$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Molina Lario Hotel Malaga

4 stars
Molina Lario 20-22, Malaga, 29015
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
21 reviews
Stunning comfort and awesome location!

We had a slight issue with the heater in our room and called it in within an hour of arriving. Was... See full review

  • Kayur
  • Jan 21, 2014
Six day break with gluten free requirements

Excellent reception staff and restaurant service. Gluten free meals are an essential need and this... See full review

  • Phyllis
  • Mar 23, 2014
Nineteenth-century romance amid modern hustle and bustle

Situated opposite the cathedral and near the port, the Hotel Molina Lario is a four-star facility located amid the bustle and commotion of Malaga. This three-building lodging fuses one new structure with two refurbished nineteenth-century buildings. Being in the city's urban center, many landmark attractions are just a short walk away, including the Picasso Museum. The hotel's amenities include a solarium, rooftop pool, and a restaurant with both indoor and outdoor dining. A business center and meeting rooms are available to corporate guests.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A short walk from many tourist landmarks
  • A plethora of modern amenities
  • Rooms with a cozy, home-like feel
Hotel Molina Lario Rooms

103 intimate rooms come in classic, superior, deluxe, or junior suite configurations. Décor consists of warm yet neutral colors to soothe the rush of busy downtown Malaga. Each room is also soundproofed, with individually-controlled air conditioning and heating.  Free Internet access is available (some fees may apply) through both Wi-Fi and wired access. Rooms have flat-screen televisions with international channels, sound systems and telephones. In the en suite bathroom, there are bathrobes, slippers, and even a telephone.  Smoking rooms are available upon request, as are disability-friendly facilities.  Room service is also on offer.

Things To Do:
  • Kelipe Centro de Arte Flamenco (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Picasso Museum (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Museo del Vidrio y Cristal de Malaga (Museum of Glass and Crystal) (0.56 mi/0.9 km)
Policies and fees
Parking fee is 18 Euros per day + 10% Value Added Tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.7192 -4.4199
Area served
Located in the city center. Address: C/ Molina Lario, 20-22 29015 Málaga Spain Tel.: +34 952 06 20 02 Fax: +34 952 06 20 01 molinalario@galleryhoteles.com GPS codes: Latitude: 36º 43’ 8.06’’ Longitude: 4º 25’ 12.30’’
Nearby airports
Aeropuerto De Malaga International Airport.
Area description
The Molina Lario is a new four star hotel with the best location, in front of the Cathedral, in the historic, commercial and cultural center of Malaga, just a few metres away from the Port and the Picasso Museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Molina Lario Hotel Malaga also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Molina Lario Hotel Malaga Rooms

Standard double room
It offers TWIN BEDS OR ONE QUEEN SIZE BED with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, CD player, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem / data port connection, non smoking room, radio, room service, safe in room, telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Picasso: 0.1 mi
  • Gibralfaro: 0.6 mi
  • Malaga Railway Station: 0.8 mi
  • Estadio La Rosaleda: 0.9 mi
  • Church of the Holy Martyrs: 1.4 mi
  • Costa del sol Theme park: 2.6 mi
  • Jose Maria Martin Carpena Arena: 3.5 mi
  • Centro Acuatico de Malaga: 3.9 mi
  • Montes de Melaga: 5.3 mi
  • Liceo Flamenco: 5.6 mi
  • Malaga's Centre for Contemporary Art: 10.6 mi
  • Palm Grove and Muelle Uno, Port of Malaga: 17 mi
  • Estadio Ciudad de Malaga: 17.9 mi
  • Calle Larios: 22.9 mi
  • La Maroma: 24.5 mi

Dining

EL CAFE DE BOLSA
The restaurant EL CAFE DE BOLSA offers direct access from the street. It is divided into two areas separated by a bar: The totally white restaurant contrasts with the bar/café where the brown tones of the chairs and the “wenge” furniture dominate, both highlighted by the changing colours of the back it shelves. The Restaurant has an excellent wine cellar with a good selection of the best red, white and rose wines. The list is changed three or four times a year, but there is a suggested weekly wine and a suggested daily menu. An interesting and varied menu of Mediterranean Cuisine can be enjoyed at its tables like Beef Rib cooked in Malaga Virgin wine and Pan Fried Beans or Turbot with Roasted Leeks in a sauce of Wild Ceps are but two of its star dishes. Next to the Restaurant we find the garden-terrace, an open space where one can enjoy the Restaurant menu or relax while partaking one of our cocktails.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our 6 private meeting rooms can accommodate up to 250 people. Each room is fully-equipped for holding banquets, cocktail parties, conventions, work-meetings and other types of events. Complete audio-visual unit. Wifi internet connection. The hotel also offers different Terraces to celebrate coffee breaks and cocktail parties. Business Center and Library ready to be used whenever you need it. New service: Nespresso coffee maker in our meeting rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Molina Lario Hotel Malaga

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 21
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Molina Lario Hotel Malaga

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phyllis
Henley on Thames
Mar 23, 2014

Six day break with gluten free requirements

Excellent reception staff and restaurant service. Gluten free meals are an essential need and this hotel rates amongst the best we have stayed in for this service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Molina Lario Hotel Malaga

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kayur
London, UK
Jan 21, 2014

Stunning comfort and awesome location!

We had a slight issue with the heater in our room and called it in within an hour of arriving. Was upgraded straight away and treated like royalty, all staff seemed truely apoligetic. Lovely items of luxury in the rooms and the free soft drinks plus whiskey are excellent touches. Excellent bathrooms and very spacious. Unfortunately the roof terrance is closed in Janaury but the area makes up for it. Location is brilliant with loads of bars and restaurants, our favourites were Los Gatos and the Happy People pub. Plus the Cathedral in the backgroundis just stunning at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Malaga Cathedral, such a stunning backdrop especially at night.

