$166 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

4 stars
Stampfenbachstrasse 60, CH - 8006, ZURICH, 8006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
49 reviews
Location, Location, Location

A very nice hotel conveniently located close to everything: train station, restaurants,... See full review

  • LanaNY
  • Aug 1, 2014
Great Hotel

Really great hotel with a great location, walk to all the sites and walk to train station only 10... See full review

  • Arizona Tennisbum
  • Apr 26, 2014
Cosmopolitan Zurich retreat blends elegance with Swiss chalet charm

Whether in Zurich on business or pleasure, Hotel Continental Zurich (formerly Sofitel Zurich) guests find upscale dining and cozy comforts. The hotel flaunts a stylish blend of rustic and modern design, and guests enjoy globe-trotting cuisine at two on-site restaurants. Charming guest rooms, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and complete business and concierge services bring both comfort and convenience to this Zurich hotel. Premium shopping and cultural attractions are a stroll away.

Highlights
  • Elegant blend of rustic architecture and modern style
  • First-rate in-house dining, including best-in-town Chinese cuisine at Luo's
  • Central location puts major Zurich destinations in easy reach
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Garden terrace open in summer
Rooms

The Hotel Continental Zurich offers 138 newly renovated, stylish guest rooms. Cream-colored walls and sleek lines offset the natural wood furnishings. All rooms feature plush bedding, mini-bars, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and cable/satellite flat-screen TVs with premium channels.

Features

Beam ceilings and wood interiors flaunt a traditional look across the Hotel Continental property, while polished, cosmopolitan touches keep the style contemporary and fresh. Guests are minutes from Zurich's prime shopping and cultural attractions, and the Hauptbahnhof station is around the corner.

 

For recreation and fitness, guests can rent bicycles on-site, or access the neighborhood health club at a discounted rate. Hotel Continental offers a multilingual 24-hour front desk and concierge. On-site parking is also available (fees apply).

Dining

The dining choices at the Hotel Continental are among the best in town, starting with L'Entupada. Guests dine here for savory dishes and cocktails. The Gault Millau-rated Luo's presents gourmet Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner. Room service is available.

Transportation
  • Central Station (Zurich Hauptbahnhof) (2 blocks)
  • Zurich Airport (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
Attractions
  • Swiss National Museum (Landesmuseum) (2 blocks)
  • Museum of Design Zurich (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Fraumunster Church (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Museum of Fine Art (Kunsthaus Zurich) (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Grossmunster Church (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • St. Peter's Church (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Museum Rietberg (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
Business
  • Self-service business center (fees apply)
  • 6 flexible meeting and event rooms available
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection Rooms

Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
Urban Swiss 1-bedroom Suite, including free WIF I, minibar, coffee machine and ironing service. Modern Swiss Chalet Style Suite (538 ft²/50 m²). Bedroom with king bed (180x200), shower & tub, separate WC. Living room with comfortable seating & desk spac
1 Sg bed Std
Urban Swiss Standard Single (bed min. 120x200), shower or tub, tv, WIFI, minibar, kettle, safe. The Swiss chalet style-inspired decor evokes warmth and coziness in this room (226 ft²/21 m²) featuring a single bed, shower, bathtub, WC, air conditioning,
1 Kg bed Std
Urban Swiss Standard King (bed 180x200), shower or tub, TV, WIFI, minibar, kettle, safe. The Swiss Chalet Style inspired decor evokes warmth and coziness in this king size bedded accommodation (269 ft²/25 m²) featuring shower, tub, WC, air-conditioning,
1 Kg bed Sup
Urban Swiss Superior King. Nespresso machine, i Pod charger, Wi-Fi, minibar, ironing service. Swiss chalet style-inspired room with spacious seating area and work area (up to 344 sq. ft./32 m²), with Nespresso machine and iPod charger, shower or bathtub

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Boating
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Shower
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of Design, Zurich: 0.1 mi
  • Main Train Station: 0.2 mi
  • Swiss National Museum: 0.2 mi
  • ETH Zurich: 0.4 mi
  • Old Town: 0.5 mi
  • West Zurich (Left Bank-Rail Station): 0.6 mi
  • Fraumunster: 0.6 mi
  • Altstadt: 0.7 mi
  • Rennweg Zurich: 0.8 mi
  • Kunsthaus: 0.8 mi
  • Kunsthaus Zürich: 0.8 mi
  • Bellevue: 0.9 mi
  • Bahnhof Stadelhofen: 1.1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Bahnhof Hardbrucke: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Design, Zurich: 0.1 mi
  • Main Train Station: 0.2 mi
  • Swiss National Museum: 0.2 mi
  • ETH Zurich: 0.4 mi
  • Old Town: 0.5 mi
  • West Zurich (Left Bank-Rail Station): 0.6 mi
  • Fraumunster: 0.6 mi
  • Altstadt: 0.7 mi
  • Rennweg Zurich: 0.8 mi
  • Kunsthaus: 0.8 mi
  • Kunsthaus Zürich: 0.8 mi
  • Bellevue: 0.9 mi
  • Bahnhof Stadelhofen: 1.1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Bahnhof Hardbrucke: 1.2 mi
  • Zürich Zoologischer Garten: 1.4 mi
  • Zurich Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • Zurich Chinese Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Rietberg Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Convention Centre: 2.2 mi
  • Museum Buehrle: 2.3 mi
  • Rote Fabrik: 2.8 mi
  • Üetliberg: 3.3 mi
  • Luftseilbahn Adliswil-Felsenegg: 5 mi
  • Felsenegg: 5.1 mi
  • Lake Zurich: 11.1 mi

