$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Melia Madrid Princesa

5 stars
C/ Princesa, 27, Madrid, 28008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
26 reviews
Fantastic Hotel

This hotel was amazing from the minute we arrived! The staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel... See full review

  • KerryB
  • Nov 29, 2014
We love this hotel

It is our second stay at this hotel. The first time we stayed here was two years ago. The hotel did... See full review

  • EuroPrincess
  • Jul 13, 2014
Madrid hotel offers royal service and a new level of luxury
The recently refurbished 5-star Melia Madrid Princesa features an exclusive personalized service, "The Level." which includes rooms with prime views, breakfast, an open bar and free business center use. Standard amenities include a gym, spa, indoor pool and Turkish bath, and a brand new restaurant and lounge, Uno, which serves modern Mediterranean cuisine and a snack menu. In addition, every guest room features views over the Spanish capital. The Melia Madrid Princesa is steps from Plaza de Espana and within walking distance of the Royal Palace.
Highlights
  • The recently refurbished 5-star Melia Madrid Princesa features chic guest rooms all with views over Madrid
  • Hotel located close to Gran Via, Plaza de Espana and the Royal Palace, and steps from public transportation
  • Exclusive "The Level" service features an excellent breakfast buffet, an open bar and free use of the business center
Rooms
The Melia Madrid Princesa features 274 guest rooms, with levels of accommodation ranging from deluxe rooms to luxurious presidential suites. Each of the bright, chic rooms features amenities such as air conditioning, a safe, pillow menu, and turndown service. Bathrooms include a hair dryer and a towel heater. The hotel's beautiful, spacious suites feature a separate living area, kitchen area, a whirlpool bath, and some have a private furnished terrace. High-speed Internet access is available (free in some rooms) and all rooms have stunning views overlooking the city.
Features
Located in the commercial center of Madrid, the Melia Madrid Princesa offers guests luxury services during their stay. Recently refurbished, the hotel offers 5-star amenities such as complimentary gym use, an indoor pool and Turkish bath, spa services and a business center. Guests of the grand premium rooms and suites enjoy services from the exclusive "The Level," open weekdays, which provides services including complimentary breakfast buffet, open bar and use of a private meeting room. The sophisticated new Uno restaurant and lounge features modern Mediterranean cuisine.
Transportation
  • Madrid Metro station (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Madrid bus service (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Barajas Airport (10 mi/16 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Plaza de Espana (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Temple of Debod (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Cable car (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Royal Palace (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Plaza Mayor (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Puerta del Sol (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Prado Museum (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
Business
  • More than 10 meeting rooms can hold up to 600 people
  • Rooms equipped with all the latest audio-video technologies
  • Internet access
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Madrid Princesa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Melia Madrid Princesa Rooms

DELUXE - GUEST_ROOM
Quiet and spacious rooms, all exterior with views over the city and completely refurbished in 2008. Approximately 25 m2.
Modern and stylish decoration, they provide a Dreamax king size bed or two twin beds (on request), an oversized desk and chair and a contemporary bathroom with a great range of facilities and equipment.
PREMIUM - GUEST_ROOM
Modern and very bright rooms, all exterior. Approximately 33 m2 and equipped with a complete multimedia equipment, including a TV LCD 32", stereo, CD/DVD and media hub. Bathrobes and coffee/tea facilities.
They provide one Dreamax king size bed or two twin beds (on request)
BUSINESS - B_AND_B
Our exclusive "The Level" Floor is located on the 12 floor oh the Hotel, providing magnificent panoramic views over the city. Also enjoy our "The Level" services and facilities (Breakfast included, Spa, Open Bar, VIP Lounge access).
Approximately 25 m2, they provide one Dreamax king size bed or two twin beds (on request).
In addition to the amenities already mentioned, this rate includes:
Private reception services
Early check-in and late check out (on request)
Nintendo Wii games console (on request)
Access to the private breakfast room
Free internet access in our Business Center
Access to the private Bar (11:00-23:00), with free drinks and canaps.
Pillow menu
Daily national and international press
Free ironing of one garment
GRAND - JR_SUITE
Magnificent rooms completely refurbished in 2008 and approximately 46 m2, they provide one Dreamax king size bed, an oversized desk and chair, and an spacious bathroom equipped with a jacuzzi from where you will can relax and enjoy the outstanding panoramic views over Madrid.
Also, they all include our exclusive "The Level" service (Breakfast included, Spa, open bar, VIP lounge access).

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Fuencarral: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.6 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.7 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.8 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.9 mi
  • Chamberi: 1 mi
  • Old Quarter: 1 mi
  • Cortes: 1.1 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1.4 mi
  • Atocha Station: 1.7 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 1.7 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 2.2 mi
  • Arganzuela: 2.4 mi
  • Tetuan: 2.5 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 2.5 mi
  • Fuencarral: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.6 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.7 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.8 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.9 mi
  • Chamberi: 1 mi
  • Old Quarter: 1 mi
  • Cortes: 1.1 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1.4 mi
  • Atocha Station: 1.7 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 1.7 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 2.2 mi
  • Arganzuela: 2.4 mi
  • Tetuan: 2.5 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 2.5 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 2.5 mi
  • Usera: 2.8 mi
  • Latina: 2.9 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 3.2 mi
  • Carabanchel: 3.4 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 3.5 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 3.6 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 3.6 mi
  • Moratalaz: 3.9 mi
  • Hortaleza: 5.5 mi
  • Villaverde: 5.6 mi
  • San Blas: 5.7 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 5.7 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 5.8 mi
  • Vallecas: 6 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 6.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Madrid Princesa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Madrid Princesa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Muksar
USA
Aug 13, 2011

