$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Aug 30, 2015

Scandic Norra Bantorget

4 stars
View map of Wallingatan 15, Stockholm, 10724

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
25 reviews
small but comfortable

right in downtown stockkholm, walking distance to central train station See full review

  • exSvensk
  • Dec 10, 2014
Great value ....

good location, very friendly staff, nice rooms ... See full review

  • Single C.
  • Aug 4, 2012
The eco-amiable Scandic Norra Bantorget hotel boasts elegant simplicity in a superb Stockholm locale. Guests enjoy being close to top attractions, excellent shopping options, popular restaurants and a plethora of entertainment. Centralbadet, a popular spa, is steps from the hotel. Guests can also walk to Stockholm's Central Station, which offers airport buses, trains and the metro. The hotel restaurant and terrace offer a menu with traditional Swedish food and international dishes as well as the opportunity to soak up the atmosphere.
Rooms
Guest rooms of various sizes offer a perfect blend of Swedish function and modern design for a cabin-like ambience at the Scandic Norra Bantorget. Birch hardwood floors and warm color palettes with a token splash of color offer harmoniously balanced décor. All standard rooms are equipped with a separate bathroom and shower, safe deposit box, coffee/tea-making facilities, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless Internet access and an armchair for relaxing. Single, queen or twin beds are available.
Property features
At Scandic Norra Bantorget, the modern hotel restaurant satisfies the culinary quests for a full meal, lighter dish or a relaxing cocktail. Summertime on the terrace is sprinkled with sunshine and watching the world go by. Guests can also borrow walking poles and head out for a brisk walk around Stockholm. Borrow a bicycle from hotel reception or amble just a half-block to Drottninggatan's famous pedestrian-only shopping street.
Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Bicycles or walking poles available for city jaunts
  • Around the corner from renowned spa Centralbadet
  • Walking distance to Central Station
  • Free wireless Internet in hotel rooms and public spaces
Nearby attractions
  • City Hall (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Royal Palace (1.8 mi mi/3 km)
  • Vasa Museum (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Old Town/ Gamla Stan (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Skansen Open Air Museum (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Ericsson Globe (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
Business
  • Think Tank Rooms for all types of small meetings offering contemporary design, innovation and environmental consideration
  • Free wireless and fixed-line Internet access
  • Flipcharts, whiteboards, name cards and pens
  • LCD and overhead projector/DVD and VCR
  • Access to a portable hearing loop
  • Personal meeting service
  • Mood lighting and sound
Transportation
  • Bromma Airport (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Arlanda Airport (28 mi/45 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Scandic Norra Bantorget also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Scandic Norra Bantorget Rooms

Room
Single Bed, designed in fifties style, window
Superior
Singlebed Queen 190, Twin beds 2x90cm with shower, ironboard, Equipped with armchair and table .
Suite
Queen bed, Twin beds 2x90cm, with shower, safe, ironboard, Sofa and table, equipped with armchair and table.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Sergels Torg: 0.4 mi
  • Kulturhuset: 0.5 mi
  • Stockholm Central station: 0.5 mi
  • Stockholm City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stureplan: 0.6 mi
  • Parliament of Sweden: 0.7 mi
  • Stockholm Opera: 0.7 mi
  • Kungsholmen: 0.8 mi
  • Bondeska Palatset: 0.8 mi
  • Riddarholmen: 0.9 mi
  • Ostermalm: 0.9 mi
  • Gamla Stan - Old Town: 0.9 mi
  • Nationalmuseum: 1 mi
  • Stortorget: 1 mi
  • Riddarholm Church: 1.2 mi
  • Sergels Torg: 0.4 mi
  • Kulturhuset: 0.5 mi
  • Stockholm Central station: 0.5 mi
  • Stockholm City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stureplan: 0.6 mi
  • Parliament of Sweden: 0.7 mi
  • Stockholm Opera: 0.7 mi
  • Kungsholmen: 0.8 mi
  • Bondeska Palatset: 0.8 mi
  • Riddarholmen: 0.9 mi
  • Ostermalm: 0.9 mi
  • Gamla Stan - Old Town: 0.9 mi
  • Nationalmuseum: 1 mi
  • Stortorget: 1 mi
  • Riddarholm Church: 1.2 mi
  • Vasa museum: 1.3 mi
  • Military Academy Karlberg: 1.3 mi
  • Gärdet: 1.6 mi
  • Skansen: 1.6 mi
  • Sodermalm: 1.7 mi
  • Gröna Lund: 1.9 mi
  • Tekniska Museet: 2.2 mi
  • Stockholm University: 2.3 mi
  • Solna: 2.4 mi
  • Arsta: 2.8 mi
  • Friends Arena: 3 mi
  • Johanneshov: 3.1 mi
  • Globen: 3.2 mi
  • Jarva Krog: 3.3 mi
  • Drottningholm: 6 mi
  • Drottningholm Palace: 6 mi
  • Kista: 6 mi
  • Kungens Kurva: 6.8 mi
  • Stockholm archipelago: 24.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
We serve our breakfast, lunch and dinner in the hotel restaurant. In the summer, you're welcome to soak up the atmosphere of our terrace. Children have their own kids' menu to choose from.
Bar
The bar offers drinks for all tastes. Snacks are available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Scandic Norra Bantorget

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Scandic Norra Bantorget

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Giovanni il Magnifico
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 5, 2012

Value fror Money!

