$164 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

Hotel Cornavin

4 stars
Gare de Cornavin, --, Geneva, 1201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
127 reviews
Incredible value for Geneva

Geneva has to be the most expensive city in Europe, and this "just like new" hotel offers... See full review

  • The Jetson Family
  • Oct 12, 2013
Great hotel for a weekend

Stayed here for a quick weekend getaway. This hotel was clean, and the service was nice. The... See full review

  • XIII
  • Sep 24, 2013
Central Geneva hotel with unique swinging appeal

Hotel Cornavin offers an idyllic location in central Geneva, just a few steps away from the train station. This chic hotel offers 164 comfortable rooms furnished with modern design. With its convenient location in the city, guests can easily reach banks, commercial establishments not to mention the scenic lake nearby. The hotel also features a large pendulum hanging from the ninth floor and swings right at the ground floor of the property. Guests enjoy a panoramic view of Geneva while enjoying breakfast on site.

Highlights
  • Central location within 15 minutes of most top attractions
  • Four panoramic rooms and breakfast room offer views of Geneva and Jet d'Eau
  • One of the world's largest pendulums
Rooms

All 162 rooms include a safe, mini-bar, television, Wi-Fi (fees apply) and large closets. Rooms were renovated in 2006 in streamlined minimalist style fitting the smaller spaces. Curved mirrors and a glass partition around the bathroom add fun and funky design elements. Rooms facing the train station have soundproof windows but guests still might want to request a room on the other side of the hotel. Four panoramic rooms provide views of the city and Jet d'Eau.

Features

Floor-to-ceiling windows flood the eighth-floor breakfast room with sunlight. Guests can work out in the small fitness room in the basement. Other features include bar/lounge, business center, concierge desk, and laundry facilities. Public parking is available 50 metres away from the property.

Transportation
  • Geneva International Airport (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Gare de Cornavin (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Free Geneva Transport Card for use on public transportation

Hotel Cornavin Rooms

single room
Modern single room with AC and soud proof window. All rooms are non-smoking
double room
Modern twin or double room with AC and soud proof window. All rooms are non-smoking
triple room
Modern triple room with AC and soud proof window. All rooms are non-smoking

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Cornavin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

46.2094 6.1417
Area served
Located just on the right of the main rail station.
Nearby airports
Geneva
Area description
Located in the centre of Geneva, next to the main station. All major touristic, business and shopping areas just a few steps from the hotel. The 164 rooms offers a contemporaty design and an attractive architecture. All rooms are very comfortable with AC, sound proof windows, safe, mini-bar, Pay TV, hair dryer and Wireless access.

Nearby points of interest

  • Main Train Station (Gare Centrale Cornavin): 0.2 mi
  • The Brunswick Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Flower Clock: 0.5 mi
  • Plaine de Plainpalais: 0.7 mi
  • Reformation Wall: 0.7 mi
  • Water Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Centre International de Conférences Genève: 0.7 mi
  • Place de la Fusterie: 0.8 mi
  • Theatre Universite and Eaux Vives: 0.8 mi
  • La Perle du Lac: 0.9 mi
  • Palace of Nations: 1 mi
  • Red Cross Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Parc La Grange: 1.4 mi
  • The Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations: 1.4 mi
  • Geneva Botanical Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Main Train Station (Gare Centrale Cornavin): 0.2 mi
  • The Brunswick Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Flower Clock: 0.5 mi
  • Plaine de Plainpalais: 0.7 mi
  • Reformation Wall: 0.7 mi
  • Water Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Centre International de Conférences Genève: 0.7 mi
  • Place de la Fusterie: 0.8 mi
  • Theatre Universite and Eaux Vives: 0.8 mi
  • La Perle du Lac: 0.9 mi
  • Palace of Nations: 1 mi
  • Red Cross Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Parc La Grange: 1.4 mi
  • The Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations: 1.4 mi
  • Geneva Botanical Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • World Health Organization Headquarters: 1.5 mi
  • Carouge: 1.8 mi
  • Place du Marche: 2 mi
  • Geneva Airport railway station: 2.1 mi
  • The Lake Geneva: 26 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cornavin

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hurumi
Suwon, Korea
Jan 22, 2013

One of best hotels in Geneva train station

Very nice room and easy to use multi buses and trams. Breakfast at 8th floor gives great scenary. Try to catch special discount. It is definitely worth to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
East Coast, USA
Aug 27, 2010

Great Location, Comfy Bed

We were only there for one night and chose this hotel because of price and proximity to the train station. I traveled with two children- 3 and 7. The staff answered my numerous questions about swimming, trasportation, safety, etc. They were friendly and helpful (though didn't know all the answers to my million and one questions). The beds were comfortable and the room (specfically the bathroom) quite large by European standards. The only thing that would have been better would to have been in a room that wasn't facing the train station. However, the sound of the trains didn't continue all night and it probably wouldn't bother someone who is habituated to city life. Overall, I felt we got a very good deal for the room (which, though next to the train tracks, also afforeded a nice view of the tops of buildings and the Alps). We didn't need internet or business services so I cannot comment on those areas. However, warning to families traveling with children, although the channels above 21 are "pay", ask the front desk to block all stations above 21 as, even though you have to pay for them, you can see them before you pay! My 7 year old was flipping through channels looking for cartoons and got his first glimpse of in appropriate programming. The hotel itself isn't amazing, but the overall experience was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a boat "bus". It is included in your free transportation ticket. Also, Geneva isn't nearly as big as it looks on the map. You walk to a lot of the major tourist attractions. If it's summertime, walk to the Bains des Paquis and jump in the lake! It's cold, but if you go in the afternoon/evening, they have live music, drinks and food. The ambiance is worth the 2 franc entry fee.

Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
East Coast, USA
Aug 27, 2010

Great Location, Comfy Bed

We were only there for one night and chose this hotel because of price and proximity to the train station. I traveled with two children- 3 and 7. The staff answered my numerous questions about swimming, trasportation, safety, etc. They were friendly and helpful (though didn't know all the answers to my million and one questions). The beds were comfortable and the room (specfically the bathroom) quite large by European standards. The only thing that would have been better would to have been in a room that wasn't facing the train station. However, the sound of the trains didn't continue all night and it probably wouldn't bother someone who is habituated to city life. Overall, I felt we got a very good deal for the room (which, though next to the train tracks, also afforeded a nice view of the tops of buildings and the Alps). We didn't need internet or business services so I cannot comment on those areas. However, warning to families traveling with children, although the channels above 21 are "pay", ask the front desk to block all stations above 21 as, even though you have to pay for them, you can see them before you pay! My 7 year old was flipping through channels looking for cartoons and got his first glimpse of in appropriate programming. The hotel itself isn't amazing, but the overall experience was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a boat "bus". It is included in your free transportation ticket. Also, Geneva isn't nearly as big as it looks on the map. You walk to a lot of the major tourist attractions. If it's summertime, walk to the Bains des Paquis and jump in the lake! It's cold, but if you go in the afternoon/evening, they have live music, drinks and food. The ambiance is worth the 2 franc entry fee.

Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cameron
Business
London
Aug 2, 2010

BE CAREFUL

The only benefit to this hotel is if you need to catch an early train the next morning and dont want to much fuss getting to the station. The station is literally right next door. Even on that basis though I would thoroughly recommend to stay away. The hotel is listed as 4 stars but to be fair it should really be listed as 2-3. The problems were: - Beds and pillows are a disgrace - Rooms are old and ragged with dirty carpets - Shower gel and shampoo is of a very poor quality i.e. bring your own - Staff stole an item that I left behind

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
family trip to Europe
Arlington, VA
Jul 28, 2010

good location by train station

good for overnight stay, easy access to train station and airport via train, easy walk to lake, shopping, old town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
family trip to Europe
Arlington, VA
Jul 28, 2010

good location by train station

good for overnight stay, easy access to train station and airport via train, easy walk to lake, shopping, old town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lancaster, PA
Jul 27, 2010

Convenient location and great service

This was a beautiful weekend in Geneva. Weather was clear and warm - always helps. This was a wrap-up to my overall week-long vacation. Lake cruises are reasonable, but lake-shore activities (expansive kiddie-oriented amusements parks) are annoying. Great to visit the 'old city' and its history along with chess games along the promenade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the more expensive restaurants are over-rated and open too late for convenience. Open-air cafes and dining service seemed more appropriate to me.

Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lancaster, PA
Jul 27, 2010

Convenient location and great service

This was a beautiful weekend in Geneva. Weather was clear and warm - always helps. This was a wrap-up to my overall week-long vacation. Lake cruises are reasonable, but lake-shore activities (expansive kiddie-oriented amusements parks) are annoying. Great to visit the 'old city' and its history along with chess games along the promenade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the more expensive restaurants are over-rated and open too late for convenience. Open-air cafes and dining service seemed more appropriate to me.

Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
value-conscious
Business
New York
Jul 25, 2010

ok

I went to this hotel with minimal expectations beyond its ideal location a block from the train station, and those expectations were fulfilled but not exceeded. I didn't take advantage of the "fitness center" in the basement and only ate the mediocre free breakfast once, so the only amenity that mattered to me was the air conditioning, which worked. Relative to my other options, the hotel was a decent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
value-conscious
Business
New York
Jul 25, 2010

ok

I went to this hotel with minimal expectations beyond its ideal location a block from the train station, and those expectations were fulfilled but not exceeded. I didn't take advantage of the "fitness center" in the basement and only ate the mediocre free breakfast once, so the only amenity that mattered to me was the air conditioning, which worked. Relative to my other options, the hotel was a decent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC, USA
Jul 17, 2010

Great Place to Stay in Geneva

The hotel is so convienient close to the station, trams, restaurants, etc. I was areturn visitor and I was booked in a special panoramic room. Really nice! Nice breakfast also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe de Paris. Classic Steak Frites.

Back to menu Return to top