$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Hotel Wellington

5 stars
Velazquez n 8, Madrid, 28001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
23 reviews
Fabulous romantic break

Fantastic experience nothing was too much trouble for the staff in all areas of the hotel. We were... See full review

  • Raymo
  • Mar 14, 2014
Excellent

I love it!! It's my favorite in Madrid. This is the 3rd time in this hotel and I think it is great!... See full review

  • Adriana1234
  • Apr 1, 2013
Luxury hotel with Michelin-rated restaurant in exclusive Salamanca area
Hotel Wellington is a deluxe 5-star hotel in the exclusive Salamanca neighborhood of Madrid. Close to Buen Retiro park and upscale shopping, the hotel offers guests a perfect getaway from the busy city center. The magnificent building houses 260 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, and the amenities include an outdoor pool and Jacuzzi, exclusive health club, salon services, business center and meeting rooms. The hotel also has a number of bars and restaurants including the Michelin-rated Kabuki Wellington sushi bar.
Highlights
  • Luxury 5-star hotel in Madrid's affluent neighborhood of Salamanca
  • Three fine-dining restaurants and two cozy bars, including the Michelin-starred sushi restaurant Kabuki Wellington
  • Deluxe services include outdoor pool and Jacuzzi, and exclusive health club
Rooms
The 260 sumptuously decorated rooms at the Hotel Wellington provide guests with every comfort. Crisp tailored linen bedding and pillow menus in every room ensure a good night sleep. Other amenities include a minibar, safety box, Wi-Fi access (fee applies) and marble bathrooms. Some suites come with a balcony and feature a living room, Molton Brown personal products, welcome chocolates, and iPod base with speakers.
Features
The Hotel Wellington is housed in an impressive traditional-style building in the exclusive Madrid neighborhood of Salamanca. Close to Buen Retiro Park, upscale boutiques and antique shopping, the hotel features marble floors, sumptuous textiles and art-adorned walls. Deluxe amenities include a business center, outdoor terrace dining, an exclusive health club, a beautiful outdoor pool and Jacuzzi, hair salon and laundry services.
Dining
The Hotel Wellington offers guests the best in fine dining, with three restaurants, two bars and outdoor terrace dining. The chic Kabuki Wellington is the exceptional, Michelin-starred sushi restaurant that also offers an extensive wine list. Goizeko Wellington serves modern Basque cuisine with an emphasis on seasonal produce. For guests looking for a more casual dinner, La Llave de Oro offers dining throughout the day in a laid-back atmosphere. The English bar and piano bar are both perfect places to relax with a post-dinner drink before retiring for the evening.
Transportation
  • Madrid bus service outside hotel
  • Madrid Metro subway service (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Barajas Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Buen Retiro Park (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • National Archaeology Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Thyssen-Bornamisza Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Prado Museum (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Royal Botanic Garden (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Puerta del Sol (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Centro de Arte Reina Sofia (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • Twelve event rooms with a capacity of up to 240 delegates
  • Videoconferencing capabilities
  • Simultaneous translations service
  • Public-address system
  • Business center
  • Wi-Fi access

Hotel Map

40.4222 -3.6844
Area served
Madrid.
Nearby airports
Madrid Barajas International Airport (MAD)
Area description
Hotel Wellington is located at Velazquez, in the stately Salamanca Neighborhood, known for its elegance. Just walking through its streets to admire the buildings that represent the best Spanish architecture of the last adds value to your stay.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Wellington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Wellington Rooms

