$111 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Hotel Excelsior

3 stars
View map of Rue Rousseau 34, Geneva, 1201

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
26 reviews
one nite

Nice room but little, the city to hot and just a small fan in the room. See full review

  • AIXA C.
  • Jul 22, 2015
Weekend Stay in Geneva

I spent a weekend (2 nights) at Hotel Excelsior in Geneva. The location is great, within walking... See full review

  • Bin L.
  • May 29, 2015

Hotel Excelsior is an authentic Swiss hotel located in the center of Geneva, at a walking distance from the Banks area,the University and the Old Town. Cornavin train station is a few steps away. Guests can reach the UN Offices, embassies and convention centers CICG and PALEXPO within a few minutes by bus or tramway. Holidaymakers visit the English Garden, the famous water fountain or the historical Old Town.

Patrons enjoy free Wi-Fi. Breakfast is available at an added fee. Vibrant red and orange accents and plentiful artwork in the lobby and rooms offer a refreshing change from the standard-issue decor found in many three-star hotels.

Rooms

The decor goes well beyond the standard-issue hotel look with rich red and orange fabrics, wood and tile floors and plentiful artwork. The 56 rooms -- two of them suites -- include new beds, a safe, mini-bar, television, and free Wi-Fi. The hotel offers triple rooms, a rarity in Geneva.

Property features

The breakfast buffet offers a nice mix of English and continental fare (at cost). Guests can also find many dining options nearby.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Distinctive decor with vibrant red and orange accents and plentiful artwork
  • Suites with full kitchen
  • Triple rooms, a rarity in Geneva
Nearby attractions
  • Jardin Anglais (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Jet d'Eau (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Musee d'Art et d'Histoire (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Palais des Nations (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Computer corner
  • Free Wi-Fi in public areas
Transportation
  • Gare de Cornavin train station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Geneva International Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Free Geneva Transport Card for use on public transportation
Policies
Breakfast can be booked directly at the hotel at 15CHF per person per day. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Excelsior also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$138
4.0 / 5 108 reviews
★★★
$193
3.5 / 5 8 reviews
★★
$109
2.5 / 5 6 reviews
★★★★
$156
4.1 / 5 56 reviews
★★★★
$139
4.1 / 5 20 reviews
★★★
$133
3.7 / 5 19 reviews
★★★★
$160
4.2 / 5 11 reviews
★★★★
$141
4.0 / 5 22 reviews
★★★★
$179
4.0 / 5 20 reviews

Hotel Excelsior Rooms

Single room
Ideal for an individual stay, our single rooms measure 13m2 and feature a bathroom with a shower. Simple and practical, they come with a single bed and a workspace. Details : Occupancy : 1 person Superficy : 13 m2 Bed : 1 single bed Extra bed : no View : street side.
Double room
Large and comfortable, this room type has a superficy of 19m2. The room features a bathroom with show or bathtub. They come with a big double bed. Details : Occupancy : 1 or 2 persons Superficy : 19 m2 Bed : 1 big double Extra bed : no View : street side.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Main Train Station (Gare Centrale Cornavin): 0.1 mi
  • The Brunswick Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Flower Clock: 0.4 mi
  • Reformation Wall: 0.5 mi
  • University of Geneva: 0.6 mi
  • Water Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Saint Peter’s Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Theatre Universite and Eaux Vives: 0.7 mi
  • Centre International de Conférences Genève: 0.9 mi
  • La Perle du Lac: 0.9 mi
  • Palace of Nations: 1.2 mi
  • Parc La Grange: 1.3 mi
  • Red Cross Museum: 1.4 mi
  • The Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations: 1.5 mi
  • Geneva Botanical Gardens: 1.6 mi
  • Main Train Station (Gare Centrale Cornavin): 0.1 mi
  • The Brunswick Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Flower Clock: 0.4 mi
  • Reformation Wall: 0.5 mi
  • University of Geneva: 0.6 mi
  • Water Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Saint Peter’s Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Theatre Universite and Eaux Vives: 0.7 mi
  • Centre International de Conférences Genève: 0.9 mi
  • La Perle du Lac: 0.9 mi
  • Palace of Nations: 1.2 mi
  • Parc La Grange: 1.3 mi
  • Red Cross Museum: 1.4 mi
  • The Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations: 1.5 mi
  • Geneva Botanical Gardens: 1.6 mi
  • Carouge: 1.7 mi
  • World Health Organization Headquarters: 1.7 mi
  • Place du Marche: 1.9 mi
  • Geneva Airport railway station: 2.2 mi
  • The Lake Geneva: 26 mi

Dining

Breakfast
Breakfast can be booked directly at the hotel at 15CHF p. Person/day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Excelsior

