$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 15, 2014 Check-out: Dec 16, 2014

Hotel Cornavin

4 stars
Gare de Cornavin, --, Geneva, 1201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
102 reviews
Cornavin in Geneva

Clean rooms, fascinating panorama dining hall. I was surprised how quickly is to arrive to the... See full review

  • Vladas Snieckus
  • Nov 19, 2014
Incredible value for Geneva

Geneva has to be the most expensive city in Europe, and this "just like new" hotel offers... See full review

  • The Jetson Family
  • Oct 12, 2013
The Hotel Cornavin enjoys an ideal and quiet location in the very heart of Geneva, just 1 minute from the train station and 5 minutes from the international organisations. The 164 rooms propose a modern design and are very comfortable. Surrounded by banks and shops, the hotel is also very close to the lake and is one of the most modern hotels in town. A special feature is the worlds largest pendulum - it hangs from the ninth floor and swings right down to the ground floor in the lobby of the hotel. The total length is 30.02 metres.The panoramic view of Geneva from the breakfast floor (eighth floor) is particularly impressive. Public parking is available 50 metres away from the Conravin Geneve hotel.

Hotel Map

46.2094 6.1417
Area served
Located just on the right of the main rail station.
Nearby airports
Geneva
Area description
Located in the centre of Geneva, next to the main station. All major touristic, business and shopping areas just a few steps from the hotel. The 164 rooms offers a contemporaty design and an attractive architecture. All rooms are very comfortable with AC, sound proof windows, safe, mini-bar, Pay TV, hair dryer and Wireless access.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Cornavin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Cornavin Rooms

single room
Modern single room with AC and soud proof window. All rooms are non-smoking
double room
Modern twin or double room with AC and soud proof window. All rooms are non-smoking
triple room
Modern triple room with AC and soud proof window. All rooms are non-smoking

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Main Train Station (Gare Centrale Cornavin): 0.2 mi
  • The Brunswick Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Flower Clock: 0.5 mi
  • Plaine de Plainpalais: 0.7 mi
  • Reformation Wall: 0.7 mi
  • Water Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Centre International de Conférences Genève: 0.7 mi
  • Place de la Fusterie: 0.8 mi
  • Theatre Universite and Eaux Vives: 0.8 mi
  • La Perle du Lac: 0.9 mi
  • Palace of Nations: 1 mi
  • Red Cross Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Parc La Grange: 1.4 mi
  • The Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations: 1.4 mi
  • Geneva Botanical Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Main Train Station (Gare Centrale Cornavin): 0.2 mi
  • The Brunswick Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Flower Clock: 0.5 mi
  • Plaine de Plainpalais: 0.7 mi
  • Reformation Wall: 0.7 mi
  • Water Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Centre International de Conférences Genève: 0.7 mi
  • Place de la Fusterie: 0.8 mi
  • Theatre Universite and Eaux Vives: 0.8 mi
  • La Perle du Lac: 0.9 mi
  • Palace of Nations: 1 mi
  • Red Cross Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Parc La Grange: 1.4 mi
  • The Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations: 1.4 mi
  • Geneva Botanical Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • World Health Organization Headquarters: 1.5 mi
  • Carouge: 1.8 mi
  • Place du Marche: 2 mi
  • Geneva Airport railway station: 2.1 mi
  • The Lake Geneva: 26 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cornavin

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cameron
Business
London
Aug 2, 2010

BE CAREFUL

The only benefit to this hotel is if you need to catch an early train the next morning and dont want to much fuss getting to the station. The station is literally right next door. Even on that basis though I would thoroughly recommend to stay away. The hotel is listed as 4 stars but to be fair it should really be listed as 2-3. The problems were: - Beds and pillows are a disgrace - Rooms are old and ragged with dirty carpets - Shower gel and shampoo is of a very poor quality i.e. bring your own - Staff stole an item that I left behind

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alex737
Business
Canada
Aug 22, 2011

Not recommended for people with CAR'S

terrible access to Hotel if you have a vehicle, Not recommended. And air conditioning was not working in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TiredinAsheville
Business
Raleigh NC
Aug 15, 2014

Overpriced 2 star

This search engine has this hotel rated as a 4 star but the hotels website rates it as a 2 star. It's overpriced, AC doesn't work well and the staff are rude and unhelpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dave7224
Business
Yakima, WA
Nov 28, 2011

At Central Rail Station

A great location for getting around Geneva and the surrounding countryside. There are shopping and restaurants nearby. The rooms are clean but ordinary. There were 3 twin beds in each of our rooms, so this seems to be a hotel for groups (skiers?) who want easy access to the train. Great for families on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Niams
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Nov 28, 2011

leisure with Boyfriend

stay was Ok. stayed in the panoromic rooms, very cold in the room, asked for them to check up...nothing happened. Oh, the big bed is really 2 beds put together, annoying if you are with your better half. A rude receptionnist on day 2. I avoided her like the plague from then on. Another funny thing happened, we were leaving the room for our days excursion and the housekeeper was outside the door, she complained that we had overstayed in the room and that she wanted to clean and finish up. what the..... we were only checking out the next day. When did staff get this nasty with no sense of customer care? like seriously! i did not even get angry as i thought it was some what amusing. When we came back, the cleanig was so substandard, she should have just left the room as was.............did not let that ruin our stay. They need to go back and have some refresher training on hospitality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

anything touristy is withitn a short walking distance...or a few tram/bus stops from the hotel. This is situated right by the train station, so ideal if you are leaving Geneva for the day to visit other cities...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bellplayer658
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 31, 2011

Good location, but needs to work on some detail

Pros: Location, cost, style Cons: you can't turn on the bathroom light without turning on the bedroom lights. This is problematic for the middle of the night bathroom trips. Also, the evening concierge is no good. The first night, they told us that breakfast was included in the room charges; at check out they told us that this was not correct. Then, they had difficulty recommending any fondue places to eat. He gave us a card for a place saying that he "didn't know much about it, except that it was close...." Not a very good recommnedation, if you ask me. All in all, though, it was a decent place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EuroTravelGuy3476
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Great location, good if you can get for a decent price

I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The location doesn't get any better, practically touching the train station but with sound proof rooms so you can barely hear the train. I managed to get this hotel for only $140 a night with prepaid. I think that is a fantastic deal in Geneva. One major complaint: the Wi-Fi only worked 3 hours of the 48 that I was there. Front desk staff played ignorant when I told them they need to re-set the router. So, if internet works, it's a decent hotel. If the internet isn't working, don't expect them to be able to fix it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom visiting
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jul 16, 2012

Nice but internet is weak

The rooms are attractive and simple, bedding is good quality, and bathroom was modern. Nice breakfast with view from 8th fl. But I could not get on internet through wireless and no one could help me (the re-direct of URL to login wasn't working on my computer due to security settings). This was a major problem. When I finally got a tech-savvy young person to get URL using his cell phone, it worked but was slow. Expensive given this problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aussie traveller w
Business
florida
Jul 31, 2012

Very Disappointed

we chose this hotel because it advertised that there was an airport service, well there wasn't! We had to pay a taxi to the airport, in fact 2 because our international flight times were that different! the staff were abrupt and not willing to do as was advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SharonA
Business
Scotland
Sep 12, 2012

Excellent location

We enjoyed a relaxing weekend break in Geneva, following guide from other reviews, this hotel was located perfectly and easy to find, near to train station and local attractions, breakfast was lovely on the top floor with tremendous views. Well reccommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top