$127 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 31, 2014 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Hotel Cornavin

4 stars
Gare de Cornavin, --, Geneva, 1201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
103 reviews
Really nice place with great value

Everything was really nice here, the room was spacious, had a great view, and was affordable. The... See full review

  • Shawn Flowers
  • Dec 3, 2014
Cornavin in Geneva

Clean rooms, fascinating panorama dining hall. I was surprised how quickly is to arrive to the... See full review

  • Vladas Snieckus
  • Nov 19, 2014
Central Geneva hotel with unique swinging appeal

Hotel Cornavin offers an idyllic location in central Geneva, just a few steps away from the train station. This chic hotel offers 164 comfortable rooms furnished with modern design. With its convenient location in the city, guests can easily reach banks, commercial establishments not to mention the scenic lake nearby. The hotel also features a large pendulum hanging from the ninth floor and swings right at the ground floor of the property. Guests enjoy a panoramic view of Geneva while enjoying breakfast on site.

Highlights
  • Central location within 15 minutes of most top attractions
  • Four panoramic rooms and breakfast room offer views of Geneva and Jet d'Eau
  • One of the world's largest pendulums
Rooms

All 162 rooms include a safe, mini-bar, television, Wi-Fi access and large closets. Rooms were renovated in 2006 in streamlined minimalist style fitting the smaller spaces. Curved mirrors and a glass partition around the bathroom add fun and funky design elements. Rooms facing the train station have soundproof windows but guests still might want to request a room on the other side of the hotel. Four panoramic rooms provide views of the city and Jet d'Eau.

Features

Floor-to-ceiling windows flood the eighth-floor breakfast room with sunlight. Guests can work out in the small fitness room in the basement. Other features include bar/lounge, business center, concierge desk, Wi-Fi access and laundry facilities. Public parking is available 50 metres away from the property.

Transportation
  • Geneva International Airport (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Gare de Cornavin (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Free Geneva Transport Card for use on public transportation

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Cornavin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Cornavin Rooms

single room
Modern single room with AC and soud proof window. All rooms are non-smoking
double room
Modern twin or double room with AC and soud proof window. All rooms are non-smoking
triple room
Modern triple room with AC and soud proof window. All rooms are non-smoking

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Main Train Station (Gare Centrale Cornavin): 0.2 mi
  • The Brunswick Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Flower Clock: 0.5 mi
  • Plaine de Plainpalais: 0.7 mi
  • Reformation Wall: 0.7 mi
  • Water Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Centre International de Conférences Genève: 0.7 mi
  • Place de la Fusterie: 0.8 mi
  • Theatre Universite and Eaux Vives: 0.8 mi
  • La Perle du Lac: 0.9 mi
  • Palace of Nations: 1 mi
  • Red Cross Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Parc La Grange: 1.4 mi
  • The Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations: 1.4 mi
  • Geneva Botanical Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Main Train Station (Gare Centrale Cornavin): 0.2 mi
  • The Brunswick Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Flower Clock: 0.5 mi
  • Plaine de Plainpalais: 0.7 mi
  • Reformation Wall: 0.7 mi
  • Water Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Centre International de Conférences Genève: 0.7 mi
  • Place de la Fusterie: 0.8 mi
  • Theatre Universite and Eaux Vives: 0.8 mi
  • La Perle du Lac: 0.9 mi
  • Palace of Nations: 1 mi
  • Red Cross Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Parc La Grange: 1.4 mi
  • The Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations: 1.4 mi
  • Geneva Botanical Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • World Health Organization Headquarters: 1.5 mi
  • Carouge: 1.8 mi
  • Place du Marche: 2 mi
  • Geneva Airport railway station: 2.1 mi
  • The Lake Geneva: 26 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (103)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cornavin

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 103
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cameron
Business
London
Aug 2, 2010

BE CAREFUL

The only benefit to this hotel is if you need to catch an early train the next morning and dont want to much fuss getting to the station. The station is literally right next door. Even on that basis though I would thoroughly recommend to stay away. The hotel is listed as 4 stars but to be fair it should really be listed as 2-3. The problems were: - Beds and pillows are a disgrace - Rooms are old and ragged with dirty carpets - Shower gel and shampoo is of a very poor quality i.e. bring your own - Staff stole an item that I left behind

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WHJ LI
Business
New York, NY
Oct 19, 2014

Nice Location

The train station is just 1 min aways from the hotel. I was there for a business trip. It was a nice location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Ask the front desk for recommendations :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aussie traveller w
Business
florida
Jul 31, 2012

Very Disappointed

we chose this hotel because it advertised that there was an airport service, well there wasn't! We had to pay a taxi to the airport, in fact 2 because our international flight times were that different! the staff were abrupt and not willing to do as was advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom visiting
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jul 16, 2012

Nice but internet is weak

The rooms are attractive and simple, bedding is good quality, and bathroom was modern. Nice breakfast with view from 8th fl. But I could not get on internet through wireless and no one could help me (the re-direct of URL to login wasn't working on my computer due to security settings). This was a major problem. When I finally got a tech-savvy young person to get URL using his cell phone, it worked but was slow. Expensive given this problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Jun 4, 2011

Convenient, nice room

Next door to train station, good sized room and fairly quiet although it faced the street. I would stay there again for business in downtown Geneva. There are several trains per hour to the airport, a short convenient ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jan 8, 2011

Hotel Cornavin next to train station

First of all the hotel was impossible to get to by car. It would be perfect for people who ride the train. When we checked in the lady at the front desk was pleasant until we asked more question. We asked if we could just park outside and she said no and that we need to find other parkin; when it clearly marked Hotel Cornavin guest parking in front. We had to pay at the garage. The room its was quite interesting and lovely. We had view of the church and the whole city. The bathroom was all glass. Love the clean tub. The bed was a little hard to sleep. If you have time skip the breakfast at the Hotel and find somewhere else to eat. The breakfast buffet was small (limited choices) for $19. But overall it's good for business people or people who wants to be next to the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 23, 2010

Adequate

The bed felt like an army cot, but I wasn't in my room all that much. WiFi service was fairly cheap compared to my last stay in Europe, so I can't complain about that. I didn't get breakfast included in my package and when I asked about it, it was way too expensive ($20 for continental) to upgrade. The location is convenient, so can't complain about that. Right across the street from the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of options heading to the lake, but they are all of the main drag. Be adventurous and go find one!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
value-conscious
Business
New York
Jul 25, 2010

ok

I went to this hotel with minimal expectations beyond its ideal location a block from the train station, and those expectations were fulfilled but not exceeded. I didn't take advantage of the "fitness center" in the basement and only ate the mediocre free breakfast once, so the only amenity that mattered to me was the air conditioning, which worked. Relative to my other options, the hotel was a decent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chiquito
Business
italy
Apr 27, 2010

Good for business

very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ted007
Business
New York City
Oct 25, 2014

Great for Business

Excellent Location. Great Staff. Clean Simple Rooms. Excellent wireless internet connection. Everything you need for business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top