$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Scandic Europa

4 stars
Kopmansgatan 38, Gothenburg, 404 29
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
9 reviews
Scadia

Very close to rail station. Have the best breakfast buffet. See full review

  • Big Time Fisherman
  • Aug 27, 2013
Trip of a Lifetime!

Hotel was close to a large mall with shops, restaurants, etc. Very convenient. It was also right... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 10, 2011
The hotel offers 452 comfortable rooms for both business and leisure travellers. Apart from the obvious pleasures we offer such as comfortable living, space for relaxation, gym, excellent meeting rooms and a fine restaurant, there is all of Gothenburg within walking distance. We're located in the center of the city, close to everything Gothenburg has to offer in the way of leisure, transport and amenities.

Hotel Map

57.708 11.9701
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Scandic Europa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5

Scandic Europa Rooms

Standard
Comfortable rooms with bathtub or shower. All rooms are equipped with, free wifi,TV, hairdryer,desk and chair. Single, twin, queen or twinbed.
Superior
This category includes large, light, decorated corner rooms with a separate seating area, as well as a business floor with a modern new decor dominated by Nordic wood. All rooms have bath/shower, hairdryer, TV. free wifi, Twinbed and a sofabed.
Suite
Our suites is between 37-89 squared meters and they all have woodenfloor. The sutites are equipped with minibar, bathrobe,coffee/tea facilities and bathroom with bathtub or jacuzzi. Twin or queen bed.
Family Superior
Family Superior rooms are equipped with free wifi, TV, minibar, barthrobe, coffe/tea maker. The rooms also have a sitting area for relaxation.
Standard plus
Standard plus rooms are equipped with free WIFI, TV, Coffe/tea maker. The rooms also have a writning desk and chair.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Telephone
Hairdryer in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Gothenburg Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • Gothenburg City Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Trädgårdsföreningen: 0.4 mi
  • Göteborgsoperan: 0.4 mi
  • University of Gothenburg: 0.6 mi
  • Gothenburg Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Haga, Gothenburg: 0.7 mi
  • Ullevi: 0.7 mi
  • Garda: 0.9 mi
  • Scandinavium: 0.9 mi
  • Chalmers University of Technology: 1.3 mi
  • Johanneberg: 1.3 mi
  • Museum of World Culture: 1.4 mi
  • Slottsskogen: 1.7 mi
  • Majorna: 2.1 mi
  • Gothenburg Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • Gothenburg City Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Trädgårdsföreningen: 0.4 mi
  • Göteborgsoperan: 0.4 mi
  • University of Gothenburg: 0.6 mi
  • Gothenburg Museum of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Haga, Gothenburg: 0.7 mi
  • Ullevi: 0.7 mi
  • Garda: 0.9 mi
  • Scandinavium: 0.9 mi
  • Chalmers University of Technology: 1.3 mi
  • Johanneberg: 1.3 mi
  • Museum of World Culture: 1.4 mi
  • Slottsskogen: 1.7 mi
  • Majorna: 2.1 mi
  • Gothenburg Botanical Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Backa: 2.5 mi
  • Älvsborg Bridge: 2.9 mi
  • Frölunda Torg: 4.8 mi
  • Älvsborg fortress: 5 mi
  • Partille: 5.4 mi
  • Molnlycke: 6.6 mi
  • Angered: 6.8 mi
  • Torslanda: 7.3 mi
  • Southern Gothenburg Archipelago: 9.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Our Restaurant is located on the Ground floor. This is where we serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. We offer a generous lunchbuffet, (not avail. during Summerperiod). SEK120:-/person. During dinner we serve A' la Carte, from our Grill & Chill- menu.
Bar
Our Lobby-Bar is located on the ground floor. It is spacious and comfortably furnished with armchairs and barstols. We can seat about 50 guests. We serve drinks, snacks and a food from the Bar-menu. We have live-music every Wednesday, Friday & Saturday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for Scandic Europa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Scandic Europa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Swedish Convert
Business
Suffolk, England
Sep 6, 2013

Excellent location - shame about the builders

Don't go until next year as it has just started a major, much needed, refurbishment which will bring it into 21st century, unless of course, you like living in a building site! Really well placed for all transport links and right in the heart of the city too. Superb staff who are working in a nightmare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You don't need a travel card. Gothenburg is totally walkable but wear sensible shoes to cope with the cobbles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scandic Europa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Time Fisherman
Business
California, USA
Aug 27, 2013

Scadia

Very close to rail station. Have the best breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scandic Europa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JSPS
Business
London, UK
Jul 5, 2013

Clean, tidy and efficient but.....

