$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Hotel Excelsior

3 stars
Rue Rousseau 34, Geneva, 1201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
20 reviews
perfect budget stopover in Geneva

Excellent service and value for money. Only 3 minutes walk from main railway station. Good... See full review

  • mountain goat
  • Jul 5, 2014
great location, right price

I stayed here my last night in Europe after 2 weeks traveleing on business. 5 minute walk from the... See full review

  • florida science traveler
  • Sep 14, 2013
Above-average amenities in Geneva hotel near train station

Hotel Excelsior is an authentic Swiss hotel located in the center of Geneva, at a walking distance from the Banks area,the University and the Old Town. Cornavin train station is a few steps away. Guests can reach the UN Offices, embassies and convention centers CICG and PALEXPO within a few minutes by bus or tramway. Holidaymakers visit the English Garden, the famous water fountain or the historical Old Town.

Patrons enjoy free buffet breakfast and Wi-Fi. Vibrant red and orange accents and plentiful artwork in the lobby and rooms offer a refreshing change from the standard-issue decor found in many three-star hotels.

Highlights
  • Free breakfast and free Wi-Fi
  • Distinctive decor with vibrant red and orange accents and plentiful artwork
  • Suites with full kitchen
  • Triple rooms, a rarity in Geneva
Rooms

The decor goes well beyond the standard-issue hotel look with rich red and orange fabrics, wood and tile floors and plentiful artwork. The 56 rooms -- two of them suites -- include new beds, a safe, mini-bar, television, and free Wi-Fi. The hotel offers triple rooms, a rarity in Geneva.

Features

The free breakfast buffet offers a nice mix of English and continental fare. Guests can also find many dining options nearby.

Transportation
  • Gare de Cornavin train station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Geneva International Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Free Geneva Transport Card for use on public transportation
Nearby attractions
  • Jardin Anglais (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Jet d'Eau (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Musee d'Art et d'Histoire (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Palais des Nations (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Computer corner
  • Free Wi-Fi in public areas

Hotel Map

46.2078 6.1432
Area served
Banks, Shopping Area, Lakeside, NGOs, UN, Train station
Nearby airports
International Airport From Geneva International Aiport 6 minutes by train and 15 by bus.
Area description
The Excelsior Hotel is located near the lake of Geneva and the Mont Blanc Bridge. Easy accessible by train, stop Geneva Cornavin train station In the heart of the city centre, near the shopping and the bank area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Excelsior also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Excelsior Rooms

Single room
Room for one person with a single bed, television, telephone, safe and minibar. Unlimited WIFI connexion included. Bathroom with shower; 5th floors rooms with balcony,.
Double room
Room for 1 or 2 people with double bed, television, telephone, safe and minibar. Unlimited WIFI connexion included. Bathroom with bath or shower, 5th and 6th floor rooms with balcony

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Main Train Station (Gare Centrale Cornavin): 0.1 mi
  • The Brunswick Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Flower Clock: 0.4 mi
  • Reformation Wall: 0.5 mi
  • Plaine de Plainpalais: 0.6 mi
  • Water Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Place de la Fusterie: 0.6 mi
  • Theatre Universite and Eaux Vives: 0.7 mi
  • Centre International de Conférences Genève: 0.9 mi
  • La Perle du Lac: 0.9 mi
  • Palace of Nations: 1.2 mi
  • Parc La Grange: 1.3 mi
  • Red Cross Museum: 1.4 mi
  • The Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations: 1.5 mi
  • Geneva Botanical Gardens: 1.6 mi
  • Main Train Station (Gare Centrale Cornavin): 0.1 mi
  • The Brunswick Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Flower Clock: 0.4 mi
  • Reformation Wall: 0.5 mi
  • Plaine de Plainpalais: 0.6 mi
  • Water Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Place de la Fusterie: 0.6 mi
  • Theatre Universite and Eaux Vives: 0.7 mi
  • Centre International de Conférences Genève: 0.9 mi
  • La Perle du Lac: 0.9 mi
  • Palace of Nations: 1.2 mi
  • Parc La Grange: 1.3 mi
  • Red Cross Museum: 1.4 mi
  • The Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations: 1.5 mi
  • Geneva Botanical Gardens: 1.6 mi
  • Carouge: 1.7 mi
  • World Health Organization Headquarters: 1.7 mi
  • Place du Marche: 1.9 mi
  • Geneva Airport railway station: 2.2 mi
  • The Lake Geneva: 26 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Excelsior

