$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

3 stars
View map of Birger Jarlsgatan 35, Stockholm, 11145

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
23 reviews
Quaint, Excellent Value, Perfect Location

The hotel did not have really any amenities, but who cares? You're in STOCKHOLM!!!! Amenities was... See full review

  • flipnscot
  • Jan 9, 2015
Great 19th Century Hotel with super location and value!

Close to everything and wonderful value. A great breakfast and super large room with old world charm. See full review

  • Portlandier
  • Aug 18, 2014
The Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm mixes 19th century character with 21st century comfort. Each room has a distinct personality to match the art-nouveau exterior. Tree-lined streets lead guests to this architectural dreamland full of color and charm. The hotel is located in the historically rich Ostermalm in central Stockholm near many parks and museums, as well as Old Town (Gamla Stan). Cultural attractions abound here, as well as culinary and shopping options which offer a variety of flavors and styles.
Dining
Ming, the restaurant at the Crystal Palace Hotel Stockholm, offers Asian fare for lunch and dinner. The restaurant offers a relaxed atmosphere with local residents who seek eastern flavors. The Crystal Bar is the perfect after-dinner destination for wine, beer and cocktails in the lobby of the hotel. Both are closed on Sundays.
Rooms
Guests at the Crystal Palace Hotel Stockholm will not find a "one size fits all" approach upon arrival. Rooms at this hotel offer a wide array of choices. From the small single room to the expansive tower suites, the hotel has more than 100 rooms, ones that range from basic to extravagant. Superior tower rooms are elegant and large based on the stunning architecture of the building. The spacious sauna suite has its own sauna and an elegant living room. Guests can choose from small, standard, and large single and double rooms. Alternatives are available for visitors of all tastes.
Highlights
  • A variety of distinctive, charming rooms equipped for comfort
  • Ideal location for discovering the major attractions of Stockholm
  • On site Chinese and Thai restaurant offering lunch and dinner
  • On-site fitness center and sauna
Nearby attractions
  • Vasa Museum (1.2 mi/ 2 km)
  • City Hall (1.3 mi/  2.1 km)
  • Royal Palace (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
  • Old Town/Gamla Stan (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Skansen Open Air Museum (1.9 mi/ 3 km)
  • Ericsson Globe (4.2 mi/6.7 km)
Business
  • One conference rooms for up to eight people
  • One attached informal meeting/workroom
  • For bigger conference capabilities, hotel recommends its neighbor, Finlandshuset Conference
Transportation
  • Central Station (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • Arlanda Airport (25.3 mi/ 40.7 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm also booked these hotels.

★★★
$139
4.3 / 5 45 reviews
★★★
$115
3.5 / 5 12 reviews
★★★★
$113
4.0 / 5 24 reviews
★★★★
$134
3.1 / 5 15 reviews
★★★★
$139
4.2 / 5 11 reviews
★★★★
$144
3.6 / 5 5 reviews
★★★★
$117
4.1 / 5 25 reviews
★★★★
$109
3.5 / 5 4 reviews
★★★★
$117
3.8 / 5 12 reviews

Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm Rooms

Economy Double Room
Room with one queen size bed equipped with Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Safe in room, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities.
Economy Single Room
Room with one single bed equipped with Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Safe in room, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities.
Standard Double Room
Room with 2 twin beds or 1 queen size bed equipped with Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Safe in room, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities.
Standard Single Room
Room with one single bed equipped with Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Safe in room, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Stureplan: 0.2 mi
  • Sergels Torg: 0.4 mi
  • Ostermalm: 0.4 mi
  • Kulturhuset: 0.5 mi
  • Storkyrkan Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Stockholm Opera: 0.6 mi
  • Stockholm City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Stockholm Central station: 0.7 mi
  • Bondeska Palatset: 0.8 mi
  • Stortorget: 0.9 mi
  • Strandvägen: 0.9 mi
  • Gamla Stan - Old Town: 0.9 mi
  • Riddarholmen: 0.9 mi
  • Gärdet: 1.1 mi
  • Stureplan: 0.2 mi
  • Sergels Torg: 0.4 mi
  • Ostermalm: 0.4 mi
  • Kulturhuset: 0.5 mi
  • Storkyrkan Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Stockholm Opera: 0.6 mi
  • Stockholm City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Stockholm Central station: 0.7 mi
  • Bondeska Palatset: 0.8 mi
  • Stortorget: 0.9 mi
  • Strandvägen: 0.9 mi
  • Gamla Stan - Old Town: 0.9 mi
  • Riddarholmen: 0.9 mi
  • Gärdet: 1.1 mi
  • Kungsholmen: 1.2 mi
  • Skansen: 1.2 mi
  • Riddarholm Church: 1.3 mi
  • Sodermalm: 1.7 mi
  • Gröna Lund: 1.7 mi
  • Military Academy Karlberg: 1.7 mi
  • Tekniska Museet: 1.8 mi
  • Stockholm University: 2.2 mi
  • Solna: 2.8 mi
  • Arsta: 3 mi
  • Johanneshov: 3.1 mi
  • Globen: 3.2 mi
  • Friends Arena: 3.3 mi
  • Jarva Krog: 3.5 mi
  • Kista: 6.3 mi
  • Drottningholm: 6.4 mi
  • Drottningholm Palace: 6.4 mi
  • Kungens Kurva: 7.1 mi
  • Stockholm archipelago: 23.9 mi

Dining

Bar
Cosy lobby bar is open for guests and local people from Monday to Saturday.
Restaurant Ming
In hotel's own restaurant, Ming, you can enjoy an Asian menu. Open from Monday to Saturday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ddcallahan
Couples
Dallas, Texas
Jul 18, 2012

Lovely Historic Hotel

For being over 100 years old, this Victorian building is holding up well under modernization. Because this is a historic hotel the owners were limited to what changes they could make to the building. The elevator has been SQUEEZED into the old stairwell, so it's super tiny. Clearly the hotel has seen a fare amount of wear and tear and could use an update, but for the money and the location, this was areal find. The rooms are very small, like you'd expect to find across Europe, but are still lovely and very clean. Speaking of location, the hotel is located on one of the main streets in Stockholm, in the summer, the locals party WAY into the early hours, because of the extra light. So, expect some noise and was insulated as would have been expected against noise a 100 years ago. It's a stones throw from the #2 bus stop into Glama Stan, the old city and an underground station is a short walk. So, the location is perfect for sightseeing. We were spending an extra day in Stockholm before a Baltic cruise. Again, the bus service was a great option. The #1 bus takes you right to the docks, at the fraction of the cost of a cab ride. The buffet breakfast is also very lovely. Since the hotel caters to international travelers you'll find a wide offering of breakfast foods. It's all very fresh and is convenient for a grab and run casual breakfast. My only complains are: The hotel really could stand an update, but was very clean. The bed was remarkably large, but the linens were for twin beds, my husband and I spoon when we sleep, so no spooning. We'd stay there again. If you're expecting the amenities you'd get from a high end hotel, in the States. Then you need to stay in one of their branded hotels, but if you want to be closer to the pulse of Stockholm, easy access to transportation, love old architecture, all at a reasonable rate, the Crystal Plaza Hotel is a great option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do use the Hop-On-Hop-Off tour bus and boats. They will take you to all of the best sights and the commentaries are well done. Best bargin for your money.

Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
flipnscot
Couples
Jacksonville
Jan 9, 2015

