$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2014 Check-out: May 5, 2014

Vincci Capitol

4 stars
Gran Via 41, Madrid, 28013
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
102 reviews
Fantastic hotel!

Very clean and comfortable hotel in the perfect location. It is close to metro as well as being... See full review

  • Mamacita medic
  • Aug 15, 2013
photo-worthy city view

Our experience inside this hidden-jewel-of-a-hotel far exceeded our expectations upon entering its... See full review

  • revival
  • Jun 4, 2013
Art Deco building houses sleek, modern lodgings in heart of Madrid
With its location on Gran Via, one of the busiest Madrid thoroughfares, steps from public transport and walking distance to major attractions, the Vincci Capitol affords guests the perfect location from which to start a visit to Spain's capital city. The grand Art Deco building houses ultramodern, clean and quiet rooms. The Reimes Bar offers guests a place to sip a cocktail and snack while enjoying the fabulous nighttime views over the bustling city streets, and the famous Cines Capitol on the ground floor is the perfect place to catch a movie.
Highlights
  • Conveniently located on Gran Via and Plaza Callao in the heart of Madrid, close to Puerta del Sol and major attractions
  • Beautiful, historic Art Deco building that also houses one of the most famous cinemas in the city
  • Glamorous Reimes Bar offers stunning views over the Gran Via, especially at night
Rooms
The Vincci Capitol boasts 140 comfortable, quiet and well-appointed rooms, including 15 superior rooms and two junior suites. All feature flat-screen TVs, air conditioning, minibars, safes, pillow menus and free broadband Internet access. Spacious bathrooms come with toiletries and a hair dryer. Some rooms feature views of Gran Via, and suites are located at the top of the building under the famous Schweppes sign that adorns the hotel's facade. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available.
Features
The excellent location means Vincci Capitol guests are close to public transportation, attractions, and marvelous dining and entertainment. Spend an evening at the hotel's Reimes Bar where guests enjoy stunning views over Gran Via. A breakfast buffet is served there in the morning and guests can use the bar's Wi-Fi. The hotel also offers room service, laundry and dry cleaning services, ticket sales, and babysitting (available on request). The on-site Nammu Corner Areas Spa features thermal treatments and massages, and the ground floor houses Cines Capitol, one of the most famous Madrid cinemas.
Transportation
  • Madrid bus service (EMT) outside hotel
  • Madrid Metro subway service across the street
  • Barajas Airport (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Puerta del Sol (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Plaza del Espana (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Royal Palace (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Temple of Debod (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Prado Museum (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Retiro Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • Three rooms that can hold up to 1,373 people
  • Conference rooms specially prepared with latest technologies
  • Free broadband Internet access in rooms

Vincci Capitol Rooms

Standard Room - Gran Via St. Views
Elegant and sophisticated, they also provide some of the best views of the city center
Aquazen Room
After a hectic day shopping or simply visiting the sights, why not relax in our hotel. Enjoy the intimate nAmmu corner private Spa. Buffet Breakfast 1 hour Spa with sauna with: - Sauna - Steam bath - JacuzziIce fountain - Jet shower
Standard Room
Room with twin or double bed are large and bright and includes air conditioning and heating, a free privates safe,complete mini-bar, ADSL and Wi-Fi internet connection, Flat-screen TV, satellite TV with Canal plus, Pillow Menu, a telephone in the room, hair dryer and bathroom and complete welcome set.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Vincci Capitol also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.4206 -3.7066
Area served
Madrid.
Nearby airports
Madrid International Airport - (MAD)
Area description
In the heart of the Spanish capital, the hotel is close to the city's famous Puerta del Sol and the Plaza Mayor. The vincci capitol is in the centre of Madrid's commercial heart and close to the triangle of Arts, which is formed by the museums El Prado, Reina Sofia and Thyssen Bornemisza. A metro stop, Callao can be found right at the entrance of the hotel allowing convenient travel to the airport or Madrids main local attractions".

