$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

3 stars
View map of Birger Jarlsgatan 35, Stockholm, 11145

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ddcallahan
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jul 18, 2012

Lovely Historic Hotel

For being over 100 years old, this Victorian building is holding up well under modernization. Because this is a historic hotel the owners were limited to what changes they could make to the building. The elevator has been SQUEEZED into the old stairwell, so it's super tiny. Clearly the hotel has seen a fare amount of wear and tear and could use an update, but for the money and the location, this was areal find. The rooms are very small, like you'd expect to find across Europe, but are still lovely and very clean. Speaking of location, the hotel is located on one of the main streets in Stockholm, in the summer, the locals party WAY into the early hours, because of the extra light. So, expect some noise and was insulated as would have been expected against noise a 100 years ago. It's a stones throw from the #2 bus stop into Glama Stan, the old city and an underground station is a short walk. So, the location is perfect for sightseeing. We were spending an extra day in Stockholm before a Baltic cruise. Again, the bus service was a great option. The #1 bus takes you right to the docks, at the fraction of the cost of a cab ride. The buffet breakfast is also very lovely. Since the hotel caters to international travelers you'll find a wide offering of breakfast foods. It's all very fresh and is convenient for a grab and run casual breakfast. My only complains are: The hotel really could stand an update, but was very clean. The bed was remarkably large, but the linens were for twin beds, my husband and I spoon when we sleep, so no spooning. We'd stay there again. If you're expecting the amenities you'd get from a high end hotel, in the States. Then you need to stay in one of their branded hotels, but if you want to be closer to the pulse of Stockholm, easy access to transportation, love old architecture, all at a reasonable rate, the Crystal Plaza Hotel is a great option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do use the Hop-On-Hop-Off tour bus and boats. They will take you to all of the best sights and the commentaries are well done. Best bargin for your money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sailrosie
Business
USA
Jul 2, 2012

Crystal Plaza good location!

I liked the Crystal Plaza Hotel for many reasons. I arrived at 10 am and the staff accomodated me but getting our prebooked rm ready so we could relax and tidy up before hitting the attractions again in Stockholm. It is located conveniently by the Library and so ez to find on a map. A 5 minute walk down to the harbor passing many shops and restaurants. The best food value of the day is to have a Prix Fix lunch at any of the food establishments and a lite dinner if you are into economizing. The breakfast was very lovely with all the traditional Scandinavian treats on it. Very filling and fresh fruit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
purya
Business
Fort Lee, NJ, USA
Sep 10, 2011

great place in the center of Stockholm

This is not 5 star or 4 star hotel but if you are looking for nice small clean hotel in the center of Stockholm at reasonable price, this should be a great option. The gym and sauna which you book individually was very nice. I would definitely use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Californian
Business
California, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Simple and Straightforward

This hotel is simple and straightforward. The staff stays out of your way and will help you to the best of their ability if you need their attention. They all speak Swedish and English. The location is good with a park, cafes, restaurants, clubs, and the most popular parts of Stockholm all within walking distance. This hotel is probably most suitable for anyone who just needs a place to sleep at night. The only complaint I have is with the internet connection. It was almost never available and when I reported the issue on two different occasions they simply said they would reboot the networking hardware and didn't seem interested in resolving the issue and following up with good customer service. I switched to a different hotel midway through my stay in Stockholm and was much happier after having switched. Pick this place as a secondary option if you can afford to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Feb 6, 2011

Nice modest hotel in central location

I checked in in the late afternoon without my lugagge. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel rooms are somewhat dated, but clean. The location of the hotel is very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Feb 6, 2011

Nice modest hotel in central location

I checked in in the late afternoon without my lugagge. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel rooms are somewhat dated, but clean. The location of the hotel is very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 8, 2010

Crystal Plaza Stockholm

Visiting family and sightseeing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant Vurma nearby... Great Swedish food and service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mark staplehurst
Business
UK Surrey
Dec 10, 2009

