$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection

4 stars
Oblatas, s/n, Oblatas, s/n, Santiago de Compostela, 15703
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
4 reviews
Great location, friendly very helpful staff

Great location within walking distance of the historic city center but in a charming quiet village... See full review

  • JIMLETY
  • Oct 14, 2013
Resort oasis in a very interesting town

This hotel was lovely in all ways. The design is an incredibly interesting mix of the old and very... See full review

  • Oregon runner
  • Oct 3, 2011
The AC Palacio del Carmen Autograph Collection Hotel is located in the historic area of Santiago de Compostela, very close to the town center, the Santiago Cathedral, the University and the Plaza Obradoiro. The AC Palacio del Carmen Autograph Collection Hotel occupies a building that was once the Oblatas Convent and exudes undeniable elegance. Our Santiago Hotel features tailored services to tend to all your needs, ensuring you have a unique experience: free Wi-Fi internet in common areas, AC Bar, gardens, outdoor terrace, minibar, and plasma TV. Our Turkish bath, sauna, fitness center, and contemporary restaurant “El Camelio”, provide multiple options to unwind after a days sightseeing. This Santiago de Compostela hotel helps our guests plan the perfect social or business event in one of our fully equipped rooms.

Hotel Map

42.8773 -8.5473
Area served
Santiago de Compostela
Nearby airports
Santiago de Compostela Airport, (SCQ), 21.00, KM, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Drugstore
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available

Dining

El Camelio Restaurant
Discover the delicious dishes of El Camelio Restaurant in a menu that mixes signature cuisine with characteristic elements of Galician gastronomy. The perfect mix between tradition and modernity at AC Palacio del Carmen Hotel
AC Bar
In the AC Bar our guests will find a tempting menu of salads and sandwiches throughout the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (4)

Ratings and reviews for AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 4
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3
Sort by:
Review of AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Nov 24, 2009

Beautifully converted convent

Beautifully converted convent - worth a visit just to view the marriage of the old and new parts! Breakfast not included but excellent. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. We were so impressed that we took away the directory of other hotels in the AC Group as we would definitely use them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
East Hampton, NY, USA
Oct 17, 2011

not a 5 star by any means

If you are expecting 5 star service from this hotel be prepared to be disappointed. No bellman, parking valet or anyone else to greet or help you upon arrival. Only one person at the check in desk who also had to bring our bags to the room. Very strange. I have never been in a hotel that had so few people working in it . The room was in the new part built off of the original convent but connected by a glass walkway that was boiling hot due to the lack of AC. The room itself was of decent size but again the AC was abysmal and considering it was in the mid 80's, necessary. I spoke to the front desk regarding this but nothing was ever done. The amenities were pretty much there but strange things like only 2 towels and one soap in the bath and when i requested more towels the desk clerk said "well, we only put 2 in the rooms." They did however put more in the room while I was out, thankfully and the minibar was free for water, beer and soda. The WiFi internet service which is 12 euros a day was the worst I have ever encountered and never worked properly. I tried 3 different cards and never was able to connect after trying for several hours. The manager explained that they had a contract with Movistar and that it was not the hotel but I said that shouldn't the hotel make sure that the service worked for its guests. There is free Wifi in the lobby and I just had to use that. On the plus side, the hotel is very conveniently located ( once you find it ) and within easy walking distance to the cathedral and the old part of town. Also the price was pretty reasonable so if you are prepared to put up with the inconveniences I guess it would not be a bad choice.I will recommend this hotel with the proviso that you should not expect this to be a 5 star hotel but a 3 star with according service. I did take a look at the only other 5 star hotel in town which is the Parador de los Reyes Catolicas right next to the cathedral and THAT is a 5 star hotel. Absolutely gorgeous but considerable more expensive. I think I would spring for that next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bodegón Santiaguiño on Rúa Franco 29 is a great restaurant to eat the typical Galician Mariscada or seafood platter. Not inexpensive at between 33-50 euros depending on your selection but the quality and freshness was superb and the service was very good for Spain. As a chef I would highly recommend this restaraurant and the Mariscada con Centolla. Delicious! Rúa Franco has many restaurants but most are kind of touristy with mediocre food of questionable freshness.

Review of AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oregon runner
Portland, OR
Oct 3, 2011

Resort oasis in a very interesting town

This hotel was lovely in all ways. The design is an incredibly interesting mix of the old and very modern. The rooms are lovely. The gym was also excellent, though too hot. Staff were helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JIMLETY
Williamsburg, Virginia
Oct 14, 2013

Great location, friendly very helpful staff

Great location within walking distance of the historic city center but in a charming quiet village like setting. The staff was very courteous and helpful. Good parking for our rental car and the hotel is located in a location of easy access for entry and exit from the city. The rooms are spacious and the maid service very good. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant Tarara. Very good food for 15€ fixed price menu. Very small restaurant. Get there before 8:00 pm.jiml

Review of AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oregon runner
Portland, OR
Oct 3, 2011

Resort oasis in a very interesting town

This hotel was lovely in all ways. The design is an incredibly interesting mix of the old and very modern. The rooms are lovely. The gym was also excellent, though too hot. Staff were helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top