$116 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Hotel Excelsior

3 stars
View map of Rue Rousseau 34, Geneva, 1201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Excelsior

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pete from Boston
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 17, 2013

Good affordable rooms

We stayed at the hotel for one night. It was in a very accessible location to everything happening in the Geneva and is a 15-minute bus ride or 10-minute train ride to the airport. The hotel staff was kind, rooms were clean and the bathrooms were good. Our room included the continental breakfast which was ok for what we paid, but nothing to talk about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nhsten
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 19, 2013

Nice little stay in downtown Geneva

Depending on purpose this hotel could be great usually on business I select known options but I was alone visiting for business and meeting friends and this was a very pleasant surprise. Centrally-located, excellent friendly staff people, good breakfast not great I missed more elaborate offerings of salmon, veggies, and fruits but over all a nice small (my room a bit snug for more than one person) attractive even charming establishment in a modern metropolitan w old world euro package. Personally loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Centrally located very convenient access to shopping nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suslik
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Jan 18, 2013

Good hotel, good location

Upon arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was what was expected, clean, big enough and nicely decorated. The only problem was internet connection which was very slow. Breakfast good but not a huge selection of foods compared to other hotels. Overall nice hotel right in the centre of Geneva and very close to the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ellabell
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jan 10, 2013

Great short stay

I stopped in Geneva making my way through Europe, and I'd say that the Excelsior was a wonderful place to stay for a night or two. It is near the main train station, and not too far from the airport. Nothing was wrong with my room or the service, it's just not somewhere I would stay for a long period of time. I would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amussari
Business
Malvern PA
Nov 1, 2012

Convenient Location

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was good. The croissants are especially good. The hotel is very convenient to the train station and to Old Town Geneva. The Manor department store is across the street.. They just put in a coffee machine but there is no soft drink accommodations in the hotel. Street noise is very prevalent through out. If you are looking for a small , accessible place to stay with a friendly atmosphere this is a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There are no real money savers in Geneva. It is just an expensive place to be: 2 Big Mac meals medium sized 25 Swiss Francs , that is over $25 for MacDonald s!!! Starbuck's is about 4.90 Swiss Franc per small cup. The good food places are even higher.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2012
Business
UK
Sep 14, 2012

great location

Great location and helpful staff. Room was good, spacious and had a refurbished bathroom. Buffet breakfast was quite limited but included in the room price. One of the best hotels I've stayed in central Geneva for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
August visitor RE
Business
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Aug 13, 2012

Nice location

Located just in front of Manor supermarket, the train station, cinemas and the central postal office. I had a room with windows to the inner yard, so did not hear the traffic noise at all. However my room was next to the elevator, so I could hear people passing by all the time, including the night time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

After making the reservation, please double check with the hotel directly that they have received the order or not. I was surprised at the front desk when they told me they did not have my reservation on file.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jomazzone
Business
Dayton, OH, USA
Apr 6, 2012

Great place to stay!

We enjoyed this hotel very much. The location was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The only downside was if you left your window open at night it was sometimes a little noisy, especially in the morning when the street cleaner came. I would definately stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vickylegal
Business
Nairobi
Mar 28, 2012

Good value for Money!

This hotel was really good value. It's close to the Gare Cornavin. I just had to figure out which side of the road I was on :). The lake is also just a few blocks away, which was excellent! The breakfast buffet was adequate, the staff were really courteous and the room was nice and clean although very small. But all things - especially my budget - considered. It was worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shops underground at the Gare have good bargains, you have to search patiently and carefully to find them :). Go deeper into the mall, don't finish off at thew entrance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
May 29, 2011

Nice hotel near the lake

A pleasant small European hotel. Nicely situated, an easy two blocks from the lake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top