$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

3 stars
Birger Jarlsgatan 35, Stockholm, 11145
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
22 reviews
Great 19th Century Hotel with super location and value!

Close to everything and wonderful value. A great breakfast and super large room with old world charm. See full review

  • Portlandier
  • Aug 18, 2014
Great Location! Good hotel!

This hotel is centrally situated in Stockholm and is close to excellent shopping, restaurants, and... See full review

  • Nancy1717
  • Jul 1, 2014
Beautifully maintained classic hotel located parkside in Ostermalm
The Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm mixes 19th century character with 21st century comfort. Each room has a distinct personality to match the art-nouveau exterior. Tree-lined streets lead guests to this architectural dreamland full of color and charm. The hotel is located in the historically rich Ostermalm in central Stockholm near many parks and museums, as well as Old Town (Gamla Stan). Cultural attractions abound here, as well as culinary and shopping options which offer a variety of flavors and styles.
Highlights
  • A variety of distinctive, charming rooms equipped for comfort
  • Ideal location for discovering the major attractions of Stockholm
  • On site Chinese and Thai restaurant offering lunch and dinner
  • On-site fitness center and sauna
Rooms
Guests at the Crystal Palace Hotel Stockholm will not find a "one size fits all" approach upon arrival. Rooms at this hotel offer a wide array of choices. From the small single room to the expansive tower suites, the hotel has more than 100 rooms, ones that range from basic to extravagant. Superior tower rooms are elegant and large based on the stunning architecture of the building. The spacious sauna suite has its own sauna and an elegant living room. Guests can choose from small, standard, and large single and double rooms. Alternatives are available for visitors of all tastes.
Dining
Ming, the restaurant at the Crystal Palace Hotel Stockholm, offers Asian fare for lunch and dinner. The restaurant offers a relaxed atmosphere with local residents who seek eastern flavors. The Crystal Bar is the perfect after-dinner destination for wine, beer and cocktails in the lobby of the hotel. Both are closed on Sundays.
Transportation
  • Central Station (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • Arlanda Airport (25.3 mi/ 40.7 km)
Attractions
  • Vasa Museum (1.2 mi/ 2 km)
  • City Hall (1.3 mi/  2.1 km)
  • Royal Palace (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
  • Old Town/Gamla Stan (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Skansen Open Air Museum (1.9 mi/ 3 km)
  • Ericsson Globe (4.2 mi/6.7 km)
Business
  • One conference rooms for up to eight people
  • One attached informal meeting/workroom
  • For bigger conference capabilities, hotel recommends its neighbor, Finlandshuset Conference

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm Rooms

Economy Double Room
Room with one queen size bed equipped with Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Safe in room, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities.
Economy Single Room
Room with one single bed equipped with Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Safe in room, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities.
Standard Double Room
Room with 2 twin beds or 1 queen size bed equipped with Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Safe in room, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities.
Standard Single Room
Room with one single bed equipped with Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Safe in room, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Stureplan: 0.2 mi
  • Sergels Torg: 0.4 mi
  • Ostermalm: 0.4 mi
  • Kulturhuset: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament of Sweden: 0.6 mi
  • Stockholm Opera: 0.6 mi
  • Stockholm City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Nationalmuseum: 0.7 mi
  • Stockholm Central station: 0.7 mi
  • Bondeska Palatset: 0.8 mi
  • Stortorget: 0.9 mi
  • Vasa museum: 0.9 mi
  • Gamla Stan - Old Town: 0.9 mi
  • Riddarholmen: 0.9 mi
  • Gärdet: 1.1 mi
  • Stureplan: 0.2 mi
  • Sergels Torg: 0.4 mi
  • Ostermalm: 0.4 mi
  • Kulturhuset: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament of Sweden: 0.6 mi
  • Stockholm Opera: 0.6 mi
  • Stockholm City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Nationalmuseum: 0.7 mi
  • Stockholm Central station: 0.7 mi
  • Bondeska Palatset: 0.8 mi
  • Stortorget: 0.9 mi
  • Vasa museum: 0.9 mi
  • Gamla Stan - Old Town: 0.9 mi
  • Riddarholmen: 0.9 mi
  • Gärdet: 1.1 mi
  • Kungsholmen: 1.2 mi
  • Skansen: 1.2 mi
  • Riddarholm Church: 1.3 mi
  • Sodermalm: 1.7 mi
  • Gröna Lund: 1.7 mi
  • Military Academy Karlberg: 1.7 mi
  • Tekniska Museet: 1.8 mi
  • Stockholm University: 2.2 mi
  • Solna: 2.8 mi
  • Arsta: 3 mi
  • Johanneshov: 3.1 mi
  • Globen: 3.2 mi
  • Friends Arena: 3.3 mi
  • Jarva Krog: 3.5 mi
  • Kista: 6.3 mi
  • Drottningholm: 6.4 mi
  • Drottningholm Palace: 6.4 mi
  • Kungens Kurva: 7.1 mi
  • Stockholm archipelago: 23.9 mi

