$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel Madrid

4 stars
GRAN VIA 70, 28013 MADRID, Madrid, 28013
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
8 reviews
Wonderfull holydays!!!

Was an amazing vacations!!! The hotel was a good one. It has an excellent location, with a walking... See full review

  • Ivy09
  • Jan 9, 2014
happy honeymoon

My new husband and I stayed her for the second stop on our honeymoon. The room was huge, by Euro... See full review

  • Lolo8383
  • Sep 25, 2014
In the center of capital city Madrid, across from the Plaza de Espaa, is the Hotel Senator Espana****.
Here, you will find the same excellent service and quality features as in the Playa Senator, guaranteeing a pleasant, relaxing stay.
It is just five minutes from the famous bustling shop-filled street, Calle Preciados, and very near the city's main theaters, the Royal Palace, the Almudena cathedral, the Debod temple and the most typical streets of Madrid.
There is a Metro station 20 yards away from the hotel. The hotel offers free WiFi and premium service charges. Please see the Terms of Service Premium in the hotel reception.
IMPORTANT NOTICE
Spa & Wellness Acquaplaya Center timetable: Tuesday - Sundays from 12.00 to 21.00h. Special for families: from 12 to 13.30h from Tuesdays to Sundays. It will remain closed Sunday afternoon and Monday all day. Please be advised the Hotels Spa & Wellness Center Acquaplaya is closed from the 18th to 31st of August (both dates are inclusive)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel Madrid also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel Madrid Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
The hotel has 171 fully appointed rooms with:
Free minibar, safe, satellite television with 30 channels and pay channels, stereo with a CD player, perfect soundproofing, pillow menu, hairdryer, reclining beds with comforters, coffee maker, ironing board, and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Barber/Beauty shop
Internet
WiFi
Room
Television with cable

Nearby points of interest

  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.3 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.4 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.5 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.6 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • Cortes: 0.7 mi
  • Fuencarral: 0.7 mi
  • Chamberi: 1 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1.1 mi
  • Atocha Station: 1.3 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 1.9 mi
  • Arganzuela: 2 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 2.1 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 2.4 mi
  • Usera: 2.5 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.3 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.4 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.5 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.6 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • Cortes: 0.7 mi
  • Fuencarral: 0.7 mi
  • Chamberi: 1 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1.1 mi
  • Atocha Station: 1.3 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 1.9 mi
  • Arganzuela: 2 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 2.1 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 2.4 mi
  • Usera: 2.5 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 2.7 mi
  • Tetuan: 2.7 mi
  • Latina: 2.7 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2.8 mi
  • Carabanchel: 3.2 mi
  • Moratalaz: 3.5 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 3.6 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 3.6 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 3.7 mi
  • Villaverde: 5.2 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 5.4 mi
  • San Blas: 5.4 mi
  • Hortaleza: 5.5 mi
  • Vallecas: 5.6 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 5.7 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 7.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel Madrid

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fisher
Business
Edinburgh
Sep 23, 2014

Poor upper management

During our stay we had a medical emergency requiring us to cut our holiday short and return late-notice to the UK. Despite very friendly staff at the front desk and superb staff at the booking agent, the upper management had the gall to ignore doctors prescriptions for mild opiates for my partners pain. Their response was to not only charge us for the remaining days but also to levee a 100% charge as per their cancellation policy. To say that added to our stress is a severe understatement. We had already forked out £500 for medical treatment, and £250 to change the flights. The hotel was nice but their upper management clearly have no sense of morals, applying cancellation policy indiscriminately independent of the stress of their customers. We will not be booking with them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ortoco
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Jun 26, 2012

Nice place, long reparations

I went there for a second time in June this year. The place is still nice, comortable, cozy and well located.... but they will take a year to bring a new elevator!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elaine011
Business
Minneapolis
May 29, 2014

Great Location

Very good location with metro station (Plaza Espanya) just few steps away. However, since it is located on the main street of Madrid, it is always loud even during the night. TV has only one english speaking channel. It wasn't a big deal for us since we didn't spend a lot of time in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Legacy200
Business
Dallas, TX
Nov 16, 2013

Vacation

Very nice room, clean, and in very central location. Very friendly staff also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Jul 5, 2007

Very friendly

Comfortable, clean, good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Plaza Mayor is in walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lolo8383
Business
Detroit, MI
Sep 25, 2014

happy honeymoon

My new husband and I stayed her for the second stop on our honeymoon. The room was huge, by Euro standards - separate bedroom from foyer/bathroom, nice sized credenza and comfortable king size bed. And the room was exceptionally quiet thanks to the double windows protecting from the street noise below. The location was OK - right in the heart of the theater district, so lots of hustle and bustle, and very near the Plaza de Espana Metro stop. We wished it was a little closer to real "local flavor" rather than chain restaurants though. Was nice to have a hot pot and instant coffee in the room, as we didn't have that during our Barca stop. Couple gripes: the "do not disturb" sign doesn't really keep them from disturbing you. Both days we had it out they called (multiple times during my nap) to ask when the maid could come. Um, the sign means we don't need service. Stop calling me. Also, our room was on the back of the building, above a fish market. We couldn't open the window because the fish smell was so strong. The rooftop was nice, but the jacuzzi jets don't work and the water was cold. Finally, this is more of a gripe with this site. The pool shown in pictures is actually part of the spa, which costs an additional 18€ per person per 1.5 hours. That was a huge bummer as I had purposely tried to find a hotel with a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The flamenco show at Las Tablas was incredible. Buy your tickets online. It's a short walk to the end of Plaza de Espana, but look out for gypsies along the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ivy09
Business
San German, Puerto Rico
Jan 9, 2014

Wonderfull holydays!!!

Was an amazing vacations!!! The hotel was a good one. It has an excellent location, with a walking distance of the center of the city and the touristics atraccions. An excellent election!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuando sali de cuba restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 17, 2008

great location

Great Location-easy access to metro or central location to walk from. Large, comfortable room. Very helpful and friendly staff. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

All parts of Madrid for sightseeing were easily accessed from this location either walking or a quick metro ride. Plenty of eating establishments and shopping in the area. Right on Gran Via an exciting street, sometimes a bit crowded and activity all the time. If you want a quiet, country-like experience- not the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top