Superb service delivery and location

Hotel was part of a fly / hotel package from e bookers so I didnt get a choice of where I would go so I was expecting the worst! I stayed at the hotel for two nights. I arrived on Sunday at around 1000hrs with a heavy suitcase, and was half expecting to be told to come back later when the room was available. No such attitude, I was greeted in a very warm and freindly way and the receptionist tried to and suceeded in finding a room for me to chck in immediately.Superb service, I went to my room and if I have any observation that is less than 100% positive it is the size of the room, which may suit most, but to me it was a little on the small side, but not a major problem. It was warm (a little too warm) comfortable and had a compact shower /wc room a fridge bar and a large TFT wall mounted TV which was superb. So the room itself was was OK and clean. Having never been to Stockholm before I asked the receptionist where there was to go, and was given lots of information and went for a "walkabout" the hotel is approximately 20 minutes brisk walk from the Old Town Bridge, and 15 minutes from the main shopping centres, 10 minutes from the galleria so it is in a great location. For Taxi travel to the Karolinska institute it is very easy as well 10 mins / 25mins from Huddinge campus. The hotel has a Chinese restaurant joined to or part of it, and on arrival you are given a 99krona voucher for a main meal and pudding, both excellent and good value, breakfast is served in this same restaurant and the chinese people who run it are very attentive and polite, the food is very good buffet style plus scrambled egg, little sausages, meat balls and noodles! As well as cereals and all manner of other stuff excellent service and food quality. Looking back I am very impressed with the hotel, its staff and service, the restaurant and would have no problem recommending it to others and to going back with my family, as it represents excellent value for money and a safe clean environment to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

In December there are several X mas markets dotted around between the Hotel and the city centre, take time to visit them you will see some great bargains at 30-50% cheaper than in the shops, particularly Norwegian woolens, various Swedish clothing and such like

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mark staplehurst
Business
UK Surrey
Dec 10, 2009

Superb service delivery and location

Hotel was part of a fly / hotel package from e bookers so I didnt get a choice of where I would go so I was expecting the worst! I stayed at the hotel for two nights. I arrived on Sunday at around 1000hrs with a heavy suitcase, and was half expecting to be told to come back later when the room was available. No such attitude, I was greeted in a very warm and freindly way and the receptionist tried to and suceeded in finding a room for me to chck in immediately.Superb service, I went to my room and if I have any observation that is less than 100% positive it is the size of the room, which may suit most, but to me it was a little on the small side, but not a major problem. It was warm (a little too warm) comfortable and had a compact shower /wc room a fridge bar and a large TFT wall mounted TV which was superb. So the room itself was was OK and clean. Having never been to Stockholm before I asked the receptionist where there was to go, and was given lots of information and went for a "walkabout" the hotel is approximately 20 minutes brisk walk from the Old Town Bridge, and 15 minutes from the main shopping centres, 10 minutes from the galleria so it is in a great location. For Taxi travel to the Karolinska institute it is very easy as well 10 mins / 25mins from Huddinge campus. The hotel has a Chinese restaurant joined to or part of it, and on arrival you are given a 99krona voucher for a main meal and pudding, both excellent and good value, breakfast is served in this same restaurant and the chinese people who run it are very attentive and polite, the food is very good buffet style plus scrambled egg, little sausages, meat balls and noodles! As well as cereals and all manner of other stuff excellent service and food quality. Looking back I am very impressed with the hotel, its staff and service, the restaurant and would have no problem recommending it to others and to going back with my family, as it represents excellent value for money and a safe clean environment to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

In December there are several X mas markets dotted around between the Hotel and the city centre, take time to visit them you will see some great bargains at 30-50% cheaper than in the shops, particularly Norwegian woolens, various Swedish clothing and such like

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travis
Business
London
Nov 2, 2009

Lovely Crystal Plaza Hotel

Beautiful hotel, helpful friendly staff, great location and well priced, highly recommended, and the breakfast was beautiful too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top