern: 3.5 mi
  • Democracy Monument: 3.6 mi
  • Wat Pho: 3.6 mi
  • Phra Nakhon: 3.7 mi
  • Wat Arun: 3.7 mi
  • Grand Palace: 3.7 mi
  • Wat Phra Kaew: 3.8 mi
  • Dusit Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • Wat Bowon Niwet: 3.8 mi
  • Khaosan: 3.9 mi
  • Sanam Luang: 3.9 mi
  • Thailand Cultural Centre: 4 mi

Dining

Coffee Shop
- Coffee Shop serves International and Thai meals. Open from 07:00 to 21:00 every day, - Room service is available from 08:00 to 21:00. every day

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for I Residence Hotel Sathorn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 45
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.3

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of I Residence Hotel Sathorn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bangkok Adventurer
Business
China
Feb 22, 2013

Nice location for a quiet holiday

We have stayed in this hotel many times. This booking was for some friends of ours who were first-time Chinese international travelers. They enjoyed having a tuk tuk shuttle to the BTS and shopping area. Their room was clean and comfortable, though small. The bathroom requires that you cllose the door to use it. We believe they would choose this hotel again if they traveled to bangkok again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a couple of restaurants well worth the visit. Chez Pepin, just north-west, offers fantastic authentic French food in a nice comfortable setting, Uncle John, just south on the next street, offers a nice menu with original and well prepared Thai fusion food, as well as excellent western dishes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of I Residence Hotel Sathorn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bark
Business
seattle
Jan 16, 2012

Hello

Off the beaten path, but I liked being in this neighbourhood. Everything that we needed was around. Food incredibly cheap in this neighbourhood, about a dollar a meal not including drink. About 2 kilo to downtown center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The local open market just half a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of I Residence Hotel Sathorn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 23, 2011

Nice price, difficult to find

No complaints for the price we got. The room was nice and clean and the staff was friendly. They provide you an hour of free wifi and also have computers available in the lobby. They have a free tuk tuk that runs hourly to the Sala Daeng sky train which is very helpful, but otherwise the location is not great. We had a hard time finding cab drivers who knew the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of I Residence Hotel Sathorn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nagoya, Japan
May 15, 2011

Good location, fair price

Good location, being close to the famous Silom Road, ca. 10 -15min walk. Nearby, there are plenty of small shops, Family Mart, a market with fresh vegetables, street food and laundry service. More local then touristic, which I appreciated. Some hotel rooms have also a small kitchen counter. If you travel with kids, it's very convenient. The hotel provides also tuck - tuck service to the closest subway station. You can also walk for 10 min. to get to Sala Daeng Subway station. It you plan some organized trips, you can book them at the hotel too. For example: The Tiger Temple, 2h away, is a unique experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Silom Rd. 10 -15 min walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of I Residence Hotel Sathorn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bangkok Frequenter
Business
Colordo Springs, CO via Guangzhou, China
May 4, 2011

Home Away from Home

Taking holiday in Bangkok three or four times each year, this is our choice of hotel every time... our home away from home.Though i-Residence Sathorn lacks a few luxury amenities, it lacks those we do not typically use anyway, like a swimming pool. Really, why not go to Bangkoks great water park instead?i-Residence has gradually improved their restaurant facility, from a limited hour suite on the ninth floor to the addition of a detached evening patio beer garden to placing the beer garden along the nice entry driveway into the hotel, open well into to late evening. Food has improved slightly, though we tend to head twice around the corner, one block, then around the corner again to a great little gem called Uncle John's. There are a plethora of choices for an appetite all around this quaint little neighborhood. The i-Residence free breakfast buffet was adequate, but has always left me craving for things like bacon and potatoes with the nice eggs they cook.The room was clean, as usual, though, again, there were obvious lights that needed replacement and the TV reception was very bad. The staff replaced all the lights within five minutes and improved the TV reception to almost acceptable. This time we found the A/C to be just adequate, though the unit appears relatively new and plenty big for the room. In the past, the A/C could snap freeze the room if we were not careful about the temperature setting. However, the A/C cooled the north facing room adequately. One bright note was the great performance of the shower, though with no bathtub. Water pressure was great, with an abundance of consistent temperature hot water at all hours.[...] In the past, we did not shop around much for hotels in Bangkok, because i-Residence fit our needs so well... the great price and choice of rooms easily sealing the deal. Now, I'm afraid, we'll be doing some shopping around, due mostly to the price increase. We'll consider more seriously the competitive and seemingly great deals offered Aiya, Avana and Forum Park Hotels.Still, overall, we were quite satisfied and comfortable with i-Residence. Both the practicality and the sentimentality in me hopes that i-Residence remains competitive with their prices and room type availability.I recommend this hotel if you are a traveler looking basic hotel services for the purpose of spending the vast majority of your time exploring Bangkok and enjoying the dining, shopping, recreation and hospitality of Bangkok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a nice little restaurant, called Uncle John's. It's a street level restaurant with a clever chef. Walk out of the hotel and left on Soi 6, left on Suan Phlu, one short block, then left again before the 7-Eleven. Look for it on the left about twenty meters in. There are many restaurants like this in this neighborhood. Exploring and finding them is part of the fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of I Residence Hotel Sathorn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bangkok Frequenter
Business
Guangzhou, China
Feb 17, 2011

