$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 4, 2015 Check-out: Oct 5, 2015

Central Hotel Stockholm

3 stars
View map of Vasagatan, 38, Stockholm, SE-111 20

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
45 reviews
A wonderful home for a week,

A stones throw from the train/bus station, very clean, great selection of amazing food for... See full review

  • peter D.
  • Jul 19, 2015
Great location, great room!

Central Hotel Stockholm is exactly that: centrally located within walking distance to every major... See full review

  • Glichez
  • Jul 30, 2014
As its name suggests, the Central Hotel Stockholm sits in the middle of city center of Stockholm on Vasagatan -- the main street in Stockholm. Close proximity to central station allows guests to explore the area with the assistance of convenient public transportation. The hotel is classically decorated, with modern amenities such as free complimentary wireless Internet access and flat-screen televisions. Guests will appreciate the personal service at the Central Hotel, as well as the fantastic breakfast buffet, free to all guests.
Rooms
Rooms at the Central Hotel Stockholm are somewhat basic yet comfortable and efficient. Guests can expect a very comfortable bed, shower, flat-screen television with DVD, and a CD player. All rooms feature classic decor, and face the interior courtyard, which guards against the noisy traffic of the busy city center. Wireless Internet access is free to all guests.
Property features
Guests return to the Central Hotel Stockholm because of the high-quality service and fantastic location. The hotel has no on-site restaurant, but its location provides endless options for local dining at the best establishments. Hotel staff is happy to direct guests to the perfect restaurant based upon particular needs. At the Central Hotel, visitors find themselves in the middle of beautiful Stockholm, with many attractions within walking distance and central station just steps away for public transportation.
Highlights
  • Amazing location steps from Central Station and Arlanda Express
  • Courtyard-facing rooms offer quiet and peaceful sleep in the busy city center
  • Complimentary breakfast with a wide array of juices, meats, cheeses, breads and cereals
  • Complimentary tea and coffee buffet in the lobby during the day
  • Friendly and knowledgeable customer service
Nearby attractions
  • Old Town/Gamla Stan (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Royal Palace (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Vasa Museum (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Skansen Open Air Museum (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
Business
  • Modern, well-equipped conference room with seating for up to 16 participants
  • Modern audiovisual equipment available upon request in conference room
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Convenient location for international business travel
  • Steps from Arlanda Express Train Station
Transportation
  • Arlanda Express Train Station (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • T-Centralen T-Bana (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Central Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Arlanda Airport (25.8 mi/41.5 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Central Hotel Stockholm also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$113
4.0 / 5 24 reviews
★★★★
$134
3.1 / 5 15 reviews
★★★★
$133
4.2 / 5 36 reviews
★★★★
$109
3.5 / 5 4 reviews
★★★★
$117
3.8 / 5 12 reviews
★★★
$98
4.0 / 5 23 reviews
★★★★
$139
4.2 / 5 11 reviews
★★★★
$135
4.1 / 5 20 reviews
★★★★
$144
3.6 / 5 5 reviews

