$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2014 Check-out: Sep 15, 2014

Royal Manotel

4 stars
Rue de Lausanne 41-43, 1201 Ch, Geneva, 1201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
48 reviews
Great short stay

I needed only a pleasant place to stay for a night before heading into the French Alps and the... See full review

  • IndyDavid
  • Jul 17, 2014
Wonderful service and location

One of the things that made my stay at this hotel especially enjoyable was its convenient location... See full review

  • Amani
  • Apr 18, 2014
4-star luxury in Geneva city center near Cornavin station

This 202-room property near Cornavin train station is part of the Manotel chain of boutique hotels. Neoclassical decor lends atmosphere to the lobby and rooms. A tram stop in front of the hotel, along with the free Geneva public transport card, makes it easy to reach Old Town attractions, which guests can also reach via 15-minute walk. Geneva's red-light district also lies nearby, so guests should plan walking routes accordingly.

Highlights
  • Stylish neoclassical decor
  • Location near Cornavin train station
  • Old Town attractions accessible by direct tram line or 15-minute walk
Rooms

Neoclassical decor in the lobby extends to the 202 rooms, which are furnished with ornately framed artwork and plush bed curtains and linens help. Rooms include safe, mini-bar, free Wi-Fi, and an interactive flat-screen television with on-demand programs, web radio, and video games. Some rooms come with kitchenettes. Standard rooms are on the small side, ranging from 215 to 269 square feet. Superior rooms, executive rooms, and junior suites include a living room with sofa bed. For travelers with children the family suite a large dining table and full kitchen. 

Features

Restaurant Le Duo is actually two venues, both open for lunch and dinner. Cote Resto emphasizes more upscale creative cuisine. Cote Bistro serves traditional and seasonal dishes in a more relaxed setting. A lounge bar also offers food service from 9 a.m. to 1 a.m. Guests can start their day with breakfast buffet and wrap it up fireside with a drink in Bogie's Bar. A fitness center, sauna, and Turkish bath serve guests who want to get a workout or just relax.  

Transportation
  • Geneva International Airport (2.4 mi/4 km)
  • Gare de Cornavin train station (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Free Geneva Transport Card for use on public transportation
  • Car service available for airport transfers 
  • On-site parking
Nearby attractions
  • Palais des Nations (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Jardin Anglais (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • Jet d'Eau (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • Musee d'Art et d'Histoire (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Business
  • Four function rooms, for 20-350 people
  • Two business centers with free use of three computers, high-speed Internet, and printer
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel

Hotel Map

46.2135 6.1453
Area served
The Royal Hotel is situated in the city centre, between the lake and the United Nations. Located at 5mn walking distance from the train station and 15 minutes by bus from the airport.
Nearby airports
Cointrin Airport, 15 mn by bus to the Royal Hotel

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Manotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Royal Manotel Rooms

