$150 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Hotel Cornavin

4 stars
Gare de Cornavin, --, Geneva, 1201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
98 reviews
Incredible value for Geneva

Geneva has to be the most expensive city in Europe, and this "just like new" hotel offers... See full review

  • The Jetson Family
  • Oct 12, 2013
Great hotel for a weekend

Stayed here for a quick weekend getaway. This hotel was clean, and the service was nice. The... See full review

  • XIII
  • Sep 24, 2013
Central Geneva hotel with unique swinging appeal

Hotel Cornavin offers an idyllic location in central Geneva, just a few steps away from the train station. This chic hotel offers 164 comfortable rooms furnished with modern design. With its convenient location in the city, guests can easily reach banks, commercial establishments not to mention the scenic lake nearby. The hotel also features a large pendulum hanging from the ninth floor and swings right at the ground floor of the property. Guests enjoy a panoramic view of Geneva while enjoying breakfast on site.

Highlights
  • Central location within 15 minutes of most top attractions
  • Four panoramic rooms and breakfast room offer views of Geneva and Jet d'Eau
  • One of the world's largest pendulums
Rooms

All 162 rooms include a safe, mini-bar, television, Wi-Fi access and large closets. Rooms were renovated in 2006 in streamlined minimalist style fitting the smaller spaces. Curved mirrors and a glass partition around the bathroom add fun and funky design elements. Rooms facing the train station have soundproof windows but guests still might want to request a room on the other side of the hotel. Four panoramic rooms provide views of the city and Jet d'Eau.

Features

Floor-to-ceiling windows flood the eighth-floor breakfast room with sunlight. Guests can work out in the small fitness room in the basement. Other features include bar/lounge, business center, concierge desk, Wi-Fi access and laundry facilities. Public parking is available 50 metres away from the property.

Transportation
  • Geneva International Airport (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Gare de Cornavin (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Free Geneva Transport Card for use on public transportation

Hotel Map

46.2094 6.1417
Area served
Located just on the right of the main rail station.
Nearby airports
Geneva
Area description
Located in the centre of Geneva, next to the main station. All major touristic, business and shopping areas just a few steps from the hotel. The 164 rooms offers a contemporaty design and an attractive architecture. All rooms are very comfortable with AC, sound proof windows, safe, mini-bar, Pay TV, hair dryer and Wireless access.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Cornavin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Cornavin Rooms

single room
Modern single room with AC and soud proof window. All rooms are non-smoking
double room
Modern twin or double room with AC and soud proof window. All rooms are non-smoking
triple room
Modern triple room with AC and soud proof window. All rooms are non-smoking

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Main Train Station (Gare Centrale Cornavin): 0.2 mi
  • The Brunswick Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Flower Clock: 0.5 mi
  • Plaine de Plainpalais: 0.7 mi
  • Reformation Wall: 0.7 mi
  • Water Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Centre International de Conférences Genève: 0.7 mi
  • Place de la Fusterie: 0.8 mi
  • Theatre Universite and Eaux Vives: 0.8 mi
  • La Perle du Lac: 0.9 mi
  • Palace of Nations: 1 mi
  • Red Cross Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Parc La Grange: 1.4 mi
  • The Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations: 1.4 mi
  • Geneva Botanical Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Main Train Station (Gare Centrale Cornavin): 0.2 mi
  • The Brunswick Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Flower Clock: 0.5 mi
  • Plaine de Plainpalais: 0.7 mi
  • Reformation Wall: 0.7 mi
  • Water Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Centre International de Conférences Genève: 0.7 mi
  • Place de la Fusterie: 0.8 mi
  • Theatre Universite and Eaux Vives: 0.8 mi
  • La Perle du Lac: 0.9 mi
  • Palace of Nations: 1 mi
  • Red Cross Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Parc La Grange: 1.4 mi
  • The Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations: 1.4 mi
  • Geneva Botanical Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • World Health Organization Headquarters: 1.5 mi
  • Carouge: 1.8 mi
  • Place du Marche: 2 mi
  • Geneva Airport railway station: 2.1 mi
  • The Lake Geneva: 26 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cornavin

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jan 8, 2011

Hotel Cornavin next to train station

First of all the hotel was impossible to get to by car. It would be perfect for people who ride the train. When we checked in the lady at the front desk was pleasant until we asked more question. We asked if we could just park outside and she said no and that we need to find other parkin; when it clearly marked Hotel Cornavin guest parking in front. We had to pay at the garage. The room its was quite interesting and lovely. We had view of the church and the whole city. The bathroom was all glass. Love the clean tub. The bed was a little hard to sleep. If you have time skip the breakfast at the Hotel and find somewhere else to eat. The breakfast buffet was small (limited choices) for $19. But overall it's good for business people or people who wants to be next to the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Jun 4, 2011

Convenient, nice room

Next door to train station, good sized room and fairly quiet although it faced the street. I would stay there again for business in downtown Geneva. There are several trains per hour to the airport, a short convenient ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EuroTravelGuy3476
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Great location, good if you can get for a decent price

I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The location doesn't get any better, practically touching the train station but with sound proof rooms so you can barely hear the train. I managed to get this hotel for only $140 a night with prepaid. I think that is a fantastic deal in Geneva. One major complaint: the Wi-Fi only worked 3 hours of the 48 that I was there. Front desk staff played ignorant when I told them they need to re-set the router. So, if internet works, it's a decent hotel. If the internet isn't working, don't expect them to be able to fix it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 23, 2010

Adequate

The bed felt like an army cot, but I wasn't in my room all that much. WiFi service was fairly cheap compared to my last stay in Europe, so I can't complain about that. I didn't get breakfast included in my package and when I asked about it, it was way too expensive ($20 for continental) to upgrade. The location is convenient, so can't complain about that. Right across the street from the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of options heading to the lake, but they are all of the main drag. Be adventurous and go find one!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shorttrips in europe
uk
Dec 4, 2012

good for a short stay

clean rooms -- true triple with three beds. bathroom was a bit awkward and semi-visible from the entire room. friendly staff and right next to the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to train station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SharonA
Scotland
Sep 12, 2012

Excellent location

We enjoyed a relaxing weekend break in Geneva, following guide from other reviews, this hotel was located perfectly and easy to find, near to train station and local attractions, breakfast was lovely on the top floor with tremendous views. Well reccommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
jeddah,Saudi arabia
Jun 27, 2011

Good location

The hotel location was good,but we felt it was over priced

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
nj
Nov 3, 2009

nice hotel

nice location and decent rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marquette, MI
Oct 15, 2009

Great Location

We were ending a 2 1/2 week trip to Italy and Switzerland. Since we were leaving by train to the airport, the location of the hotel was fantastic. The area a little rough but we did walk everywhere Most hotels have breakfast included with the hotel stay and we were surprised that with the hight cost of our room, $170 CHF ,we did not. We would not stay at this hotel again. Very expensive internet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
family trip to Europe
Arlington, VA
Jul 28, 2010

good location by train station

good for overnight stay, easy access to train station and airport via train, easy walk to lake, shopping, old town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search