$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Tryp Ambassador

4 stars
View map of Cuesta de Santo Domingo 5-7, Madrid, 28013

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Tryp Ambassador

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tryp Ambassador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maywex
Wexford, Ireland
Aug 28, 2012

Great Break

We had a great stay in the Tryp Ambassador. Hotel spotless through out and the attention to detail was second to none, flowers in reception just one example. Hotel is close to centre but away form the busy streets so it has the best of both. Breakfast in the hotel was beautiful. Staff very helpful and obliging. Madrid is a beautiful place to visit and this hotel made our stay excellent. 5 nights away felt like 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Ambassador

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
May 31, 2011

Terrible stay at Tryp Ambassador Madrid

The Staff was unfriendly. After checking in, they watched us load all of our luggage on the wrong elevator 20 ft in front of the registration desk and didn't correct us. When we asked, they pointed to another hallway without speaking. Not sure what the deal was. Our first room had an air conditioner that made a loud bang when it turned on and off. It woke us up every 10 minutes. We were moved to another room, but the A/C was just as bad. And, it blew directly on our faces from above the bed. The next morning, after falling asleep for only about 2 hrs.out of absolute fatigue, the technicians they sent said all the rooms were like this and there was nothing they could do about the noise. I asked the front desk, and they actually had the nerve to say they didn't have to provide us with an air conditioner until June 1st. Don't stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Ambassador

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
May 9, 2011

Great Hotel & Affordable too!

Grand hotel with helpful staff in a great location. Around the corner from the Santo Domingo Metro stop and close to Plaza Mayor and Puerto Del Sol. We paid for an upgrade and got a very quiet and spacious room. Restaurants and shopping are all close by. It's in the middle of light renovation so the paint fumes were a bit strong but maybe that'll be over soon. Their breakfast buffet was delicious if you need one unless you want to venture out and see how it's done at other spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Ambassador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Oregon, USA
Apr 19, 2011

Perfect location!

Located between two metro stops, two blocks from a pedestrian zone, or the Royal Palace, or the Grand Via. The hotel staff was kind, the rooms were clean and comfortable, with a nice safe in the room! The piped in music was a nice touch...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than five minute walk from Chocoleteria San Gines! Mmmm, churros!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Ambassador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
La Profe
Business
Buffalo, NY
Mar 28, 2011

Great Hotel, Great Location

The hotel is a classic in the heart of downtown Madrid, near the Teatro Real. I had lived a few blocks away when I was a student, so it was great to be back in my old neighborhood. I also planned to go to the opera while there (and in fact did so), so it was a matter of a two-block walk to get to the performance. There are two nearby Metro stations (Opera and Santo Domingo), which made getting around for all of my activities in Madrid extremely easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many good restaurants within easy walking distance and the menu of the day is a great way to try a variety of dishes at a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Ambassador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maarssen, Netherlands
Feb 20, 2011

QoS counters renovation need

Quality of Service is great. Rooms clean. Need for renovation but great classic old school hotel. High sealings, robust. Central location in Madrid. Renovation starts when new buyer gets in. Seems to happen in year 2011. Staff did noy yet know the exact date. Price is OK and breakfast great. Price is 12,75 euro p.p.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Ambassador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Calamares
Business
Boston,Ma
Oct 12, 2010

impressive

loved the hardwood floors;clean rooms;fresh linens;impressive. the reception desk should have people who are more friendly and can smile. They are hospitality and they should be more pleasant. A little smile would not hurt .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Ambassador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 19, 2010

umbeatable location

great location, very friendly staff, ther furniture needs some renewal especially in the rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Ambassador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Mar 28, 2010

Very Nice

This is an older hotel, showing some wear-&-tear, but spotless and well kept. Desk and room staff were very personable and helpful. Excellent location near the Madrid Opera House, interesting shopping areas and metro stations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We discovered a local vendors food-hall & market about four blocks from the hotel, the Mercado de San Miguel on the Plaza de San Miguel, just off Calle Mayor. There's an internet video of it at http://11870.com/pro/mercado-san-miguel/page2.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Ambassador

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JohnMikiko96
Business
Saint Paul, Minnesota (US)
Dec 23, 2009

Almost 4-star...pricey for value

Nice location on quiet side street. Bunk beds for children and enough room for family of five with 3 boys (ages 12, 9, & 8) to sleep. Bathroom was nice and room was long with nice open space. Don't eat at the restaurant they recommend down the street around corner. I asked about classical guitar salons or places to hear and they told me to ask a tourist information booth. Not much concierge help. There are other places that are cheaper that are just as nice if you want to save money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Argentinian restaurant near the Opera Metro was very good; especially, the draft beer (Mahao) and the steak with a nice sauce.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top