Standard Room Single
Room size about 20m2 to 25m2 Single occupancy (maximum 1 person) Baby crib upon request (until age 3) High-speed Internet connection upon request (CHF 35.- per day). Inspired by a neoclassical architectural style the Hotel Royal offers an extraordinary blend of noble wood, precious marble and plush fabrics that create a cocoon of homely warmth, voluptuous comfort and accessible luxury.
Standard Room Double or Twin Bed
Room size about 20m2 to 25m2 Single or double occupancy (maximum 2 persons) Baby crib upon request (until age 3) High-speed Internet connection upon request (CHF 35.- per day). Inspired by a neoclassical architectural style the Hotel Royal offers an extraordinary blend of noble wood, precious marble and plush fabrics that create a cocoon of homely warmth, voluptuous comfort and accessible luxury.
Executive Room
Executive Room with Double or twin Bed; living room features a sofa bed. Room size about 30m2 to 37 m2 Occupancy 1 to 4 persons. Baby crib upon request (until age 3) Nespresso coffee machine with free capsules. High-speed Internet connection free of charge. Inspired by a neoclassical architectural style the Hotel Royal offers an extraordinary blend of noble wood, precious marble and plush fabrics that create a cocoon of homely warmth, voluptuous comfort and accessible luxury.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite with a King Bed; living room features a sofa bed. Room size about 40m2 to 45 m2 Occupancy 1 to 4 persons. Baby crib upon request (until age 3) Nespresso coffee machine with free capsules. High-speed Internet connection free of charge. Inspired by a neoclassical architectural style the Hotel Royal offers an extraordinary blend of noble wood, precious marble and plush fabrics that create a cocoon of homely warmth, voluptuous comfort and accessible luxury.
Suite Excutive
Suite size about 65m2 to 85 m2 with bedroom, spacious living room, kitchen and dining room Occupancy up to 2 persons. Baby crib upon request (until age 3) ADSL, free of charge Nespresso coffee machine with free capsules. Etro bathroom amenities Bathroom with whirlpool and separate Italian shower Furnished terrace Inspired by a neoclassical architectural style the Hotel Royal offers an extraordinary blend of noble wood, precious marble and plush fabrics that create a cocoon of homely warmth, voluptuous comfort and accessible luxury.
Superior Room
Room size about 30m2 including a living area with a sofa bed. Occupancy up to 3 persons with a possibility of a baby crib upon request (until age of 3). These rooms are equipped with a Nespresso coffee machine with 4 free capsules. Access to high-speed Internet connection. Inspired by a neoclassical architectural style the Hotel Royal offers an extraordinary blend of noble wood, precious marble and plush fabrics that create a cocoon of homely warmth, voluptuous comfort and accessible luxury Living room features a sofa bed. Baby crib upon request (until age 3) Nespresso coffee machine with free capsules. High-speed Internet connection free of charge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Main Train Station (Gare Centrale Cornavin): 0.3 mi
  • The Brunswick Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Centre International de Conférences Genève: 0.5 mi
  • La Perle du Lac: 0.6 mi
  • Flower Clock: 0.6 mi
  • Water Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Palace of Nations: 0.8 mi
  • Theatre Universite and Eaux Vives: 0.9 mi
  • Reformation Wall: 0.9 mi
  • Place de la Fusterie: 1 mi
  • Plaine de Plainpalais: 1 mi
  • Red Cross Museum: 1 mi
  • Geneva Botanical Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • The Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations: 1.2 mi
  • Parc La Grange: 1.2 mi
  • Main Train Station (Gare Centrale Cornavin): 0.3 mi
  • The Brunswick Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Centre International de Conférences Genève: 0.5 mi
  • La Perle du Lac: 0.6 mi
  • Flower Clock: 0.6 mi
  • Water Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Palace of Nations: 0.8 mi
  • Theatre Universite and Eaux Vives: 0.9 mi
  • Reformation Wall: 0.9 mi
  • Place de la Fusterie: 1 mi
  • Plaine de Plainpalais: 1 mi
  • Red Cross Museum: 1 mi
  • Geneva Botanical Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • The Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations: 1.2 mi
  • Parc La Grange: 1.2 mi
  • World Health Organization Headquarters: 1.4 mi
  • Geneva Airport railway station: 2 mi
  • Carouge: 2.1 mi
  • Place du Marche: 2.3 mi
  • The Lake Geneva: 25.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant Le Duo
At the "Cote Resto", in a cosy setting, our Chef Armel Bedouet invites you to discover a refined and creative cuisine. At the "Cote Bistro", he proposes seasonal and traditional dishes, in a friendly atmosphere. Cote resto, la carte; business menus (CHF 45.-), from Monday to Friday. Cote bistro, la carte; Daily Special (CHF 21.-). Food service at the lounge bar from 9:00 am to 1:00 am. Wine selection, served by the glass. Air conditioning. Located in the city centre. Outdoor terrace. Free covered car park.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
0000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Manotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Manotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NIKOLAOS
Not Provided
Jan 25, 2010

Very nice and friendly hotel.

