$154 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Hotel Cornavin

4 stars
View map of Gare de Cornavin, --, Geneva, 1201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cornavin

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hurumi
Suwon, Korea
Jan 22, 2013

One of best hotels in Geneva train station

Very nice room and easy to use multi buses and trams. Breakfast at 8th floor gives great scenary. Try to catch special discount. It is definitely worth to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Switzerland
Jan 4, 2011

Good Hotel, Best price

Clean, Big Room, Big Bath Room, Breakfast Not at Lot of products

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Café de Paris in Rue du Mont Blanc

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Dec 6, 2010

Great for buisness

The hotel is very convenient for travellers, being located a few meters from the train station and other forms of public transport. The rooms are satisfactory and the breakfast quite good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 23, 2010

Adequate

The bed felt like an army cot, but I wasn't in my room all that much. WiFi service was fairly cheap compared to my last stay in Europe, so I can't complain about that. I didn't get breakfast included in my package and when I asked about it, it was way too expensive ($20 for continental) to upgrade. The location is convenient, so can't complain about that. Right across the street from the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of options heading to the lake, but they are all of the main drag. Be adventurous and go find one!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethesda, MD
Oct 25, 2010

Reliable business hotel

Location is unbeatable for all Geneva business. Staff is helpful; breakfast view is extraordinary. No bar or restaurant however, and fitness room is minimal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mojo
Business
cheshire
Sep 29, 2010

Ideally located by the station

From the airport got the train for 3CHF which stops right outside the hotel. Free travel card on arrival at the hotel to use for the whole of our stay, so could use it for the buses/metro and return train to the airport which runs every 10/15 mins. Short walk into the shopping area and down to the lake. A little further into the old town but still only 5/10 mins. Room very clean and very comfy beds! Also windows soundproofed so although next to the station and busy main street couldn't hear anything and room had aircon. Breakfast was not included in rate. It was 19CHF but we didn't eat there we went to Starbucks across the road... Eating and drinking out in Geneva very expensive so be warned! We ate at Mortimars in the old town which was fantastic. Food lovely and bags of atmosphere, but need to book!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
na
Sep 24, 2010

quality and price both excellent

One small convenience was very nice -- the free transit pass for the duration of the stay in Geneva. This made it so EASY to get around it was an excellent addition to my stay. I had a ride on La Muette as well as the trams.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Coast, USA
Aug 27, 2010

Great Location, Comfy Bed

We were only there for one night and chose this hotel because of price and proximity to the train station. I traveled with two children- 3 and 7. The staff answered my numerous questions about swimming, trasportation, safety, etc. They were friendly and helpful (though didn't know all the answers to my million and one questions). The beds were comfortable and the room (specfically the bathroom) quite large by European standards. The only thing that would have been better would to have been in a room that wasn't facing the train station. However, the sound of the trains didn't continue all night and it probably wouldn't bother someone who is habituated to city life. Overall, I felt we got a very good deal for the room (which, though next to the train tracks, also afforeded a nice view of the tops of buildings and the Alps). We didn't need internet or business services so I cannot comment on those areas. However, warning to families traveling with children, although the channels above 21 are "pay", ask the front desk to block all stations above 21 as, even though you have to pay for them, you can see them before you pay! My 7 year old was flipping through channels looking for cartoons and got his first glimpse of in appropriate programming. The hotel itself isn't amazing, but the overall experience was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a boat "bus". It is included in your free transportation ticket. Also, Geneva isn't nearly as big as it looks on the map. You walk to a lot of the major tourist attractions. If it's summertime, walk to the Bains des Paquis and jump in the lake! It's cold, but if you go in the afternoon/evening, they have live music, drinks and food. The ambiance is worth the 2 franc entry fee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cameron
Business
London
Aug 2, 2010

BE CAREFUL

The only benefit to this hotel is if you need to catch an early train the next morning and dont want to much fuss getting to the station. The station is literally right next door. Even on that basis though I would thoroughly recommend to stay away. The hotel is listed as 4 stars but to be fair it should really be listed as 2-3. The problems were: - Beds and pillows are a disgrace - Rooms are old and ragged with dirty carpets - Shower gel and shampoo is of a very poor quality i.e. bring your own - Staff stole an item that I left behind

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
family trip to Europe
Business
Arlington, VA
Jul 28, 2010

good location by train station

good for overnight stay, easy access to train station and airport via train, easy walk to lake, shopping, old town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lancaster, PA
Jul 27, 2010

Convenient location and great service

This was a beautiful weekend in Geneva. Weather was clear and warm - always helps. This was a wrap-up to my overall week-long vacation. Lake cruises are reasonable, but lake-shore activities (expansive kiddie-oriented amusements parks) are annoying. Great to visit the 'old city' and its history along with chess games along the promenade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the more expensive restaurants are over-rated and open too late for convenience. Open-air cafes and dining service seemed more appropriate to me.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top