$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 7, 2014 Check-out: Dec 8, 2014

Hotel City

3 stars
rue Caroline 5, Lausanne, 1003
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
4 reviews
Excellent spot!

Wonderful location, fantastic view, very comfortable clean room, and the staff was great. I only... See full review

  • Lostman
  • Aug 9, 2013
Kitchy and Fun hotel

The Hotel City turned out to be a great choice for our 2 night stay in Lausanne. The location was... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 14, 2008
The hotel City is located in the heart of Lausanne. Ideal to discover quickly the historical part of Lausanne. The breakfast is served in a panoramical room overlooking Lausanne's old town with a great view on the gothic cathedral. The hotel offers good rates and confortable rooms with safe, Fire alarm wifi 2 meeting rooms can welcome up to 80 persons. 60 rooms Free Wifi Centrally located with metro stop Bessires in front of the hotel door ! Soundproof rooms Soft rates Free access to the public transportation in the Lausanne area for all hotel guests 2 meeting rooms up to 80 participants Free transportation of Lausanne urban area included in the rate

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel City Rooms

Standard room
Fully equiped room with Big TV and DVD/CD player. Bedding according to the number of persons. Free transportation of Lausanne urban area included in the rate

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral: 0 mi
  • Rue de Bourg: 0.2 mi
  • Main Train Station: 0.3 mi
  • Le Flon: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Court of Justice: 0.4 mi
  • Fondation de l'Hermitage: 0.7 mi
  • Parc Olympique: 0.8 mi
  • Olympic Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Ouchy: 0.9 mi
  • Stade Olympique de la Pontaise: 1 mi
  • Jardin Botaniques: 1.1 mi
  • Lac de Sauvabelin: 1.4 mi
  • Theatre Vidy: 1.5 mi
  • CIG de Malley: 1.9 mi
  • University of Lausanne: 2.7 mi
  • Cathedral: 0 mi
  • Rue de Bourg: 0.2 mi
  • Main Train Station: 0.3 mi
  • Le Flon: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Court of Justice: 0.4 mi
  • Fondation de l'Hermitage: 0.7 mi
  • Parc Olympique: 0.8 mi
  • Olympic Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Ouchy: 0.9 mi
  • Stade Olympique de la Pontaise: 1 mi
  • Jardin Botaniques: 1.1 mi
  • Lac de Sauvabelin: 1.4 mi
  • Theatre Vidy: 1.5 mi
  • CIG de Malley: 1.9 mi
  • University of Lausanne: 2.7 mi
  • Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne: 3.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
n.a.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (4)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel City

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 4
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
5
Value:
4.5
Sort by:
Review of Hotel City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peg the traveler
Incline Village, NV
May 17, 2011

great city hotel

Good location. Clean could have been a little cleaner. Had a refrigerator in room which was real nice. Supplied us with a great fan. It was quiet if the window was closed. Staff very friendly. Size of room was good better then some European rooms I have been in. Actually room for luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Eat at my nieces house it was great there. The Olympic museum was great. The hotel giving passes for bus and metro was nice. Walk all along lake Geneva loved it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lostman
Business
California
Aug 9, 2013

Excellent spot!

Wonderful location, fantastic view, very comfortable clean room, and the staff was great. I only didn't give it a 5 because there was some street noise--the Lausannois seem to like motorcycles a lot, and not those nice quite BMW ones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the PubliBike bike rental system,. 10 Francs for 24 hours, and the biking around the area is absolutely fantastic. We rode from Lausanne to the Chateau de Chillon through the UNESCO World Heritage vineyards. We got lazy on the way back, took the bikes on the train back to Lutry. In a country that is so expensive it's almost funny, this is an unbelievably good value. BUT: check out the bike carefully before you rent it. The second day, we had one with a clunky bottom bracket.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peg the traveler
Business
Incline Village, NV
May 17, 2011

great city hotel

Good location. Clean could have been a little cleaner. Had a refrigerator in room which was real nice. Supplied us with a great fan. It was quiet if the window was closed. Staff very friendly. Size of room was good better then some European rooms I have been in. Actually room for luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Eat at my nieces house it was great there. The Olympic museum was great. The hotel giving passes for bus and metro was nice. Walk all along lake Geneva loved it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Sep 23, 2009

Great location, spare but comfy

This hotel is very convenient, right off the Bressieres metro stop (4 stops from the Lausanne train station) and a short walk from the Cathedral and City History and Design museums. The room was comfy, but there is no air circulation save for the window, which, in our case, opened onto a busy street with lots of traffic noise. Breakfast is not included in the price. And, the staff insisted that our reservation was not paid for, and we had to pay for the room again. The hotel gives a transportation card valid for the entire stay. If you stay, be clear with them about payment before you check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk down the pedestrian path right outside the hotel has many fairly priced restaurant options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 14, 2008

Kitchy and Fun hotel

The Hotel City turned out to be a great choice for our 2 night stay in Lausanne. The location was great - very central with many restaurants nearby and 2 grocery stores on the same block. Although we did not have the kitchenette room, (next time I'll pay more for that feature) we bought snacks and drinks at the Migros or Coop supermarkets to save money. My favorite feature of the room was our beautiful view! On the right was the cathedral, and on the left was Lake Geneva. We were on the 5th floor, which was high enough for a smashing view of the city. The decor is very 1980's modern, and has obviously not been updated since then - threadbare fuchsia carpet, lots of white and chrome detailing, pink ceramic bathroom... although it seemed old, it was very clean and somewhat amusing. I'm sure it was a super cool modern hotspot 20 years ago! The staff was friendly, but when we checked in the front desk forgot to give us our free bus pass. All Lausanne hotels offer a limited but convenient free bus pass for all tourists, so ask for one if they don't give you one up front. The hotel was quiet and comfortable. It's not within walking distance of the train station, but it's only a short bus or cab ride away. We didn't have breakfast in the pretty lobby dining area because it was too expensive for us ($20).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

MIGROS is a smaller market, COOP is quite large, with everything from a drug store to fresh produce to large wine selection. on the second floor of the COOP is a food court with a nice selection of chinese restaurants and cafes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top