$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Villa Real Hotel Madrid

5 stars
View map of Plaza De Las Cortes, 10, Madrid, 28014

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
21 reviews
Great stay!

We has a great stay ay Hotel Villa Real. We really enjoyed the staff and their help through out our... See full review

  • Dante G.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Perfect quick trip

This hotel was amazing from the location to the staff! Everything was great! See full review

  • Cecilia Chaparro
  • Dec 1, 2014
The Villa Real Hotel Madrid is a grand 5-star hotel filled with precious artworks spanning centuries. Nestled on a quiet plaza in the Madrid city center, it is steps from the famous "Golden Triangle of Art" -- the Prado, Thyssen-Bornemisza and Reina Sofia art museums. The hotel features luxury accommodations, including many rooms with private balconies or terraces. The elegant East 47 restaurant and bar serve modern Mediterranean cuisine. Meeting rooms and a business center are available. The hotel has parking and Wi-Fi access at a charge.
Rooms
The Villa Real Hotel Madrid boasts 115 luxury guest rooms, including 12 duplex rooms, 12 junior suites and two suites. Interconnecting rooms and baby cribs are available for those traveling with children. Duplex rooms feature separate living room and terrace area, and some also have a Jacuzzi. Junior suites feature a balcony and separate living room. The Suite Real offers luxurious accommodations in rooms filled with precious artwork. The suite includes a hydromassage bath, music system and a champagne welcome. All guest rooms at the Villa Real Hotel are soundproofed and feature Wi-Fi access (fees apply).
Property features
The classically designed 5-star Villa Real Hotel Madrid in the center of the city is steps from the Paseo del Prado. Art lovers will appreciate the proximity to the "Golden Triangle of Art" in Madrid and the hotel's own art collection of Greek pottery, ancient mosaics and paintings. Amenities include the Pop Art-inspired East 47 restaurant and bar featuring creative Mediterranean cuisine, meeting rooms and laundry service. Parking, Wi-Fi access and a breakfast buffet are all available at a charge.
Highlights
  • Luxurious 5-star hotel is steps from the Paseo del Prado and across from the Congress of Deputies building
  • Chic restaurant and bar, East 47, features Andy Warhol artwork and serves creative Mediterranean cuisine
  • Many of the guest rooms and suites feature a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Plaza de las Cortes
Nearby attractions
  • Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Prado Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Puerta del Sol (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Plaza Mayor (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Royal Botanical Garden (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Centro de Arte Reina Sofia (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Royal Palace (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Plaza de Espana (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Business
  • Five meeting rooms, capacity up to 220 people
  • Business center
  • Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Transportation
  • Madrid bus service (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Madrid Metro service (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Barajas Airport (10 mi/16 km)
  • Taxi service available

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Real Hotel Madrid also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5

Villa Real Hotel Madrid Rooms

Superior Room
The Superior room offers one double bed or one twin bed with totally soundproof, individual air-conditioning and heating, direct telephone line, mini-bar, music center, TV with canal plus and satellite channels, safe box, wireless internet access, parquet flooring in bedrooms, works of art, welcome gift, hairdryer.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Cortes: 0.2 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.2 mi
  • Atocha Station: 0.5 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.7 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.8 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 1.2 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1.2 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.3 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.3 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.5 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2 mi
  • Usera: 2 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 2.1 mi
  • Cortes: 0.2 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.2 mi
  • Atocha Station: 0.5 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.7 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.8 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 1.2 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1.2 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.3 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.3 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.5 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2 mi
  • Usera: 2 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 2.1 mi
  • Moratalaz: 2.8 mi
  • Latina: 2.9 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 3 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 3.1 mi
  • Tetuan: 3.2 mi
  • Carabanchel: 3.3 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 3.5 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 3.6 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 4 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 4.6 mi
  • Villaverde: 4.7 mi
  • Vallecas: 4.8 mi
  • San Blas: 4.8 mi
  • Hortaleza: 5.4 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 5.4 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 7.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Would you like to eat with Andy Warhol? At the East 47 you can. The most delicious cuisine and the most delightful tapas.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
12:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Villa Real Hotel Madrid

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 21
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Real Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guido Juarez
Business
Seattle
Sep 30, 2012

