$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Tryp Atocha

4 stars
View map of Atocha, 83, Madrid, 28012

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Tryp Atocha

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tryp Atocha

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Americano en sevilla
Business
CT, USA
Jun 2, 2009

good location

I flew into Madrid and I needed one night at a hotel that had a location close to Estacion Atocha. The hotel was quite clean and the reception was very kind, which was nice after a long flight. I had a balcony after a 15 euro upgrade, which i recommend. The only bad thing was that all the rooms are not in the same area, so there are 3 (maybe 4) elevators to take. Now, this is not a problem in a city like Madrid, but I had two very heavy suitcases and just before my room I had to carry them both down 4 or 5 stairs. Again, not a big problem, but it did hurt a little. Also, internet access is easy, but costly, 2 euro for an hour that you can save when you need it in your room, but I am in a hotel in Salamanca now, where it is included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great plaza three or four blocks north, the name escapes me now, but it has some good options. Be careful of the local 'musicains', the locals know them, but tourists may not. Also, there are some good bars in the area. If you need 'comida para llevar' there is a dunkin donuts 2 minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Atocha

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Mar 15, 2010

Good location

Good hotel. Good location for Prado, Reina Sofia, Train station (Atocha)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Atocha

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lansing, Michigan
Feb 17, 2010

Excellent Location

Excellent location to visit the museums and the Royal Palace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

la Petit Bistro is close to the hotel and has excellent food at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Atocha

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nick Quixote
Business
Bristol, England
Jun 30, 2014

2 nights away

The hotel is an easy walk from Atocha train station and we found it central for most sights. Staff were so friendly and helpful from check in to check out. Breakfast was great, so much choice kept us going all day. The actual street is not as up market as the main ones but no problems and felt safe walking back late at night. Would definitely go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

El Prado Museum is not only a stunning building outside you could spend all day there looking at the exhibition!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Atocha

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tancl
Business
Malsysia
Jul 26, 2014

Excellent location

Good , staff were helpful. Location was perfect, within walking distance from downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Atocha

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Morer
Business
New York
Jul 9, 2014

Location, location, location!

Was there 3 nights, the hotel was great; staff extremely friendly and helpful. We walked everywhere, no taxis needed, only one was the 30 euros for taxi for hotel from airport. Walk: 7 minutes to Plaza Mayor, 10 minutes to Madrid Puerta de Atocha Renfe station. 10-15 minutes to all museums, Parque del Retiro, botanical garden. Tapas restaurants and cafeteria/cerverzerias all over the place so eat and drink to your hearts content!! Great for traveling solo too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Atocha

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Jul 27, 2010

What a tryp

This is a great place to stay if you are new to Madrid and just want to be central. It's kind of old fashioned but in a nice, reassuring way. The rooms were very clean, great bathrooms and comfortable beds. Staff were helpful and we felt bang in the middle of things. And we got an excellent rate for a four-star hotel on[...], which made this part of our trip very easy and stress free, especially as we had booked and paid for it all long beforehand. Definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Atocha

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mamiru3
Business
Germantown, MD
Jul 18, 2010

Great location and friendly staff

Great location! There is a Metro located at a few meters from the hotel door. The hotel is at a walking distance to the museum of El Prado, the Renfe system, and the Plaza Mayor. Also, the breakfast has everything for everybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top