Review of Molina Lario Hotel Malaga

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MelP
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Nov 21, 2013

Staff

This was my 3rd stay at this hotel but the worst service. I had ordered a bottle of champagne to be delivered to my room on 18th November 6pm to celebrate my husbands birthday. By 6:25 it had not arrived and so I went to reception and was addressed by a totally disinterested female who said her colleague was repairing air conditioning and parking a car! Surely not only 2 staff on duty! I cancelled champagne and about 15 minutes later we did receive some chocolates free gratis. On going out later on the same receptionist did not even raise her head from her computer when we left our key. Disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Molina Lario Hotel Malaga

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Booboo
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Nov 3, 2012

The Perfect escape!

During the process of searching for a hotel in Malaga, I focused on the reviewers ratings and location of the hotel. I was not disappointed one bit. The location was great, central to all the major tourist attractions so we did a lot of walking. We noted taxi's, bus stops, and the hop-on and hop-off bus was also right at the door step of the hotel. The Malaga Port was just across the street with lovely shopping outlets and restaurants. We booked for the classic room as there was a promotion that included breakfast. The room was adequate in size with a large bathroom, very clean. Oh! the best thing for me was the kettle and complementary tea and coffee, topped up every day. A quick note on breakfast, we were pleasantly surprised as the morning menu offered free of charge eggs made to order, spanish churros, spanish toast with melted cheese and salsa this is in addition to the buffet breakfast.....everyone was friendly and made us to feel welcomed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Molina Lario Hotel Malaga

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Don from California
Novato, California
Aug 2, 2012

Great location in Malaga

Arrived at hotel at 7 AM after long flight from States. Staff was great got, us into a room right away. Staff was very helpful and informative. Breakfast was fantastic. Most of all the hotels location was fantastic. Close to the historic sights, shopping, resturants and beach. We will stay here again for sure......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tapas are fantastic, try the small bars, drinks and food are inexpensive. But most of all enjoy the Spanish people.

Review of Molina Lario Hotel Malaga

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jun 3, 2011

Highly recommended hotel.

This Hotel has great location-right in the center and is close to the all the main sights and with a lot of decent restaurants nearby. The room was clean. No luxury, but well organized and perfect for a couple of nights. Breakfast in their cafe was plentiful. You had eggs, bacon, sausages, cold cuts, cheese, fresh fruit, cafe, tea and rolls all to choose from. All staff are extremely helpful and ready to make your stay enjoyable. Free Wi-Fi! Highly recommend the hotel and the city for a short break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Molina Lario Hotel Malaga

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nyc.chic
New York City/Los Angeles
May 29, 2011

Great Location. Beware of room scam!

We purchased a Deluxe Room months in advance. We were excited by the photo of a large room with a four poster bed and large windows with french doors. First we were sent to a Standard Room. Then we corrected them, and they informed us the room we reserved had a plumbing issue. They assured us that as soon as it was fixed we could switch. Never happened. I noticed from outside that that line of rooms were all dark all the time. When I asked why, I was told the rooms were being remodeled. We were never told this. We didn't see any construction. I explained that it's misleading to have these photo's posted of this room and listed as available. The front desk guy agreed and even admitted that "a lot of people say that." We ordered room service twice and both times it took forever, was luke warm, and just okay. The bathroom is huge and has great pressure. Complimentary carafe of cognac was greatly appreciated. Staff was friendly for the most part. We never ate at the hotel restaurant because the smoking ban had not kicked in yet, and when we entered it was foggy with cigarette smoke. But that's no longer allowed. Eat at Mi Vino Tinto. It's a short walk and the food is amazing. Malaga is a town to spend three days in at best, and really lovely at Christmas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Mi Vino Tinto.

Review of Molina Lario Hotel Malaga

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Allen- Cruiser
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 5, 2010

Pre Cruise Stay

Great location. Staff was extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Great gym called O2 was about a half mile away, if you are looking to workout.

Review of Molina Lario Hotel Malaga

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emjay
Norfolk
Nov 3, 2010

Excellent hotel

Went for mid week half-term break; hotel was excellent in a great location. Weather was good so having the pool area on the roof was great - even though it was small, we managed to have a seat every time we visited it. Nice for an early evening drink looking out to sea too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great tapas bars in every direction.

Review of Molina Lario Hotel Malaga

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Sep 26, 2010

great hotel, great location, great view

At first I had some dilemma for the hotel choice in terms of location, but I am so happy I chose this one. The location can't get be any better: right next to the cathedral, short walking distance to the main attractions, a pleasant walk to the beach, and a convenient two-euro ride from the airport. From the room we could see both the cathedral and the sea. The rooftop offers amazing views and a busy bar (and fairly small pool), but we didn't spend that much time there. The breakfast offered enough choice of cheese, meat, fruits, etc., and the quality was excellent; it was included in the room price, so no opinion how expensive it was. The very first afternoon we were there, we went to the nearby seafood restaurant, like all the places in Malaga we tried, it was excellent. During the days we went to the main beach which was less than 20min walk and certainly quite nice for a city beach. And every night we went out to explore the culinary surprises. I wished we could have stayed longer. On a side note, I saw people in wheelchairs in the hotel and they seemed to be doing fine, so it looked like a suitable hotel for disabled people. Finally, I was super surprised how quite the room was, and with its thick curtains the room was pitch dark and quiet until one decides to wake up… hadn't slept that well in months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try exploring the superb restaurants and tapas bars nearby; you won't be disappointed. also, the hotel is a couple of minutes away from the main walking street...

Back to menu Return to top

Change search