$25 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

I Residence Hotel Sathorn

3 stars
View map of 269/29-30 Suanplu Soi 6 Sathorn Rd., Thungmahamek Sathorn, Bangkok, 10120

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for I Residence Hotel Sathorn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.3

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of I Residence Hotel Sathorn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Taiwan
Jun 4, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

The trip is great and the hotel is amazing with it's price. We get a very good price from Orbitz. The location of hotel is nice, it's convenient to go to the MRT or BTS station and also the Suan-Lum night market. The room is clean and the bed is very confortable. There is WiFi in everyroom, but it has some problems when we stay, although u can use internet by their public computer. The breakfast is good and the staff is very friendly. The check in and check out time are very elastic. However it's a good hotel that I'll visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a taxi to Suam-Lum night market only need 5 min and 50 Bt.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of I Residence Hotel Sathorn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bangkok Frequenter
Business
Guangzhou, China
Feb 17, 2011

Nice Place for Frequent Visitors

We visit Bangkok three times each year for holiday, so the staff's effort to remember us and our needs was a bonus. Our room was clean and the small issues we had were dealt with immediately. One issue you should be aware of is the restocking of the fridge. It was not stocked completely upon our arrival, so it was conceivable that we would have been charged for the items missing. I brought this to their attention and they quickly verified that they had not stocked the fridge properly. Problem solved. Wireless used to be free, but I was disappointed to find that they now limit guests to four hours of free wireless and five hours of free hotel desktop internet use. Charges accrue after that. Our standard room was small, but adequate. Fridge, microwave, hotpot, vault, hair dryer were in good working order. I-Residence is on a minor street, sometimes not easily found by taxi drivers. Learn to say the street address in Thai and you will be OK: Suan Phlu, Soi Hok("Soin plew, soy hoke"). We like this hotel because it is away from the major roads and more a part of a Thai neighborhood. Many vendors remember us each visit and are wonderfully Thai in their pleasantness and hospitality. There are many good restaurants and street food vendors in this neigborhood. A local market across the street makes for some fascinating exploration and local Thai shopping. Convenient stores are plentiful. I do not recommend the hotel Thai massage service. it is ridiculously, though customarily, priced. Walk around the corner to a very nice and clean Thai spa that offers a wide variety of services for men and women. They are honest and enjoyable to deal with. Best of all, they are less than half the price of the hotel service. The hotel has a restaurant, though we never used it, except for the free breakfast buffet that our room booking came with. Breakfast was OK, with eggs served how you like, toast, cereal, ham or bacon, milk, tea, coffee, juice, fruit and veggies and other various dishes to choose from. The restaurant is on the ninth floor, so you can get a nice glimpse of Bangkok as well as an overhead view of the neighborhood as you eat. The hotel has a free Tuk Tuk(motorized rickshaw) service that runs every forty five minutes to the BTS Skytrain and other points about the Sathorn/Silom areas, should you not care to walk the ten or fifteen minutes. From the BTS, you can go nearly anywhere in Bangkok, including the airport. Massive and elegant shopping centers, as well as well organized bargain shopping markets are all near the BTS. Family and adult recreation, as well as a plethora of bars and restaurants are everywhere. Tipping is always appreciated, though not demanded or required like Hong Kong or other money grubbing destinations. The Thais are delightful people. I rather enjoy encouraging and rewarding that with gratuities. We usually tip the Tuk Tuk driver, maid service, breakfast buffet and hotel staff 20 Baht. Massage staff gets 100 baht per hour. Waiters get about 10%. Your choice, but remember that a 30 baht tip is only about $1.00 US. Overall, I would recommend this hotel and neighborhood to those looking to get away from the constraints of formal business and social structure and ingratiation. It's perfect for those who would rather spend time away from the hotel on holiday and use it as a place to bathe, rest and sleep, rather than center the hotel as their holiday. We have already booked this hotel for our next Bangkok holiday. See you there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Thailand has their own currency exchange policies that do not necessarily follow Forex exchange rates, except for the US Dollar. Usually the best way to exchange money is by exchange US Dollars for Thai Baht. The reason is that the buy/sell spread is very small with USD, but wider with other currencies. A good illustration of this is the Thai exchange rate for Chinese RMB.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of I Residence Hotel Sathorn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happytobeme
Business
Virginia Beach VA
Jul 21, 2009

Good clean and quiet

the Hotel is located in a small alley-way, so it was hard to find... but the overall experience was very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of I Residence Hotel Sathorn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lippster
Business
North Adams, MA USA
Jun 12, 2010

Great price, location and staff.