Nice Place for Frequent Visitors

We visit Bangkok three times each year for holiday, so the staff's effort to remember us and our needs was a bonus. Our room was clean and the small issues we had were dealt with immediately. One issue you should be aware of is the restocking of the fridge. It was not stocked completely upon our arrival, so it was conceivable that we would have been charged for the items missing. I brought this to their attention and they quickly verified that they had not stocked the fridge properly. Problem solved. Wireless used to be free, but I was disappointed to find that they now limit guests to four hours of free wireless and five hours of free hotel desktop internet use. Charges accrue after that. Our standard room was small, but adequate. Fridge, microwave, hotpot, vault, hair dryer were in good working order. I-Residence is on a minor street, sometimes not easily found by taxi drivers. Learn to say the street address in Thai and you will be OK: Suan Phlu, Soi Hok("Soin plew, soy hoke"). We like this hotel because it is away from the major roads and more a part of a Thai neighborhood. Many vendors remember us each visit and are wonderfully Thai in their pleasantness and hospitality. There are many good restaurants and street food vendors in this neigborhood. A local market across the street makes for some fascinating exploration and local Thai shopping. Convenient stores are plentiful. I do not recommend the hotel Thai massage service. it is ridiculously, though customarily, priced. Walk around the corner to a very nice and clean Thai spa that offers a wide variety of services for men and women. They are honest and enjoyable to deal with. Best of all, they are less than half the price of the hotel service. The hotel has a restaurant, though we never used it, except for the free breakfast buffet that our room booking came with. Breakfast was OK, with eggs served how you like, toast, cereal, ham or bacon, milk, tea, coffee, juice, fruit and veggies and other various dishes to choose from. The restaurant is on the ninth floor, so you can get a nice glimpse of Bangkok as well as an overhead view of the neighborhood as you eat. The hotel has a free Tuk Tuk(motorized rickshaw) service that runs every forty five minutes to the BTS Skytrain and other points about the Sathorn/Silom areas, should you not care to walk the ten or fifteen minutes. From the BTS, you can go nearly anywhere in Bangkok, including the airport. Massive and elegant shopping centers, as well as well organized bargain shopping markets are all near the BTS. Family and adult recreation, as well as a plethora of bars and restaurants are everywhere. Tipping is always appreciated, though not demanded or required like Hong Kong or other money grubbing destinations. The Thais are delightful people. I rather enjoy encouraging and rewarding that with gratuities. We usually tip the Tuk Tuk driver, maid service, breakfast buffet and hotel staff 20 Baht. Massage staff gets 100 baht per hour. Waiters get about 10%. Your choice, but remember that a 30 baht tip is only about $1.00 US. Overall, I would recommend this hotel and neighborhood to those looking to get away from the constraints of formal business and social structure and ingratiation. It's perfect for those who would rather spend time away from the hotel on holiday and use it as a place to bathe, rest and sleep, rather than center the hotel as their holiday. We have already booked this hotel for our next Bangkok holiday. See you there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Thailand has their own currency exchange policies that do not necessarily follow Forex exchange rates, except for the US Dollar. Usually the best way to exchange money is by exchange US Dollars for Thai Baht. The reason is that the buy/sell spread is very small with USD, but wider with other currencies. A good illustration of this is the Thai exchange rate for Chinese RMB.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of I Residence Hotel Sathorn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aurora CO.
Aug 19, 2010

I Residence BKK

Good location shopping etc.good value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of I Residence Hotel Sathorn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rev. Mordante
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Jul 25, 2010

Great for the price!

This hotel bills itself as 3 stars and definitely goes beyond when and where it can. The Day Staff is amazingly friendly and helpful, the Night Desk staffer is a bit questionable and not overly helpful so don't deal with him if you can help it (the other members of the night staff are excellent however). You will not get amazing views of Bangkok here from your room so go out and explore! just across the street and down towards the highway is a travel agency that sells excellent day trip packages that will pick you up and drop you off at your hotel. There is a Tuk Tuk to the local BTS station (it's only a 10 min walk once you learn where it is anyway). BTS will save you a ton of time over a taxi by avoiding Bangkok traffic. The hall ways are not air-conditioned as one reviewer noted, but it really wasn't a big deal. The A/C in the room worked well and quickly cools the room down to 20C. Everything worked flawlessly in my room and the cleaning staff do a first rate job of maintaining the rooms. For bad rain days you can rent a DVD player for 100 bhat a day and there is available wi-fi in the rooms for a modest fee. Also all of the TV channels worked except the cartoon channel and they have a few channels in German, French, Japanese and English. Overall, I would rate my stay as excellent and my wife and I stayed in the most inexpensive room they offer for two weeks. We normally stay at 5 star hotels in Bangkok, but we wanted to try some more 'local flavor' and sort of 'get back to the basics' this trip and we had the best time ever on our vacation! Money is never a concern when we travel, but we spent about a quarter of what we usually do and had a much better time than usual.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You will save a lot of money eating at any of the many excellent food vendors along the main street just outside the hotel. My wife and I stayed for two weeks and ate mostly outside the hotel for around 110 bhat (160 bhat for an 'expensive' meal) for two and the food was amazing (if you like Thai style cooking that is).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of I Residence Hotel Sathorn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
freequent traveler
Business
Bay are, California
Jun 24, 2010

I-Residence experience

The price was very attractive that's why i reserved this place , but as the saying goes, " you get what you pay for". The room was not very clean, the shower-head was not in place and broken, the tv-reception was aweful, very hot hallways, very noisy and old mattress and bedding including the sheets, so overall , it was not an excellent choice. i would not do it again. I travel to Thailand very often but i will not stay in this hotel for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of I Residence Hotel Sathorn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paula and Scott
Business
Novi, Michigan, USA
Mar 21, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

This Premmier Residence is everything we need for a hotel. Very clean and quiete room, right size and good layout, friendly and helpful staff. We had very pleasant 7-days stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top