$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Holiday Inn DAR ES SALAAM CITY CENTRE

3 stars
AZIKIWE STREET/ UPANGA ROAD JCT, Dar Es Salaam,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
8 reviews
Good centrally located hotel

This hotel is good for business travel or one's last night before flying out. It is located in the... See full review

  • Repeat tourist
  • Dec 26, 2013
Pretty good.

We paid 100 bucks a night and for that price this place was perfect for us. The front desk staff... See full review

  • FrequentGlobalTraveler
  • Apr 4, 2013
Make the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam City Centre hotel your relaxing retreat in the heart of the bustling Tanzanian capital. Just 20 minutes' drive from Julius Nyerere International Airport in Dar es Salaam's major business district, Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam City Centre is a peaceful haven away from the city streets. Your sleek guest room is a stylish home from home with air conditioning to keep you cool. Unwind with flavoured shisha under the thatched canopy of rooftop Al Dar Restaurant , overlooking the Indian Ocean. Host your presentation in one of our 5 modern meeting rooms with wireless Internet , and ask about our good-value package to enjoy refreshments and a 3-course lunch. Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam City Centre's business district location puts embassies, banks and government offices on your doorstep. Our helpful staff can help plan wildlife safaris or trips to Zanzibar's aromatic spice plantations . The ferry terminal for exotic Zanzibar is just a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Follow a workout in our hotel Mini Gym with an indulgent facial in the spa. The menu is as colourful as the decor in Gaucho Restaurant , where mouth-watering Tanzanian dishes like pumpkin and sweet potato curry are served.

Hotel Map

-6.7999 39.2832
Nearby airports
Julius K. Nyerere Int. Airport, (DAR), 15.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn DAR ES SALAAM CITY CENTRE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Executive level
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
Temperature control
Bath tub

Dining

Gaucho Restaurant
El Gaucho is a stylish restaurant located on the ground floor leading to an open air terrace from which you can observe the hustle and bustle of every day Dar city life. Perfect for business lunches or casual dining our sumptous daily buffet proudly serve
Roof Top Al Dar
Set on the 11th Floor, the restaurant has panoramic views overlooking the vast Indian Ocean, the Vibrant Dar es Salaam City with a most relaxing ambience. Uniquely Arabian with the choices of a variety if snacks, tapas and other dishes. Sheesha lounge and
Bar@ONE
A lovely bar with a good selection of drinks as well as food. The food served here has a "tapas style" and suits perfect with the after work drinks. Daily Happy Hours and a cozy outside patio.
BAR@ONE
Bar@One on the hotels 1st floor, offers a wide selection of beverages and assorted snacks throughout the day. The external patio seating area, offers a Big Screen showing all the lastest live sports action from across the globe. Smokers welcome at the o

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn DAR ES SALAAM CITY CENTRE

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.3

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn DAR ES SALAAM CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrequentGlobalTraveler
Oakland, CA
Apr 4, 2013

Pretty good.

We paid 100 bucks a night and for that price this place was perfect for us. The front desk staff are really good. The pool was nice and is open for long ours. The 1st floor has all kinds of stores on it. The roof top bar is really fun and has a good view. The restaurant on the first floor is fine and there breakfast and lunch spreads are good. Im pretty sure they put us in their worst rooms based on the price we paid.... so they weren't perfect but were okay. The worst part about the rooms is that there was so much moister from the bathroom that the whole room kind of felt damp and had a damp smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DAR ES SALAAM CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Repeat tourist
California
Dec 26, 2013

Good centrally located hotel

This hotel is good for business travel or one's last night before flying out. It is located in the city center, not near any tourist sights. The best hotels for tourism and relaxation are located up the Msasani Peninsula. However, I found the Holiday Inn perfect for our purposes. The restaurant was fine and the included breakfast was first rate. Most of all, the air conditioning was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DAR ES SALAAM CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravellingDr
Business
Boston MA
Aug 21, 2010

Best value in downtown Dar

Switched to this hotel from another one in order to have faster, more reliable Internet access. Compared to other hotels in its price-range in Dar, this hotel is very new and luxurious feeling so I find it to be a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DAR ES SALAAM CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lili the Drama Queen
New York City
Aug 22, 2010

You should be near the airport!

All was good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DAR ES SALAAM CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ptm58
Business
DC
Aug 6, 2012

Business travel

For business this is the heart of downtown and although not having beach or view, does have clean rooms, very courteous staff, and decent room service. It's a tad overpriced. if they lower their prices, they could outcompete many other places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DAR ES SALAAM CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Mar 22, 2011

Holiday Inn City Center, Dar es Salaam,

Took a cty tour. Located in Downtown Dar es Sallam, not a good neighborhood. Would not stay there again because of the location. I should have know by the description City Center. My fault.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DAR ES SALAAM CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Lafayette, IN
Jun 16, 2011

Worst ever

We stayed one night on Jun. 10, 2011. Compared to the price, this hotel is too bad. All the hotel staffs (receptionists, restaurant managers, restaurant servers, and so on) were not kind at all. The buffet was terrible. I need to pay separately if I want to have salads, hot plates and dessert. The food? Terrible, too. (Ah, one more thing I wanted to say is that our table was full of our dishes. They didn't get them out.) The tiles in the shower booth were not clean. Was able to see dirty water came out from the lever button for flushing toilet. Consider other hotels if you are looking for one in Dar Es Salaam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn DAR ES SALAAM CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Prince Akeem
Business
Miami
Dec 19, 2013

Showbiz Trip

The Holiday Inn name should be withdrawn from this hotel. Its got the worst service from Check In to Epileptic Internet service. I will never advice my Dog to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Subway and Chinese Restaurants are your best options. Try MarryBrown at Mlimani City Mall for good fast food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search