Tryp Ambassador

4 stars
View map of Cuesta de Santo Domingo 5-7, Madrid, 28013

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Tryp Ambassador

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tryp Ambassador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Germany
Jun 21, 2011

Great Place, Perfect location

If you are looking for a clean, safe, reasonably priced, comfortable hotel in a perfect location to see Madrid than this is the place for you. The hotel is less than a five minute walk from two metro stations (Opera & Santa Domingo). It is situated in the historic section of "Old Madrid." Many major sites are less than a 10 minute walk from the hotel. My family found the hotel room to be very comfortable. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel because it was so expensive, but there were three McDonalds, a Starbucks, and many cafe's within a short walk. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The hotel has several day trip options they can help you book with very short notice. We booked at 2100 for a trip that left at 0900 the next day. No issues. Go to Toledo. It is amazing. We did the half day trip. I would recommend the full day trip.

Review of Tryp Ambassador

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Ohio
May 31, 2011

Terrible stay at Tryp Ambassador Madrid

The Staff was unfriendly. After checking in, they watched us load all of our luggage on the wrong elevator 20 ft in front of the registration desk and didn't correct us. When we asked, they pointed to another hallway without speaking. Not sure what the deal was. Our first room had an air conditioner that made a loud bang when it turned on and off. It woke us up every 10 minutes. We were moved to another room, but the A/C was just as bad. And, it blew directly on our faces from above the bed. The next morning, after falling asleep for only about 2 hrs.out of absolute fatigue, the technicians they sent said all the rooms were like this and there was nothing they could do about the noise. I asked the front desk, and they actually had the nerve to say they didn't have to provide us with an air conditioner until June 1st. Don't stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Tryp Ambassador

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Portland, OR
May 9, 2011

Great Hotel & Affordable too!

Grand hotel with helpful staff in a great location. Around the corner from the Santo Domingo Metro stop and close to Plaza Mayor and Puerto Del Sol. We paid for an upgrade and got a very quiet and spacious room. Restaurants and shopping are all close by. It's in the middle of light renovation so the paint fumes were a bit strong but maybe that'll be over soon. Their breakfast buffet was delicious if you need one unless you want to venture out and see how it's done at other spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Tryp Ambassador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Portland, Oregon, USA
Apr 19, 2011

Perfect location!

Located between two metro stops, two blocks from a pedestrian zone, or the Royal Palace, or the Grand Via. The hotel staff was kind, the rooms were clean and comfortable, with a nice safe in the room! The piped in music was a nice touch...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than five minute walk from Chocoleteria San Gines! Mmmm, churros!!!

Review of Tryp Ambassador

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
La Profe
Business
Buffalo, NY
Mar 28, 2011

Great Hotel, Great Location

The hotel is a classic in the heart of downtown Madrid, near the Teatro Real. I had lived a few blocks away when I was a student, so it was great to be back in my old neighborhood. I also planned to go to the opera while there (and in fact did so), so it was a matter of a two-block walk to get to the performance. There are two nearby Metro stations (Opera and Santo Domingo), which made getting around for all of my activities in Madrid extremely easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many good restaurants within easy walking distance and the menu of the day is a great way to try a variety of dishes at a very reasonable price.

Review of Tryp Ambassador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Los Angeles
Aug 19, 2010

umbeatable location

great location, very friendly staff, ther furniture needs some renewal especially in the rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Tryp Ambassador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Oakland, CA
Mar 28, 2010

Very Nice

This is an older hotel, showing some wear-&-tear, but spotless and well kept. Desk and room staff were very personable and helpful. Excellent location near the Madrid Opera House, interesting shopping areas and metro stations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We discovered a local vendors food-hall & market about four blocks from the hotel, the Mercado de San Miguel on the Plaza de San Miguel, just off Calle Mayor. There's an internet video of it at http://11870.com/pro/mercado-san-miguel/page2.

Review of Tryp Ambassador

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JohnMikiko96
Family
Saint Paul, Minnesota (US)
Dec 23, 2009

Almost 4-star...pricey for value

Nice location on quiet side street. Bunk beds for children and enough room for family of five with 3 boys (ages 12, 9, & 8) to sleep. Bathroom was nice and room was long with nice open space. Don't eat at the restaurant they recommend down the street around corner. I asked about classical guitar salons or places to hear and they told me to ask a tourist information booth. Not much concierge help. There are other places that are cheaper that are just as nice if you want to save money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Argentinian restaurant near the Opera Metro was very good; especially, the draft beer (Mahao) and the steak with a nice sauce.

Back to menu Return to top