$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Villa Real Hotel Madrid

5 stars
Plaza De Las Cortes, 10, Madrid, 28014
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
20 reviews
Spanish family vacation

Great service, wonderful staff. A good, clean hotel with which is just steps away from museum circle. See full review

  • Picky traveler from NY
  • Oct 1, 2013
We were switched to the Urban Hotel & it was amazing!

When we arrived in Madrid, the Villa Real was having difficulty with their electricity so they... See full review

  • MxxM
  • Aug 26, 2012
Art lovers rejoice at hotel's private collection, proximity to museums
The Villa Real Hotel Madrid is a grand 5-star hotel filled with precious artworks spanning centuries. Nestled on a quiet plaza in the Madrid city center, it is steps from the famous "Golden Triangle of Art" -- the Prado, Thyssen-Bornemisza and Reina Sofia art museums. The hotel features luxury accommodations, including many rooms with private balconies or terraces. The elegant East 47 restaurant and bar serve modern Mediterranean cuisine. Meeting rooms and a business center are available. The hotel has parking and Wi-Fi access at a charge.
Highlights
  • Luxurious 5-star hotel is steps from the Paseo del Prado and across from the Congress of Deputies building
  • Chic restaurant and bar, East 47, features Andy Warhol artwork and serves creative Mediterranean cuisine
  • Many of the guest rooms and suites feature a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Plaza de las Cortes
Rooms
The Villa Real Hotel Madrid boasts 115 luxury guest rooms, including 12 duplex rooms, 12 junior suites and two suites. Interconnecting rooms and baby cribs are available for those traveling with children. Duplex rooms feature separate living room and terrace area, and some also have a Jacuzzi. Junior suites feature a balcony and separate living room. The Suite Real offers luxurious accommodations in rooms filled with precious artwork. The suite includes a hydromassage bath, music system and a champagne welcome. All guest rooms at the Villa Real Hotel are soundproofed and feature Wi-Fi access (fees apply).
Features
The classically designed 5-star Villa Real Hotel Madrid in the center of the city is steps from the Paseo del Prado. Art lovers will appreciate the proximity to the "Golden Triangle of Art" in Madrid and the hotel's own art collection of Greek pottery, ancient mosaics and paintings. Amenities include the Pop Art-inspired East 47 restaurant and bar featuring creative Mediterranean cuisine, meeting rooms and laundry service. Parking, Wi-Fi access and a breakfast buffet are all available at a charge.
Transportation
  • Madrid bus service (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Madrid Metro service (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Barajas Airport (10 mi/16 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Prado Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Puerta del Sol (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Plaza Mayor (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Royal Botanical Garden (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Centro de Arte Reina Sofia (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Royal Palace (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Plaza de Espana (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Business
  • Five meeting rooms, capacity up to 220 people
  • Business center
  • Wi-Fi throughout the hotel

Villa Real Hotel Madrid Rooms

Superior Room
The Superior room offers one double bed or one twin bed with totally soundproof, individual air-conditioning and heating, direct telephone line, mini-bar, music center, TV with canal plus and satellite channels, safe box, wireless internet access, parquet flooring in bedrooms, works of art, welcome gift, hairdryer.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Real Hotel Madrid also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.4155 -3.697
Area served
Madrid.
Nearby airports
Barajas International Airport.
Area description
Opposite the Parliament, in the centre of the Paseo del Arte, the Villa Real is the gateway to the Museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofa and the Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza.

Nearby points of interest

  • Cortes: 0.2 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.2 mi
  • Atocha Station: 0.5 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.7 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.8 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.9 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 1.2 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1.2 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.3 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.3 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.5 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2 mi
  • Usera: 2 mi
  • Cortes: 0.2 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.2 mi
  • Atocha Station: 0.5 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.7 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.8 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.9 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 1.2 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1.2 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.3 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.3 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.5 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2 mi
  • Usera: 2 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 2.1 mi
  • Moratalaz: 2.8 mi
  • Latina: 2.9 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 3 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 3.1 mi
  • Tetuan: 3.2 mi
  • Carabanchel: 3.3 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 3.5 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 3.6 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 4 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 4.6 mi
  • Villaverde: 4.7 mi
  • Vallecas: 4.8 mi
  • San Blas: 4.8 mi
  • Hortaleza: 5.4 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 5.4 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 7.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Would you like to eat with Andy Warhol? At the East 47 you can. The most delicious cuisine and the most delightful tapas.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Real Hotel Madrid

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Real Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Aug 2, 2010

Steps from the Museums and night life

The hotel was perfectly located to many outstanding landmarks and sights in Madrid. The hotel itself is clean and has an upscale feel although not a ton of amenities. You must pay for in room computer access. There is however a lobby computer with printer all guests can use for free. Personally I didn't care as I was out exploring the city. But the hotel was a nice place to come back to and recharge. The rooms are fine for one to three people. Any more than that and things would get tight. Not sure if they have suites at this location. Overall the staff was helpful and kind. I would definately stay here again as a launching site to explore the vibrant city of Madrid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

When going to Madrid it's helpful to know there are no street signs on posts at the intersections. All street signs are up on buildings at street corners on tiles. Also I found it helpful to take a tour bus in the am to get my bearings in the city and make notes of what I wanted to visit in more detail. There is so much to see within walking distance of the Hotel Villa Real.