Dining

Bar
Cosy lobby bar is open for guests and local people from Monday to Saturday.
Restaurant Ming
In hotel's own restaurant, Ming, you can enjoy an Asian menu. Open from Monday to Saturday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ppenagosr
Business
Perú
Apr 5, 2014

Very good

Excellent hotel, very helpful and friendly. Good, very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
leenstar
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 8, 2009

Great hotel

Very clean, good breakfast always had plenty of food. The room got cleaned everyday, I went in the summer so the AC wasnt needed just open a window and the cool air came in very nicely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
leenstar
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 1, 2009

awalys a fav place to stay in

I arrived way before check-in time, but the clerk checked to see if my room was available, and it was! Also offered a good price for 2 breakfasts. I always enjoy staying at this hotel in Stockholm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travis
Business
London
Nov 2, 2009

Lovely Crystal Plaza Hotel

Beautiful hotel, helpful friendly staff, great location and well priced, highly recommended, and the breakfast was beautiful too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
N and T
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 9, 2012

Charming Comfortable Hotel in Great Location

We had such a nice time staying at the Crystal Plaza Hotel in Stockholm. First, its a beautiful old building with so much charm yet is so well maintained and renovated that we never felt we had to compromise on ammenities for a smaller neighborhood hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by the remodelled and modern bathroom. The included breakfast included a wide variety of choices of fresh breakfast items and was just fantastic. Overall our stay here exceeded our expectations since we thought we were compromising by booking at a cheaper hotel but this was not the case.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Zita Theater is next door to the hotel. Nice small theaters that show mainly independent films or in our case it was part of the film festival that was part of the gay pride celebrations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nancy1717
Business
Vicenza, Italy
Jul 1, 2014

Great Location! Good hotel!

This hotel is centrally situated in Stockholm and is close to excellent shopping, restaurants, and attractions. The Hop-on, Hop-off Bus service has a stop about 5 minutes away, and the local bus and tram service is close as well. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Their restaurant-Ming-was closed while we were there, but looked like it had a good variety of Chinese food. Try and stay in the "tower" rooms--Room 603 offered a good view of the streets below. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Portlandier
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Aug 18, 2014

Great 19th Century Hotel with super location and value!

Close to everything and wonderful value. A great breakfast and super large room with old world charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little cafe's all around and high end shopping a short walk away. In addition it is close to all public transportation stops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mark staplehurst
Business
UK Surrey
Dec 10, 2009

Superb service delivery and location

Hotel was part of a fly / hotel package from e bookers so I didnt get a choice of where I would go so I was expecting the worst! I stayed at the hotel for two nights. I arrived on Sunday at around 1000hrs with a heavy suitcase, and was half expecting to be told to come back later when the room was available. No such attitude, I was greeted in a very warm and freindly way and the receptionist tried to and suceeded in finding a room for me to chck in immediately.Superb service, I went to my room and if I have any observation that is less than 100% positive it is the size of the room, which may suit most, but to me it was a little on the small side, but not a major problem. It was warm (a little too warm) comfortable and had a compact shower /wc room a fridge bar and a large TFT wall mounted TV which was superb. So the room itself was was OK and clean. Having never been to Stockholm before I asked the receptionist where there was to go, and was given lots of information and went for a "walkabout" the hotel is approximately 20 minutes brisk walk from the Old Town Bridge, and 15 minutes from the main shopping centres, 10 minutes from the galleria so it is in a great location. For Taxi travel to the Karolinska institute it is very easy as well 10 mins / 25mins from Huddinge campus. The hotel has a Chinese restaurant joined to or part of it, and on arrival you are given a 99krona voucher for a main meal and pudding, both excellent and good value, breakfast is served in this same restaurant and the chinese people who run it are very attentive and polite, the food is very good buffet style plus scrambled egg, little sausages, meat balls and noodles! As well as cereals and all manner of other stuff excellent service and food quality. Looking back I am very impressed with the hotel, its staff and service, the restaurant and would have no problem recommending it to others and to going back with my family, as it represents excellent value for money and a safe clean environment to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

In December there are several X mas markets dotted around between the Hotel and the city centre, take time to visit them you will see some great bargains at 30-50% cheaper than in the shops, particularly Norwegian woolens, various Swedish clothing and such like

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Feb 6, 2011

Nice modest hotel in central location

I checked in in the late afternoon without my lugagge. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel rooms are somewhat dated, but clean. The location of the hotel is very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sailrosie
Business
USA
Jul 2, 2012

Crystal Plaza good location!

I liked the Crystal Plaza Hotel for many reasons. I arrived at 10 am and the staff accomodated me but getting our prebooked rm ready so we could relax and tidy up before hitting the attractions again in Stockholm. It is located conveniently by the Library and so ez to find on a map. A 5 minute walk down to the harbor passing many shops and restaurants. The best food value of the day is to have a Prix Fix lunch at any of the food establishments and a lite dinner if you are into economizing. The breakfast was very lovely with all the traditional Scandinavian treats on it. Very filling and fresh fruit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top