Riu Palace Bonanza Playa ★★★★

4.4 /5
Overall score
100%
Would recommend
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Overview

Riu Palace Bonanza Playa is located in the enviable front line to the sea, in the beautiful bay of Palma, in Illetas. All our rooms offer beautiful sea views and balcony. It is renowned for its incredible views, pool literally next to the sea, excellent food and impeccable service. Enjoy your stay in a hotel just next few minutes from Palma and few minutes walking to the beach, our nearest beach is Illetas, only 5 minutes walking. The hotel also has direct access to the sea just next to our pool. From the great location on the island there is easy access to Palma for shopping, visiting many of the galleries and museums, or sampling some of the fantastic restaurants. We also have a good relationship with a lot of the nearby Golf courses, one of which, The Bendinat gives our customers 10% off. The Riu Palace Bonanza Playa is the perfect place to stay to relax, enjoy, be pampered or explore.

Dining

Lunch
Enjoy your alfresco lunch in our bistro bar next to the pool, overlooking the sea with views of Palma.
Bed and Breakfast
Our dining room located on the 7th floor serves breakfast with fantastic views over Palma Bay.
Dinner
Dinner is included in this rate, enjoy your dinner in our restaunate on the 7th floor having a fantastics views while you take dinner. ( dress code for gentlemens)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference rooms available.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.5 / 5
$79
Guest score 4.7 / 5
$141
Guest score 4.4 / 5
$136
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$59
Guest score 3.7 / 5
$51
Guest score 5.0 / 5
$64

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Concierge
  • Elevators

Activities

  • Indoor pool
  • Fitness center or spa
  • Spa
  • Tennis

Dining

  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Services

  • Business center
  • Laundry service
  • In-Room Safe
  • Barber/Beauty shop
  • Conference facilities
  • Gift shop

Internet

  • WiFi

Parking

  • Parking

Reviews

4.4 /5 Overall score

100% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 4.4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.6/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.7/5
  • Comfort: 4.3/5
  • Location: 4.4/5
  • Value: 4.2/5

Nice hotel

Would recommend Wed, Aug 19, 2015
Very nice hotel in a lovely area. Lovely pools and nice sized rooms. Breakfast ok, nothing special although staff all lovely and helpful Would stay again

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Weekend break

Would recommend Sun, Apr 26, 2015
Very comfortable hotel . Great views from the balcony . Nice sized pool and adult pool as well .

| N/A Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Wonderful hotel

Would recommend Sat, Mar 21, 2015
I have never given a hotel review before, but I feel I have finally to give credit where credit is due. In the past I have preferred to keep the Bonanza Playa as “our little secret”. It’s a wonderful hotel. My wife and I have stayed there well over a dozen times. From the moment you arrive to the time that you leave, everything is done to make your stay the most pleasant possible. The receptionistas are friendly and obliging, the rooms are spotlessly clean, the maids jolly and efficient, and the restaurant and food is a delight. The atmosphere in the restaurant at dinner is a wonderful experience, and is something we really look forward to each evening. The hotel’s professionalism permeates from the senior management right through to every member of staff. I just cannot understand how anyone can give the Bonanza Playa a bad review. We have stayed in 5star hotels in the area (the Nixe and Melia Victoria) and many more 4star, but overall, we much prefer the Bonanza Playa. When we leave our hearts ache for the time that we will return. Todo es estupendo.

| Ilkeston Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Pleasant stay in Palace Bonanza Playa

Would recommend Sun, Sep 28, 2014
Me and my husband spent around 8 days in this hotel and enjoyed it a lot. What we enjoyed was the two pools, one that was more quiet and for adults only, great idea. There is no beach connected to the hotel, but its possible to swim in the sea and it was really nice, but if you want to have a real beach with sand, you need to go further down the road and find another place. The room was good, looked newly renovated and once you had gotten used to that the bathroom was also the hall way it worked fine, good space in the wardrobe and a nice balcony with views over the sea and Palma in the distance. The breakfast was for me ok, not fantastic but ok, its gets very busy in the morning and although theres everything you need, I personally prefer less things but a bit more quality.. But I understand that in a big hotel like this its not possible and they need to cater for all customers. I would have liked to have some more local produce, like some nice fruits from the island etc. The hotel itself looked ok, a bit old fashioned but clean and tidy, I did feel that the look of the rooms and the rest of the hotel didn't really match, the rooms have a modern contemporary look and the rest of the hotel feels a bit out dated, but as I am an Interior designer it might just be that i look too much into details. My husband thought it looked fine:) The staff was helpful and friendly. The area we found nice, we did have a rental car and made some tours around the island by ourselves but we also just stayed in the area and had walks down to the beach club and restaurants along the road, I believe its quite easy to get around either by bus or by taxi as there was both around the hotel. There are supermarkets within walking distance. Some small things that we didn't know about is that you have to pay the parking if you have a car, I don't remember the exact amout but its around 10 euro per day, and if you want a safe in the room you have to pay I think 16 euro. For the parking I guess I can understand it, but I have never had to pay for a safe in the room, and i have stayed in a lot of hotels… Its not a lot of money, but still, I think in a four star hotel, this should be included. I would for sure go back here again, we were here in September and it was not too many people, not sure i would go in the middle of the summer, but at this time you still feel that you can relax and it doesn't feel too crowded (except at breakfast time:)