Very nice and friendly hotel. Old town is about 15-20 mins walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Royal Manotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ramatu
Not Provided
Oct 21, 2009

this is a 4* hotel but could pass

this is a 4* hotel but could pass for a five in other places. It has got a beautiful and cozy lounge and reception. Location is very good. A walking distance to the biggest mall Manor and a few stops to united nations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Manotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Mar 27, 2011

This is a good place for a business

This is a good place for a business traveller who plans to stay for a day or two. The place is clean, with good facilities but too pricy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Royal Manotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jackson Wong
San Francisco CA
Apr 22, 2009

Outstanding Value

Wow we were really fortunate to choose the Manotel Royal. Great central location near Cornavin. We had an 'executive suite' during the easter weeks (10 nights total). Our hotel room had large windows overlooking an internal courtyard. We were able to leave the windows open, as the weather was 21-23 C (70-74 F), even in April! We were not bothered by the railyard adjacent to the hotel, nor by the street traffic of Rue Lausanne. The hotel also gave us a free TPG bus/tram/train tickets for the duration of our stay - much more convenient and inexpensive than a car. There is a 5-10 minute walk to the lake and centrally located to everywhere in Geneva. The Room itself was very clean and quiet, and being a suite there was room to spread out on a sofa and table. I was also pleased because of the rate that I got from Orbitz. While rates fluctuate between peak seasons, our stay in Geneva was half or a third of comparable hotel prices that I have paid in London or New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

In Geneva on a nice day, the waterfront is spectacular. From the Jardin Botaniques over Pont Mont Blanc to Rive Gauche, soak in the mountain and fountain views.

Review of Royal Manotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bellevue, Washington
Aug 20, 2011

The best hotel we stayed in our European tour

I couldn't believe I booked such a nice hotel in Geneva. That's a true 4 star! Considering how expensive things are in Geneva, this is a very good deal to us. We are a party of 3, and so I booked an executive room, which feels so spacious and luxurious that rivals the best 4 stars in the US. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, and the lobby was nicely decorated and spacious too. From the outside, you wouldn't expect this kind of luxury at all. The restaurants are even more surprisingly good, offering great value with excellent ambience and service. The night we arrived, we explored the city a little, and ended up eating at one pizzaria, which was very expensive (a cup of soup costs 13 swiss francs). Compared to these, the meal at the hotel restaurants was a steal. We dined in La Duo, a French style cuisine. Oh my, the food was so good, the service so nice, and we all wondered why we ate in the pizzaria the night before. And we only spent about 30 francs per person with 2 courses (no alcohol). In comparison, the chicken fried rice in the street fair went for 11 francs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

I know this is counter-intuitive, but the hotel restaurant is the best place for dinner. It offers good food with very reasonable price.

Review of Royal Manotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amani
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Apr 18, 2014

Wonderful service and location

One of the things that made my stay at this hotel especially enjoyable was its convenient location (nearby shops and station). The staff was also very cordial and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Botanical Gardens

Review of Royal Manotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GOLDY
JERUSALEM ISRAEL
Aug 26, 2012

FANTASTIC FOR FAMILIES

WE WERE A FAMILY WITH 4 YOUNG ADULTS, WE STAYED IN 2 ROOMS. IT WAS VERY COMFORTABLE' CLEAN AND ROOMY AND WE HAD AIR-CONDITIONING AND FACILITIES FOR MAKING COFFE. THE STAFF WAS VERY HELPFUL AND THE LOCATION WAS GREAT (VERY CLOSE TO CENTRAL TRAIN STATION AND TO BUS STOP' WALKING DISTANCE TO THE LAKE).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

VERY COLST TO THE LAKE, VERY CLOSE TO THE BOAT TO THE OTHER SIDE OF THE LAKE.

Review of Royal Manotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Haresh
Provence
Mar 4, 2014

Very upscale and elegant hotel.

Excellent value and location. Very upscale and elegant hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Manotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IndyDavid
Indianapolis
Jul 17, 2014

Great short stay

I needed only a pleasant place to stay for a night before heading into the French Alps and the Royal was a great place for that purpose. Clean, comfortable, economical and only a couple blocks from the rail station. A tram stop right outside the front door allows for easy access to other parts of the city if needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Royal Manotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami
Mar 8, 2011

Manotel

clean, comfortable and tasteful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

train station close by, 5min to the airport

Back to menu Return to top

Change search