The hotel is clean tidy and well presented, the staff are friendly and efficient and the locatiuon is good. My only real complaint is the TV\entertainment in the rooms. I had a very old battered box TV with a terrible signal and a very poor choice of stations to choose from so could not use it so was forced to try and watch films or use the internet on my iPad however due to the VERY slow internet speed when using the free WiFi service this too was also impossible, very frustrating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scandic Europa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Hound
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Perfect Layover Location

Traveling with my 21 year-old son. We stayed in Gothenburg for one night in late October... arriving on train and leaving by plane. The hotel is perfectly located near the train station with an underground walkway between station and hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful in arranging cab for 4 am departure. Rooms are basic, no thrills, no mini bars, no coffee/tea, but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scandic Europa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland Oregon
Aug 4, 2011

Over rated for what it is

We had stayed in Gothenburg 10 days earlier at another hotel with the similar rating and all I can say is the differences were night and day. The Scandic Europa is a typical European small room, which I was fine with and expected. There were many things I would expect out of a hotel of this caliber that they just didn't have or executed poorly. The AC was very weak and was not able to cool down the room. The room itself was outdated. The TV mount was broken and it could not be moved around for whatever angle you wanted. Their showers are unique in that they only have half a shower door, it is odd, but that was intentional, and this results in having a very wet floor outside of the shower when you are done. Overall it really felt like nobody cared how these rooms would be to use and or for the comfort. I would highly recommend the Radison Blu that is just a couple blocks away, which is a completely different caliber of hotel for close to the same price. One thing to note, their staff were extremely pleasant and seemed happy to be there, which for me was the only real saving grace. It is a fine hotel for one nights stay, however if we were going to be there for several days, I would have checked out the next day and moved to a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scandic Europa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Williamsburg, VA
Jul 10, 2011

Trip of a Lifetime!

Hotel was close to a large mall with shops, restaurants, etc. Very convenient. It was also right across from the train station which we needed for the next part of our trip. We were also able to walk in the area and see many of the highlights of Gothenburg. The room was clean, roomy and the desk staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is almost part of the largest indoor shopping mall in this part of Sweden. Everything was available...clothes, electronics, food, books, home goods,...just everything!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scandic Europa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business and pleasure travellor
Business
Mexico City
Jul 18, 2010

Great location, nice breakfast buffet

I attended a conference at the University and the hotel is very centrally located. The 10 or 15 minute walk to the conference venues was past the city canals and along a boulevard with many shops and places to eat outside. Quite nice. The hotel is right next to a huge shopping mall, lots of restaurants and next to Central station so the airport is a 40 min bus trip away and the trams run a block from the hotel. A perfect location. Tha Paddan (boat trip through the Gottenburg canals) is also a short walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

The hotel is almost in the Nordstan shopping mall so anything is within reach.It is really a great location for everything. The main disadvantage since I come from Latin America is that the city is quite expensive. I was able to save a bit by combining flight and hotel on Orbitz. But for New Yorkers I am sure that it is a deal. The staff is very helpful but there are so many summer visitors they are busy all day long in reception. There are no bathroom amenities which is fine because they reduce bottle and paper waste by having refillable shampoo and soap dispensers. There is coffee and tea in the room which is very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scandic Europa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
American in Sweden
Business
Boston
Oct 6, 2009

Great location and rooms

The hotel was ideally situated for arrival by train and easy walking distance to most of the city attractions. The room was spacious and nice, with hardwood floors, comfortable furniture, and free wireless. My rate included a breakfast buffet with a wide selection of European and American favorites, and serve yourself coffee, tea, and juice. The only minor downside was that some of the furniture was a little worn or stained, and the bathroom was quite small (but still with tub/shower).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Scandic Europa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Consultant- traveler
Business
Costa Mesa, CA
Sep 8, 2009

Good Value

Great location- right next to the Nordstand shopping center, very close to bus and tram station. However, one night I came back to the hotel late around 1AM, and the water pressure was non-existent and could not take a shower. Was too tired to bother with calling reception and getting someone to fix it. Otherwise, 5 stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top