Not a 5 Star

We stayed here for a few days to cap off our one month luxury tour of Spain in 5 star hotels. We found that a lot of the 5 star ratings are completely wrong. This hotel I would rate at 3 stars. The lobby appears to be 5 stars but we found that it was not indicative of the rooms. We upgraded our room to a suite thinking we would get a luxury experience only to find furniture and walls that were scratched as if it were 10+ years old and not maintained, a smelly room next to the maid closet (therefore noisy in the morning), a bathroom that was equal to a hostel en suite bathroom but with marble counter tops, and the typical two beds pushed together to make a matrimonial size mattress. I was told the upgraded room had a nice view and come to find out the entire hotel could not possibly have a nice view besides a view of the street. Also, 5 star hotels usually include breakfast and this one charged us 18 Euros per person per day. Furthermore, most hostels in Madrid include free internet of which this "5 star" hotel charges a fee. This is obviously not a 5 star hotel. The lobby is nice and so is the restaurant but not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Real Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mzee
Business
USA
Sep 27, 2012

Ho hum

The location is great *(the presence of a dozen cops guarding the adjacent Congress building notwithstanding, particularly with the ongoing austerity riots) for checking out Madrid. There's no pool, the art is interesting but hard to get to - have to eat or drink at their bar/restaurant to see it. Rooms are ok but the view into the courtyard is unsatisfying. No pool or gym. Wifi is not free. For the money, it wasn't quite worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Real Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Florida
May 17, 2010

Highly recommend at the right price

The hotel is a gem. It has large rooms and was perfect for me in Europe. The bathroom is older but large so I liked it as a tradeoff. I would highly recomend the hotel for the money I spent. It is not the Ritz but it is in the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was within walking distance...

Review of Villa Real Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gourmet virus
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 13, 2012

Excellent location and very good quality for money

Location plus quality service make of Villa Real one of the best hotels in Madrid. Amenities are first class and the Villa Real has managed to keep intact those wonderful touches of a first class accomodation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Real Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Nov 24, 2010

Great location

Small hotel but very well situated. We were within walking distance from quite a few attractions (minus the bull fighting arena) and TONS of restaurants close by. The hotel itself was well kept, the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean with nice hardwood floors throughout. Hotel pool is in a sister hotel down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Real Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oengland
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Sep 21, 2014

Great location, great rooms

Since we were looking to visit the Prado and other nearby museums this was a great location. Only a couple of blocks and a very nice area. Plenty of good restaurants and wine/taps bars within a few blocks. Felt safe out in the evening. Close to public transportation. Short cab ride to train station. The rooms were nice size with some great art work. All in all a good place to stay in an interesting and vibrant area of Madrid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Real Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ermmm
Business
wettingen, Switzerland
Oct 11, 2014

short trip to Madrid

Room was perfectly clean free internet access war properly working but: there were open screw holes in the wall of the bathroom quite loud in the morning (other guests passing the corridor)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining at El Rinçon de Esteban just 50 meters to walk, good Food and very friendly staff

Review of Villa Real Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
voofaan
Business
Santa Monica, CA, USA
Feb 17, 2012

Great discovery!

Close to everything! Excelent service! Kindly and helpfull staff (speaking English)! Excelent breakfast, (expensive though), depends on your wallet :))) Clean, well designed! It's like home!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Learn at least couple phrases in Spanish: Dónde están los baños? and Esto, por favor! :)

Review of Villa Real Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PSK&DSK
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 23, 2009

Upgraded to sister hotel(ac didn't work)

When we arrived at the Villa Real, the very friendly person at the registration desk told us that they were closed because the AC system was broken and that their sister hotel, the Urban, had a room waiting for us. We were disappointed because the Villa Real looked really beautiful. It had that "old world charm." So the bell boy took our two suitcases and we walked three minutes to the Urban. We received a royal greeting there, the manager came out to welcome us, the person at the registration desk was as friendly and helpful as you could ever hope for. We could be in Madrid for only one afternoon and night so we told them we were interested in seeing as much art and architecture as possible, as well as having some really good tapas. They gave us a clearly marked map, and that was just the beginning of the good stuff at the hotel. It turns out that the Urban is a fabulous ultra-modern hotel. If we couldn't have the old world charm, this made up for it. We were in our spectacular room only a couple of minutes when room service knocked on our door with a bottle of champagne and a bowl of strawberries, compliments of the management for our having to change hotels. We will go back to Madrid some day. The only question in our minds will be at which of these two beautiful hotels to stay. Their management obviously knows what customer service really is supposed to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tapas at Lateral on Santa Ana Plaza, eat inside or out on the plaza and enjoy!

Review of Villa Real Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Destin, FL
Apr 12, 2010

Lovely hotel, convenient to the Prado

Very clean and stylish. Great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top