$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

Scandic Europa

4 stars
Kopmansgatan 38, Gothenburg, 404 29
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
19 reviews
Scadia

Very close to rail station. Have the best breakfast buffet. See full review

  • Big Time Fisherman
  • Aug 27, 2013
Great location!

Very good location. Ok hotelgym, but very small pool. Decent breakfast. Overall: a good value. See full review

  • SuperThomas
  • Jul 22, 2013
The hotel offers 452 comfortable rooms for both business and leisure travellers. Apart from the obvious pleasures we offer such as comfortable living, space for relaxation, gym, excellent meeting rooms and a fine restaurant, there is all of Gothenburg within walking distance. We're located in the center of the city, close to everything Gothenburg has to offer in the way of leisure, transport and amenities.

Hotel Map

57.708 11.9701
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Scandic Europa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5

Scandic Europa Rooms

Standard
Comfortable rooms with bathtub or shower. All rooms are equipped with, free wifi,TV, hairdryer,desk and chair. Single, twin, queen or twinbed.
Superior
This category includes large, light, decorated corner rooms with a separate seating area, as well as a business floor with a modern new decor dominated by Nordic wood. All rooms have bath/shower, hairdryer, TV. free wifi, Twinbed and a sofabed.
Suite
Our suites is between 37-89 squared meters and they all have woodenfloor. The sutites are equipped with minibar, bathrobe,coffee/tea facilities and bathroom with bathtub or jacuzzi. Twin or queen bed.
Family Superior
Family Superior rooms are equipped with free wifi, TV, minibar, barthrobe, coffe/tea maker. The rooms also have a sitting area for relaxation.
Standard plus
Standard plus rooms are equipped with free WIFI, TV, Coffe/tea maker. The rooms also have a writning desk and chair.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Telephone
Hairdryer in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Gothenburg Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • Gothenburg City Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Trädgårdsföreningen: 0.4 mi
  • Göteborgsoperan: 0.4 mi
  • University of Gothenburg: 0.6 mi
  • Gothenburg Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Haga, Gothenburg: 0.7 mi
  • Ullevi: 0.7 mi
  • Garda: 0.9 mi
  • Scandinavium: 0.9 mi
  • Chalmers University of Technology: 1.3 mi
  • Johanneberg: 1.3 mi
  • Museum of World Culture: 1.4 mi
  • Slottsskogen: 1.7 mi
  • Majorna: 2.1 mi
  • Gothenburg Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • Gothenburg City Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Trädgårdsföreningen: 0.4 mi
  • Göteborgsoperan: 0.4 mi
  • University of Gothenburg: 0.6 mi
  • Gothenburg Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Haga, Gothenburg: 0.7 mi
  • Ullevi: 0.7 mi
  • Garda: 0.9 mi
  • Scandinavium: 0.9 mi
  • Chalmers University of Technology: 1.3 mi
  • Johanneberg: 1.3 mi
  • Museum of World Culture: 1.4 mi
  • Slottsskogen: 1.7 mi
  • Majorna: 2.1 mi
  • Gothenburg Botanical Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Backa: 2.5 mi
  • Älvsborg Bridge: 2.9 mi
  • Frölunda Torg: 4.8 mi
  • Älvsborg fortress: 5 mi
  • Partille: 5.4 mi
  • Molnlycke: 6.6 mi
  • Angered: 6.8 mi
  • Torslanda: 7.3 mi
  • Southern Gothenburg Archipelago: 9.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Our Restaurant is located on the Ground floor. This is where we serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. We offer a generous lunchbuffet, (not avail. during Summerperiod). SEK120:-/person. During dinner we serve A' la Carte, from our Grill & Chill- menu.
Bar
Our Lobby-Bar is located on the ground floor. It is spacious and comfortably furnished with armchairs and barstols. We can seat about 50 guests. We serve drinks, snacks and a food from the Bar-menu. We have live-music every Wednesday, Friday & Saturday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for Scandic Europa

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Scandic Europa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Swedish Convert
Suffolk, England
Sep 6, 2013

Excellent location - shame about the builders

Don't go until next year as it has just started a major, much needed, refurbishment which will bring it into 21st century, unless of course, you like living in a building site! Really well placed for all transport links and right in the heart of the city too. Superb staff who are working in a nightmare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You don't need a travel card. Gothenburg is totally walkable but wear sensible shoes to cope with the cobbles.