Central Hotel Stockholm Rooms

Standard Double Room
The room offers two single beds or one double bed. Equipped with comfortable Carpe Diem beds, flat screen TV and coffee and tea making facilities. The private bathroom has a rain shower. The modern rooms are designed in warm tones, facing tranquil courtyards and have extra sound insulation giving you a good night's sleep.
Standard Single Room
The room of 12 sq. meters offers one single bed. Equipped with comfortable Carpe Diem bed, flat screen TV and coffee and tea making facilities. The private bathroom has a rain shower. The modern rooms are designed in warm tones, facing tranquil courtyards and have extra sound insulation giving you a good night's sleep.
Superior Twin Room
This larger room of 22 sq. meters offers two single beds and holds a third person in a fold out bed. Equipped with comfortable Carpe Diem beds, sitting area, flat screen TV and coffee and tea making facilities. The private bathroom has a rain shower. The modern rooms are designed in warm tones, facing tranquil courtyards and have extra sound insulation giving you a good night's sleep.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free full breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Stockholm Central station: 0.2 mi
  • Stockholm City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Sergels Torg: 0.3 mi
  • Kulturhuset: 0.3 mi
  • Storkyrkan Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Stockholm Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Bondeska Palatset: 0.6 mi
  • Riddarholmen: 0.6 mi
  • Stureplan: 0.6 mi
  • Gamla Stan - Old Town: 0.7 mi
  • Stortorget: 0.7 mi
  • Kungsholmen: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art: 0.8 mi
  • Riddarholm Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ostermalm: 0.9 mi
  • Stockholm Central station: 0.2 mi
  • Stockholm City Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Sergels Torg: 0.3 mi
  • Kulturhuset: 0.3 mi
  • Storkyrkan Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Stockholm Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Bondeska Palatset: 0.6 mi
  • Riddarholmen: 0.6 mi
  • Stureplan: 0.6 mi
  • Gamla Stan - Old Town: 0.7 mi
  • Stortorget: 0.7 mi
  • Kungsholmen: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art: 0.8 mi
  • Riddarholm Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ostermalm: 0.9 mi
  • Strandvägen: 1.2 mi
  • Sodermalm: 1.4 mi
  • Military Academy Karlberg: 1.4 mi
  • Skansen: 1.5 mi
  • Gärdet: 1.6 mi
  • Gröna Lund: 1.8 mi
  • Tekniska Museet: 2.2 mi
  • Stockholm University: 2.6 mi
  • Arsta: 2.6 mi
  • Solna: 2.6 mi
  • Johanneshov: 2.8 mi
  • Globen: 2.9 mi
  • Friends Arena: 3.3 mi
  • Jarva Krog: 3.6 mi
  • Drottningholm: 6 mi
  • Drottningholm Palace: 6 mi
  • Kista: 6.2 mi
  • Kungens Kurva: 6.6 mi
  • Stockholm archipelago: 24.4 mi

Dining

Le Relais de la Gare
Dinner and lighter meals can be enjoyed at the in-house Le Relais de la Gare Restaurant, which features panoramic views of the street life at Vasagatan Street. A complimentary buffet breakfast with hot and cold options is served each morning. Free tea and coffee are available in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Central Hotel Stockholm

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 45
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Central Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
peter D.
Single
deal
Jul 19, 2015

A wonderful home for a week,

A stones throw from the train/bus station, very clean, great selection of amazing food for breakfast, (flexible 7am to 10.30 am) small single room, but very well designed and comfortable, everything I needed. TV shows 2 types of US film channel,free access to a computer and lovely lounge and outside terrace on 1st floor. Very helpful staff, let me in book in at 11:30 am as the room was already free, let me stow luggage on my last day, found a lost charger in my room for me, access to umberellas. Perfect place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Central Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Mouse visitor
Single
Powder Springs
May 18, 2015

Very pleasant stay

The hardest part was finding the hotel, which is in the middle of the block but only about 1 1/2 blocks from the Verlanda Express train station. The sign leading from the exit of the station pointed to the left when it should have pointed straight ahead. However, once I found the hotel and got to the room, I was very happy with the accommodations. The room was not large but comfortable. The bathroom one of the nicest that I had in Europe over four weeks of recent business travel with a rain type shower head and wand. The A/C worked well, and the bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Central Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vlad NYC
Single
New York, NY
Sep 1, 2014

Great layover hotel

I spent one night in this hotel on my way from Europe to US. Location couldn't be any better for me as it is 2 minutes walk from central station. Stuff was extremely friendly and helpful. Front desk clerk recommended a great restaurant. My room was really small and simple but for 1 night it didn't matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Central Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan LD
Single
NC
Jan 6, 2014

Great Location

Hotel was nice and close to fast train station and shopping mall district. Good variety for breakfast but the wifi signal would fade depending where in room I was sitting. Overall, good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Central Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed Man
Single
Northamptonshire, England
May 6, 2013

