Vincci Capitol

4 stars
View map of Gran Via 41, Madrid, 28013

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Vincci Capitol

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lancashire, England
Oct 25, 2012

Best hotel experience

On arrival we were upgraded to a superior room without requesting it. My wife and I found it hard to criticise anything. Reception, restaurant and cleaning staff were all superb. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was large, modern, well-appointed and very comfortable. The only very minor problem was an ill-fitting shower door which leaked, but absolutely everything else was far above my expectations. This was easily the best hotel experience my wife and I have had. Superb!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Madrid Tapas Tours . A guided walking tour of tapas restaurants lasting all evening. Excellent introduction to Madrid with recommendations to other restaurants which we tried successfully on subsequent nights. Highly recommended.

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Someone who loves Spain
Business
LA, CA
May 23, 2014

Madrid Experience

Great location in the heart of Gran Villa. Short walk to explore the neighborhood: Plaza Mayor, Shops, Eateries. Take a walk and explore the Spanish architecture surrounding the community, rich in tradition and history. Jamon or ham is what they are famous for, cannot miss this. Overall friendly community. Don't forget Botin, the oldest restaurant in the world: specialty is roast suckling pig and have a flan for dessert.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Botin Restaurante is the oldest restaurant according to Guiness book of world records in a addition to its many rewards. Favorite item: roast suckling pig, flan for dessert. Authentic Spanish cuisine experience.

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bilsie
Business
Orlando, FL
Jan 4, 2010

Hotel Vincci Capitol

The Hotel staff was friendly and the location was great. But, the hotel is just average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Fantastic shopping is only a couple of blocks away.

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
denver, co
Jul 21, 2011

Vincci Capitol

The location is fantastic, although you may have to deal with a little noise. will come back for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
long island new york
Apr 3, 2011

heart of madrid for a decent price

hotel staff very friendly language issues but all over spain if you speak english close to many places of interest the palace is a ten minute walk pedestrian areas with restaurants around block from hotel great location if you are driving to hotel the hotel does not provide parking its 38 us to park a day in not so nearby public parking ask about air conditioning if its on or off certain time of year,,,very odd room lighting sytems very annoying to operate not enough light in bathroom

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping and dining really close by many choices of coure euro rate is not worth shopping for anything you can get it all back home

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hey
Business
new york, ny
Oct 1, 2009

Nice place but nothing fancy

The hotel was in a good location, clean and the staff was very helpful in giving directions and showing you the highlights of Madrid. The hotel was nothing super special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bostonite
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 31, 2009

recent stay - Oct 09

Great location across from Metro Callou on Grand Via. Despite a very busy, noisy street the windows effectively blocked the noise and we slept wonderfully on great mattresses with fresh, high quality sheets. The one frustration was the lack of WIFI in the rooms, although we eventually found out that we could get an ethernet cable from the front desk to use in our room. This worked, but it wasn't easy to find this out. The breakfast buffet is wonderful but expensive if not included in your room rate. Try to get it included. Staff were very helpful and spoke excellent english. Hotel easily accessible from airport by metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shuk dweller
Business
Tel Aviv, ISRAEL
Sep 26, 2009

Intelligence test in Madrid

The room was big, airy, clean, quiet but suffered from being refurbished and redesigned. In the bathroom, the counter beside the sink had a mirrortop which reflected the overhead lights and made the magnifying mirror unusable. The soap was soluable and pale and so disappeared if dropped in the tub. The clothes rack in the closet went from front to back (instead of side to side) which made it difficult of access. The light switches were bunched and incomprehensible though clearly marked. When one turned on the bright bedside reading lights, all other lights dimmed. The light in the bathroom often went off when other lights were turned on. The trick is to turn on all lights and then dim some to extinction--but it took us three days to find the dimmer. Frustrating, sometimes aggravating which should not be the effect a hotel room should have upon an occupant no matter how transient, and we were there for a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder, CO
Mar 11, 2011

March, 2011 vacation trip

The hotel location is A+. The Callao subway station is literally under the hotel. It is very close to the Real Plaza, the Prado, and most other important sites. However the hotel is modest for several reasons. The outside noise is very downtown with police sirens frequent, and lots of traffic noise. Our toilet flush mechanism did not work. The shower was nice, but the gasket at the bottom of the door was largely missing meaning that we had major floor flooding. The food is WAY overpriced at the hotel, so do not eat there. The beds are very comfortable. The heat was too high, but we solved that problem by opening the window for an hour before going to sleep. There are lots of very reasonably priced restaurants in the area including a soup and salad place for 10 Euros per person. A Starbucks is literally across the street as is a shopping mall. Would we stay there again--maybe, but I would probably try to find a quieter location nearby. The hotel staff were very responsive to any concern I had. Free internet connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of very reasonable restaurants in very short walking distance.

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SLC, UT
Apr 12, 2011

Nice hotel - but with problems

An apparently nice hotel in most respects, the rooms were modern looking and clean. The rooms have very little lighting, so if you like to read at night, bring your own light. But the Gran Via is extremely noisy, particularly on the weekend. The windows keep the noise out OK, but not great. We stayed in the spring and found out that the air conditioning is general to the entire building, and they didn't have the air on most of the week. The room was oppressively hot, but when we opened the window, the noise was just too much. After several hot days in a row they finally put the air on, but often turned it off at night. They said that happens in the fall and spring. After two sleepless nights, they moved us to an interior room and it was much more quiet. If you are a light sleeper, definitely ask for an interior room and preferably one on the 6th floor or higher, so you still have a view. Otherwise, it was a nice enough hotel for the price. it was central to everything and always easy to catch a cab or the metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Opening after 8:30 pm, there is a great restaurant on the street Calle Libertad 21 called Bazaar, which was very reasonably priced and very delicious food. If you want some good, inexpensive, fresh food at some time before 8:30 pm, you should check out Diurno, which is just a half block down on the corner. When we didn't want to eat as late as the spaniards after a long day, Diurno was a great place for quick but delicious eats at a fantastic price.

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 14, 2011

Vinci Capitol

Vinci Capitol is located in the heart of the Madrdi Gran Via. We walked all over the Gran Vai for starters. A Starbucks was located within 50 yards of the Hotel which made it nice. PLenty of shopping within a short distance and restaurants. Best thing about Madrid was the oldest restaurant in the world (300+ years old). The pork and lamb were the best I have ever had. Plenty of plazas and transportation is within reach. Metro about 1/2 mile. Must try La Mayorquina for breakfast about 1/2 mile at Plaza de Purta del Sol. great coffee and pastries. You must attend a game at the Bernabeau and watch the beautiful game as it was eant to be played. Take a double decker bus fpr $22 Euros for two days. First day see the city from the comfort of the bus. Next day use the bus as transportation to the different venues. It will save you a ton of walking. My feet hurt, Ouch!!! Hotel was centrally located. Room was long, but narrow make it difficult to get around the room. Table and chair was for children. WI-FI sucked big time, didn't work. Bar/resturant/breakfast area the most beautiful and peaceful place to sip on a drink or cocktail. The sight of the Gram Via is the best. Bathroom was small, shower door broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All around La Gran Via is the best plasce to stay. Madrdi is good for the garden, Museums and El Sobrino del Botin (Oldest restaurant in the world).

Back to menu Return to top