Review of Scandic Europa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Time Fisherman
California, USA
Aug 27, 2013

Scadia

Very close to rail station. Have the best breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Scandic Europa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuperThomas
Norway
Jul 22, 2013

Great location!

Very good location. Ok hotelgym, but very small pool. Decent breakfast. Overall: a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Scandic Europa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JSPS
Business
London, UK
Jul 5, 2013

Clean, tidy and efficient but.....

The hotel is clean tidy and well presented, the staff are friendly and efficient and the locatiuon is good. My only real complaint is the TV\entertainment in the rooms. I had a very old battered box TV with a terrible signal and a very poor choice of stations to choose from so could not use it so was forced to try and watch films or use the internet on my iPad however due to the VERY slow internet speed when using the free WiFi service this too was also impossible, very frustrating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Scandic Europa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Silver John
Business
Norway
Aug 13, 2012

in the shopping district

stayed there for business. location is excellent, immediately next door to a large shopping center. room is small, with minimal comfort, no mini bar. just TV in the room.a place to sleep only. entertainment one finds only outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

try the in-house massage

Review of Scandic Europa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Hound
Portland, OR, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Perfect Layover Location

Traveling with my 21 year-old son. We stayed in Gothenburg for one night in late October... arriving on train and leaving by plane. The hotel is perfectly located near the train station with an underground walkway between station and hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful in arranging cab for 4 am departure. Rooms are basic, no thrills, no mini bars, no coffee/tea, but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Scandic Europa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ed
Not Provided
Aug 18, 2011

Very good situation

Very good situation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Scandic Europa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland Oregon
Aug 4, 2011

Over rated for what it is

We had stayed in Gothenburg 10 days earlier at another hotel with the similar rating and all I can say is the differences were night and day. The Scandic Europa is a typical European small room, which I was fine with and expected. There were many things I would expect out of a hotel of this caliber that they just didn't have or executed poorly. The AC was very weak and was not able to cool down the room. The room itself was outdated. The TV mount was broken and it could not be moved around for whatever angle you wanted. Their showers are unique in that they only have half a shower door, it is odd, but that was intentional, and this results in having a very wet floor outside of the shower when you are done. Overall it really felt like nobody cared how these rooms would be to use and or for the comfort. I would highly recommend the Radison Blu that is just a couple blocks away, which is a completely different caliber of hotel for close to the same price. One thing to note, their staff were extremely pleasant and seemed happy to be there, which for me was the only real saving grace. It is a fine hotel for one nights stay, however if we were going to be there for several days, I would have checked out the next day and moved to a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Scandic Europa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Williamsburg, VA
Jul 10, 2011

Trip of a Lifetime!

Hotel was close to a large mall with shops, restaurants, etc. Very convenient. It was also right across from the train station which we needed for the next part of our trip. We were also able to walk in the area and see many of the highlights of Gothenburg. The room was clean, roomy and the desk staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is almost part of the largest indoor shopping mall in this part of Sweden. Everything was available...clothes, electronics, food, books, home goods,...just everything!

Review of Scandic Europa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Henriette
Not Provided
Dec 20, 2010

We had a very plesant stay. The

We had a very plesant stay. The room was a good size, very clean and comfy. The breakfast was very good. Staff was friendly and smiling. The hotel is placed very central, and in walking distanse of most things you want to see in Gothenburg. We have stayed there two times before, and are definently coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search