Review of Villa Real Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Aug 2, 2010

Steps from the Museums and night life

The hotel was perfectly located to many outstanding landmarks and sights in Madrid. The hotel itself is clean and has an upscale feel although not a ton of amenities. You must pay for in room computer access. There is however a lobby computer with printer all guests can use for free. Personally I didn't care as I was out exploring the city. But the hotel was a nice place to come back to and recharge. The rooms are fine for one to three people. Any more than that and things would get tight. Not sure if they have suites at this location. Overall the staff was helpful and kind. I would definately stay here again as a launching site to explore the vibrant city of Madrid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

When going to Madrid it's helpful to know there are no street signs on posts at the intersections. All street signs are up on buildings at street corners on tiles. Also I found it helpful to take a tour bus in the am to get my bearings in the city and make notes of what I wanted to visit in more detail. There is so much to see within walking distance of the Hotel Villa Real.

Review of Villa Real Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, Florida
May 17, 2010

Highly recommend at the right price

The hotel is a gem. It has large rooms and was perfect for me in Europe. The bathroom is older but large so I liked it as a tradeoff. I would highly recomend the hotel for the money I spent. It is not the Ritz but it is in the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was within walking distance...

Review of Villa Real Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, Florida
May 17, 2010

Highly recommend at the right price

The hotel is a gem. It has large rooms and was perfect for me in Europe. The bathroom is older but large so I liked it as a tradeoff. I would highly recomend the hotel for the money I spent. It is not the Ritz but it is in the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was within walking distance...

Review of Villa Real Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Destin, FL
Apr 12, 2010

Lovely hotel, convenient to the Prado

Very clean and stylish. Great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Villa Real Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Destin, FL
Apr 12, 2010

Lovely hotel, convenient to the Prado

Very clean and stylish. Great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Villa Real Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Sep 8, 2009

Hotel Urban (sister hotel of Villa Real)

We were originally booked at the Villa Real, but the a/c was not working so the hotel rebooked us at the Hotel Urban, a sister hotel. The location was excellent, staff was superb, and the room was spotless! Because of the slight inconvenience of rebooking us at the Hotel Urban (which was probably an upgrade anyway), the hotel surprised my husband and I with champagne and strawberries to kick off our stay in Madrid. Also, the bar at the top of the hotel is a great place to relax at the end of a long day of touring Madrid. (I recommend the mojitos!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Villa Real Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Sep 8, 2009

Hotel Urban (sister hotel of Villa Real)

We were originally booked at the Villa Real, but the a/c was not working so the hotel rebooked us at the Hotel Urban, a sister hotel. The location was excellent, staff was superb, and the room was spotless! Because of the slight inconvenience of rebooking us at the Hotel Urban (which was probably an upgrade anyway), the hotel surprised my husband and I with champagne and strawberries to kick off our stay in Madrid. Also, the bar at the top of the hotel is a great place to relax at the end of a long day of touring Madrid. (I recommend the mojitos!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Villa Real Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PSK&DSK
Miami, FL
Aug 23, 2009

Upgraded to sister hotel(ac didn't work)

When we arrived at the Villa Real, the very friendly person at the registration desk told us that they were closed because the AC system was broken and that their sister hotel, the Urban, had a room waiting for us. We were disappointed because the Villa Real looked really beautiful. It had that "old world charm." So the bell boy took our two suitcases and we walked three minutes to the Urban. We received a royal greeting there, the manager came out to welcome us, the person at the registration desk was as friendly and helpful as you could ever hope for. We could be in Madrid for only one afternoon and night so we told them we were interested in seeing as much art and architecture as possible, as well as having some really good tapas. They gave us a clearly marked map, and that was just the beginning of the good stuff at the hotel. It turns out that the Urban is a fabulous ultra-modern hotel. If we couldn't have the old world charm, this made up for it. We were in our spectacular room only a couple of minutes when room service knocked on our door with a bottle of champagne and a bowl of strawberries, compliments of the management for our having to change hotels. We will go back to Madrid some day. The only question in our minds will be at which of these two beautiful hotels to stay. Their management obviously knows what customer service really is supposed to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tapas at Lateral on Santa Ana Plaza, eat inside or out on the plaza and enjoy!

Review of Villa Real Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PSK&DSK
Miami, FL
Aug 23, 2009

Upgraded to sister hotel(ac didn't work)

When we arrived at the Villa Real, the very friendly person at the registration desk told us that they were closed because the AC system was broken and that their sister hotel, the Urban, had a room waiting for us. We were disappointed because the Villa Real looked really beautiful. It had that "old world charm." So the bell boy took our two suitcases and we walked three minutes to the Urban. We received a royal greeting there, the manager came out to welcome us, the person at the registration desk was as friendly and helpful as you could ever hope for. We could be in Madrid for only one afternoon and night so we told them we were interested in seeing as much art and architecture as possible, as well as having some really good tapas. They gave us a clearly marked map, and that was just the beginning of the good stuff at the hotel. It turns out that the Urban is a fabulous ultra-modern hotel. If we couldn't have the old world charm, this made up for it. We were in our spectacular room only a couple of minutes when room service knocked on our door with a bottle of champagne and a bowl of strawberries, compliments of the management for our having to change hotels. We will go back to Madrid some day. The only question in our minds will be at which of these two beautiful hotels to stay. Their management obviously knows what customer service really is supposed to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tapas at Lateral on Santa Ana Plaza, eat inside or out on the plaza and enjoy!

Back to menu Return to top