$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Vincci Capitol

4 stars
View map of Gran Via 41, Madrid, 28013

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Vincci Capitol

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SLC, UT
Apr 12, 2011

Nice hotel - but with problems

An apparently nice hotel in most respects, the rooms were modern looking and clean. The rooms have very little lighting, so if you like to read at night, bring your own light. But the Gran Via is extremely noisy, particularly on the weekend. The windows keep the noise out OK, but not great. We stayed in the spring and found out that the air conditioning is general to the entire building, and they didn't have the air on most of the week. The room was oppressively hot, but when we opened the window, the noise was just too much. After several hot days in a row they finally put the air on, but often turned it off at night. They said that happens in the fall and spring. After two sleepless nights, they moved us to an interior room and it was much more quiet. If you are a light sleeper, definitely ask for an interior room and preferably one on the 6th floor or higher, so you still have a view. Otherwise, it was a nice enough hotel for the price. it was central to everything and always easy to catch a cab or the metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Opening after 8:30 pm, there is a great restaurant on the street Calle Libertad 21 called Bazaar, which was very reasonably priced and very delicious food. If you want some good, inexpensive, fresh food at some time before 8:30 pm, you should check out Diurno, which is just a half block down on the corner. When we didn't want to eat as late as the spaniards after a long day, Diurno was a great place for quick but delicious eats at a fantastic price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 14, 2011

Vinci Capitol

Vinci Capitol is located in the heart of the Madrdi Gran Via. We walked all over the Gran Vai for starters. A Starbucks was located within 50 yards of the Hotel which made it nice. PLenty of shopping within a short distance and restaurants. Best thing about Madrid was the oldest restaurant in the world (300+ years old). The pork and lamb were the best I have ever had. Plenty of plazas and transportation is within reach. Metro about 1/2 mile. Must try La Mayorquina for breakfast about 1/2 mile at Plaza de Purta del Sol. great coffee and pastries. You must attend a game at the Bernabeau and watch the beautiful game as it was eant to be played. Take a double decker bus fpr $22 Euros for two days. First day see the city from the comfort of the bus. Next day use the bus as transportation to the different venues. It will save you a ton of walking. My feet hurt, Ouch!!! Hotel was centrally located. Room was long, but narrow make it difficult to get around the room. Table and chair was for children. WI-FI sucked big time, didn't work. Bar/resturant/breakfast area the most beautiful and peaceful place to sip on a drink or cocktail. The sight of the Gram Via is the best. Bathroom was small, shower door broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All around La Gran Via is the best plasce to stay. Madrdi is good for the garden, Museums and El Sobrino del Botin (Oldest restaurant in the world).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 5, 2011

Great location, not so great hotel

I must say we were taken aback when we arrived and realized that the hotel's entrance was flanked by homeless people who remained there during our 2-day stay. My wife and 2 daughters picked the Vinci Capitol because we enjoyed because we enjoyed their Seville hotel. If you're looking for a quiet night's sleep look elsewhere - this hotel is in a very boisterous part of Madrid. We were on the 8th floor and the sound of the street action was going pretty strong at 2:00 am, but it was a Saturday night in Madrid. Overall the room was well appointed and clean. Bathroom was modern and roomy. Toilet wasn't able to adequately flush, but when we notified the hotel they quickly fixed the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
massachusetts, usa
Aug 28, 2009

madrid hotel

The hotel added a spa charged that I didn't use. When I confronted the man at the desk, he became hostel and argued with me. He had my signed recipts for the breakfast that we had, but no signed recipt for the spa. He took off the charge and told me to leave - very rude. I had the feeling that this was a common occurance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Profesore
Business
Saltillo Coahuila Mexico
Oct 6, 2009

Acceptable for a short stay

Acceptable for my in trsnsit stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ok

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mplwd
Mar 15, 2010

Madrid

Nice gotel- excelent location, horrible internet service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Oct 21, 2009

5 Days in Mardid

Spent five days at the Vincci Capitol in Madrid and enjoyed our trip very much. The hotel is in the heart of the city, within walking distance to almost everything. The AC in the room was not working and the modern looking shower leaked on the floor during use. If you can find a good deal on this hotel, I would reccomend it for it's great location and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grab a coffee and people watch while in Plaza Mayor, but don't eat there (very pricey and average taste).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 6, 2010

great location

great location to almost everything: walking distance to Plaza Mayor, shopping, plaza espana, and the other major plazas. easy access for the bus that will take you to Prado museum, and if you like the real Madrid stadium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shabbab
Business
Saudi Arabia
Jun 12, 2014

One Day at Vincci Capital

I reached night and I found all paper works ready and that made my waiting at the front desk minimum. Few staff were available but enough to make speed check in after long trip fromBarcilona. The price was right and the location is perfect at the Gran Via road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Time Madrid
Business
Florida
Oct 1, 2009

Vincci Capitol

Up until our last night, we had no complaints about this hotel. After our last night out in the city, we came back to a broken air conditioner. We called the front desk and was told that the techs were no longer available after 11pm. We slept in a stuffy room. With the window open...it was noisey. Needless to say, it was not a happy following day. But the good news is...we would actually stay at this hotel again. The Metro dropped us off directly at the hotel. The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating....got there early in the am, was offered a smoking room, opt to wait, they had no problem holding onto our bags as we peaked at the city. The non-smoking room was worth the wait. Yes, the room was small, but large enough to spend 10 days. Room was spotless everyday. Had nice cold air until the last night. Great water pressure and hot water....not always found in Madrid. A big plus for us, was the refrigerator. A supermarket is located North of the hotel...about a 2 minute walk...great for snacks, extra fruit, bread, wine, etc. The roof decks provided us with spectacular views of the city. The breakfast bar looked festive, but a bit high on its price. Plenty of supplies(shampoo,toothbrush...) offered by the hotel, if you forgot to pack. Do not expect soft plush towels...kind of hard and stiff...but clean. Serve our purpose. Any questions we had, the staff had answers. Spoke English.....and always with welcoming smiles. The hotel rooms are sound proof, great when your in the heart of the city. Felt very safe, despite what others have written. buses, metro all outside the door. Not only is construction outside the door, the whole entire city is under constuction. If you can't look past that, stay clear from Madrid. The hotel served its purpose for us and hope this help you decide where to stay in Madrid. As for a couple who had planned on staying in a Hostal or Pension...this hotel offered much more for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket 2 blocks north on your right. Locals shop there. Bono (ten use of metro) is a great deal to get yourself around the city. If you enjoy walking...everything is pretty close. If you stray too far, just hop on the Metro back to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top