$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Vincci Capitol

4 stars
View map of Gran Via 41, Madrid, 28013

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Vincci Capitol

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tustin, CA
Nov 4, 2009

Great location along Gran Via

The hotel was located in the center of town along the Gran Via. The front desk staff was not very friendly but after a few days in Madrid I realized that everyone was like that. The room was small but comfortable. I had read about the shower and all the reviews were accurate. It was impossible to keep the water in the shower. After every shower, there was water on the floor of the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bostonite
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 31, 2009

recent stay - Oct 09

Great location across from Metro Callou on Grand Via. Despite a very busy, noisy street the windows effectively blocked the noise and we slept wonderfully on great mattresses with fresh, high quality sheets. The one frustration was the lack of WIFI in the rooms, although we eventually found out that we could get an ethernet cable from the front desk to use in our room. This worked, but it wasn't easy to find this out. The breakfast buffet is wonderful but expensive if not included in your room rate. Try to get it included. Staff were very helpful and spoke excellent english. Hotel easily accessible from airport by metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Oct 21, 2009

5 Days in Mardid

Spent five days at the Vincci Capitol in Madrid and enjoyed our trip very much. The hotel is in the heart of the city, within walking distance to almost everything. The AC in the room was not working and the modern looking shower leaked on the floor during use. If you can find a good deal on this hotel, I would reccomend it for it's great location and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grab a coffee and people watch while in Plaza Mayor, but don't eat there (very pricey and average taste).

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SF bay traveler
Business
San Francisco Bay Area
Oct 9, 2009

What a great place to stay-

The Hotel's location, at Metro stop "Callao" placed us right in the heart of the city. It was about a ten minute walk to the Palacio Real. It was about a twenty minute walk to the Prado, Reina Sofia, and Thyssen-Bornemisza museums. The location is on the Gran Via slightly closer to the Plaza D'Espana than to the Plaza de Cibeles. Arriving from the airport is very easy- Line 8 to Neuvos Ministerios, Line 10 to Plaza D'Espana, and Line 3 one stop to Callao. Total trip about 30 minutes. The hotel is within 50 meters of the metro Callao entrance. The hotel is within 2 blocks of the Monasterio Descalzes Reales, but make sure you arrive early to get in on a tour that day. The main pedestrian shopping streets of the city lead down from the Plaza Callao, the Calle Preciosa and Calle de Carmen, at the bottom of these streets is Plaza Sol. The room itself was very modern, well-appointed with a light-dimming system. Bathroom walls and floors were stone, with good lighting inside it. We did have a small problem with the Heating/AC, we couldn't seem to get it to cycle properly. It was either too warm or cool. With the windows closed, there was NO outside noise at all. I would happily stay there once again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Restaurante La Barraca, known to have the best Paella in the city. Metro stop: Alonso Martinez, about a 25 minute walk from the hotel. Restaurante Zara, excellent Cuban food (beware though, smokers abound). Check local maps for street addresses. Both restaurants located north of the Gran Via.

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Profesore
Business
Saltillo Coahuila Mexico
Oct 6, 2009

Acceptable for a short stay

Acceptable for my in trsnsit stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ok

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Time Madrid
Business
Florida
Oct 1, 2009

