$150 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 14, 2015 Check-out: Feb 15, 2015

Hotel Cornavin

4 stars
Gare de Cornavin, --, Geneva, 1201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
104 reviews
Great

It is great. The room is clean. I like the big desk of the hotel. See full review

  • YE M.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Really nice place with great value

Everything was really nice here, the room was spacious, had a great view, and was affordable. The... See full review

  • Shawn Flowers
  • Dec 3, 2014
Central Geneva hotel with unique swinging appeal

Hotel Cornavin offers an idyllic location in central Geneva, just a few steps away from the train station. This chic hotel offers 164 comfortable rooms furnished with modern design. With its convenient location in the city, guests can easily reach banks, commercial establishments not to mention the scenic lake nearby. The hotel also features a large pendulum hanging from the ninth floor and swings right at the ground floor of the property. Guests enjoy a panoramic view of Geneva while enjoying breakfast on site.

Highlights
  • Central location within 15 minutes of most top attractions
  • Four panoramic rooms and breakfast room offer views of Geneva and Jet d'Eau
  • One of the world's largest pendulums
Rooms

All 162 rooms include a safe, mini-bar, television, Wi-Fi access and large closets. Rooms were renovated in 2006 in streamlined minimalist style fitting the smaller spaces. Curved mirrors and a glass partition around the bathroom add fun and funky design elements. Rooms facing the train station have soundproof windows but guests still might want to request a room on the other side of the hotel. Four panoramic rooms provide views of the city and Jet d'Eau.

Features

Floor-to-ceiling windows flood the eighth-floor breakfast room with sunlight. Guests can work out in the small fitness room in the basement. Other features include bar/lounge, business center, concierge desk, Wi-Fi access and laundry facilities. Public parking is available 50 metres away from the property.

Transportation
  • Geneva International Airport (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Gare de Cornavin (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Free Geneva Transport Card for use on public transportation

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Cornavin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Cornavin Rooms

single room
Modern single room with AC and soud proof window. All rooms are non-smoking
double room
Modern twin or double room with AC and soud proof window. All rooms are non-smoking
triple room
Modern triple room with AC and soud proof window. All rooms are non-smoking

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Main Train Station (Gare Centrale Cornavin): 0.2 mi
  • The Brunswick Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Flower Clock: 0.5 mi
  • Plaine de Plainpalais: 0.7 mi
  • Reformation Wall: 0.7 mi
  • Water Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Centre International de Conférences Genève: 0.7 mi
  • Place de la Fusterie: 0.8 mi
  • Theatre Universite and Eaux Vives: 0.8 mi
  • La Perle du Lac: 0.9 mi
  • Palace of Nations: 1 mi
  • Red Cross Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Parc La Grange: 1.4 mi
  • The Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations: 1.4 mi
  • Geneva Botanical Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Main Train Station (Gare Centrale Cornavin): 0.2 mi
  • The Brunswick Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Flower Clock: 0.5 mi
  • Plaine de Plainpalais: 0.7 mi
  • Reformation Wall: 0.7 mi
  • Water Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Centre International de Conférences Genève: 0.7 mi
  • Place de la Fusterie: 0.8 mi
  • Theatre Universite and Eaux Vives: 0.8 mi
  • La Perle du Lac: 0.9 mi
  • Palace of Nations: 1 mi
  • Red Cross Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Parc La Grange: 1.4 mi
  • The Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations: 1.4 mi
  • Geneva Botanical Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • World Health Organization Headquarters: 1.5 mi
  • Carouge: 1.8 mi
  • Place du Marche: 2 mi
  • Geneva Airport railway station: 2.1 mi
  • The Lake Geneva: 26 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cornavin

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shorttrips in europe
Business
uk
Dec 4, 2012

good for a short stay

clean rooms -- true triple with three beds. bathroom was a bit awkward and semi-visible from the entire room. friendly staff and right next to the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to train station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
George from Georgia
Business
Dahlonega, Ga, USA
Jan 29, 2013

Comfortable and Great Location

The best feature of this hotel is it's location. You are steps from the train station, and city public transportation abounds within a block. The lake is a short walk away, and shopping is too. The hotel serves only breakfast in its restaurant, and it's bar is tiny and has only a basic selection, so you pretty much have to rely on nearby restaurants for meals. But the restuarant has spectacular views, and it would be worth the approx. $30 it charges to eat breakfast there. The rooms are very comfortable, and have a nice coffee service; the hotel staff is very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several coffee shops are nearby the hotel, but don't be suprised if a bevy of balck capped chickadees invade and beg for crumbs from you - they are part of the Geneva scene.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
family trip to Europe
Business
Arlington, VA
Jul 28, 2010

good location by train station

good for overnight stay, easy access to train station and airport via train, easy walk to lake, shopping, old town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Nov 3, 2009

nice hotel

nice location and decent rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chiquito
Business
italy
Apr 27, 2010

Good for business

very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jan 8, 2011

Hotel Cornavin next to train station

First of all the hotel was impossible to get to by car. It would be perfect for people who ride the train. When we checked in the lady at the front desk was pleasant until we asked more question. We asked if we could just park outside and she said no and that we need to find other parkin; when it clearly marked Hotel Cornavin guest parking in front. We had to pay at the garage. The room its was quite interesting and lovely. We had view of the church and the whole city. The bathroom was all glass. Love the clean tub. The bed was a little hard to sleep. If you have time skip the breakfast at the Hotel and find somewhere else to eat. The breakfast buffet was small (limited choices) for $19. But overall it's good for business people or people who wants to be next to the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
value-conscious
Business
New York
Jul 25, 2010

ok

I went to this hotel with minimal expectations beyond its ideal location a block from the train station, and those expectations were fulfilled but not exceeded. I didn't take advantage of the "fitness center" in the basement and only ate the mediocre free breakfast once, so the only amenity that mattered to me was the air conditioning, which worked. Relative to my other options, the hotel was a decent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marquette, MI
Oct 15, 2009

Great Location

We were ending a 2 1/2 week trip to Italy and Switzerland. Since we were leaving by train to the airport, the location of the hotel was fantastic. The area a little rough but we did walk everywhere Most hotels have breakfast included with the hotel stay and we were surprised that with the hight cost of our room, $170 CHF ,we did not. We would not stay at this hotel again. Very expensive internet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jeddah,Saudi arabia
Jun 27, 2011

Good location

The hotel location was good,but we felt it was over priced

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 23, 2010

Adequate

The bed felt like an army cot, but I wasn't in my room all that much. WiFi service was fairly cheap compared to my last stay in Europe, so I can't complain about that. I didn't get breakfast included in my package and when I asked about it, it was way too expensive ($20 for continental) to upgrade. The location is convenient, so can't complain about that. Right across the street from the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of options heading to the lake, but they are all of the main drag. Be adventurous and go find one!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top