Dining

Our favorite restaurant within a short walking distance was called El Parral, it had a family feeling to it and you get a lot of food on your plate,and they have nice wines too. It feels like its local food, and if you are like us and prefer to try some local stuff and not the burgers and fast food type of food then you should give this a try.

| Malmö, Sweden Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Still the best

Would recommend Sun, Aug 31, 2014
Absolutely brilliant in all respects, room, food, location service. The staff are superb, helpful and efficient, from reception to housekeeping. Expert management. A real winner. We have been guests for nearly 30 years.

| london Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Good Choice !!

Would recommend Fri, Aug 8, 2014
Location is absolutely Top! We're there for four days, and will back as soon as we can! Pool deck in perfect place, lots of room, and right on the water. Rooms are new and super clean. Breakfast was also nice! For dinner I don't know- never ate there. If you want 4 days swimming, tanning, and peace - this is the best deal on the island. Good mix of people too- solid , not pretentious - this is what I like.

Dining

Pretty good restaurants are also about 500 - 900 meters away! Go there or if you have a rental car - downtown Palma for a great burger at the Hard Rock Cafe , or a good fish at most places near the cathedral

| Daytona beach, Florida Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great week

Would recommend Mon, Jun 30, 2014
This hotel has incredible staff and service. It's pretty big and was full last week when we stayed. The adults only pool was a haven as you could have a little more space and it was quieter - the main pool was heaving and the seating area could do with being bigger but you could find a few quieter spots. Rooms have been nicely refurbished but I think the hotel have missed a trick by doing away with the bathtub. Would certainly stay again though.

Shopping hint

Take the 1euro50 bus trip all the way in to Palma from the front of the hotel which runs every 10 minutes

| London Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

A little more privacy

Would recommend Fri, Jun 27, 2014
Only slight downside, the refurbished rooms. Beautiful to look at and be in but "form over function" would probably best describe the layout. Glass doors for loos and showers, although tastefully made a little opaque, in the bathroom/dressing room area, did nothing for privacy and the trendy wash basin on the on the dressing table was neither use nor ornament. Otherwise a superb hotel.

Dining

Go to Illetes Beach - fine fish restaurant if only on B&B terms

| Bollington Cheshire Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

EXCELLENT SERVICE

Would recommend Thu, May 22, 2014
All the staff were very helpful & pleasant. Food excellent. Bar prices a bit hefty, but no complaints of the service received. A nice 7 day break.

| NORWICH Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Mallorca June 2013

Would recommend Sat, Jun 29, 2013
Our stay at this hotel was fantastic. Our room overlooked the ocean and the pool. They serve lunch at pool side. They have a cook who will grill your meat or fish on request. One day I had the grilled squid and the next day I ordered the grilled sardines. They were both outstanding. Their daily breakfast was great also. We had an early departure so we asked for a 4:00a.m wake-up call. To our surprise they asked if we wanted breakfast before we left. They had coffee, toast and cereal for us at 4:30a.m. in their main dining room. What customer service. Loved this hotel

Time saver

They sell postcards and stamps at the hotel, just outside the beauty salon. I didn't have to look for a post office.

| Los Angeles, CA, USA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Bellver Castle 1.9 mi
Palma Auditorium 2.8 mi
Es Baluard 3.2 mi
Palmanova beach 3.2 mi
Roman Catholic Diocese of Majorca 3.6 mi
Magaluf Beach 4 mi
Palma Aquarium 7.3 mi
University of the Balearic Islands 7.5 mi
Banys Àrabs 9.1 mi
Valldemossa 11.8 mi
Serra de Tramuntana 14 mi
Algaida 14.7 mi
Can Prunera Museum of Modernism 17.2 mi
Santuari de Lluc 24.6 mi
Oves de Campanet 26.4 mi
Parc Natural de Mondrago 33.7 mi
Port d'Alcúdia 35.2 mi
Port de Pollença 36.3 mi
Cap de Formentor 43.7 mi
Castell de Capdepera 46.6 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 12:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz