$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: May 1, 2014

Vincci Capitol

4 stars
Gran Via 41, Madrid, 28013
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
102 reviews
Fantastic hotel!

Very clean and comfortable hotel in the perfect location. It is close to metro as well as being... See full review

  • Mamacita medic
  • Aug 15, 2013
photo-worthy city view

Our experience inside this hidden-jewel-of-a-hotel far exceeded our expectations upon entering its... See full review

  • revival
  • Jun 4, 2013
Art Deco building houses sleek, modern lodgings in heart of Madrid
With its location on Gran Via, one of the busiest Madrid thoroughfares, steps from public transport and walking distance to major attractions, the Vincci Capitol affords guests the perfect location from which to start a visit to Spain's capital city. The grand Art Deco building houses ultramodern, clean and quiet rooms. The Reimes Bar offers guests a place to sip a cocktail and snack while enjoying the fabulous nighttime views over the bustling city streets, and the famous Cines Capitol on the ground floor is the perfect place to catch a movie.
Highlights
  • Conveniently located on Gran Via and Plaza Callao in the heart of Madrid, close to Puerta del Sol and major attractions
  • Beautiful, historic Art Deco building that also houses one of the most famous cinemas in the city
  • Glamorous Reimes Bar offers stunning views over the Gran Via, especially at night
Rooms
The Vincci Capitol boasts 140 comfortable, quiet and well-appointed rooms, including 15 superior rooms and two junior suites. All feature flat-screen TVs, air conditioning, minibars, safes, pillow menus and free broadband Internet access. Spacious bathrooms come with toiletries and a hair dryer. Some rooms feature views of Gran Via, and suites are located at the top of the building under the famous Schweppes sign that adorns the hotel's facade. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available.
Features
The excellent location means Vincci Capitol guests are close to public transportation, attractions, and marvelous dining and entertainment. Spend an evening at the hotel's Reimes Bar where guests enjoy stunning views over Gran Via. A breakfast buffet is served there in the morning and guests can use the bar's Wi-Fi. The hotel also offers room service, laundry and dry cleaning services, ticket sales, and babysitting (available on request). The on-site Nammu Corner Areas Spa features thermal treatments and massages, and the ground floor houses Cines Capitol, one of the most famous Madrid cinemas.
Transportation
  • Madrid bus service (EMT) outside hotel
  • Madrid Metro subway service across the street
  • Barajas Airport (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Puerta del Sol (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Plaza del Espana (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Royal Palace (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Temple of Debod (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Prado Museum (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Retiro Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • Three rooms that can hold up to 1,373 people
  • Conference rooms specially prepared with latest technologies
  • Free broadband Internet access in rooms

Vincci Capitol Rooms

Standard Room - Gran Via St. Views
Elegant and sophisticated, they also provide some of the best views of the city center
Aquazen Room
After a hectic day shopping or simply visiting the sights, why not relax in our hotel. Enjoy the intimate nAmmu corner private Spa. Buffet Breakfast 1 hour Spa with sauna with: - Sauna - Steam bath - JacuzziIce fountain - Jet shower
Standard Room
Room with twin or double bed are large and bright and includes air conditioning and heating, a free privates safe,complete mini-bar, ADSL and Wi-Fi internet connection, Flat-screen TV, satellite TV with Canal plus, Pillow Menu, a telephone in the room, hair dryer and bathroom and complete welcome set.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Vincci Capitol also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.4206 -3.7066
Area served
Madrid.
Nearby airports
Madrid International Airport - (MAD)
Area description
In the heart of the Spanish capital, the hotel is close to the city's famous Puerta del Sol and the Plaza Mayor. The vincci capitol is in the centre of Madrid's commercial heart and close to the triangle of Arts, which is formed by the museums El Prado, Reina Sofia and Thyssen Bornemisza. A metro stop, Callao can be found right at the entrance of the hotel allowing convenient travel to the airport or Madrids main local attractions".

Nearby points of interest

  • Descalzas Reales: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.4 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.4 mi
  • Cortes: 0.5 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.7 mi
  • Fuencarral: 0.8 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.1 mi
  • Atocha Station: 1.1 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.9 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.9 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 1.9 mi
  • Usera: 2.3 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.4 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.4 mi
  • Cortes: 0.5 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.7 mi
  • Fuencarral: 0.8 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.1 mi
  • Atocha Station: 1.1 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.9 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.9 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 1.9 mi
  • Usera: 2.3 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2.6 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 2.6 mi
  • Latina: 2.7 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 2.8 mi
  • Tetuan: 2.8 mi
  • Carabanchel: 3.2 mi
  • Moratalaz: 3.3 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 3.6 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 3.6 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 3.8 mi
  • Villaverde: 5.1 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 5.2 mi
  • San Blas: 5.3 mi
  • Vallecas: 5.4 mi
  • Hortaleza: 5.5 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 5.6 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 7.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Vincci Capitol

Overall score

3.9 / 5
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

4
SF bay traveler
San Francisco Bay Area
Oct 9, 2009

What a great place to stay-

The Hotel's location, at Metro stop "Callao" placed us right in the heart of the city. It was about a ten minute walk to the Palacio Real. It was about a twenty minute walk to the Prado, Reina Sofia, and Thyssen-Bornemisza museums. The location is on the Gran Via slightly closer to the Plaza D'Espana than to the Plaza de Cibeles. Arriving from the airport is very easy- Line 8 to Neuvos Ministerios, Line 10 to Plaza D'Espana, and Line 3 one stop to Callao. Total trip about 30 minutes. The hotel is within 50 meters of the metro Callao entrance. The hotel is within 2 blocks of the Monasterio Descalzes Reales, but make sure you arrive early to get in on a tour that day. The main pedestrian shopping streets of the city lead down from the Plaza Callao, the Calle Preciosa and Calle de Carmen, at the bottom of these streets is Plaza Sol. The room itself was very modern, well-appointed with a light-dimming system. Bathroom walls and floors were stone, with good lighting inside it. We did have a small problem with the Heating/AC, we couldn't seem to get it to cycle properly. It was either too warm or cool. With the windows closed, there was NO outside noise at all. I would happily stay there once again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Restaurante La Barraca, known to have the best Paella in the city. Metro stop: Alonso Martinez, about a 25 minute walk from the hotel. Restaurante Zara, excellent Cuban food (beware though, smokers abound). Check local maps for street addresses. Both restaurants located north of the Gran Via.

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
Profesore
Saltillo Coahuila Mexico
Oct 6, 2009

Acceptable for a short stay

Acceptable for my in trsnsit stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ok

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
First Time Madrid
Florida
Oct 1, 2009

Vincci Capitol

Up until our last night, we had no complaints about this hotel. After our last night out in the city, we came back to a broken air conditioner. We called the front desk and was told that the techs were no longer available after 11pm. We slept in a stuffy room. With the window open...it was noisey. Needless to say, it was not a happy following day. But the good news is...we would actually stay at this hotel again. The Metro dropped us off directly at the hotel. The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating....got there early in the am, was offered a smoking room, opt to wait, they had no problem holding onto our bags as we peaked at the city. The non-smoking room was worth the wait. Yes, the room was small, but large enough to spend 10 days. Room was spotless everyday. Had nice cold air until the last night. Great water pressure and hot water....not always found in Madrid. A big plus for us, was the refrigerator. A supermarket is located North of the hotel...about a 2 minute walk...great for snacks, extra fruit, bread, wine, etc. The roof decks provided us with spectacular views of the city. The breakfast bar looked festive, but a bit high on its price. Plenty of supplies(shampoo,toothbrush...) offered by the hotel, if you forgot to pack. Do not expect soft plush towels...kind of hard and stiff...but clean. Serve our purpose. Any questions we had, the staff had answers. Spoke English.....and always with welcoming smiles. The hotel rooms are sound proof, great when your in the heart of the city. Felt very safe, despite what others have written. buses, metro all outside the door. Not only is construction outside the door, the whole entire city is under constuction. If you can't look past that, stay clear from Madrid. The hotel served its purpose for us and hope this help you decide where to stay in Madrid. As for a couple who had planned on staying in a Hostal or Pension...this hotel offered much more for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket 2 blocks north on your right. Locals shop there. Bono (ten use of metro) is a great deal to get yourself around the city. If you enjoy walking...everything is pretty close. If you stray too far, just hop on the Metro back to the hotel.

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
hey
new york, ny
Oct 1, 2009

Nice place but nothing fancy

The hotel was in a good location, clean and the staff was very helpful in giving directions and showing you the highlights of Madrid. The hotel was nothing super special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

5
fhardes
Paris, FR
Sep 29, 2009

PRECIOUS

This hotel is really close to puerta del sol and prestigious like barajas's Hilton. The only problem is that

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
Shuk dweller
Tel Aviv, ISRAEL
Sep 26, 2009

Intelligence test in Madrid

The room was big, airy, clean, quiet but suffered from being refurbished and redesigned. In the bathroom, the counter beside the sink had a mirrortop which reflected the overhead lights and made the magnifying mirror unusable. The soap was soluable and pale and so disappeared if dropped in the tub. The clothes rack in the closet went from front to back (instead of side to side) which made it difficult of access. The light switches were bunched and incomprehensible though clearly marked. When one turned on the bright bedside reading lights, all other lights dimmed. The light in the bathroom often went off when other lights were turned on. The trick is to turn on all lights and then dim some to extinction--but it took us three days to find the dimmer. Frustrating, sometimes aggravating which should not be the effect a hotel room should have upon an occupant no matter how transient, and we were there for a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
mexico city
Sep 25, 2009

good hotel, good option

good hotel, great location, good service, rooms very small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Sep 21, 2009

Great Hotel in a Great Location

Great hotel in the center of everything. The hotel is historical but was recently updated with new fixtures and modern decor. On the top floor of the hotel there is a terrace with an awesome view of the Gran Via. The staff was very helpful and even though our room wasn't quite ready, they offered complementary cocktails in the bar while it was prepared. Would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Swansea, United Kingdom
Sep 10, 2009

Friendly and Welcoming

I have to say that I have stayed in very many hotels around Europe and that this was one that I would highly recommend. The rooms were very modern and up-to-date. Very clean. The reception staff were very happy, smiley and very friendly people, which sadly you don't often see. A definite 5 stars from me. The location was excellent, right in the centre of the city and even though there was loads and I mean loads of traffic, you couldn't hear a thing. Excellent !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 8, 2009

Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Price

For a hotel so centrally located in a European city, I expected the room to be much smaller than it was. We had plenty of room to move around and enough space for our belongings. We were only there for a weekend and didn't pack much, but if we were staying for longer it would have been nice to have more clothing storage space. The bathroom was a nice size and had a very clean and modern look, with plenty of hot water if you want to take advantage of the huge tub. The television was mounted to the wall across from the bed and got a couple of news channels in English and two music stations. The outdoor deck and viewing point were both closed when we tried to go outside, but luckily our room (number 610) had a balcony. Although the door to it was locked, we could get outside by pushing a chair up to the window and climbing out. The view of Gran Via from outside was spectacular and we spent a lot of time just taking in the city from up there. We saw very few other people at the hotel. The two women working at the front desk were friendly and spoke clear English, and they were happy to call and make dinner reservations for us. The one maid and maintenance person we ran into said hello and kept going on their way. Though there were plenty of guests coming and going in the lobby, the elevators and hallways were very quiet. There is a VIPS store just down from the hotel on Gran Via where you can buy drinks, snacks, and any necessities you left at home. They do not sell alcohol after 10 pm, but you can purchase beer or wine here any other time. The Callao metro stop is literally right across the street from the hotel, and it took about 35 minutes to get there from the airport. The hotel is in such a great location that we walked just about everywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For a quick breakfat on the go, there is a Dunkin Donuts about a block in front of the hotel. It's much cheaper than the 17 euro continental breakfast at the hotel and a nice reminder of home at the same time.

Back to menu Return to top