Dining

L'ENTUPADA - BAR & DINER
Our exquisite, cozy "L'Entupada" on the first floor offers small meals and snacks with an urban Swiss theme in a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere.
L'ENTUPADA - BAR & DINER
The cozy L'Entupada with the adjoining Living Room is the ideal location for meetings or just to wind down at the end of the day. In addition to drinks and snacks, you will find newspapers, books and free WIFI access.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 49
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ifitaintbrokeitwillbe
Business
New Jersey
Feb 10, 2014

The best hotel

Great location, just a five minute walk to the main train station. If you wanted to wait for the bus or streetcar it was even closer, but we never did, we just walked over. Wonderful room, very quiet and very clean. Large bathroom and roomy closets. We watched stargate in German at night on the flat screen TV. I really liked the 'quaint' barrel of cider and apples that stood next to the reception desk. I pocketed apples and had a mug of cider every time I left / returned to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Distance to the train station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
N. Jessa
Business
Watford, England
Feb 7, 2013

A nice hotel in a nice location

We only stayed for one night but found the hotel very nice and the staff very friendly. The room was nice too, if only the shower unit had a shower tray I would have given the room five star. The breakfast was plentiful (not that I eat much) but the tea wasn't great. I consider myself a tea connoissur and Lipton tea bags are just not good enough. The English breakfast tea in the bedroom was much better. The meeting area (not the room) in the bar/restaurant we used was quiet and the waiter was in attendance at all time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

# the Italian restaurant some hundred yards down the road was very good, I ordered a 'Sole' #Dover Sole) and it was perfect. Can recommend to anyone even though we were told it is not a great place for dining. The manager speaks fluent English. What more could I ask?? # I waited outside the hotel for a taxi to take me to the station which took longer than if I had simply walked to the station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Liestaler
Business
Melbourne, FL
Nov 26, 2012

Business

We travel a lot but never have been able to give any Hotel 5 stars across. This hotel is 5+. They truly make you feel at home . The staff is super friendly and helpful, the layout of the room was well planned especially taking into consideration that there are female travellers. Cleanliness and comfort were 5 +. A five minute walk brings you to the center of Zurich. If you do not want to walk, the streetcar is within 100 feet. Staying at this hotel was the highlight of our trip to Switzerland. On the next trip to Zurich, we definetly will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A 15 minute walk down the Bahnhofstrasse to the Paradenplatz and there is a famopus (not too expensive) restaurant the ZEUGHAUS. ALL Swiss dishes were excellent. I would recommend the specialty of Zurich..geschnetzeltes kalbfleish with rosti (small sliced veal in cream sauce with special mushroom and potatoes).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kkne
Business
New York, NY
Mar 19, 2012

Nice hotel

I wish I could open windows. Sometimes air got too dry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice central location and close to main train station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
achiappanza
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 6, 2012

Fabulous place, excellent service

It's only a couple blocks from the main train station and the old town downtown, so the location is great. I got an unexpected upgrade to a suite, which was really nice and came in handy for business meetings. This may have been because I booked late and was paying a high rate. The service was so attentive that I would be happy to return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Fees vary greatly... if you can book in advance to get a sub-$200 price, this is a great deal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
deusa
Business
Chicago, Il.
Aug 4, 2011

fine

Hotel was clean and great location. The staff were very helpful and professional...pretty good value. Food wasn't so hot (breakfast).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Menlo Park, CA
Mar 14, 2011

Comfortable and elegant hotel near train

The hotel is located conveniently within a 5 minute walk from Zurich's main Hauptbahnhoff, with dining, shopping, and nightlife all within close proximity. I arrived via Zurich airport and was surprised to find that it's only a 10 minute train ride to Zurich HB. The room was not enormous, but it have everything I needed with a larger bathroom and shower. The staff was very friendly too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Zeughauskeller is a great place to walk to since it's on the famous Bahnhoffstrasse and has great food and drink, with friendly service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunl
Business
Dubai
Aug 28, 2010

Crampped

Good hotel small rooms , staff at breakfast need to be more professional

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princeton, NJ
Jun 25, 2009

Nice Hotel, near central train station

Nice hotel but a bit pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine at Tre Cucina in the Old Town section on Niederdorfstrasse. Good Northern Italian fare at a reasonable price (relatively speaking) A 15 min. walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top