$127 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Hotel Cornavin

4 stars
Gare de Cornavin, --, Geneva, 1201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
103 reviews
Really nice place with great value

Everything was really nice here, the room was spacious, had a great view, and was affordable. The... See full review

  • Shawn Flowers
  • Dec 3, 2014
Cornavin in Geneva

Clean rooms, fascinating panorama dining hall. I was surprised how quickly is to arrive to the... See full review

  • Vladas Snieckus
  • Nov 19, 2014
Central Geneva hotel with unique swinging appeal

Hotel Cornavin offers an idyllic location in central Geneva, just a few steps away from the train station. This chic hotel offers 164 comfortable rooms furnished with modern design. With its convenient location in the city, guests can easily reach banks, commercial establishments not to mention the scenic lake nearby. The hotel also features a large pendulum hanging from the ninth floor and swings right at the ground floor of the property. Guests enjoy a panoramic view of Geneva while enjoying breakfast on site.

Highlights
  • Central location within 15 minutes of most top attractions
  • Four panoramic rooms and breakfast room offer views of Geneva and Jet d'Eau
  • One of the world's largest pendulums
Rooms

All 162 rooms include a safe, mini-bar, television, Wi-Fi access and large closets. Rooms were renovated in 2006 in streamlined minimalist style fitting the smaller spaces. Curved mirrors and a glass partition around the bathroom add fun and funky design elements. Rooms facing the train station have soundproof windows but guests still might want to request a room on the other side of the hotel. Four panoramic rooms provide views of the city and Jet d'Eau.

Features

Floor-to-ceiling windows flood the eighth-floor breakfast room with sunlight. Guests can work out in the small fitness room in the basement. Other features include bar/lounge, business center, concierge desk, Wi-Fi access and laundry facilities. Public parking is available 50 metres away from the property.

Transportation
  • Geneva International Airport (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Gare de Cornavin (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Free Geneva Transport Card for use on public transportation

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Cornavin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Cornavin Rooms

single room
Modern single room with AC and soud proof window. All rooms are non-smoking
double room
Modern twin or double room with AC and soud proof window. All rooms are non-smoking
triple room
Modern triple room with AC and soud proof window. All rooms are non-smoking

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Main Train Station (Gare Centrale Cornavin): 0.2 mi
  • The Brunswick Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Flower Clock: 0.5 mi
  • Plaine de Plainpalais: 0.7 mi
  • Reformation Wall: 0.7 mi
  • Water Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Centre International de Conférences Genève: 0.7 mi
  • Place de la Fusterie: 0.8 mi
  • Theatre Universite and Eaux Vives: 0.8 mi
  • La Perle du Lac: 0.9 mi
  • Palace of Nations: 1 mi
  • Red Cross Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Parc La Grange: 1.4 mi
  • The Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations: 1.4 mi
  • Geneva Botanical Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Main Train Station (Gare Centrale Cornavin): 0.2 mi
  • The Brunswick Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Flower Clock: 0.5 mi
  • Plaine de Plainpalais: 0.7 mi
  • Reformation Wall: 0.7 mi
  • Water Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Centre International de Conférences Genève: 0.7 mi
  • Place de la Fusterie: 0.8 mi
  • Theatre Universite and Eaux Vives: 0.8 mi
  • La Perle du Lac: 0.9 mi
  • Palace of Nations: 1 mi
  • Red Cross Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Parc La Grange: 1.4 mi
  • The Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations: 1.4 mi
  • Geneva Botanical Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • World Health Organization Headquarters: 1.5 mi
  • Carouge: 1.8 mi
  • Place du Marche: 2 mi
  • Geneva Airport railway station: 2.1 mi
  • The Lake Geneva: 26 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (103)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cornavin

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
103 out of 103
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chiquito
Business
italy
Apr 27, 2010

Good for business

very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katt
Business
Venice, FL, USA
Mar 30, 2010

Great location, great price, great hotel

The place was great! Can't beat the location or cleanliness! I wanted to stay there on my last night (3 weeks later) before I had to fly home, but when I called, I was told the room would be $281 francs. Considering i had paid about $109 the first time, I thought this a bit extreme! But...apparently there was something going on that week as all hotels had suddenly gone psycho super expensive! And while it was well worth $109, I wasn't about to pay $281! Plus, breakfast, on their awesome breakfast floor, is $30 extra!!! Sorry - but who can eat that much bacon and eggs to make that worthwhile! I would stay there again - most definitely - but for under $200 only, regardless of what's going on in town that made the rates go up everywhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

All food is very expensive in Geneva, but everything you could ask for is right within a km of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albania
Mar 23, 2010

good location

Good location, the room was small but for one night it is was worth...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Nov 3, 2009

nice hotel

nice location and decent rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marquette, MI
Oct 15, 2009

Great Location

We were ending a 2 1/2 week trip to Italy and Switzerland. Since we were leaving by train to the airport, the location of the hotel was fantastic. The area a little rough but we did walk everywhere Most hotels have breakfast included with the hotel stay and we were surprised that with the hight cost of our room, $170 CHF ,we did not. We would not stay at this hotel again. Very expensive internet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 26, 2009

Great location, friendly service

Provided great service and spoke good English. This made the stay more cmfortable. The location was excellent and close to the train station and downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great deal of shopping within a few miles walk. Across the lake is the official "shopping district", which included some neat musicians. It was very cultural.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach
Jul 15, 2009

Hotel Cornavin

Great location, clean and great view of the city if you're facing the lake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brian from SF
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 9, 2009

Very Convenient

The location of this hotel was perfect... Just across from the main rail station in Geneva. The service was good. I did not have an opportunity to check out the spa and exercise room. As hotels can be quite expensive in Switzerland, I found that the rate from Orbitz was excellent for a quality hotel in Geneva.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take Bus number 8 just in front of the rail station to Veyriers-Douane, walk across the French border from the end of the line and take the cable cars up to the top of the alpine ridge for excellent views of Geneva and the mountains. There are also some beautiful hiking trails up there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 7, 2009

Great location

This hotel was easy to find and a great central location to tour the city. I walked a lot. The corner room was clean( room 207)and had an incredible view of the busy central station area. It was surprisingly quiet too. The breakfast on the 8th floor has the best view of the city. Dont miss it. I am sure you can find a cheaper hotel in the area, but for me, it was worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Head to the tourist office on rue de Mont Blanc for maps and attractions. They were very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dajisus
Business
ft myers, FL
May 29, 2009

Awesome view, located next to everything

Got the best deal for a hotel in geneva and they put me up on the 8th floor. Floor to ceiling windows with awesome 180 views of Geneva. Ok, so the carpet was not the cleanest. The TV was small. But waking up with the snowcapped mountains next to my bed beats everything else I have seen in Geneva.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

awesome new-york style chinese restaurant about 5min on foot. go east 1/2mile past the train station. 1 street down towards the lake. Rue de Fribourg. 15 swiss francs for a peking duck, never seen anything quite like this in Switzerland.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top