Wonderful

Great location and staff was very friendly. We enjoyed our stayed in this hotel. Good size room and bathrooms were very clean. Good service. Very nice atmosphere. Excellent for the price. If go again to Madrid, will definitely stay in this hotel. Loved it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Madrid Princesa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KerryB
Business
Scotland
Nov 29, 2014

Fantastic Hotel

This hotel was amazing from the minute we arrived! The staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel is stunning and very modern! The rooms are beautiful and have everything you could need during your stay! Would definitely go back to this hotel or any other Melia hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great attractions, shops and restaurants within a short walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Madrid Princesa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the travelers 2013
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 15, 2014

Nice stay, modern room and bathroom but wake up call went terribly wrong!

We wanted to stay in Melia hotels throughout our honeymoon as their accommodations are always very nice, they have more modern rooms than most other European hotels. The bathroom was wonderful and there was plenty of hot water for the tub and showers. Was very pleased to see that they also had conditioner available to guests in the room as well which most hotels in Europe do not provide. We selected a queen/king room however that consisted of two twin beds pushed together which was not ideal for a honeymoon. We found the Melia in Seville did the same. Unfortunately my husband and I both lost our cell phones so we called the front desk the night prior to leaving for a wake up call the next morning as we had a train to catch and couldn't use the alarms on our phones. There is not an alarm clock for use in the hotel room, so it was imperative that we got the call so we wouldn't miss the train. They never called our room to wake us up and we ended up losing over $200 Euros for our original train tickets and for the new ones we had to buy again the next day. We called the front desk to find out what happened and why they never set the wake up call and they said they would look into it but never followed up with us. Also, the staff, although nice, had difficulty making restaurant recommendations and didn't seem to know much about any food options in the city with the exception of one - two restaurants - one of which was closed ... use a travel website or restaurant guide for Madrid instead if you want any restaurant recommendations. I am still saying that I would recommend Melia because of their room size, modern features, nice bathroom, breakfast buffet and other hotel accommodations that are difficult to find in Europe. However, I am sad that we ended up losing so much money because they didn't set our wake up call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The metro stop is just a minute away making it convenient to get around Madrid.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Madrid Princesa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EuroPrincess
Business
Michigan
Jul 13, 2014

We love this hotel

It is our second stay at this hotel. The first time we stayed here was two years ago. The hotel did not change at all. Everything is great. Very clean, comfortable bed, nice staff , great location. We really enjoyed our stay in Madrid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a very good Peruvian restaurant (called LUPITA) where Gran Via begins. Just a short walk from the hotel. They have the best barbecued chicken with French fries, chicken soup with lime and cilantro and of course if you like ceviche, amongst other things. For desert you must try their alfajores ( cookies with dulce de leche) or their leche asada ( like a flan but better).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Madrid Princesa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
adhyas00
Business
fremont, ca
Mar 31, 2014

Great location and good for price

Take the room with view. We had 1021 and had great views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Madrid Princesa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
formula1
Business
Ireland
Sep 3, 2013

Not a 5 star

Thought the location was average and the room size not fitting for a 5 star,the corridors were more attractive than the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Madrid Princesa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sailor Ted
Business
Silver Spring, MD, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Weekend away

This weekend away was a birthday treat for my wife. We found the room to be modern, clean, extremely well appointed if a little on the small side. The removal of an item or two of unnecessary furniture would go a long way to free up some space though. The bar and restaurant were of very high standards. The food was excellent and fairly priced. The cocktails at the bar were skillfully made using fine ingredients from scratch but a little on the pricey side. The staff at the front desk and lobby were courteous, friendly and very helpful at all times. The location of the hotel in old Madrid could not be better. Everything that is a tourist must see plus bars and restaurants are located within easy walking distance. Overall, the hotel is excellent, Madrid is excellent. You should go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Madrid Princesa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Popoli
Business
Miami,florida
Jan 10, 2012

great Christmas vacations

I will recomend this hotel . Hotel staff extremely friendly. Room a little be small but nice. Breakfast very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

corte ingles princesa is the one with more variety on mechandise

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Madrid Princesa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Time Madrileno
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Dec 7, 2011

Try Another Place

My room was beautiful, but not at all functional. No wash cloths - apparently the hotel staff had never heard of them... a smoke detector right over the bed that had red flashing lights "to show you that it was working" according to the staff... very cute bowl-shaped sinks in the bathroom - that I couldn't quite use because my hands are too big to fit under the faucets. I'll try another place next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Calle Galileo for Tapas bars with an "outer borough" feel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Madrid Princesa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KEJAR
Business
Scotland
Nov 28, 2011

Central Madrid

Good quality 4 star hotel. Good location within walking distance to central Madrid area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Madrid Princesa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Muksar
Business
USA
Aug 13, 2011

Wonderful

Great location and staff was very friendly. We enjoyed our stayed in this hotel. Good size room and bathrooms were very clean. Good service. Very nice atmosphere. Excellent for the price. If go again to Madrid, will definitely stay in this hotel. Loved it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top