Vincci Capitol

Up until our last night, we had no complaints about this hotel. After our last night out in the city, we came back to a broken air conditioner. We called the front desk and was told that the techs were no longer available after 11pm. We slept in a stuffy room. With the window open...it was noisey. Needless to say, it was not a happy following day. But the good news is...we would actually stay at this hotel again. The Metro dropped us off directly at the hotel. The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating....got there early in the am, was offered a smoking room, opt to wait, they had no problem holding onto our bags as we peaked at the city. The non-smoking room was worth the wait. Yes, the room was small, but large enough to spend 10 days. Room was spotless everyday. Had nice cold air until the last night. Great water pressure and hot water....not always found in Madrid. A big plus for us, was the refrigerator. A supermarket is located North of the hotel...about a 2 minute walk...great for snacks, extra fruit, bread, wine, etc. The roof decks provided us with spectacular views of the city. The breakfast bar looked festive, but a bit high on its price. Plenty of supplies(shampoo,toothbrush...) offered by the hotel, if you forgot to pack. Do not expect soft plush towels...kind of hard and stiff...but clean. Serve our purpose. Any questions we had, the staff had answers. Spoke English.....and always with welcoming smiles. The hotel rooms are sound proof, great when your in the heart of the city. Felt very safe, despite what others have written. buses, metro all outside the door. Not only is construction outside the door, the whole entire city is under constuction. If you can't look past that, stay clear from Madrid. The hotel served its purpose for us and hope this help you decide where to stay in Madrid. As for a couple who had planned on staying in a Hostal or Pension...this hotel offered much more for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket 2 blocks north on your right. Locals shop there. Bono (ten use of metro) is a great deal to get yourself around the city. If you enjoy walking...everything is pretty close. If you stray too far, just hop on the Metro back to the hotel.

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hey
Business
new york, ny
Oct 1, 2009

Nice place but nothing fancy

The hotel was in a good location, clean and the staff was very helpful in giving directions and showing you the highlights of Madrid. The hotel was nothing super special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Time Madrid
Business
Florida
Oct 1, 2009

Vincci Capitol

Up until our last night, we had no complaints about this hotel. After our last night out in the city, we came back to a broken air conditioner. We called the front desk and was told that the techs were no longer available after 11pm. We slept in a stuffy room. With the window open...it was noisey. Needless to say, it was not a happy following day. But the good news is...we would actually stay at this hotel again. The Metro dropped us off directly at the hotel. The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating....got there early in the am, was offered a smoking room, opt to wait, they had no problem holding onto our bags as we peaked at the city. The non-smoking room was worth the wait. Yes, the room was small, but large enough to spend 10 days. Room was spotless everyday. Had nice cold air until the last night. Great water pressure and hot water....not always found in Madrid. A big plus for us, was the refrigerator. A supermarket is located North of the hotel...about a 2 minute walk...great for snacks, extra fruit, bread, wine, etc. The roof decks provided us with spectacular views of the city. The breakfast bar looked festive, but a bit high on its price. Plenty of supplies(shampoo,toothbrush...) offered by the hotel, if you forgot to pack. Do not expect soft plush towels...kind of hard and stiff...but clean. Serve our purpose. Any questions we had, the staff had answers. Spoke English.....and always with welcoming smiles. The hotel rooms are sound proof, great when your in the heart of the city. Felt very safe, despite what others have written. buses, metro all outside the door. Not only is construction outside the door, the whole entire city is under constuction. If you can't look past that, stay clear from Madrid. The hotel served its purpose for us and hope this help you decide where to stay in Madrid. As for a couple who had planned on staying in a Hostal or Pension...this hotel offered much more for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket 2 blocks north on your right. Locals shop there. Bono (ten use of metro) is a great deal to get yourself around the city. If you enjoy walking...everything is pretty close. If you stray too far, just hop on the Metro back to the hotel.

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fhardes
Business
Paris, FR
Sep 29, 2009

PRECIOUS

This hotel is really close to puerta del sol and prestigious like barajas's Hilton. The only problem is that

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vincci Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shuk dweller
Business
Tel Aviv, ISRAEL
Sep 26, 2009

Intelligence test in Madrid

The room was big, airy, clean, quiet but suffered from being refurbished and redesigned. In the bathroom, the counter beside the sink had a mirrortop which reflected the overhead lights and made the magnifying mirror unusable. The soap was soluable and pale and so disappeared if dropped in the tub. The clothes rack in the closet went from front to back (instead of side to side) which made it difficult of access. The light switches were bunched and incomprehensible though clearly marked. When one turned on the bright bedside reading lights, all other lights dimmed. The light in the bathroom often went off when other lights were turned on. The trick is to turn on all lights and then dim some to extinction--but it took us three days to find the dimmer. Frustrating, sometimes aggravating which should not be the effect a hotel room should have upon an occupant no matter how transient, and we were there for a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top