$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Vincci Soma

4 stars
View map of Calle Goya, 79, Madrid, 28001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Vincci Soma

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vincci Soma

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lithal65
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 21, 2011

Great location

Excellent location!! It's near the Goya Metro Stop. Or if you prefer to walk, it's an easy jaunt to the Retiro Park or Prado and about a 2.5 mile stretch to the Palace. Great shopping and dining nearby or dine at the hotel restaurant. The walls are bit thin...if you get my meaning AND there was a night club on the lower level, which went till 3 or 4am on the weekend nights. Overall, the staff was friendly and rooms were nice!! We plan on staying there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Study spanish before you go...you'll need it!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Soma

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dbo
Business
New York NY
Mar 18, 2011

Centrally located

hotel was in a very good location, easy access to whatever you may need. restaurant and dining options are very good, if slightly understated. rooms are fine, bathroom is adequate, and staff seems accommodating. a good choie.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Soma

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WILO
Business
SAN JUAN DE PUERTO RICO
Jun 9, 2010

excelent location

I KNOW MADRID, I TRAVEL EACH YEAR , I CHOSE LOCATION BECAUSE O GOYA METRO STATION AND PRICE.I WENT SHOPPING . I MISSED A BETTER LESS EXPENSIVE RESTAURANT AT LEAST FOR BREAKFAST.I THINK THE RUGS IN THE HALLWAYS HAVE STAIN SPOTS, THEY SHOULD BE CHANGED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Soma

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shreveport, LA
Apr 11, 2010

The Vincci Soma's location is great!

The hotel, location in the historic area near the metro, is great. The rooms are large and comfortable. We saw the Royal Palace, The Prado, Retiro Park, The Tauro/bullfighting ring and the major spots. We took a day trip outside the city to the Monastery mausoleum housing the Spanish Kings and Queens. The architecture of Spain is fantastic. Everything was expensive, since the U.S. dollar is weak against the Euro. The people at the registration desk are NOT helpful at all. They can not even tell you the closest place to exchange money. There is only one mal-functioning computer and no printer for guests. We needed to print out a voucher for a tour, so we called our son, had him print it and fax it to the hotel. The front desk does not offer to do anything. We have traveled to nine countries in the past twenty years and have always gotten excellent help from the hotel concierge until now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many places to eat in the historic area of Madrid. If you do not speak Spanish, ask for a menu in your language. Overall, the food was good. My personal favorites were the churros, salads, and coffee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Soma

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kmp
Business
Chicago
Oct 27, 2009

Good price, great stay.

The location in the city was kind of a bummer - not a lot of pubs or restaurants, etc. But it was very nice, nice size and nice bathrooms. We would stay at a Vinnci hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

From this hotel - you can walk everywhere! We put on a ton of miles, but it was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Soma

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LindsayMcMillan
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 13, 2009

Clean and Simple

Basic and clean. It had everything I needed and a very safe location. Close to amenities (corte ingles, pharmacy, shopping, restaurants) but a little away from tourist attractions. Great if you come just to sleep at night. Unlike other posts, my room was very quiet and restful. Perhaps a little small. Loved the free internet available in their library and staff was great. Arrived 8am in Madrid, but the front desk gave me my room early anyways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the bars and restaurants that are located on the small streets (not major roads or big signs). The food is cheaper and more homemade (authentic!). They might not speak English... but they understand your little Spanish. Be polite as the guest that you are here, and they will welcome you always.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Soma

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jul 9, 2009

For the exellent location and price

The location and near the airport and downtown Madrid and a the good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Soma

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Jun 4, 2009

Good Salamanca location

Modern hotel in upscale neighborhood. Easy access to Madrid metro. Many good restaurants, wine bars, and tapas close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the metro from the airport to Goya stop. Hotel is 100 yards from the metro entrance. Saves a 50 euro taxi ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Soma

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Holdynb
Business
New York, NY
May 28, 2009

Charm. Simple. Chic. = Simply Perfect!

Amazing, in every sense of the word. We were very nervous about staying at this hotel because European hotels that have seemingly high stars on sites such as these generally have tiny rooms and nothing special to offer. Vincci SoMa shattered this notion in every way. One of the best things about this hotel is the LOCATION! Don't stay on the loud crazy tourist filled Gran Via and Centro Madrid, stay HERE! the barrio (neighborhood) Salamanca in Madrid is like the Gramercy Area/Murry Hill Area/Upper East Side of Manhattan, very, very chic. It is also close to the Goya Metro stop (connects you easily to any line, it is so simple to use, I live in NYC and often found myself in awe at the ease)so within 15 minutes on Madrids Great metro you are in the city's center with all the tourist and hot spots. Then you can return to your hotel which is on quiet but beautiful tree lined streets with stores from Gucci, Blvgari and Prada to H&m and Zara, you really could simply explore the area of the hotel and have a great time. In fact the bus tour goes through the area the hotel is in because it is so nice! For a great affordable price we had a nice spacious double (queen sized) room that was beautifully decorated with simple, chic decor. From the closet to the bathroom, no detail goes unnoticed. I loved how simple the decor was, but it was chic, not dated at all like some "simple" hotels in the USA with furniture that looks like it should have stayed in the 70's. The staff was great, spoke perfect english, and were always willing to help us no matter the time of the day. The cleaning staff did an excellent job cleaning our room and whenever we passed them in the halls they had the biggest smiles and the friendliest greetings. Only con, tv is small, and only had two english channels that were bbcnews and cnn-UK. But, that is good since you are in a great city so go out and explore! Free Wi-fi internet in the hotel made up for it so bring your laptop and easily plan your days out or stay connected!We had a nice room on the 8th floor so didn't hear any noise from the street or other rooms!! The entire hotel was calm and quiet, just perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Madrid Metro System. It is not only cheap, it is clean and EASY to use, even if you do not speak spanish! If you have ever used NYC subway system, then you will be a pro at Madrid's. Friendly people ride it, no bums, and most of all it has stops that go everywhere you need them to! Goya Stop is right by the hotel and gets you where you need to be in minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Soma

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
May 9, 2009

Nice hotel, great area of Madrid.

Stayed at the Vincci Soma for a night by myself and a night with my friend with whom I am traveling through Spain. The location is awesome! Great shops - easy walk to the parque del retiro, metro is across the street. Rooms are fine, clean & cute but nothing special. Hotel staff was friendly. Pricey but very convenient & comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Parque del Retiro is an amazing place any hour of the day. Be careful at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top