$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Rival Hotel Stockholm

4 stars
View map of Mariatorget 3, P.O.Box 17525, Stockholm, 11891

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
15 reviews
An absolute must - stay here!

Stayed for 3 nights at the end of January and absolutely loved every second of it. Been to... See full review

  • Natalie J.
  • Mar 3, 2015
Absolutely loved every minute of our stay

If you have any doubts at all, please let me help you... BOOK THIS HOTEL. You will not regret it,... See full review

  • Natalie J.
  • Feb 4, 2015
Unique, first-class boutique lodging in the vibrant Sodermalm district
The unique and stylish Rival Hotel Stockholm began as a theatre in the late 1930s, and was renovated into a world class hotel in 2003, inaugurated as Sweden's first boutique hotel. The hotel is owned by Benny Andersson Produktion AB, Andersson being a former member of the music group ABBA. Guests can choose from a variety of rooms and suites. All rooms are equipped with chic and modern design and ultra-premium beds. The Rival is centrally located in the Sodermalm district among parks, museums and shopping.
Highlights
  • Bistro Rival, a cool, contemporary setting to enjoy European classics and Swedish specialties
  • Cocktail bar features colorful art deco ambiance and first class service
  • The classically elegant Rival Theatre seats 700 guests for events
  • Functional and classy guestrooms feature amazing beds, flat-screen televisions and modern furnishings
Rooms
All of the 99 guestrooms, from basic rooms to suites, at the Rival Hotel Stockholm are decked out with modern technology, cool furnishings and urban, art-deco design. Sleeping here is extravagant, with superior beds and the highest quality Egyptian cotton sheets. Amenities include a plasma TV, DVD/CD player, and both wired and wireless Internet connections.
Dining
The Bistro at the Rival Hotel Stockholm features high quality European cuisine with Swedish influence. Service is exceptional and exceeds almost any expectation for an on-site restaurant. Guests looking for a simpler lunch or snack can find it at the Café. The Café bakes fresh breads and pastries and offers high quality sandwiches salads and baked goods.
Transportation
  • Central Station (1.6mi/2.6 km)
  • Arlanda Airport (27.1 mi/43.7 km)
Attractions
  • Old Town/Gamla Stan (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Palace (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • City Hall (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
  • Vasa Museum (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Ericsson Globe (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Skansen Open Air Museum (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
Business
  • Meeting and events staff on-site at the Rival Hotel Stockholm
  • Four conference rooms for eight to 85 people
  • All facilities offer the latest in audio/visual technology
  • Exquisite boardroom with modern technology and styling
  • Stunning Rival theater seats up to 700 people for large events

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rival Hotel Stockholm also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Rival Hotel Stockholm Rooms

Standard
Standard room 16-20 sqm. Samsung Smart TV with 32" or 40" screen, Blu-ray player, shower, work desk and Internet access. Other facilities are safe, iron and ironing board and minibar. 2mbit Wifi and cable connection to internet is always included. Either 1 queen size bed 160 cm or 2 separate beds 2x 90 cm. All Standard rooms are located to a nice and quiet backyard.
Superior
Superior room 25-33 sqm. Samsung Smart TV with 32" or 40" screen, Blu-ray player, shower, work desk and Internet access. Other facilities are safe, iron and ironing board and minibar. Either 1 king size bed 180 cm or 2 separate beds 2x 90 cm. All Superior rooms are located to a nice and quiet backyard. Towelling robe including for use. 2mbit Wifi and cable connection to internet is always included.
De Luxe
Large De Luxe room (29-32 sqm) with view over park, bath and shower. Samsung Smart TV with 32" or 40" screen, Blu-ray player, work desk and Internet access included in the room rate. Other facilities are safe, iron and ironing board and minibar. Towelling robe and slippers including for use. Either 1 king size bed 180 cm or 2 separate beds 2x 90 cm. 2mbit Wifi and cable connection to internet is always included.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Riddarholm Church: 0.2 mi
  • Riddarholmen: 0.4 mi
  • Sodermalm: 0.5 mi
  • Gamla Stan - Old Town: 0.5 mi
  • Stortorget: 0.5 mi
  • Bondeska Palatset: 0.5 mi
  • Stockholm City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Stockholm Opera: 0.8 mi
  • Stockholm Central station: 0.8 mi
  • Parliament of Sweden: 0.8 mi
  • Kulturhuset: 0.9 mi
  • Sergels Torg: 1 mi
  • Nationalmuseum: 1 mi
  • Vasa museum: 1.2 mi
  • Stureplan: 1.3 mi
  • Riddarholm Church: 0.2 mi
  • Riddarholmen: 0.4 mi
  • Sodermalm: 0.5 mi
  • Gamla Stan - Old Town: 0.5 mi
  • Stortorget: 0.5 mi
  • Bondeska Palatset: 0.5 mi
  • Stockholm City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Stockholm Opera: 0.8 mi
  • Stockholm Central station: 0.8 mi
  • Parliament of Sweden: 0.8 mi
  • Kulturhuset: 0.9 mi
  • Sergels Torg: 1 mi
  • Nationalmuseum: 1 mi
  • Vasa museum: 1.2 mi
  • Stureplan: 1.3 mi
  • Gröna Lund: 1.3 mi
  • Kungsholmen: 1.4 mi
  • Ostermalm: 1.5 mi
  • Skansen: 1.5 mi
  • Arsta: 1.7 mi
  • Johanneshov: 1.8 mi
  • Globen: 1.9 mi
  • Gärdet: 2 mi
  • Military Academy Karlberg: 2.1 mi
  • Tekniska Museet: 2.2 mi
  • Solna: 3.5 mi
  • Stockholm University: 3.6 mi
  • Friends Arena: 4.2 mi
  • Jarva Krog: 4.5 mi
  • Kungens Kurva: 6.1 mi
  • Drottningholm Palace: 6.1 mi
  • Drottningholm: 6.2 mi
  • Kista: 7.2 mi
  • Stockholm archipelago: 24.4 mi