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 13, 2011

Hotel Excelsior Geneva

Room are extremely noisy, tile floors, no rugs, you can hear the person upstairs VERY easily. Rooms have no venulation unless you open a window, very problematic in the winter. Room was extremely small ~7' x 12'. 0nly one medium size towel, the bar of soap is the size of postage stamp & 1/8" thick. Location is very good, only a few blocks from the central train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ABHK
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 19, 2014

Horrible stay

I stayed at the hotel on the night of 16th August and left 17th August. My experience was terrible as I have never encountered such a bad staff (worst staff at the reception I have ever seen as the person was in the morning shift) at the reception, bad rooms, bad facilities. The entire experience was worst I have ever experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amussari
Couples
Malvern PA
Nov 1, 2012

Convenient Location

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was good. The croissants are especially good. The hotel is very convenient to the train station and to Old Town Geneva. The Manor department store is across the street.. They just put in a coffee machine but there is no soft drink accommodations in the hotel. Street noise is very prevalent through out. If you are looking for a small , accessible place to stay with a friendly atmosphere this is a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There are no real money savers in Geneva. It is just an expensive place to be: 2 Big Mac meals medium sized 25 Swiss Francs , that is over $25 for MacDonald s!!! Starbuck's is about 4.90 Swiss Franc per small cup. The good food places are even higher.

Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pete from Boston
Couples
Boston, MA
Jun 17, 2013

Good affordable rooms

We stayed at the hotel for one night. It was in a very accessible location to everything happening in the Geneva and is a 15-minute bus ride or 10-minute train ride to the airport. The hotel staff was kind, rooms were clean and the bathrooms were good. Our room included the continental breakfast which was ok for what we paid, but nothing to talk about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ferit
Business
New York
Aug 9, 2013

Stay at the Hotel in July and August 2013

The Hotel offers a broadly decent service but in overall it is closer to any two star hotel and it overpriced for the service you get. Positive: It is very well placed, it offers a rather good wi-fi internet service and you always get the local transport card for free which is very convenient. The brakfast is included and it is decent. It is clean and the personnel is very kind and they are always ready to help. Less positive aspects: Single bed rooms are really small. I had the feeling that it was bumping on myself all the time. Very few wall outlets; it has no Air Conditioning and even one may think this is hardly needed in Europe, i can tell you it was really hot. Rooms are equipped with a small ventilator and I did use it all the time i was in. Bad: separating walls seem to be very thin. I was lucky not to have very noisy neighbors all the time but when i got one that could not live without TV it became really annoying. Dont go there without earplugs... I would recommend it for a short stay and if you are out most of the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jan 22, 2010

Clean and Friendly but Small

[...] Very small rooms with single bed. 1 1/2 steps from door to end of room. Very clean, very friendly staff, breakfast was included and was very nice. Free internet in room was appreciated however the desk that was provided did not have an outlet near it so the laptop had to be used on the single bed. Very noisy but it is smack downtown and only 2 blocks to the train that runs directly to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus and train service are easy and a great price.

Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
St. Louis, MO
May 29, 2011

Nice hotel near the lake

A pleasant small European hotel. Nicely situated, an easy two blocks from the lake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sierra Dude
Couples
Geneva
Sep 15, 2014

Solid Choice

Pro's: Close to the train station, shopping, restaurants and many other things in Geneva. The guy at the front desk was extremely helpful. Very unique hotel. Con's: Street noise and lighting was definitely an issue in Room 10, elevator noise and water pipe drainage from elsewhere in the building was also an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alexander G.
Single
N/A
Aug 11, 2015

OK experience

Room was not ready when it was supposed to be. The women at the counter gave me a parking discount ticket as if to make up for it, but this is something they give everyone. Also the road in front of the hotel is closed, making it difficult for me to actually figure out what's going on with my GPS. Customers should be notified. The room was just a basic room with a bathroom and no AC, just a fan. What bothered me most is there were no electric outlets in the room outside of where the fan was plugged into. ( I found none anyway) so you either die of overheating or have your phone die. So I had to charge my phone in the bathroom where the hair dryer was plugged in. Lastly, the wifi was pretty much non-existent. Hardly worked for me at all. Not sure if this is normal for Geneva, but this is a one star hotel in the United States.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vickylegal
Business
Nairobi
Mar 28, 2012

Good value for Money!

This hotel was really good value. It's close to the Gare Cornavin. I just had to figure out which side of the road I was on :). The lake is also just a few blocks away, which was excellent! The breakfast buffet was adequate, the staff were really courteous and the room was nice and clean although very small. But all things - especially my budget - considered. It was worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shops underground at the Gare have good bargains, you have to search patiently and carefully to find them :). Go deeper into the mall, don't finish off at thew entrance.

Back to menu Return to top