$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2014 Check-out: May 5, 2014

Petit Palace Arenal - Downtown Sol

3 stars
Arenal, 16, Madrid, 28013
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
14 reviews
great hotel

hotel was perfect i had stayed in the other petit palace in sol and thought this is what i booked.... See full review

  • traveller 10
  • Feb 1, 2012
Very good hotel

Very good hotel. Excellent location (it can be a bit noisy during the night because of the night... See full review

  • Mr. Sincere
  • May 30, 2012

SUPERB LOCATION RIGHT NEXT TO THE FAMOUS PUERTA DEL SOL!! Free PREMIUM WIFI, Free BICICLE rental, Free safety box and daily press. The best services and installations at the best price, with all of Madrids best attractions within walking distance from the hotel.

The hotel Petit Palace Arenal is found in an emblematic building in the centre of the city very closet to the famous Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Opera House, Royal Palace and Gran Via.

Located in Arenal Street in the centre of Madrids dynamic capital, within walking distance of all the main places of interest, like restaurants, theatres, shops, museums and the best nightclubs.

Furthermore, the famous Puerta del Sol is found at only 50 meters from the hotel; easily accessible with public transport with the mail bus and underground stations.

The hotel, which is both elegantly furnished and well equipped, offers all types of commodities and installations, like hydro massage showers, free safety boxes, free internet connection and rooms with personal computers (subject to availability).There are some smoking-rooms available.

All rooms are stylish and comfortable, with the latest in advanced technologies. We will be more than happy to attend your special requests (bed type, room views, special bedding for pets.

The staff is friendly and helpful and will be more than happy to inform you on the best restaurants, shopping and places to visit.

Amongst other free services, the hotel offers free PREMIUM WIFI connection throughout the building and free bicycles rent (subject to availability). By reserving in our hotel you will receive an exclusive invitation to a typical Spanish tapa and glass of wine in the department store El Corte Ingles nearest to the hotel. One invitation per person. More information at the reception. Valid during 2009 while stocks last.

High Tech Hotels collaborates with the N.P.O Solidarity International by supporting the organization of artisan objects; SELYN of Sri Lanka through buying their hand made dolls by which they contribute to improving the living conditions of the families of Kunergala, Sri Lanka.

Petit Palace Arenal - Downtown Sol Rooms

Standard Room
Double and single rooms include 26" flat screen televisions with international channels, free PREMIUM WIFI connection, hydro-massage showers and free safety boxes. Double or twin beds available with exterior or interior views (on request).
Family Room
Family rooms (with capacity up to 4 persons) ideal for families or groups of friends, include 26" flat screen televisions with international channels, free PREMIUM WIFI connection, hydro-massage showers and free safety boxes. Double or twin beds available with exterior or interior views (on request).

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Petit Palace Arenal - Downtown Sol also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.4173 -3.7063
Area served
Madrid, just next to Puerta del Sol, the main meeting point of Madrid.
Nearby airports
Madrid Barajas International Airport.
Area description
The San Gines Church is located just in front of the hotel and is one of the most ancient churches in Madrid. Here, the famous Spanish writer, Lope de Vega had his marriage ceremony.

Nearby points of interest

  • Descalzas Reales: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.3 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.3 mi
  • Cortes: 0.4 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.5 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.7 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 0.8 mi
  • Atocha Station: 0.9 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.2 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.6 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.8 mi
  • Usera: 2.1 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 2.1 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.3 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.3 mi
  • Cortes: 0.4 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.5 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.7 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 0.8 mi
  • Atocha Station: 0.9 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.2 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.6 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.8 mi
  • Usera: 2.1 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 2.1 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2.4 mi
  • Latina: 2.6 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 2.6 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 3 mi
  • Carabanchel: 3 mi
  • Tetuan: 3.1 mi
  • Moratalaz: 3.3 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 3.7 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 3.8 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 4 mi
  • Villaverde: 4.9 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 5.1 mi
  • Vallecas: 5.3 mi
  • San Blas: 5.3 mi
  • Hortaleza: 5.6 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 5.7 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 7.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Petit Palace Arenal - Downtown Sol

Overall score

3.6 / 5
14 out of 14
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Petit Palace Arenal - Downtown Sol

Reviewer score

3
Vaca12
California
Sep 21, 2012

Great location

Good but could be noisy but great location for the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Petit Palace Arenal - Downtown Sol