The I Residence is more then I had expected. For the location the price is great. The staff is wonderful in every way. Rooms have everything you need and more. Sky train is walking distance but they still supply free tuktuk service to the Sala Daeng station. Internet service is free in rooms. Great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Sky train is close enough to get to all the suggested sites in Bangkok. Whatever your needs it is not difficult to find what you want. Avoid taxi's in rush hour if possible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of I Residence Hotel Sathorn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 29, 2010

I Residence Hotel Sathorn

The hotel was extrememly clean and the staff was excellent. Thought the hotel was located on a side street, there were plentey of transportation. It only took about 10-15 minures to get to the center town, The local streetws were filed with many food vendors, restaurants, and local banks were plentiful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend. When ever I come to bangkok for a mini vactaion I will definitely stay at this hotel. The room rate was very resaonable and well worth the price. The hotel claimed to only offer 5 hours of internet service per guest, but I was always able to get on internet for free. I am not sure that I used or even 5 hours of intenet service but it certainly was available!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

as I stated earlied there were many places to eact on the street. However, if you are more into fine dinnig, there were several fancy restaurants within walking distance. I also had a chance to go out on the town. I personally did not like where the driver took me, but I was told that you should to the Night to have a Pattaya like experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of I Residence Hotel Sathorn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Amarillo, TX
Jan 26, 2010

Great Hotel for Budget Traveller

Hotel was great. Very clean and upscale. By budget I don't mean like a hostel. This is a very nice hotel. The free breakfast makes it all the more valuable...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the 15 bus on the east side of Sala Deng BTS to get a great tour of the city...7 Baht (20 cents)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of I Residence Hotel Sathorn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tired Marine
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 10, 2010

Tony's Trip

Hotel very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty places to eat..easy access to public transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of I Residence Hotel Sathorn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Siksak
Business
bangkok
Jan 20, 2011

Nice place for stay in town.

This a value hotel in bangkok downtown. Good service and mind. Easy to transfer to airport and to every place in bangkok. Shutle is "tuk tuk" will take you to BTS"sky train" and easy to change to MRT"subway". Room is clean and many of things in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of I Residence Hotel Sathorn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hodgeberries
Business
Yokohama, Japan
Jul 20, 2010

Nice hotel at a great price.

Only being in Bangkok for a few days, we wanted to see as much as possible. We booked this hotel online mostly due to the fairly inexpensive price. The hotel is in a great location, only a short cab ride (depending on traffic) away from many of the Bangkok attractions (Patpong is about a 5-minute drive, the Palace and Buddha were about 20 minutes). The hotel is tucked away off the main road, so be sure to pick up some of their business cards in the lobby to show the cab drivers. The rooms were adequately appointed with A/C, comfortable bed, nice shower, work desk, refrigerator, and kitchenette. Judging from the rooms and other guests, I would say that the hotel caters mostly to long-term stays. The restaurant has a wide selection of great food at a reasonable price. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Each room comes with 2 hours of free wireless internet, after that you have to buy a card. However, it is better than most, because you can log-in/log-off the system, so it only counts the time that you are actually using the internet. Only two complaints for this facility: We had one free day and decided to book a tour through the Hotel Travel guide. It may be different for different tours, but the tour company that we were set up with was expensive and not very organized. The second complaint is the hotel laundry service... it's expensive (compared to the other hotels we stayed at). We had a lot of laundry to do, and opted to go to the laundry-mat around the corner (1-minute walk). Oddly enough, outside the laundry mat is where a lot of Ex-Pats go to hangout, so doing the laundry ended being a pretty entertaining event. Overall, this hotel was a pleasant surprise. I would definitely recommend it to a friend, and will consider staying there again if I go back to Bangkok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Many of the cab drivers in Patpong will realize how close the hotel is try to give you a flat price of 2 or 3 times what the actual metered charge would be. Just insist that they turn on the meter. It's only about a 5 minute drive and should cost about 40 baht.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of I Residence Hotel Sathorn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
XIN L.
Business
SHENZHEN
Feb 10, 2015

nice stay in bkk

I have been in this hotel many times. and love the location, good for nightlife location. and the staff is very friendly. but i still expect the conditioner shall be improved cuz it is a little louder when it is running.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top