Nearby points of interest

  • Descalzas Reales: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.4 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.4 mi
  • Cortes: 0.5 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.7 mi
  • Fuencarral: 0.8 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.1 mi
  • Atocha Station: 1.1 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.9 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.9 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 1.9 mi
  • Usera: 2.3 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.4 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.4 mi
  • Cortes: 0.5 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.7 mi
  • Fuencarral: 0.8 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.1 mi
  • Atocha Station: 1.1 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.9 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.9 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 1.9 mi
  • Usera: 2.3 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2.6 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 2.6 mi
  • Latina: 2.7 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 2.8 mi
  • Tetuan: 2.8 mi
  • Carabanchel: 3.2 mi
  • Moratalaz: 3.3 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 3.6 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 3.6 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 3.8 mi
  • Villaverde: 5.1 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 5.2 mi
  • San Blas: 5.3 mi
  • Vallecas: 5.4 mi
  • Hortaleza: 5.5 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 5.6 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 7.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Vincci Capitol

Overall score

3.9 / 5
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Boston
Jun 22, 2011

It's the heart of the city alright

Very good location for Plaza de Espana, Plaza Mayor, El Prado, Thyssen. You can walk if you are fit and enjoy the energy of the area, as I do. My friend being less athletic, preferred cabs which are magically available any time. The Metro is RIGHT in front of the hotel (Callao or Gran Via stops, green or blue lines; you can get to Atocha Train station in 3 stops, for easy high-speed trips to Toledo and Segovia). Gran Via at Callao is somewhat like a small Times Square at night, with throngs of 20-somethings roaming and partying; good shopping, fun plazas and bars are very close. I give the hotel 3 stars, because the lobby was tiny, antisocial, and dark; there were 2 filthy, resident homeless people planted like parentheses in front of the hotel 24/7, the breakfast was overpriced but OK, the room was noisy, with impossibly dark lighting, and the staff was a bit sullen. The "superior" room was a weird layout, but nice. After night #1 of sirens and partiers on Friday, we should have asked to be moved to a high room away from noise. I speak near fluent spanish; do NOT expect any of staff to speak any english; especially the night staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to: Prado, Thyssen B, Plaza Espana, Plaza Mayor. Short cab or Metro: Parque Retiro, Atocha trains station, Reina Sophia Museum.

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
massachusetts, usa
Aug 28, 2009

madrid hotel

The hotel added a spa charged that I didn't use. When I confronted the man at the desk, he became hostel and argued with me. He had my signed recipts for the breakfast that we had, but no signed recipt for the spa. He took off the charge and told me to leave - very rude. I had the feeling that this was a common occurance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
mplwd
Mar 15, 2010

Madrid

Nice gotel- excelent location, horrible internet service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
remi
london
Aug 29, 2012

vincci hotel

hotal location is good , reception is very small , room are average not level of 4 stars hotel, staff at reception not pleasent .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
Canib
Oxford UK
Jan 15, 2010

Great Location

The hotel is located in the heart of Madrid just off Plaza Callao and is in a excellent location. Most of the sights are walkable from there although the metro is located in the Plaza should anyone wish to explore further a field The hotel amienties are basic: the lobby is small and a little dark. There is a spa area operated by another company which has to be booked in advance which lasted an hour max although seemed very expensive for what was being offered. There is not pool or gym. The bar area is very big and comfy although mainly empty and expensive to drink there. Buffet breakfast is also available in a room adjacent although it was never tried. Not sure if there is a lunch/dinner service Given the central location there are many other places close by to have breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks that represent greater value for money and variety not to mention a better ambience Rooms are fairly art decco style and interestingly laid out. Comfortable and clean with all basic facilities. In our particular room, we had a problem with the bathroom door - the internal machanism of the handle broke so maintainace had to fix it. The shower screen door did not shut so water from the shower spilled on to the bathroom floor making it extremley wet and slippy. Lucky there was a shower in the bath to use as an alternative. The main door of the room was also lose: when anyone slammed a door in the corridor it would jar our room door. The corridor was pretty noisey and people tended to smoke in there - the smoking ban has not come into force in Spain fully yet .. often we could smell smoke that penentrated through the door seals which was unpleasent especially in the morning. The Hotel also claimed to have WiFi through out but this is not the case. There is a internet point in the room to connect via a cable with a lap top although if you are using another device, like a phone, there are WiFi points around the city which are free. The internet is also free at the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Boulder, CO
Mar 11, 2011

March, 2011 vacation trip

The hotel location is A+. The Callao subway station is literally under the hotel. It is very close to the Real Plaza, the Prado, and most other important sites. However the hotel is modest for several reasons. The outside noise is very downtown with police sirens frequent, and lots of traffic noise. Our toilet flush mechanism did not work. The shower was nice, but the gasket at the bottom of the door was largely missing meaning that we had major floor flooding. The food is WAY overpriced at the hotel, so do not eat there. The beds are very comfortable. The heat was too high, but we solved that problem by opening the window for an hour before going to sleep. There are lots of very reasonably priced restaurants in the area including a soup and salad place for 10 Euros per person. A Starbucks is literally across the street as is a shopping mall. Would we stay there again--maybe, but I would probably try to find a quieter location nearby. The hotel staff were very responsive to any concern I had. Free internet connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of very reasonable restaurants in very short walking distance.

