$73 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

Intur Palacio San Martin

4 stars
Plaza De San Martin 5, Madrid, 28013
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
45 reviews
Nice Location

Good hotel, nice room, nice amenities, big flat tv. Difficult to find See full review

  • Lokillo
  • Jun 8, 2013
Great central location

Very clean hotel, centrally located and ideal for exploring central Madrid. The breakfast was a... See full review

  • Black Bill
  • Apr 13, 2013
Hotel in former U.S. Embassy building gives guests the VIP treatment
Housed in the historic former U.S. Embassy building on a quiet plaza in the heart of Madrid, the Intur Palacio San Martin enjoys a fantastic location close to major attractions, shopping, dining and entertainment. The grand 19th-century building was restored into a 4-star hotel offering guests friendly service and well-appointed rooms. Hotel amenities include a restaurant serving Mediterranean cuisine, a relaxing indoor patio, bar, fitness facilities and sauna, a business center, and meeting rooms. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the premises.
Highlights
  • A 4-star hotel housed on a quiet city center plaza in 19th-century building lovingly restored to preserve original features
  • Comfortable rooms feature air conditioning and free Wi-Fi access
  • Hotel features a restaurant on the top floor with stunning views of the skyline of Madrid
Rooms
The 94 well-appointed rooms at the Intur Palacio San Martin are decorated in traditional style. All guest rooms are fully air-conditioned and feature TV with pay-per-view movies, a minibar, safe and 24-hour room service. The en suite bathrooms feature hair dryers. All rooms feature complimentary Wi-Fi access, and some rooms overlook the inner patio of the hotel.
Features
The Intur Palacio San Martin is located in the heart of Madrid on the quiet Plaza de San Martin, next to the Descalzas Reales convent, in a former U.S. Embassy. The historic building was restored into a 4-star hotel in 2001, and it offers comfortable accommodations and an excellent location from which to explore the Spanish capital. Many of the original features of the building, like its marble and dark wood decor and impressive ceilings, have been preserved. Amenities at the Intur Palacio San Martin include meeting rooms, a business center, concierge services, fitness facilities and sauna, laundry services, a bar, and an in-house Mediterranean restaurant. Free Wi-Fi access is available throughout the hotel.
Transportation
  • Madrid Metro service (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Madrid bus service (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Barajas Airport (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Monastery of Barefoot Royals outside hotel
  • Puerta del Sol (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Plaza Mayor (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Royal Palace (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Plaza de Espana (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Prado Museum (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms with capacity of 150 people
  • State-of-the-art audio-video equipment available
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel

Intur Palacio San Martin Rooms

Standard
Room with one double bed includes air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, laundry service, mini bar, pay-per-view movies, roomservice and safe in room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Intur Palacio San Martin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.4185 -3.707
Area served
Madrid.
Nearby airports
Barajas International airport 30km.
Area description
Intur Palacio de San Martin hotel is located in the center of madrid next to the Convento de las descalzas reales, in the plaza de san Martin , a few meters from the plaza Mayor ,Plaza Mayor, Palacio Real and the Teatro de la opera and Puerta del sol.

Nearby points of interest

  • Descalzas Reales: 0 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.3 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.4 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.4 mi
  • Cortes: 0.4 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.6 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 0.8 mi
  • Fuencarral: 0.9 mi
  • Atocha Station: 1 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.2 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.7 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.9 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 2.1 mi
  • Usera: 2.2 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.3 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.4 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.4 mi
  • Cortes: 0.4 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.6 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 0.8 mi
  • Fuencarral: 0.9 mi
  • Atocha Station: 1 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.2 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.7 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.9 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 2.1 mi
  • Usera: 2.2 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2.5 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 2.6 mi
  • Latina: 2.6 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 2.9 mi
  • Tetuan: 3 mi
  • Carabanchel: 3.1 mi
  • Moratalaz: 3.3 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 3.7 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 3.7 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 3.9 mi
  • Villaverde: 4.9 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 5.1 mi
  • San Blas: 5.3 mi
  • Vallecas: 5.3 mi
  • Hortaleza: 5.6 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 5.7 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 7.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The hotel has the "Antigua Embajada" restaurant, located in the sixth floor of the hotel and with unbeatable views of Madrid you will taste exquisitely prepared national & international cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for Intur Palacio San Martin

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Intur Palacio San Martin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Black Bill
Scottish Borders
Apr 13, 2013

