$145 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 16, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Hotel Cornavin

4 stars
View map of Gare de Cornavin, --, Geneva, 1201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cornavin

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Coast, USA
Aug 27, 2010

Great Location, Comfy Bed

We were only there for one night and chose this hotel because of price and proximity to the train station. I traveled with two children- 3 and 7. The staff answered my numerous questions about swimming, trasportation, safety, etc. They were friendly and helpful (though didn't know all the answers to my million and one questions). The beds were comfortable and the room (specfically the bathroom) quite large by European standards. The only thing that would have been better would to have been in a room that wasn't facing the train station. However, the sound of the trains didn't continue all night and it probably wouldn't bother someone who is habituated to city life. Overall, I felt we got a very good deal for the room (which, though next to the train tracks, also afforeded a nice view of the tops of buildings and the Alps). We didn't need internet or business services so I cannot comment on those areas. However, warning to families traveling with children, although the channels above 21 are "pay", ask the front desk to block all stations above 21 as, even though you have to pay for them, you can see them before you pay! My 7 year old was flipping through channels looking for cartoons and got his first glimpse of in appropriate programming. The hotel itself isn't amazing, but the overall experience was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a boat "bus". It is included in your free transportation ticket. Also, Geneva isn't nearly as big as it looks on the map. You walk to a lot of the major tourist attractions. If it's summertime, walk to the Bains des Paquis and jump in the lake! It's cold, but if you go in the afternoon/evening, they have live music, drinks and food. The ambiance is worth the 2 franc entry fee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cameron
Business
London
Aug 2, 2010

BE CAREFUL

The only benefit to this hotel is if you need to catch an early train the next morning and dont want to much fuss getting to the station. The station is literally right next door. Even on that basis though I would thoroughly recommend to stay away. The hotel is listed as 4 stars but to be fair it should really be listed as 2-3. The problems were: - Beds and pillows are a disgrace - Rooms are old and ragged with dirty carpets - Shower gel and shampoo is of a very poor quality i.e. bring your own - Staff stole an item that I left behind

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cameron
Business
London
Aug 2, 2010

BE CAREFUL

The only benefit to this hotel is if you need to catch an early train the next morning and dont want to much fuss getting to the station. The station is literally right next door. Even on that basis though I would thoroughly recommend to stay away. The hotel is listed as 4 stars but to be fair it should really be listed as 2-3. The problems were: - Beds and pillows are a disgrace - Rooms are old and ragged with dirty carpets - Shower gel and shampoo is of a very poor quality i.e. bring your own - Staff stole an item that I left behind

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
family trip to Europe
Business
Arlington, VA
Jul 28, 2010

good location by train station

good for overnight stay, easy access to train station and airport via train, easy walk to lake, shopping, old town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lancaster, PA
Jul 27, 2010

Convenient location and great service

This was a beautiful weekend in Geneva. Weather was clear and warm - always helps. This was a wrap-up to my overall week-long vacation. Lake cruises are reasonable, but lake-shore activities (expansive kiddie-oriented amusements parks) are annoying. Great to visit the 'old city' and its history along with chess games along the promenade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the more expensive restaurants are over-rated and open too late for convenience. Open-air cafes and dining service seemed more appropriate to me.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
value-conscious
Business
New York
Jul 25, 2010

ok

I went to this hotel with minimal expectations beyond its ideal location a block from the train station, and those expectations were fulfilled but not exceeded. I didn't take advantage of the "fitness center" in the basement and only ate the mediocre free breakfast once, so the only amenity that mattered to me was the air conditioning, which worked. Relative to my other options, the hotel was a decent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC, USA
Jul 17, 2010

Great Place to Stay in Geneva

The hotel is so convienient close to the station, trams, restaurants, etc. I was areturn visitor and I was booked in a special panoramic room. Really nice! Nice breakfast also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe de Paris. Classic Steak Frites.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington, dc
May 31, 2010

decent place

The room was small, but that was expected and was fine. Great use of space for a small room, though. Location is super-convenient, but being close to the train station means some noise if the window is open. Beautiful view from 8th-floor breakfast room. Breakfast is basic but fine: cereal, yogurt, fruit, breads, hard-boiled eggs -- no scrambled eggs, no mueslix. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chiquito
Business
italy
Apr 27, 2010

Good for business

very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Cornavin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katt
Business
Venice, FL, USA
Mar 30, 2010

Great location, great price, great hotel

The place was great! Can't beat the location or cleanliness! I wanted to stay there on my last night (3 weeks later) before I had to fly home, but when I called, I was told the room would be $281 francs. Considering i had paid about $109 the first time, I thought this a bit extreme! But...apparently there was something going on that week as all hotels had suddenly gone psycho super expensive! And while it was well worth $109, I wasn't about to pay $281! Plus, breakfast, on their awesome breakfast floor, is $30 extra!!! Sorry - but who can eat that much bacon and eggs to make that worthwhile! I would stay there again - most definitely - but for under $200 only, regardless of what's going on in town that made the rates go up everywhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

All food is very expensive in Geneva, but everything you could ask for is right within a km of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top