Well Postioned For Transport

To be honest I spent very little time in the hotel. A shower on arrival early after noon, got back to my room at midnight & left before 8am. The hotel is well postioned for the main rail station being a 5 minute walk away. Check in staff very friendlly and helpful. Yes, the room not the largest but I wasn't planning to spend much time in it. Would use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Central Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Electric Snail
Single
Earth
Nov 18, 2012

Central hotel

Friendly staff. Breakfast was good, pastrami sandwiches are a good way to start your day. Also had standard müsli, fruit, juices, . The location is by the central train station, which is across the street. The city was in the process of adding an escalator on the same side of the street. A majority of the new shops are a very short walk behind the hotel. The shower was neat in the fact it was almost separated from the bathroom, essential an enclave. It also had a towel dryer rack. The only downside is trash was picked up early and my room (there are many) was adjacent to this. This hotel is not very scenic, but both functional and practical. If getting a room try to get one on the outside of the circle (mine was on the inside).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Arlanda Express gets you to the airport in ~20 min, and was ~$35. It is across the street and runs very frequently.

Review of Central Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Early traveller
Single
Paris, France
Sep 17, 2012

Very nice Anton

I was there for a handful of hours, waiting for an early train, so I can't really recommend most services there, but the clerk at the desk (Anton, I believe) was very affable, and flexible to my peculiar demands (a wake-up call and an early sandwich in the middle of the night). From on the location (near the train station) I'm assuming that's very appropriate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Central Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Single Singer
Single
Philadelphia PA USA
Aug 21, 2012

Perfect for a single

Amenities: Free Wifi- They were having some technical issues while I was staying there due to a leaky roof. It was fixed within hours. Breakfast- As an American it was good. Not a traditional American Breakfast but what is the fun of traveling if you are not going to eat the local food. TV in room has about 10 of 20 channels in English. Location: It is about 30 seconds (not joking) from the Arlanda Express. Which was great for someone with an early morning flight. About 2 blocks from Central Station. About 3 blocks from Center of Stockholm, including shops, restaurants, etc. Room Cleanliness: No dust, no trash. I am really picky about this and it was amazing! Bathroom was cleaned daily. Room Comfort: Bed was so soft. It was a good size for one. Staff: Extremely nice. Value: If you are looking for an affordable, comfortable, and clean hotel this is it. Free coffee, tea and cookies in lobby. If I ever can get back to Stockholm I will be staying here again. I would recommend this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

About 3 blocks away are 3 large shopping areas. Not sure about the names or 2 but the Gallerian is one. They have great restaurants and shops.

Review of Central Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JELT
Single
Iowa, USA
May 16, 2012

A nice surprise

Since the hotel was quite inexpensive i did not expect much from it, but I was VERY pleasantly surprised. The rooms are very small but spotlessly clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was excellent and they even had breakfast available for people who had to leave earlier than the scheduled breakfast hours. The rooms face away from the busy street so they are quiet. The location is excellent - a few blocks to the train and bus terminals and within easy walking distance of many major sites. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to major attractions such as the Royal Palace.

Review of Central Hotel Stockholm

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Czarwood
Single
Toluca Lake, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Great Stay at The Central

The Central Hotel is just that, central to everything! You can either take the train or the bus, from the airport because the hotel is just around the corner. It is also across the street from the Nordic Hotel where the Ice Bar is located. The room was nice with a free bottle of water every day. Free cookies with tea or coffee and fresh fruit was available in the lobby daily. Shampoo, body lotion, vanity kit, soap refreshed daily. The free breakfast and Internet was a huge factor when I selected this hotel. The staff is great with Shuhrat being extremely helpful in booking my place at the Ice Bar as well as helping me to find places I had wanted to see. Victor also helped with a map to the piano stairs which were no longer there. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends. The candy at the front desk was great and when I went to their sister hotel The Richmond in Copehhagen, they were there too for free. I love free!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus instead of the train as the train is very expensive and only 10 minutes faster. The bus had music too :)

Back to menu Return to top