Great central location

Very clean hotel, centrally located and ideal for exploring central Madrid. The breakfast was a little expensive at almost 15euros. However it was very good and with the room rate being low overall it was good value. Prices were not displayed anywhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Intur Palacio San Martin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lokillo
San Sebastian
Jun 8, 2013

Nice Location

Good hotel, nice room, nice amenities, big flat tv. Difficult to find

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Intur Palacio San Martin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Black Bill
Scottish Borders
Apr 13, 2013

Great central location

Very clean hotel, centrally located and ideal for exploring central Madrid. The breakfast was a little expensive at almost 15euros. However it was very good and with the room rate being low overall it was good value. Prices were not displayed anywhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Intur Palacio San Martin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mt. Prospect
Aug 11, 2011

Intur Palacio San Martin great location

This hotel is right off the metro station and is close to Plaza Mayor. Easy walk to the Palace and Cathedral. We would recommend this hotel. But if you need to use the iron be prepared to spend a lot of money. You must use their room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Intur Palacio San Martin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mt. Prospect
Aug 11, 2011

Intur Palacio San Martin great location

This hotel is right off the metro station and is close to Plaza Mayor. Easy walk to the Palace and Cathedral. We would recommend this hotel. But if you need to use the iron be prepared to spend a lot of money. You must use their room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Intur Palacio San Martin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lillly
Wisconsin USA
Jul 19, 2011

One of the best hotels

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel during the last night of our recent Europe trip, during which we had stayed at altogether 5 hotels in 4 cities. We rank this hotel the best in terms of everything: price, service, hotel facilities, the location, and etc. We will definitely recommend it to our friends. And if we will return to Madrid for another visit, we will surely stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Intur Palacio San Martin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, Canada.
Nov 9, 2010

Lovely hotel in great location

Loved the hotel and its location, but found Madrid difficult to find our way around. One hotel we stayed at gave us a walking tour from the hotel showing us the best way to see the nearby sites and the best restaurants, bars etc. This would have been helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The undercover market - can't remember its name but it was close to the Plaza Mayor. Fabulous for Tapas.

Review of Intur Palacio San Martin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, Canada.
Nov 9, 2010

Lovely hotel in great location

Loved the hotel and its location, but found Madrid difficult to find our way around. One hotel we stayed at gave us a walking tour from the hotel showing us the best way to see the nearby sites and the best restaurants, bars etc. This would have been helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The undercover market - can't remember its name but it was close to the Plaza Mayor. Fabulous for Tapas.

Review of Intur Palacio San Martin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom-in-charge
Milwaukee, WI
Nov 3, 2010

Good location but somewhat hard to find

After walking around the area, we found ourselves in unfamiliar surroundings. Stopped to ask several people including police officers how to get back to the hotel. They supposedly had no idea what we were talking about. Finally, we got directions to get back to the hotel after wandering for over an hour. I would suggest asking at the hotel for a map of the area before venturing out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be careful of the cab drivers. We were told it would cost about $30 from the airport and the cab driver charged us $50. When I tried to say that amount was not what was shown on the meter, my traveling companion just paid the bill and we exited the taxi. Not the way I wanted to start my trip to Spain, but after an all night flight didn't want to argue about it.

Review of Intur Palacio San Martin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom-in-charge
Milwaukee, WI
Nov 3, 2010

Good location but somewhat hard to find

After walking around the area, we found ourselves in unfamiliar surroundings. Stopped to ask several people including police officers how to get back to the hotel. They supposedly had no idea what we were talking about. Finally, we got directions to get back to the hotel after wandering for over an hour. I would suggest asking at the hotel for a map of the area before venturing out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be careful of the cab drivers. We were told it would cost about $30 from the airport and the cab driver charged us $50. When I tried to say that amount was not what was shown on the meter, my traveling companion just paid the bill and we exited the taxi. Not the way I wanted to start my trip to Spain, but after an all night flight didn't want to argue about it.

Review of Intur Palacio San Martin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aly with a Y
London, UK
Jul 6, 2010

Great hotel

I stayed at the Intur San Martin for a weekend with friends. Its location is unparalleled! Minutes walk from the Gran Via and Plaza Major, it's also off any main streets, so noise is at a minimum. Rooms are very spacious with high ceilings. Housekeeping put my neatness to shame. Breakfast is quaint on their 6th floor. Downside, as with everyone in Spain, if you don't speak their language, you will struggle a bit to get what you want. I would definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top