Reviewer score

4
Mr. Sincere
US
May 30, 2012

Very good hotel

Very good hotel. Excellent location (it can be a bit noisy during the night because of the night life). I recommend for those that are looking for a good location and with a good night life. There are a lot of things going on outside the hotel. The hotel is small, but it is clean with modern furniture. Some rooms are small. Our bedroom had a nice view. I strongly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Petit Palace Arenal - Downtown Sol

Reviewer score

5
traveller 10
Madrid, Spain
Feb 1, 2012

great hotel

hotel was perfect i had stayed in the other petit palace in sol and thought this is what i booked. this was a bit further down but still perfect, fab location. i requested a front room and got it , disco facing so bit noisy but your in a busy vibrant city so noise expected, spanish go out very late. breakfast room lovely and loads to choose from hot and cold, got a bit busy at main time but still plenty of food. location ideal couldn't get any more central. would stay again the price was great for 3 nights with breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

el buey restaurant by santa domingo station, not for vegetarians, great meat you cook yourself on hot plate

Review of Petit Palace Arenal - Downtown Sol

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Houston, TX, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Family little vacation

When we get to Madrid, we get one day early, and they send us to a different hotel, they suppose to give me same price, but not, they raise the price, and the hotel was not that good, also I suppose to get breakfast included and they said was not, also suppose to get free bycicle for my little girl and they don't even tried to offer, hotel staff is not that nice, but the location was the best... we have access to all the tourist places!!! humm I don't think I come back here. The taxi from airport to hotel was very expensive $ 55 Eu he ripp me off

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Paid for that tourist bus for one day they charge $ 17.50 Eu but per two days is $ 22 Eu and you can get out from the bus take pictures for the interest tourist places and take the following bus, was really nice experience. Metro was a few steps away also, very cheap!!

Review of Petit Palace Arenal - Downtown Sol

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Minneapolis
Nov 18, 2010

small hotel in central location

This was one of the smallest, if not the smallest, hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. We were just there for an overnight stay prior to our flight home. Great location on a busy pedestrian-only street. Rates were OK but there is no parking (nearest ramp a couple of blocks away, no discount for staying in hotel) and breakfast was extra. I don't think I'd stay there again, but the staff was nice and we didn't have any particular problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Petit Palace Arenal - Downtown Sol

Reviewer score

3
AmerInd
Colfax, CA
Nov 9, 2010

Great location, that's about it

Location was convienient to the Prado Museum (easy walking distance) and a number of Tapas Bars. We had a no smoking room, however the air conditioning was not working (there was a thermostat in our room) so we opened the window--big mistake. The smoke came in anyway. If we were staying a third night we would have had to move. Our room was clean inspite of the smoke. The elevator is very old, cranky, and small (two adults and a small child would feel cramped). It was shut down for repair about half the times we went to use it. The hotel advertises itself as "high tech", but the only high tech thing is the free wi-fi (they provide you a password, ask for it). The best thing going for this hotel is the location -- tough to beat for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Petit Palace Arenal - Downtown Sol

Reviewer score

4
madrid lover
miami, fl
Sep 14, 2010

Great Location and value

excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Petit Palace Arenal - Downtown Sol

Reviewer score

4
Canadian-living-in-China
Beijing, China
Jul 20, 2010

Location! Location! Location!

We loved this hotel and the location was PERFECT! Staff were very friendly and accommodating and check -in was a breeze. Security was great. The hotel is quite quaint with lots of character.... not your run-of-the=mill chain hotel. There is free wireless in the hotel rooms, and computers plus internet for you to use (for free) downstairs. Bicycle use is also included for free! Our one small complaint was that the bed was a little soft, but seriously, for the great price, and all other pluses, we weren't complaining. We highly recommend this hotel to all! (Elevator makes it accessible to everyone)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Their is a great indoor market, located in the old town, not far from the hotel. It is a fantastic place to have a drink (or several) and to have a standing-room only dinner of great seafood, sushi, meats, cheeses and other great snacks! Hotel staff should be able to direct you there easily! Check it out - you won't regret it!!

Review of Petit Palace Arenal - Downtown Sol

Reviewer score

4
blenders
Florida
May 21, 2010

Price rather high, location good

Easy access to points of interest. Good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Petit Palace Arenal - Downtown Sol

Reviewer score

3
Madrid Visitor
Boston, MA
Apr 23, 2010

Good value

This moderately priced hotel is in a great location for exploring central Madrid. The staff is friendly and helpful. However, the two twin beds pushed together to make a king size bed was somewhat uncomfortable. The glass door to the bathroom had a clear window with an artistic engraving that conficted with any idea of privacy. Otherwise, no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top