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nhsten
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 19, 2013

Nice little stay in downtown Geneva

Depending on purpose this hotel could be great usually on business I select known options but I was alone visiting for business and meeting friends and this was a very pleasant surprise. Centrally-located, excellent friendly staff people, good breakfast not great I missed more elaborate offerings of salmon, veggies, and fruits but over all a nice small (my room a bit snug for more than one person) attractive even charming establishment in a modern metropolitan w old world euro package. Personally loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Centrally located very convenient access to shopping nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
florida science traveler
Business
Gainesville, FL
Sep 14, 2013

great location, right price

I stayed here my last night in Europe after 2 weeks traveleing on business. 5 minute walk from the train station in a very recently renovated building. Everything was very neat and clean. A rather basic room but to be expected for the price I paid. Bonus was a major grocery store right across the street (Manor). I was too tired to think about finding a decent dinner, so went to the grocery store. They have a wide variety of basic groceries and carryout food as well as a fully stocked chocolate shop if you need to take something home. One down side was the internet was a little slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Major gorcery store / shopping complex (Manor) across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mountain goat
Business
shropshire, England
Jul 5, 2014

perfect budget stopover in Geneva

Excellent service and value for money. Only 3 minutes walk from main railway station. Good Continental breakfast including boiled eggs. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vickylegal
Business
Nairobi
Mar 28, 2012

Good value for Money!

This hotel was really good value. It's close to the Gare Cornavin. I just had to figure out which side of the road I was on :). The lake is also just a few blocks away, which was excellent! The breakfast buffet was adequate, the staff were really courteous and the room was nice and clean although very small. But all things - especially my budget - considered. It was worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shops underground at the Gare have good bargains, you have to search patiently and carefully to find them :). Go deeper into the mall, don't finish off at thew entrance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jomazzone
Business
Dayton, OH, USA
Apr 6, 2012

Great place to stay!

We enjoyed this hotel very much. The location was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The only downside was if you left your window open at night it was sometimes a little noisy, especially in the morning when the street cleaner came. I would definately stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
August visitor RE
Business
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Aug 13, 2012

Nice location

Located just in front of Manor supermarket, the train station, cinemas and the central postal office. I had a room with windows to the inner yard, so did not hear the traffic noise at all. However my room was next to the elevator, so I could hear people passing by all the time, including the night time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

After making the reservation, please double check with the hotel directly that they have received the order or not. I was surprised at the front desk when they told me they did not have my reservation on file.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2012
Business
UK
Sep 14, 2012

great location

Great location and helpful staff. Room was good, spacious and had a refurbished bathroom. Buffet breakfast was quite limited but included in the room price. One of the best hotels I've stayed in central Geneva for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ellabell
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jan 10, 2013

Great short stay

I stopped in Geneva making my way through Europe, and I'd say that the Excelsior was a wonderful place to stay for a night or two. It is near the main train station, and not too far from the airport. Nothing was wrong with my room or the service, it's just not somewhere I would stay for a long period of time. I would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suslik
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Jan 18, 2013

Good hotel, good location

Upon arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was what was expected, clean, big enough and nicely decorated. The only problem was internet connection which was very slow. Breakfast good but not a huge selection of foods compared to other hotels. Overall nice hotel right in the centre of Geneva and very close to the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaxdC
Business
Copenhagen, Denmark
Jun 18, 2013

Central, convenient and relatively cheap

Hotels in Geneva are not a bargain in general but this one has all it needs for the short-term traveller: central location (3 min walk from Cornavin), clean, spacious enough rooms, good enough breakfast, very helpful staff and free wifi. No frills, no disappointment!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top