$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Senator Gran Via 21 Madrid

4 stars
GRAN VIA 21, 28013 MADRID, Madrid, 28013
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
22 reviews
Excellent location

I had originally booked this hotel as a standard room then upgraded to superior few weeks before... See full review

  • D2228
  • Jun 26, 2014
Wonderful stay

Just right for visiting Madrid. It is close to everything. You feel right at home See full review

  • Mkiefer
  • May 2, 2014
In the historic center of Spain's capital city is the four-star Hotel Senator Gran Va, offering the same services and care as the Playa Senator hotels. Your rest and relaxation is guaranteed, right down to to the last detail. Less than five minutes away you will find the Puerta del Sol, its popular Zero Kilometer, the Plaza Mayor, Royal Palace and the theater district. There is a subway (Metro) station as well as a bus stop right outside the main entrance of the hotel. The hotel offers non-smoking policy as an amenity. The hotel offers free WiFi and premium service charges. Please see the Terms of Service Premium in the hotel reception.

Hotel Map

40.42 -3.7012
Area served
Madrid.
Nearby airports
Madrid-Barajas Airport.
Area description
Madrid.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Senator Gran Via 21 Madrid also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Senator Gran Via 21 Madrid Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
The hotel has 136 fully equipped rooms with: Free minibar, Safe, Television, Stereo with CD player, Total soundproofing, pillow menu, Hairdryer, Reclining beds with comforters Coffee maker Ironing board ...and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Cortes: 0.2 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.2 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.6 mi
  • Fuencarral: 0.8 mi
  • Atocha Station: 0.9 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.9 mi
  • Chamberi: 1 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1.1 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.7 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.8 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 1.9 mi
  • Usera: 2.3 mi
  • Cortes: 0.2 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.2 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.6 mi
  • Fuencarral: 0.8 mi
  • Atocha Station: 0.9 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.9 mi
  • Chamberi: 1 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1.1 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.7 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.8 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 1.9 mi
  • Usera: 2.3 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2.3 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 2.7 mi
  • Tetuan: 2.9 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 2.9 mi
  • Latina: 2.9 mi
  • Moratalaz: 3.1 mi
  • Carabanchel: 3.3 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 3.4 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 3.5 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 3.7 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 5 mi
  • San Blas: 5 mi
  • Villaverde: 5 mi
  • Vallecas: 5.1 mi
  • Hortaleza: 5.3 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 5.4 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 7.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Senator Gran Via 21 Madrid

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Senator Gran Via 21 Madrid

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy travellerwdfgthjk
Gran Via, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Nov 30, 2011

5 Star

Check in and Check out was straight forward and quick. The view was amazing! Room was small but cosy. The bed had a remote to make it incline but it didnt work. No star was taken off for that cos it wasnt needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Senator Gran Via 21 Madrid

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spain Aficionado
Bay Area, California
Jul 10, 2014

Gem in Downtown Madrid

The location of the hotel was perfect. It was within walking distance of the downtown sights and right next to a metro station. The rooms were very nice -- an older hotel that has been upgraded. The staff couldn't have been nicer. I will definitely go back on my next trip to Madrid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don;t miss Chocolateria San Gilles for churros and chocolate. It may overdose on cholesterol, but is a must visit for breakfast -- the best in Spain.

Review of Senator Gran Via 21 Madrid

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D2228
Scotland
Jun 26, 2014

Excellent location

I had originally booked this hotel as a standard room then upgraded to superior few weeks before arrival and I am so glad I did this. You get your own living room space, bedroom with huge bed and a balcony with views of Gran Via. The balcony itself was worth the upgrade because of the stunning views of the city. I would recommend this hotel for location as its central for Sol square and Gran Via station is at your door-stop. Few small restaurants outside the hotel also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Gran Via station is how I got around or walked but you have the option of both

Review of Senator Gran Via 21 Madrid

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Casey
Dallas, TX
Jun 2, 2014

Great location

.. Older hotel, nice restaurant, rooms are a little small. Price was average. Location is great... metro station just outside... in the middle of a walking street with many restaurants and shops... even a Mc Donalds across the street and a Papizza across the street which stays open all night. Many gay bars within five blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Senator Gran Via 21 Madrid

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young travel love
Virginia
Jun 2, 2014

Great value for convenient and clean hotel

Clean and simple hotel (interesting internal architecture), great locations, free water and soda daily. No frills really, but affordable and super convenient. Great spot to stay to see the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Senator Gran Via 21 Madrid

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mkiefer
Walnut Creek
May 2, 2014

Wonderful stay

Just right for visiting Madrid. It is close to everything. You feel right at home

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Senator Gran Via 21 Madrid

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EriKayla
New York
Apr 29, 2014

Average hotel but in the best location

The staff was nice. Very small hotel lobby not up to par based on the area located. The rooms are clean but small and there are two twin beds put together to make a queen bed, they would separate in the middle while sleeping. Also they placed one individual shampoo and body gel in the bathroom per day, even though we were a couple. There was no hair conditioner and i regretted not carrying my shampoos for my long hair overseas. I didn't understand why some hotel guests had breakfast included and others didn't! Location is fantastic, you could walk any where from there. Do not travel with children there, there were escorts in every corner!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Senator Gran Via 21 Madrid

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SK from USA
Chicago,IL
Apr 3, 2014

Mom & Daughter get away

We liked the location . It was very conveniently located. Hotel staff was very helpful. It was a nice historic building, but it could be little better decorated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Senator Gran Via 21 Madrid

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martha Pugeda
Irvine, CA, USA
Oct 26, 2013

Great hotel in a great city

I went to Spain for the first time in 2012 and had an unpleasant hotel stay in Barcelona so when I went to Madrid, my expectations were rather low. But this hotel made me enjoy my stay. The location is very close to all the shopping area. The staff is very helpful and good with giving directions. The room was clean, spacious and the beds are very comfortable. I got a room with the view of Gran Via. The lights from the nearby buildings come on at night and the street gets busy with traffic and people. The bed is by the window, so its like sleeping in front of Times Square, but that's not the hotel's fault. The hotel itself is fun to explore because it is gorgeous inside. Overall, a good quality stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just across the street from the hotel, which is Calle Hortaleza. That street is filled with lots of Spanish shops selling all kinds of stuff for gifts and souvenirs, as well as clothes.

Review of Senator Gran Via 21 Madrid

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lombardi
Vero Beach, Florida
Aug 2, 2013

incredible all the way aroung

I spent a lot of time on line looking at hotels in Madrid.I was traveling with my mother so I needed two rooms. I chose this one based on past guests and location. You can't beat it. The rooms are plenty big. large closet to put your clothes. A safe. Mini bar with soda and water at no charge and restocked daily. Bathroom with a FULL tub and large. Right outside the hotel is the metro. A few blocks and you have entered rambalas and all the restaurants and shopping you could ask for. Street performers and a short walk to Plaza Mayor with some great outdoor dining. The staff was just wonderful. Assisted my mom with an adaptor to use her hair curler. LOL. What we brought would not allow her to plug in the 3 prongs. I can't say enough about this place and its location and staff. Elevator that zips you right up to your floor. More than expected all the way around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Senator Gran Via 21 Madrid

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DDavidson
Manchester, UK
Jul 26, 2013

Excellent hotel, perfect location

Friendly staff; impressive building; terrace swimming pool! And incredible value for money. I would recommend this hotel to friends, family and colleagues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Reina Sofia Museum is shut on Tuesdays. It did not say this in the guidebook we used (just in case this is a recent development).

Back to menu Return to top

Change search