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
First Time Madrid
Florida
Oct 1, 2009

Vincci Capitol

Up until our last night, we had no complaints about this hotel. After our last night out in the city, we came back to a broken air conditioner. We called the front desk and was told that the techs were no longer available after 11pm. We slept in a stuffy room. With the window open...it was noisey. Needless to say, it was not a happy following day. But the good news is...we would actually stay at this hotel again. The Metro dropped us off directly at the hotel. The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating....got there early in the am, was offered a smoking room, opt to wait, they had no problem holding onto our bags as we peaked at the city. The non-smoking room was worth the wait. Yes, the room was small, but large enough to spend 10 days. Room was spotless everyday. Had nice cold air until the last night. Great water pressure and hot water....not always found in Madrid. A big plus for us, was the refrigerator. A supermarket is located North of the hotel...about a 2 minute walk...great for snacks, extra fruit, bread, wine, etc. The roof decks provided us with spectacular views of the city. The breakfast bar looked festive, but a bit high on its price. Plenty of supplies(shampoo,toothbrush...) offered by the hotel, if you forgot to pack. Do not expect soft plush towels...kind of hard and stiff...but clean. Serve our purpose. Any questions we had, the staff had answers. Spoke English.....and always with welcoming smiles. The hotel rooms are sound proof, great when your in the heart of the city. Felt very safe, despite what others have written. buses, metro all outside the door. Not only is construction outside the door, the whole entire city is under constuction. If you can't look past that, stay clear from Madrid. The hotel served its purpose for us and hope this help you decide where to stay in Madrid. As for a couple who had planned on staying in a Hostal or Pension...this hotel offered much more for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket 2 blocks north on your right. Locals shop there. Bono (ten use of metro) is a great deal to get yourself around the city. If you enjoy walking...everything is pretty close. If you stray too far, just hop on the Metro back to the hotel.

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
hey
new york, ny
Oct 1, 2009

Nice place but nothing fancy

The hotel was in a good location, clean and the staff was very helpful in giving directions and showing you the highlights of Madrid. The hotel was nothing super special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
May 14, 2011

Vinci Capitol

Vinci Capitol is located in the heart of the Madrdi Gran Via. We walked all over the Gran Vai for starters. A Starbucks was located within 50 yards of the Hotel which made it nice. PLenty of shopping within a short distance and restaurants. Best thing about Madrid was the oldest restaurant in the world (300+ years old). The pork and lamb were the best I have ever had. Plenty of plazas and transportation is within reach. Metro about 1/2 mile. Must try La Mayorquina for breakfast about 1/2 mile at Plaza de Purta del Sol. great coffee and pastries. You must attend a game at the Bernabeau and watch the beautiful game as it was eant to be played. Take a double decker bus fpr $22 Euros for two days. First day see the city from the comfort of the bus. Next day use the bus as transportation to the different venues. It will save you a ton of walking. My feet hurt, Ouch!!! Hotel was centrally located. Room was long, but narrow make it difficult to get around the room. Table and chair was for children. WI-FI sucked big time, didn't work. Bar/resturant/breakfast area the most beautiful and peaceful place to sip on a drink or cocktail. The sight of the Gram Via is the best. Bathroom was small, shower door broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All around La Gran Via is the best plasce to stay. Madrdi is good for the garden, Museums and El Sobrino del Botin (Oldest restaurant in the world).

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 5, 2011

Great location, not so great hotel

I must say we were taken aback when we arrived and realized that the hotel's entrance was flanked by homeless people who remained there during our 2-day stay. My wife and 2 daughters picked the Vinci Capitol because we enjoyed because we enjoyed their Seville hotel. If you're looking for a quiet night's sleep look elsewhere - this hotel is in a very boisterous part of Madrid. We were on the 8th floor and the sound of the street action was going pretty strong at 2:00 am, but it was a Saturday night in Madrid. Overall the room was well appointed and clean. Bathroom was modern and roomy. Toilet wasn't able to adequately flush, but when we notified the hotel they quickly fixed the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top