Dining

Breakfast
Serves breakfast buffet with large selection. Pancakes, scramled eggs made by chef la minute.
Bistro
Open 7 days a week, serves swedish/international food. Recommended to reserve table on Friday and Saturdays, the Bistro is popular by the locals on weekends.
Caf Rival
Coffee shop open 7 days a week, serves breakfast, Swedish Fika, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Rival Hotel Stockholm

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rival Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalie J.
Business
Leamington Spa
Mar 3, 2015

An absolute must - stay here!

Stayed for 3 nights at the end of January and absolutely loved every second of it. Been to Stockholm before and stayed in a cheaper hotel but this is just a cut above the rest and worth every single SEK. Will definitely be back, I couldn't possibly contemplate staying anywhere else now. Beautiful hotel - very classy! Staff are just first class and know everything about the area you could possibly need to know. The guys on reception especially. Make sure you book breakfast as it is simply stunning with a huge choice of high quality food and coffee. Pastries, hot food, freshly made omelettes or pancakes with syrups. List is endless. Rooms were perfect. We were lucky to get one of the ABBA rooms and so had a nice big photo above the bed. Very appropriate considering Benny Anderson owns it. He should be proud, it's a great establishment. They have a complimentary coffee bar on the 4th floor providing top notch tea selections and cappuccinos/lattes, biscuits, etc. Also free internet in rooms and on 4th floor lounge. Perfect location with short walk to Mariatorget station and Gamla Stan. Also viewpoint right along the road from the hotel with views across the whole of Stockholm. Can't recommend highly enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rival Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalie J.
Business
Leamington Spa
Feb 4, 2015

Absolutely loved every minute of our stay

If you have any doubts at all, please let me help you... BOOK THIS HOTEL. You will not regret it, nor will you want to try any other hotel in Stockholm once you have been here. The hotel itself is in a fantastic location, just a short and beautiful scenic walk into Gamla Stan. Only 2 t-bana stops if you'd prefer. It has absolutely everything you could need. Exceptional customer service from a team that are so knowledgable and a fantastic help. It is a beautiful hotel, set in a lovely residential area but with plenty of shops and cafes right on the door step, just off the lovely quaint Maria square that the hotel sits upon. Our room was beautiful and we especially loved the ABBA picture above our bed (we had one of 2 rooms in the whole hotel that have this). Our balcony looked into the back yard which was pretty and peaceful. All the comforts in the room and mod cons you could possibly need. USB ports in the walls in case you forget a travel adapter, although I believe the hotel loan these if you need. Great shower and lovely luxury Crabtree and Evelyn soaps. Huge selection of CDs and blue ray DVDs available free in your room, you also get a menu should you want something that's not there. Little pot of gorgeous chocolates waiting for you. On 4th floor there is a coffee machine free for all to use or plenty of luxury teas and biscuits. Also free wifi in rooms and PC/printer access. Breakfast in the morning is a MUST as it is exquisite. So much choice and all amazing quality. Also a menu if you prefer something like omelette or French toast / pancakes with cream, jam and maple syrup! All included at no extra cost. The bar is lovely although I would say drinks and food are extreeeemely pricey (the only thing I would change about the whole place) but it is Stockholm and they by no means try and fleece you. You do get a looot of bang for your buck. Apparently we had 5 shots of vodka in our vodka and coke which explained the cost :) I came with my Mum as a birthday treat for her but will be bringing my husband for a romantic getaway. Also ideal for children. We loved every moment and will be back here again for sure. Thanks Hotel Rival, until next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Turn right out of the hotel and walk straight and then up the hill in front of you. Literally a 5 min walk from the hotel doors and you'll find a view of the whole city. Absolutely stunning. Who knew :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rival Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ottoned
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 12, 2014