I had a completely satisfactory time.The breakfasts were the best! Plentiful and healthful food-- and the International Herald Tribune too! Staff was pleasant and helpful, room was quiet and clean, no problems with the internet connection, and it is in a very good location in central Stockholm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Look for a place where there are lots of locals eating (are they speaking the local language?) and you will most likely get a satisfactory meal. Conversely, keep away from places where mostly tourists are eating-- again listen to the languages spoken-- and you won't fall into a tourist trap.

Review of Scandic Norra Bantorget

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel Joy
Business
Massachusetts
Jul 26, 2012

Great central location

Excellent location near Stockholm city center. Fantastic buffet breakfast included. Hotel is very clean, front desk staff very friendly, helpful. All speak English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Scandic Norra Bantorget

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Single C.
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 4, 2012

Great value ....

good location, very friendly staff, nice rooms ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Scandic Norra Bantorget

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
loves travelling
Business
United Kingdom
Jun 11, 2012

happy customer

comfortable, clean, helpful and nice. I enjoyed my stay :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Scandic Norra Bantorget

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cathie
Business
Iowa City
Aug 25, 2011

great hotel

This hotel is a very good value; breakfast is good, has CNN, has internet, easy walk from train station

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Scandic Norra Bantorget

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeff S.
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Aug 26, 2011

The Best Buy

Great clean room. The complimentary breakfast had a large tasty variety which was great. Room was a tad small, but I guess that's Europe for you. Great location, not too far away from all the sites down south. Friendly and helpful staff. Just an absolute best buy for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Scandic Norra Bantorget

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rockmountainrider
Business
Golden, CO
Aug 19, 2011

As Good As Everyone Says It Is

My wife and I spent 4 days in July at the hotel prior to a Baltic cruise and the Clarion Bastion was our home base. As has been said, the front desk staff was stellar, the breakfast and dinner buffets were more than adequate (although I would argue that they were not as good as some have indicated) and the meal prices (free) were certainly unbeatable. We did not have occasion to make afternoon waffles/pancakes since we were out touring and seeing the sites but upon return we were always greeted by the friendly staff, cold water, and fresh fruit. Something that is not stressed enough is the location of the hotel. It is within easy walking distance of many of the most important and interesting sites in Oslo: the Oslo Opera House, the Karl Johans gate, the central train & bus station, the visitor information center, etc. Yes, there is highway construction in front of the hotel but it's only during the day and although unsightly, not a huge deterrent to staying at the hotel. Unfortunately, like all big cities, Oslo has a small population of drug users and we encountered them on a regular basis when walking along the water front and to/from the Opera House. We never felt threatened by them but maybe we should have. Although a sad commentary on society in general, I do not believe that this is a deterrent to staying at the hotel. The bottom line, a great value for money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Besure to buy the Oslo Card if you're going to be there more than a day or two.

Review of Scandic Norra Bantorget

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling without family for a change
Business
London
May 27, 2010

A good city centre hotel

Very close to the city shopping centre and in easy walking distance of all major tourist sites. We stayed in what may be the newer part of the hotel, seemed to be in an adjoining building so can't comment on the room quality in the original part. The hotel was clean and well appointed and the breakfast was good. A pleasant hotel at what was a very good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to Sodermalm for more normal, less expensive night life

Review of Scandic Norra Bantorget

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gezgin
Business
Ankara, Türkiye
Nov 26, 2011

Nice Hotel

Hotel is very central but on the small road. This is good because no traffic noise. Hotel has been recently refurbished. Nice lobby and decent breakfast. Clean rooms and helpful staff but no clothes cabinet in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Scandic Norra Bantorget

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BginSF
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 4, 2012

Would stay here again

The fact that I say I'd stay here again is a testament to the customer service of the hotel. When I checked in to this hotel, they advised that their computer system had crashed and they couldn't put me into a room. However, they immediately contacted another Scandic hotel close by and arranged for everything. I had several problems with the other Scandic hotel, but when I came back the Norra Bantorget the next day, they knew about all the problems and upgraded me to a VERY nice room, had fruit and chocolate waiting in the room, and gave me credit to buy items in the hotel. All in all, a very nice hotel and responsive staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top