$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2015 Check-out: Sep 28, 2015

Silken Amara Plaza

4 stars
View map of Plaza Po XII, 7, San Sebastian, 20010

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
9 reviews
Our Stay in San Sebastian

Very nice hotel with a great group of staff who where a pleasure to work with. The breakfast area... See full review

  • DTJMW
  • Oct 14, 2013
Great hotel

We loved our week at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and... See full review

  • Bertsolari fans
  • Jul 21, 2013
Its bold architecture, the work of Pea Ganchegui, and its advanced technology contrast with the neo-classicism of its interior. A style absolutely in keeping with the legendary elegance and charm of its host city, San Sebastian. The hotels location in Plaza de Po XII makes it convenient for all main thoroughfares in the city. Guests can also walk to the historic centre, the Kursaal Conference Centre, the new beach at La Zurriola, the La Concha centre, the sports city at Anoeta and any of the main shopping centres. Before taking your seat in the Plaza Restaurant, we recommend you to visit our cafe and enjoy one of the most Donostiarro (San Sebastian) traditions: an aperitif in the form of pintxos, these creative and tasty kebab-shaped mini-meals. In the restaurant itself, you can be sure of a succulent lunch or dinner, based on dishes inspired by Basque or international cuisine. Luis Miguel Petrirena, our chef, has created an imaginative and carefully-crafted menu that will more than meet even the expectations of those of our guests who have come to San Sebastian attracted by the fame of its cuisine.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Silken Amara Plaza also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$150
4.3 / 5 10 reviews
★★★★
$166
4.2 / 5 5 reviews
★★★★
$173
4.4 / 5 8 reviews
★★★★
$93
4.3 / 5 4 reviews
★★★★
$153
4.1 / 5 8 reviews
★★★★
$121
4.2 / 5 5 reviews
★★★★
$148
4.5 / 5 Not yet reviewed
★★★★
$349
5.0 / 5 1 reviews

Silken Amara Plaza Rooms

Comfort Room
Very bright exterior rooms with double glazing for better sound proofing, with modern, functional design in warm tones to ensure a comfortable stay, cotton duvet and pillows. There is either one double or 2 single beds, large desk, LCD plasma TV, digital Canal Satellite with wifi connection to different themed and international channels and a varied set of amenities designed by Javier Mariscal. You also enjoy all the facilities that a 4 Star Hotel can offer to make your stay a pleasure.
Club Room
Enjoy our SILKEN CLUB service where you have free cleaning and ironing of two clothes, 'VIP amenities' (dressing gown and slippers), late check-out and early check-in, all these services available in a very bright exterior room with double glazing for better soundproofing, functional modern design featuring warm tones to ensure you a comfortable stay. Cotton duvet and pillows, with either one double or 2 single beds, large desk, LCD plasma TV, digital Canal Satellite with wifi connection to different themed and international channels and a varied set of bathroom amenities designed by Javier Mariscal. You also enjoy all the facilities that a 4 Star Hotel can offer to make your stay a pleasure.
Basic Room
Smaller than 'Comfort' rooms and designed for one person and stays of one or two days. Double bed with cotton duvet and pillows, large desk, LCD plasma TV, digital Canal Satellite with wifi connection to a range of themed and international channels, bathroom with a varied set of amenities designed by Javier Mariscal. Includes all the facilities you would expect from a 4 Star Hotel to ensure a nice stay.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The elegant decor and facilities of the Hotel Silken Amara Plaza's public rooms make them ideal for business meetings, business lunches, conventions, functions or any other kind of event. The hotel provides 500 square metres of versatile modular public rooms to accommodate up to 500 people. All can provide external telephone line, public address system, audiovisual equipment, background music, fax, email and secretarial and translation services for business meetings and conventions

Dining

Amara Plaza's Restaurant
Before taking your seat in the Plaza Restaurant, we recommend you to visit our cafe and enjoy one of the most Donostiarro (San Sebastian) traditions: an aperitif in the form of "pintxos", these creative and tasty kebab-shaped mini-meals. In the restaurant itself, you can be sure of a succulent lunch or dinner, based on dishes inspired by Basque or international cuisine. Luis Miguel Petrirena, our chef, has created an imaginative and carefully-crafted menu that will more than meet even the expectations of those of our guests who have come to San Sebastian attracted by the fame of its cuisine.
Piano-Bar La Ola
After a hard day's tourism or work, we recommend you to stop off at our La Ola piano-bar, an ideal place to while away a pleasant evening. And with live music, good drinks and cocktails, and a professional and discreet service, you can't go wrong.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Silken Amara Plaza

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Silken Amara Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charlotan
Couples
Hoboken
Jan 12, 2015

budget option not far from center

this is a good spot for someone passing through town. next to the long distance bus stop which you do not hear. a bus or a taxi takes you downtown, or you can have a leasurely walk. nice location but definitely not in the center of everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Silken Amara Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nycball
Couples
New York, NY
Jul 24, 2014

Nice hotel a bit to far

Great hotel and great value but 25 minute walk from the beach and old town. We solved that by renting bikes from the hotel and using the many bike paths. If that works for you then it is a great value and next to the bus station. We would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Silken Amara Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DTJMW
Couples
Wales
Oct 14, 2013

Our Stay in San Sebastian

Very nice hotel with a great group of staff who where a pleasure to work with. The breakfast area was very pleasant but at approx. 17.00, perhaps not good value for a light breakfast. Lots of other places nearby at 7.00 to 10 Euro. The Bistro and coffee bar were useful for a wide range of quick lunch or dinner items or just a coffee and pastry. The staff were very helpful with recommendations of other dining options in the town which we took full advantage of. The hotel is located about a 7.00 Euro taxi ride from the old town /coast, right by the central bus station. This was not a noise problem and very convenient for a day trip into Bilbao 11.50 Euro and our connection to and from Bilbao Airport, 16.00 Euro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

You have to try San Sebastian's Michelin star restaurants, there are a lot to choose from 1 star up to 3 starred locations :-)

Review of Silken Amara Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bertsolari fans
Couples
Arkansas
Jul 21, 2013

Great hotel

We loved our week at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, and the location allowed us to enjoy daily walks into the old city and the beach. We would love to come back and stay at this same hotel. We ate once at the restaurant and the food and service were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Silken Amara Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
California dreamers
Couples
Pasadena, Ca
Nov 21, 2012

Lovely hotel

Walking distance from bus, train and la concha beach and town center. Charming city with French ambience. Wonderful food. Excellent shopping. Will be back to this city & this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Silken Amara Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dinkies London
Couples
London
Jul 27, 2012

Great option for san sebastian

Short walk in to town which we didn't find too far. Really lovely room. Good price. Would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Silken Amara Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robert SW
Single
Miami, FL, USA
Jan 26, 2012

Amara Plaza does not disappoint!

I have the pleasure of having stayed at Amara Plaza several times. It is an excellent hotel with staff focused on the guests. It is a walking distance from downtown with easy access to buses. it is located in the vital neighborhood of Amara. I highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Arco for shopping and fast food.

Review of Silken Amara Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Santa Rosa CA
Dec 31, 2010

good value

Good location, excellent if you arrive by bus or car. Bed is hard

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Park you car and walk

Review of Silken Amara Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Darwin. Australia
Nov 3, 2010

Right next to bus terminal

A good clean comfortable hotel within easy walking distance to the old part of the city. The bus terminal is right alongside the hotel which is a bonus if you are traveling by bus. The staff were helpful and very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

About a 20 minute walk to the old city. Plenty of good restaurants and bars there.

Back to menu Return to top