$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 13, 2015 Check-out: Mar 16, 2015

Scandic Opalen

4 stars
View map of Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg, SE 402 23

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
4 reviews
good hotel

great room with panorama view from windows floor to ceiling See full review

  • jimmyk
  • Sep 15, 2012
Final Stay of our European Getaway

Reception staff, specifically Carl, were great, very friendly and accommodating. When we first... See full review

  • Worldly Travelers
  • Apr 15, 2012
Central Gothenburg hotel with gym, sauna, Jacuzzi, wireless internet access and 18 meeting rooms. The hotel is just a few blocks from Gothenburgs main shops and attractions, like the Liseberg amusement park.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Scandic Opalen also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Scandic Opalen Rooms

Standard Room
All the Standard rooms have a workplace with a telephone, a socket for modem, iron, hairdryer, cable TV and bathtub. 13-19 sqm. Single, queen or twin besd. Some also with wallbeds/sofabe. Sleeps up to 4 persons,
Suite
Spacious suites, 24-63 sgm, located on the top flöoor. All suites with sitting area and two bathrooms. Queen or king bed. Sleeps up to 4 persons.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
General
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Telephone
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Gothenburg Museum of Art: 0.2 mi
  • Scandinavium: 0.2 mi
  • Garda: 0.3 mi
  • University of Gothenburg: 0.5 mi
  • Trädgårdsföreningen: 0.6 mi
  • Ullevi: 0.6 mi
  • Gothenburg Central Station: 0.6 mi
  • Gothenburg City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Johanneberg: 0.8 mi
  • Chalmers University of Technology: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of World Culture: 0.8 mi
  • Haga, Gothenburg: 0.9 mi
  • Göteborgsoperan: 1.1 mi
  • Slottsskogen: 1.8 mi
  • Gothenburg Botanical Garden: 2 mi
  • Gothenburg Museum of Art: 0.2 mi
  • Scandinavium: 0.2 mi
  • Garda: 0.3 mi
  • University of Gothenburg: 0.5 mi
  • Trädgårdsföreningen: 0.6 mi
  • Ullevi: 0.6 mi
  • Gothenburg Central Station: 0.6 mi
  • Gothenburg City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Johanneberg: 0.8 mi
  • Chalmers University of Technology: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of World Culture: 0.8 mi
  • Haga, Gothenburg: 0.9 mi
  • Göteborgsoperan: 1.1 mi
  • Slottsskogen: 1.8 mi
  • Gothenburg Botanical Garden: 2 mi
  • Majorna: 2.4 mi
  • Backa: 2.9 mi
  • Älvsborg Bridge: 3.2 mi
  • Frölunda Torg: 4.7 mi
  • Partille: 5.1 mi
  • Älvsborg fortress: 5.4 mi
  • Molnlycke: 5.9 mi
  • Angered: 6.9 mi
  • Torslanda: 7.9 mi
  • Southern Gothenburg Archipelago: 9.4 mi

Dining

Opalen restaurant and bar
Located at entrence floor and serves everything from small dishes to Á la carte. Restaurant and bar are the perfect place to visit before or after a trade fair or event. Banquet facilities for up to 320 people and mingle party for up to 500 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (4)

Ratings and reviews for Scandic Opalen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 4
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3
Sort by:
Review of Scandic Opalen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jimmyk
Business
edinburgh, scotland
Sep 15, 2012

good hotel

great room with panorama view from windows floor to ceiling

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scandic Opalen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Worldly Travelers
Business
Woodbridge, VA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Final Stay of our European Getaway

Reception staff, specifically Carl, were great, very friendly and accommodating. When we first arrived in our room we saw that it was very small and we had quite a bit of luggage. We had not been in the room but a minute when Carl called on the phone, mentioned that he had noticed all our luggage and upgraded us to a larger room at no extra charge. Not only was the room larger but the view was fantastic. A very comfortable room and let's not forget the shower. Excellent!. Carl also noted that we were leaving the next morning before breakfast would be served and arranged for some sandwiches and snacks that we could take to the airport. Great final night in Sweden!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be prepared to have a credit/debit card with a PIN. Most credit cards could not be used in our travel to Sweden and Denmark. Fortunately, we did have a debit card that was accepted. We were also surprised that Sweden and more so Denmark did not take Euros.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scandic Opalen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newm
Business
Northern, VA, USA
Feb 12, 2012

Very Nice Hotel

The Staff was VERY accommodating, the food was great, and the location was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scandic Opalen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
r4nd0m
Business
West Sussex, UK
Dec 13, 2011

Better than average chain hotel

The staff were efficient and helpful, the room was great with a nice view and the breakfast was good. Not much more you can ask for really.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a travel card from any newsagents, this gives you access to the trams and busses making longer trips cheap and easy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top