$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Regina Hotel Madrid

3 stars
View map of Alcala 19, Madrid, 28014

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Regina Hotel Madrid

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Regina Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tkmaestra
New Jersey
Jul 21, 2012

Awesome location!!

You can not get a better location for a stay in Madrid! It is just minutes to walk to Puerta del Sol or Plaza Mayor and there's a Metro station outside of the hotel door!! Staff is excellent, friendly, and helpful, rooms are immaculately clean and more spacious than others in Europe. We will definitely be staying there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Regina Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Salita
Business
Syracuse, NY
Apr 15, 2013

Really Nice

The Regina Hotel is very nicely located-close to the Metro, the tour bus, the Plaza del Sol, the Plaza Cibeles, The Plaza Mayor and many other places of interest. The staff is great, always pleasant and willing to help in any way they can. The room was impeccably clean, every day. The room we stayed in didn't have a view, but it was still nice. It was probably more expensive than other places, but worth the value of knowing that the staff will help you with whatever you need. They lent me a battery charger adapter, made reservations for a Flamingo Show, offered to get tickets for the tour bus, and confirmed our return flight at airport 24 hours in advance. They even offered to exchange money to Euros right there at the front desk. So, you can't beat the assistance they offered. Just a bit more expensive. I would have liked more TV options, but that wasn't a problem nor complaint, just sharing. At check out I was mistakenly charged for something from the hotel bar, but later was offered a reimbursement. Not a problem. Very nice stay. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Regina Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beth in FL
Business
Florida
Mar 19, 2013

One Night in Madrid

I took the airport shuttle (missed my stop, actually--another story) to the stop and then walked in the cold twilight rain to the hotel. Although the two desk workers were occupied for some time on the phone, a man from the cafe brought me a glass of fresh orange juice on a tray. Such a lovely touch after some grueling travel. I loved the tiny, postage-stamp room. Impeccably clean and peaceful. Did have trouble remembering how to get the lights on using the room key and had to ask someone. Cafe downstairs was busy and friendly. Got a nice paella and flan and melons with Spanish cured ham. The desk employee assisted me with getting a shuttle to the airport. Scheduled it the night before and it arrived right on time. The only thing that detracted from the experience was the sounds through the walls. If I had not been scheduled for an early wake-up as well as jet-lagged, I might have slept through the sounds. As it was, I heard flushing sounds throughout the night, as well as footsteps above me. The location is beautiful, with coffee shops and museums and restaurants all within reach. I am happy that I stayed there, even though it was for one night. I don't think they probably see a large number of Americans. I just wanted to see the city for myself on my layover, and it's beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Regina Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spanish Adventure
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 11, 2013

Pleasant Stay

Overall, I had a pleasant stay at Hotel Regina. The location is unbeatable and I was able to walk anywhere in the old city. Found the travel assistant at the hotel to be particularly helpful, especially since I was traveling alone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Regina Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Manuel Chacin
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Jan 25, 2013

Dont spend even a Dollar on this stay

very noise room you can not sleep well u can hear everything from above and ahead of you the rooms service start too early in the morning so its terrible DONT STAY wifi fail

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

vips across the street good restaurant that has a Big menu

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Regina Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChaiTurtle
Business
Asheville, NC
Jan 22, 2013

Stylish room covenant to center of Madrid

Friendly staff and stylish, updated rooms with wifi. Great location to metro stops and the center of Madrid - easy walk to plaza mayor. It was a great spot for our first visit to Madrid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several Museo de Jamon locations in this area and they make for a cheap eat along with some great people watching. While not the best fare we had in Spain, it remains a vivid memory!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Regina Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike and Bella
Business
Virginia
Jan 8, 2013

Great way to end our trip to Spain

We are very happy that we decided to stay at Regina Hotel Madrid for our last night in Spain, rather than staying in a hotel by the airport. We were right in the center and were able to enjoy walking around the city one more time, and we had a lovely dinner at the hotel restaurant! The room was spacious enough for our family of 4 and for all our luggage, and the bathroom was very nice, clean, spacious, and stacked with all the necessary toiletries. The only downside of being on a major downtown street is the noise at night and in early morning, but since this was just one night for us, we didn't mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant is actually quite good and worth the prices they charge. Our waitress was incredibly nice and very understanding of our dietary restrictions. However, it does help if someone in your party speaks Spanish.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Regina Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tony I
Business
Stamford, CT
Jan 5, 2013

Madrid Cristmas 2012

We had 4 people in one room and 3 in the other. We stayed during the Christmas - New Years week. The rooms were clean, the bathrooms were good, the beds were fine. The maid service was good. The staff was always nice and responded well to requests. The concierge was great. Helped us plan day trips to Segovia and Toledo. Not much in the way of amenities. Location is very central and you can walk to most major attractions. Metro stop right outside the hotel. Only negative: The french doors which opened onto small balconies open to Calle Alcala, let in all the street noise and cool air. The rooms were warm enough though. So if you to party until 6:00 a.m., no problem. Otherwise you will have to get accustomed to sleeping through quite a bit of street noise (not sure if this is mainly a seasonal problem).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If staying in Madrid, a day trip to Toledo, Segovia is a good way to get exposure to some history.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Regina Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melissa camino peregrina
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Aug 4, 2012

great E\experience

The hotel staff were great, very friendly and accommodating. They helped me set up a shuttle to the airport to save on the cab ride and were always able to answer my question

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All dinning and shopping 5-10min walk. Centrally located between the palace and the Prado Museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Regina Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tkmaestra
Business
New Jersey
Jul 21, 2012

Awesome location!!

You can not get a better location for a stay in Madrid! It is just minutes to walk to Puerta del Sol or Plaza Mayor and there's a Metro station outside of the hotel door!! Staff is excellent, friendly, and helpful, rooms are immaculately clean and more spacious than others in Europe. We will definitely be staying there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Regina Hotel Madrid

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom the Teacher
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 9, 2012

It wasn't horrible... just

So, the room that I booked was exceptionally tiny. It survey the purpose for sure. Hotel rooms are small by nature in Europe and this wasn't the smallest that I have seen. The air conditioning did not work very well. The staff wasn't the most helpful compared to other hotels that I have stayed in Europe and Madrid. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if the price was right. There seemed to be a "party" atmosphere in the hallways during the first night. That is not the hotel's fault though. When I was there, I made the most of Madrid. It is pretty centrally located and is it off the path of the main strip of Grande Via. I wish the hotel room was a little bigger and the air conditioning worked. If you decide to book here, you won't be terribly upset. It is clean and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Before you come to Madrid, I would plot out the sites that you wish to visit and get familiar with the Metro map. It is easy and if you know what you are doing ahead of time, it will save you time. However, if you wish to take a taxi... you can and is mostly affordable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top