$168 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Hotel Cornavin

4 stars
View map of Gare de Cornavin, --, Geneva, 1201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cornavin

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TriciaAnn
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 15, 2012

great stay

We had a great stay at the Hotel Cornavin. We came in and left on the train, and this hotel could not be any more convenient for train travelers. It literally sits across the street from the train station. That said, it was not at all noisy. We found the hotel perfect with regards to our needs: we were seeking a clean, comfortable, safe, and budget friendly place to use as a base on a 1-night stay to explore Geneva. Would pick this hotel again in an instant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Worldwide seeker
Business
Kiev, Ukraine
Aug 10, 2012

Excellent well located hotel

Convenient, great breakfast room with view. Room simple but practical some have great views on the lake on the upper floors. Beware prices vary tremendously depending on the week. Could not beat the location at Cornavin easy access everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
all nicknames are already
Business
North Dakota
Aug 4, 2012

very clean, quiet, great location

The previous reviews of this hotels were somewhat uneven. However, I may recommend it without hesitation. If you are on a business trip in Geneva or just exploring, this hotel will work for you very well. I was somewhat concerned about the level of noise right near the railway station. Noise was not a problem AT ALL, at least on my fifth floor. The windows are double and well sound proofed. I also did not hear anything from behind the wall or from above. The room and bathroom are on a small side,but functional and not super small. Bathroom is extremely clean and everything worked. Internet was not the fastest, but worked reliably (again, on my 5th floor). TV not huge, but adequate. Fridge is a convenient. The only thing that was absent is an iron, but they have a room for that if needed. Breakfast is not included, but for the price it is fully acceptable. There are numerous cafe around, that includes a Starbucks very close. Location is excellent to access different parts of the city. Bus stops of several bus lines are right next to the hotel doors. Bed was comfortable and air conditioning worked, too. It does not go all the way to the freezing temperatures like in the U.S., but it was nice and cool.My colleagues paid more for their hotel, but it sounded like it was significantly worse. A very good value in this price range in Geneva which is a very expensive city overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aussie traveller w
Business
florida
Jul 31, 2012

Very Disappointed

we chose this hotel because it advertised that there was an airport service, well there wasn't! We had to pay a taxi to the airport, in fact 2 because our international flight times were that different! the staff were abrupt and not willing to do as was advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hong
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Jul 30, 2012

Great location!

Location is great, so close to the railway station which leads to the airport, yet close enough to the centre and the lake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Worldwide seeker
Business
Kiev, Ukraine
Jul 28, 2012

Central Location Modern Hotel

Fantastic central location with great breakfast panoramic room with view. Bedroom are modern and enjoy the cow armchair, views are wonderful and the proximity to all public transport make this hotel one of my favorites in Geneva.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hungry traveller
Business
Oregon
Jul 21, 2012

Great breakfast

Located across from the train station. Breakfast was one of the best ever, with an awesome view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1600 Penn Visitor
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 18, 2012

Convenient and clean - great view from roof

We had a fine time here. It was relatively inexpensive (for Geneva), and the cons are thinnish walls and a relatively basic room (two twin beds, but pushed next to each other). The bathroom was quite nice however, the Internet was free, and the glass-enclosed two-floor top floor is beautiful. The staff was excellent and friendly from check-in to making some local suggestions and calling a cab quickly in the morning. The true perk is the extreme convenience to the train station (across the street) and thus the airport (10 minutes by trains there). MUCH cheaper than a cab to the airport (US$50). Also close to a great low-key neighborhood gay bar (Le Phare) - recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom visiting
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jul 16, 2012

Nice but internet is weak

The rooms are attractive and simple, bedding is good quality, and bathroom was modern. Nice breakfast with view from 8th fl. But I could not get on internet through wireless and no one could help me (the re-direct of URL to login wasn't working on my computer due to security settings). This was a major problem. When I finally got a tech-savvy young person to get URL using his cell phone, it worked but was slow. Expensive given this problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nickelnotadime
Business
SF Bay Area, CA
Jul 5, 2012

Excellent location and friendly staff

Lovely stay- quiet room with comfy bed and modern decor. Excellent value for an expensive city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top