Quaint, Excellent Value, Perfect Location

The hotel did not have really any amenities, but who cares? You're in STOCKHOLM!!!! Amenities was not what I require however everything else that I require, was completely satisfied! The hotel is absolutely charming. When I'm in an old city, I want charm and age. The hotel holds true to its architecture and age so that no modern elements rob it. The rooms were spotless!!! I am a clean freak on an OCD level and I was pleased as punch when I examined the room and it was to my standards of cleanliness. The staff were AWESOME!!!! They were approachable, very kind and helpful. One of the staff, an English gentleman, was just an absolute doll! I wanted to take him home with me. He was helpful and had a wonderful sense of humor! Breakfast was interesting. First, I was happy that the hotel provided a free breakfast. It was interesting and I will not give anything else away about that. You should find out for yourself. Was breakfast good? Absolutely! Was it plentiful? Listen, I'm an American and we EAT! So yes, it is plentiful with a wide, interesting variety of food. The location of the hotel could not have been any more perfect! -- One evening we were about to venture out and the English man called to us and told us it was going to rain and he reached behind the counter and gave us an umbrella. He was right, it did rain and we were so thankful. The person charged with cleaning our room did a wonderful job. I did however, like things in a certain way in my room but I never said anything about it, but whoever was cleaning my room, picked up on it and he/she started putting things how I liked it. Unbelieveable that this person had such customer service to pick up what I liked. I loved this place and when I return, I will return to this hotel. Thanks, Crystal Plaza Hotel, for taking such great care of us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are in Stockholm for a few days (and if you go to Stockholm, you should definitely stay for several days, five minimum) My travel tip is to get the Stockholm card. It is an AMAZING card!!! We never had to pay for any attractions or transportation! It even covered cruises on the canals. Loved it! Well worth the money. We did four to five things a day and used the Stockholm Card. Other tip....don't take transportation in Stockholm, not because it's bad, but because Stockholm is a wonderful place to walk. It is designed for walking pleasure and it is....every walk is pleasurable. The walking paths are under canopy of trees and flowers everywhere. The walks are beautiful and every walk seems short. It is an amazing and clean city. --- I did not travel with children but Stockholm is a great place for children!!! I even enjoyed some activities for children. I went to Junibacken three times!!! I loved playing there and then have a nice cuppa tea and a savory! There are tons of museums and even an amusement park on the water! I truly envy those who are able to live in Stockholm!

Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alex the Physicist
Single
Princeton, NJ
Dec 1, 2014

Business trip June 2014

This is a good value for the money and very good location. However, my room was uncomfortably tin, even for a single person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is near the embassy district; there are also nice parks nearby.

Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Portlandier
Couples
Portland, OR, USA
Aug 18, 2014

Great 19th Century Hotel with super location and value!

Close to everything and wonderful value. A great breakfast and super large room with old world charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little cafe's all around and high end shopping a short walk away. In addition it is close to all public transportation stops.

Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nancy1717
Couples
Vicenza, Italy
Jul 1, 2014

Great Location! Good hotel!

This hotel is centrally situated in Stockholm and is close to excellent shopping, restaurants, and attractions. The Hop-on, Hop-off Bus service has a stop about 5 minutes away, and the local bus and tram service is close as well. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Their restaurant-Ming-was closed while we were there, but looked like it had a good variety of Chinese food. Try and stay in the "tower" rooms--Room 603 offered a good view of the streets below. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
be mine
Friends
SL Algarve
Jul 1, 2014

excellent located hotel

Excellent staff, could not do more for you. Breakfast superb. Great location for getting about Stockholm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue card for traveling a must. Day trip with Viking line to Finland super value and fab trip.

Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ppenagosr
Business
Perú
Apr 5, 2014

Very good

Excellent hotel, very helpful and friendly. Good, very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJGould
Couples
London
Dec 17, 2013

great hotel

Really happy with everything about the hotel. Amazing breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Philk
Couples
London, UK
May 18, 2013

Reasonable hotel

Good location but the room itself was rather small and tired. Some re-decoration and brighter lighting would make a difference but it was clean and sufficient for a city break. On the plus side Fast, free wi-fi a bonus and the restaurant attached supplied a good breakfast and reasonably priced meals (compared to the rest of the restaurants in this part of Stockholm!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ladies on tour
Family
Ireland
Mar 2, 2013

Girls break away!

Short walk from central station. Our room was on the second floor it was very well presented clean and comfortable and warm! It was minus out side. The breakfast was fab great selection and staff very friendly. Overall very pleased with hotel,price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
N and T
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 9, 2012

Charming Comfortable Hotel in Great Location

We had such a nice time staying at the Crystal Plaza Hotel in Stockholm. First, its a beautiful old building with so much charm yet is so well maintained and renovated that we never felt we had to compromise on ammenities for a smaller neighborhood hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by the remodelled and modern bathroom. The included breakfast included a wide variety of choices of fresh breakfast items and was just fantastic. Overall our stay here exceeded our expectations since we thought we were compromising by booking at a cheaper hotel but this was not the case.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Zita Theater is next door to the hotel. Nice small theaters that show mainly independent films or in our case it was part of the film festival that was part of the gay pride celebrations.

Back to menu Return to top