Hotel Rival

The Rival is a lovely small hotel. The staff is young and very willing to help and answer questions, give directions, etc. The included breakfast was fabulous. Various meats, gravlax, cheeses, fruits, made-to-order omelettes or pancakes, etc. A very good deal in a very nice and sunny room. The location, for us, was not ideal. We spent a good part of our trip walking to other areas of the city. The Soder neighborhood is very nice, but it's not near the museums or the ferry boats. However, for others the location could be perfect, so I want to make that clear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stockholm has a "congestion reduction" fee for cabs during certain times of the day. A cab ride at rush hour can easily be triple the normal cost, so be aware of when you chose to fall into a cab!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rival Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jvanbrink
Business
New York, NY
Jul 31, 2014

AMAZING!

The Rival is absolutely amazing. I cannot imagine having stayed anywhere else in Stockholm. It is located across from a great park and there is pretty much nothing touristy about the location. We walked EVERYWHERE from the hotel but there are 2 metro stops very nearby if that is preferred. The only reason it is 4 instead of 5 stars is the lack of temperature control in the room. To be fair, it isn't normal for Stockholm to see a heat wave in the upper 80s but the room got pretty stuffy. They were very helpful and supplied a fan that kept us comfortable enough. The breakfast was perfection - make sure to try the French Toast. Some of the best I've ever had! The staff is incredibly helpful. No question we would stay there again. In fact, I can't imagine considering a single other hotel in Stockholm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rival Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MattieH
Business
New York
Aug 8, 2012

Almost perfect...

I didn't realize this hotel was famous in Stockholm when I booked it. Nevertheless, it's only a 15-20min walk into the Old Town or it's a 2 minute walk to the metro station (with the absolute best coffee place "Drop" right next door to the Mariatorget station). The hotel staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and accommodating. The cleaning staff is SUPERB (and I have OCD when it comes to cleanliness). My only complaint (hence room comfort and overall rating) was that the mattress was just a pad and not a real mattress, which I found really strange. It was really comfortable and the room was really modern and sleek, but the actual bed just didn't make sense to me. Overall I would HIGHLY recommend it and I will definitely stay here again for my next trip to fair Stockholm. Sidenote: I was here during Gay Pride and it was super convenient to those festivities, as well. With a very knowledgable staff on the happenings associated with that event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Drop Coffee (absolute best in Stockholm).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rival Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flannel
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 2, 2012

Location, Location, Location

Wonderful hotel in the heart of Stockholm! Close to the old city and walking distance to great bars and restaurants. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rival Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Drebar73
Business
New York, NY
Jul 24, 2012

Great place to call home while in Stockholm

The Rival is a great choice for a place to stay in Stockholm. Near Sodermalm with great access to delightful restaurants and bars while at the same time in a quite area with Mariatorget right in front (small park). The staff was super friendly, helpful and knowledgeable... I had not traveled by myself in a while and they made it so easy for me! The rooms are well decorated and spacious. My favorite feature was the bathroom and how you can easily connect your iPod/iPhone/iPad to hear music in the room and bathroom!!! Shower was great and bath, even better. Thank you Rival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Very easy to take the Tunnelbana everywhere and the Mariatorget station is a block away, easy to/from central station and airport! Didn't use cabs at all!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rival Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wyofish
Business
Glendale, CA, USA
Jul 5, 2012

Good Location but our bed was awful

This hotel is obviously an "in" place. It has a snazzy modern interior and is located across the street from a pretty park. It is within walking distance of most tourist highlights and also is very close to subway and bus stops. It's cafe is brimming with locals, the restaurant--while pricey--is very good. They include a truly great breakfast...be sure to order Swedish pancakes. The rooms are small but well appointed with ONE BIG EXCEPTION. The bed we had was awful--soft and broken down. They finally added a bed board...under the thin pillow top... which made it slightly better than sleeping on the floor. Rates seem to vary wildly depending upon how you book. I would give it a higher rating except for the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try the Pelikan for dinner...a local very Swedish hangout that is about a 30 minute walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rival Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Olssen
Business
Orange County, CA
Nov 6, 2011

Great hotel in Sodermalm

Love this hotel in the middle of Stockholm's so called "Brooklyn" about 4 stops south of the central station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Arlanda Express has discount for seniors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rival Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 13, 2011

Great Hotel

Excellent in every way: location, staff, room, amenities. I travel quite a lot in Europe and stay in many hotels. I rank this hotel in the very top tier. Each room has a DVD player and a library of movies, with hundreds more available free from the front desk. I found the neighborhood very interesting and nicely located. All in all, a great find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The old section of the city is a short walk away. Although it is filled with tourists and tourist attractions, the restaurants are surprisingly good with a wide selection of cusines.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top