$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

Silken Puerta America

5 stars
View map of Avenida de America, 41, 28002 MADRID, Madrid, 28002

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Silken Puerta America

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Silken Puerta America

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
renzon rouses
Single
springfield virginia
Mar 6, 2013

modern hotel

i had a great time at this place, because of the location was good and the rooms and design are incredible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

is close to bernabeu

Review of Silken Puerta America

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PV The Super
Couples
Houston, Texas
Sep 19, 2014

Cool design, great staff, and easy access to metro

From the airport, there's a bus that says Avenida de America. Jump on that bus, and get off at the Cartagena stop. Walk back up the street two blocks, and you'll be at the hotel. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful a few times in providing assistance with directions, and the bartender/barista at the Marmo bar was very pleasant and accomodating. The cleaning staff folded my pajamas when I left them on the floor. When they saw that we used the bath gel to make bubbles in the bathtub, they left us extra by the bathtub the next day. The attention to detail was nice. Two things would have made our stay better. First, the room, while gorgeously designed with a stunning view and really cool/interesting changeable layout, appeared to be in a state disrepair in some parts. The back-wall of the sink would just fall off anytime you were brushing your teeth or anything we had to keep putting it back up, and the cloth/plastic ceiling seemed to be dirty and peeling in some parts. Second, the walls were too thin because we could hear the family's kids next door crying, running around, jumping on the bed, being yelled at. After the first night it wasn't a problem, perhaps either because the family left, or because we made enough noise the first night that they realized we probably could hear them, too. For the price of the room, I expected better. Overall, it was an very good experience. If you are going to Madrid, you'll be happy staying here. If you are going to Madrid, I'm jealous because I want to go back. PS- Check out the neighborhood next to the hotel. The locally-frequented havens will be found there. A great pizza place, a cute bakery, and restaurants with price-fix menus that are much, much cheaper than what you'll spend in the city center. Walk up towards where the train station is and turn right. PPS - Getting around: The metro station (Cartagena) is an easy, short, 2-ish blocks walk away and it's a really easy system to learn. You'll want to take the 7 train (orange) from Cartagena towards Pitis and get off at Canal station, change to the 2 train (red) towards Las Rosas and get out at the Opera or Vodafone Sol stations. There's lots to see in those areas. If you have more time, go further on the 2 train (red) to Banca de espana and Retiro stations. More to see there. :-).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Silken Puerta America

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J. McCrackey
Couples
California
Mar 19, 2014

Not 5 Stars

The building is certainly unique. Location is way off central Madrid. Staff left something to be desired in terms of basic service levels, efficiency, and ability to fulfill simple service requests. Gimmicky and flash as opposed to good old-fashioned brass, polish and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Silken Puerta America

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
upandatem
Family
bloomington, in
Dec 1, 2013

great hotel!

we had a great time at this hotel. Perfect in every way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Silken Puerta America

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Davy
Couples
Carlisle
May 28, 2013

what a hotel 5star

This a great hotel and gives you everything you nee rd to make a great holiday It could do with a kettle in the room for tea and coffee

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get yourselves a metro billet easy fast travel and only up the road to station ,great little cafe around corner for breakfast and a good little bar about 10 mins walk oro Garcia and a nice Italian good food it's only short metro to city ,don't try to walk .no need Davy

Review of Silken Puerta America

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ehlen
Couples
London
May 6, 2013

Location and comfort is great..

Comfortable but lighting need to improve, can not read with a dim light also being a five star hotel If did not provide a self serve tea or coffee in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Silken Puerta America

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
William Shin
Business
Seoul, Korea
Jun 24, 2012

Great and comfortable hotel

Very clean and friendly staff. The restaurant was awesome and breakfast buffet was also good! Overall, it was very good experience!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Silken Puerta America

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashish M
Family
Austin, TX
May 4, 2012

Excellent service with decent location

The hotel staff and service is really good. Even at 2 in the night someone was there in couple of minutes to help out. The hotel is little bit away from main attractions but it is convenient to hop on a metro from Cartegana or Avenida de America station. The only complaint I have is our reservation did not indicate that it takes Eur 50 extra to stay in Zaha Hadid room which we did for the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

From Airport take bus 200 to get close to the hotel.

Review of Silken Puerta America

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Locust Manor
Family
Long Island, NY
Apr 15, 2012

Family Vacation

The hotel is beautiful and the staff are tremendous. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. We travelled with the Metro and there is a Metro station located about one block away. Overall, Madrid is a wonderful City and the Puerta America made it that much more enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Silken Puerta America

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stratos
Couples
Thessalonika, Greece
Oct 5, 2011

very nice hotel ,same as pictures!

all was very nice,place-room and everything else except floor number 9 room was a little uncomfortable and smelled strange in bathroom although it was cleaned.try floor 11 and you wont regret it!very nice! the biggest complain is about spanish people dont speak english AT ALL...even at tourist offices!!thank god at hotel they did!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

try eating at all you can eat close to puerta del sol..but not the one that cost 9.99 euro but the one that costs 8.70 euro.you will see two floors to recognise it,its in a corner opposite a big hotel..very nice food..

Back to menu Return to top