$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Vincci Capitol

4 stars
View map of Gran Via 41, Madrid, 28013

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Vincci Capitol

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Aug 24, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

The location of the hotel is excellent. Most of the museums, restaurants, places to go, shopping are walking distance. The metro is next to the hotel. The street may be noisy but with the windows closed you do not hear any noise from the street. The hotel is clean,airconditioning is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CubanGuy
Business
Panama City , Panama
Oct 11, 2010

Nice Hotel

That was a good hotel , great location , everything was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

near Metro callao from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LC1972
Business
New York
Dec 31, 2013

Ah, it was ok

Place is clean but I would definitely find a better place next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Octi
Business
van, canada
Feb 15, 2014

holiday experience

great location, just next to the metro station. many shops and restaurants nearby. but the air condition in the room sucks. got there on mid feb. we turned on the air condition to its up limit. still, we had to request extra blankets as the room was too cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Time Madrid
Business
Florida
Oct 1, 2009

Vincci Capitol

Up until our last night, we had no complaints about this hotel. After our last night out in the city, we came back to a broken air conditioner. We called the front desk and was told that the techs were no longer available after 11pm. We slept in a stuffy room. With the window open...it was noisey. Needless to say, it was not a happy following day. But the good news is...we would actually stay at this hotel again. The Metro dropped us off directly at the hotel. The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating....got there early in the am, was offered a smoking room, opt to wait, they had no problem holding onto our bags as we peaked at the city. The non-smoking room was worth the wait. Yes, the room was small, but large enough to spend 10 days. Room was spotless everyday. Had nice cold air until the last night. Great water pressure and hot water....not always found in Madrid. A big plus for us, was the refrigerator. A supermarket is located North of the hotel...about a 2 minute walk...great for snacks, extra fruit, bread, wine, etc. The roof decks provided us with spectacular views of the city. The breakfast bar looked festive, but a bit high on its price. Plenty of supplies(shampoo,toothbrush...) offered by the hotel, if you forgot to pack. Do not expect soft plush towels...kind of hard and stiff...but clean. Serve our purpose. Any questions we had, the staff had answers. Spoke English.....and always with welcoming smiles. The hotel rooms are sound proof, great when your in the heart of the city. Felt very safe, despite what others have written. buses, metro all outside the door. Not only is construction outside the door, the whole entire city is under constuction. If you can't look past that, stay clear from Madrid. The hotel served its purpose for us and hope this help you decide where to stay in Madrid. As for a couple who had planned on staying in a Hostal or Pension...this hotel offered much more for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket 2 blocks north on your right. Locals shop there. Bono (ten use of metro) is a great deal to get yourself around the city. If you enjoy walking...everything is pretty close. If you stray too far, just hop on the Metro back to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Canib
Business
Oxford UK
Jan 15, 2010

Great Location

The hotel is located in the heart of Madrid just off Plaza Callao and is in a excellent location. Most of the sights are walkable from there although the metro is located in the Plaza should anyone wish to explore further a field The hotel amienties are basic: the lobby is small and a little dark. There is a spa area operated by another company which has to be booked in advance which lasted an hour max although seemed very expensive for what was being offered. There is not pool or gym. The bar area is very big and comfy although mainly empty and expensive to drink there. Buffet breakfast is also available in a room adjacent although it was never tried. Not sure if there is a lunch/dinner service Given the central location there are many other places close by to have breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks that represent greater value for money and variety not to mention a better ambience Rooms are fairly art decco style and interestingly laid out. Comfortable and clean with all basic facilities. In our particular room, we had a problem with the bathroom door - the internal machanism of the handle broke so maintainace had to fix it. The shower screen door did not shut so water from the shower spilled on to the bathroom floor making it extremley wet and slippy. Lucky there was a shower in the bath to use as an alternative. The main door of the room was also lose: when anyone slammed a door in the corridor it would jar our room door. The corridor was pretty noisey and people tended to smoke in there - the smoking ban has not come into force in Spain fully yet .. often we could smell smoke that penentrated through the door seals which was unpleasent especially in the morning. The Hotel also claimed to have WiFi through out but this is not the case. There is a internet point in the room to connect via a cable with a lap top although if you are using another device, like a phone, there are WiFi points around the city which are free. The internet is also free at the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sean & Hon.
Business
Sydney
Sep 11, 2010

Average attention to Detail.

The Hotel has been refurbished in a clean modern manner but the designer has replaced practicality with trendy fixtures and fittings. The shower head looked good but was useless, the water would stop at peak hour when too many rooms were showering, the plugs were broken as was the shower mixer. The lighting was poor so good luck in the bathroom when your shaving )))but sometimes its better not to see too many details! The reception was understaffed so getting information was a chore. I don't think the designers have stayed in too many hotels as there was little space for suitcases. On a positive note the location was great, the design was slick and modern, the rooms were clean and the internal rooms adjacent to the light well were really quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plaza Mayor has the best restaurants, just walk down the street and you will find some good ones.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Boston
Jun 9, 2011

Over priced

I requested a non-smoking room and was given a smoking room. I asked for a standard full bed and they gave me two double beds pushed together..they wouldn't change our room. When we asked information about trains the attendant looked angry and continued to check his watch. You are only paying for location. There was no wifi unless you paid for it so we were unable to check on our flights. Overall just not a wonderful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you are planning a trip to Spain only spend minimal time in Madrid...is is basically just a city. The museums were beautiful but the city as a whole is not as beautiful as Toledo, Segovia, Mallorca and Barcelona.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Jun 22, 2011

It's the heart of the city alright

Very good location for Plaza de Espana, Plaza Mayor, El Prado, Thyssen. You can walk if you are fit and enjoy the energy of the area, as I do. My friend being less athletic, preferred cabs which are magically available any time. The Metro is RIGHT in front of the hotel (Callao or Gran Via stops, green or blue lines; you can get to Atocha Train station in 3 stops, for easy high-speed trips to Toledo and Segovia). Gran Via at Callao is somewhat like a small Times Square at night, with throngs of 20-somethings roaming and partying; good shopping, fun plazas and bars are very close. I give the hotel 3 stars, because the lobby was tiny, antisocial, and dark; there were 2 filthy, resident homeless people planted like parentheses in front of the hotel 24/7, the breakfast was overpriced but OK, the room was noisy, with impossibly dark lighting, and the staff was a bit sullen. The "superior" room was a weird layout, but nice. After night #1 of sirens and partiers on Friday, we should have asked to be moved to a high room away from noise. I speak near fluent spanish; do NOT expect any of staff to speak any english; especially the night staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to: Prado, Thyssen B, Plaza Espana, Plaza Mayor. Short cab or Metro: Parque Retiro, Atocha trains station, Reina Sophia Museum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New Yorker1
Business
New York
Dec 22, 2011

Europe around the Hoildays

The hotel is centrally located, near to shopping, eateries and the Metro while being w/in walking distances of sights. Since it is centrally located, it is in the heart of the city. If you are looking for a more quiet, laid back setting, this is not the hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Tourist Information Booth about 50 ft around the corner from the hotel. They will take the time to discuss day trips, local sightseeing, shopping, restaurants, guided tours and more with you. It's great when it's your turn but when you're waiting for your turn, it can take about 10 mins.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top