$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Vincci Capitol

4 stars
View map of Gran Via 41, Madrid, 28013

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Vincci Capitol

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SF bay traveler
Business
San Francisco Bay Area
Oct 9, 2009

What a great place to stay-

The Hotel's location, at Metro stop "Callao" placed us right in the heart of the city. It was about a ten minute walk to the Palacio Real. It was about a twenty minute walk to the Prado, Reina Sofia, and Thyssen-Bornemisza museums. The location is on the Gran Via slightly closer to the Plaza D'Espana than to the Plaza de Cibeles. Arriving from the airport is very easy- Line 8 to Neuvos Ministerios, Line 10 to Plaza D'Espana, and Line 3 one stop to Callao. Total trip about 30 minutes. The hotel is within 50 meters of the metro Callao entrance. The hotel is within 2 blocks of the Monasterio Descalzes Reales, but make sure you arrive early to get in on a tour that day. The main pedestrian shopping streets of the city lead down from the Plaza Callao, the Calle Preciosa and Calle de Carmen, at the bottom of these streets is Plaza Sol. The room itself was very modern, well-appointed with a light-dimming system. Bathroom walls and floors were stone, with good lighting inside it. We did have a small problem with the Heating/AC, we couldn't seem to get it to cycle properly. It was either too warm or cool. With the windows closed, there was NO outside noise at all. I would happily stay there once again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Restaurante La Barraca, known to have the best Paella in the city. Metro stop: Alonso Martinez, about a 25 minute walk from the hotel. Restaurante Zara, excellent Cuban food (beware though, smokers abound). Check local maps for street addresses. Both restaurants located north of the Gran Via.

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Profesore
Business
Saltillo Coahuila Mexico
Oct 6, 2009

Acceptable for a short stay

Acceptable for my in trsnsit stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ok

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hey
Business
new york, ny
Oct 1, 2009

Nice place but nothing fancy

The hotel was in a good location, clean and the staff was very helpful in giving directions and showing you the highlights of Madrid. The hotel was nothing super special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fhardes
Business
Paris, FR
Sep 29, 2009

PRECIOUS

This hotel is really close to puerta del sol and prestigious like barajas's Hilton. The only problem is that

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shuk dweller
Business
Tel Aviv, ISRAEL
Sep 26, 2009

Intelligence test in Madrid

The room was big, airy, clean, quiet but suffered from being refurbished and redesigned. In the bathroom, the counter beside the sink had a mirrortop which reflected the overhead lights and made the magnifying mirror unusable. The soap was soluable and pale and so disappeared if dropped in the tub. The clothes rack in the closet went from front to back (instead of side to side) which made it difficult of access. The light switches were bunched and incomprehensible though clearly marked. When one turned on the bright bedside reading lights, all other lights dimmed. The light in the bathroom often went off when other lights were turned on. The trick is to turn on all lights and then dim some to extinction--but it took us three days to find the dimmer. Frustrating, sometimes aggravating which should not be the effect a hotel room should have upon an occupant no matter how transient, and we were there for a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mexico city
Sep 25, 2009

good hotel, good option

good hotel, great location, good service, rooms very small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 21, 2009

Great Hotel in a Great Location

Great hotel in the center of everything. The hotel is historical but was recently updated with new fixtures and modern decor. On the top floor of the hotel there is a terrace with an awesome view of the Gran Via. The staff was very helpful and even though our room wasn't quite ready, they offered complementary cocktails in the bar while it was prepared. Would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Swansea, United Kingdom
Sep 10, 2009

Friendly and Welcoming

I have to say that I have stayed in very many hotels around Europe and that this was one that I would highly recommend. The rooms were very modern and up-to-date. Very clean. The reception staff were very happy, smiley and very friendly people, which sadly you don't often see. A definite 5 stars from me. The location was excellent, right in the centre of the city and even though there was loads and I mean loads of traffic, you couldn't hear a thing. Excellent !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Swansea, United Kingdom
Sep 10, 2009

Friendly and Welcoming

I have to say that I have stayed in very many hotels around Europe and that this was one that I would highly recommend. The rooms were very modern and up-to-date. Very clean. The reception staff were very happy, smiley and very friendly people, which sadly you don't often see. A definite 5 stars from me. The location was excellent, right in the centre of the city and even though there was loads and I mean loads of traffic, you couldn't hear a thing. Excellent !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 8, 2009

Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Price

For a hotel so centrally located in a European city, I expected the room to be much smaller than it was. We had plenty of room to move around and enough space for our belongings. We were only there for a weekend and didn't pack much, but if we were staying for longer it would have been nice to have more clothing storage space. The bathroom was a nice size and had a very clean and modern look, with plenty of hot water if you want to take advantage of the huge tub. The television was mounted to the wall across from the bed and got a couple of news channels in English and two music stations. The outdoor deck and viewing point were both closed when we tried to go outside, but luckily our room (number 610) had a balcony. Although the door to it was locked, we could get outside by pushing a chair up to the window and climbing out. The view of Gran Via from outside was spectacular and we spent a lot of time just taking in the city from up there. We saw very few other people at the hotel. The two women working at the front desk were friendly and spoke clear English, and they were happy to call and make dinner reservations for us. The one maid and maintenance person we ran into said hello and kept going on their way. Though there were plenty of guests coming and going in the lobby, the elevators and hallways were very quiet. There is a VIPS store just down from the hotel on Gran Via where you can buy drinks, snacks, and any necessities you left at home. They do not sell alcohol after 10 pm, but you can purchase beer or wine here any other time. The Callao metro stop is literally right across the street from the hotel, and it took about 35 minutes to get there from the airport. The hotel is in such a great location that we walked just about everywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For a quick breakfat on the go, there is a Dunkin Donuts about a block in front of the hotel. It's much cheaper than the 17 euro continental breakfast at the hotel and a nice reminder of home at the same time.

Back to menu Return to top