Senior Suite The Wellington Club
Senior Suite double bed with lounge.60 Sqm. Access to The Wellington Club. Buffet breakfast included . Ironing of one clothes tem per stay. Courtesy of Artisan Bakery.Base for I-pod/I-phone. Room renovated with exclusive decoration combining original features and contemporary design of unique pieces made in carefully selected materials. Free WIFI connection. Toiletries of prestigious Molton Brown. Marble bathroom, bathrobe and slippers, linen sheets, minibar, safety box, interactive LCD Tv 32", la carte pillows, daily turndown and shoe cleaning service.
Junior Suite The Wellington Club
Junior Suite double or twin bed. Room and lounge area ( separate spaces or not) measuring 40 Sqm. Access to The Wellington Club .Interior design of classic style, elegant and cozy. Rooms equipped with the latest technologies. Buffet breakfast included. Ironing of one clothes tem per stay. Courtesy of artisan bakery. Base for I-pod/I-phone. Free WIFI connection. Toiletries of prestigious brand Molton Brown. Marble bathroom, bathrobe and slippers, linen sheets, minibar, safety box, interactive LCD Tv 32", la carte pillows, daily turndown and shoe cleaning service.
Superior Penthouse The Wellington Club
Superior Penthouse room. 25sqm. Access to The Wellington Club. Private terrace. Buffet breakfast included. Ironing of 1 clothes item per stay. Courtesy of Artisan Bakery.Base for I-pod/I-phone. Free WIFI connection. Toiletries of prestigious brand Molton Brown.Room renovated with exclusive decoration combining original features and contemporary design of unique pieces made in carefully selected materials. Marble bathroom, bathrobe and slippers, linen sheets, minibar, safety box, interactive LCD Tv 32", la carte pillows, daily turndown and shoe cleaning service.
Junior Suite Penthouse The Wellington Club
Junior Suite Penthouse double bed. Private terrace with views. Room and lounge area ( separate spaces or not) measuring 40 Sqm. Access to The Wellington Club. Buffet breakfast included. Ironing of one clothes item per stay. Courtesy of artisan bakery. Base for I-pod/I-phone. Renovated rooms with exclusive decoration combining original features and contemporary design of unique pieces made in carefully selected materials. Free WIFI connection. Toiletries of prestigious brand Molton Brown. Marble bathroom, bathrobe and slippers, linen sheets, minibar, safety box, interactive LCD Tv 32", la carte pillows, daily turndown and shoe cleaning service
Standar Executive
Standard Room double bed. 30 Sqm. Classic style decoration. Free WIFI connection. Marble bathroom, bathrobe and slippers, linen sheets, minibar, safety box, interactive LCD Tv 32", la carte pillows, daily turndown and shoe cleaning service. Rooms overlooking street or pool courtyard
Superior Executive The Wellington Club
Superior double bed. 30sqm. Access to The Wellington Club. Buffet breakfast included. Ironing of one clothes item per stay. Courtesy of Artisan Bakery.Base for I-pod/I-phone. Free WIFI connection. Toiletries of prestigious brand Molton Brown.Room renovated with exclusive decoration combining original features and contemporary design of unique pieces made in carefully selected materials. Marble bathroom, bathrobe and slippers, linen sheets, minibar, safety box, interactive LCD Tv 32", la carte pillows, daily turndown and shoe cleaning service. Rooms overlooking street or pool courtyard
Superior
Superior double or twin beds. 25sqm. Courtesy of Artisan Bakery.Base for I-pod/I-phone with charger. Free WIFI connection. Room renovated with exclusive decoration combining original features and contemporary design of unique pieces made in carefully selected materials. Marble bathroom, bathrobe and slippers, linen sheets, minibar, safety box, interactive LCD Tv 32", la carte pillows, daily turndown and shoe cleaning service. Rooms overlooking street or pool courtyard
Standard
Standard Room double or twin beds. 25 Sqm. Classic decoration. Free WIFI connection. Marble bathroom, bathrobe and slippers, linen sheets, minibar, safety box, interactive LCD Tv 32", la carte pillows, daily turndown and shoe cleaning service. Rooms overlooking street or pool courtyard

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Cortes: 0.8 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • Atocha Station: 1 mi
  • Chamberi: 1 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 1.2 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1.2 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.4 mi
  • Plaza de España: 1.4 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 1.5 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 1.5 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 1.7 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1.8 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 1.8 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2 mi
  • Arganzuela: 2.2 mi
  • Cortes: 0.8 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • Atocha Station: 1 mi
  • Chamberi: 1 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 1.2 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1.2 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.4 mi
  • Plaza de España: 1.4 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 1.5 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 1.5 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 1.7 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1.8 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 1.8 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2 mi
  • Arganzuela: 2.2 mi
  • Moratalaz: 2.3 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 2.5 mi
  • Usera: 2.7 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 2.7 mi
  • Tetuan: 2.8 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 2.9 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 3.4 mi
  • Latina: 3.7 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 3.8 mi
  • Carabanchel: 4.1 mi
  • San Blas: 4.1 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 4.4 mi
  • Vallecas: 4.5 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 4.6 mi
  • Hortaleza: 4.6 mi
  • Villaverde: 5.3 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 6.7 mi

Dining

Goizeko Wellington
Goizeko is the result of the union between the culinary interest of Jesus Santos and Chef David Marcano, a graduate of a Superior Spanish Culinary School with a degree in Tourism and who has worked with Juan Mari Arzak. Innovative and seasonal Basque haute cuisine. Valet parking, private salon for up to 40 guests, credit cards accepted. Monday-Saturday: 13:30 to 16:00 and 20:30-24:00. Closed Sundays.
Kabuki Wellington
Decorated in the minimalist style of the latest trends, Kabuki offers the best sushi in Madrid, known for its fresh fish and quality preparation. Offering a variety of specialties elaborated by Ricado Sanz; with 'sashimi de toro' standing out as a favourite. Also offers a broad selection of wines.
La Llave de oro
A casual-dining restaurant with a pleasant atmosphere, La Llave de Oro serves breakfast, daily lunch specials and a small dinner menu of hand selected dishes as well as a large selection of sandwiches. Monday-Sunday: 8:00- 24:00.
English Bar
With its select British atmosphere, this Wellington bar is the perfect place to start your night with an appetizer or finish it with the last drink of the night. Monday-Sunday: 11:00am-01:00am
Hall
The Hotel Wellington lounge is an exceptional place, where our guests take pleasure in listening to the soft notes of piano music every night from 8pm on while enjoying our tapas and tostas. Likewise, the Salon Consejos, with its large windows that fill the area with natural daylight, offers an intimate corner where our guests can enjoy a good book or pleasant conversation. Monday-Sunday: 08:00 am - 01:00 am
Dining
Hotel Wellington offers a wide selection of gastronomy. Our Guests enjoy a careful 24-hour room service as well as a complete breakfast buffet available every morning from 7 to 11. Hotel Wellington is proud to one of the few places where every variety of bread, as well as cakes and pasties, are homemade everyday within the Hotel. It is a simple detail that is enjoyed by all of our guests and set Hotel Wellington apart from rest. Hotel gastronomic selection has converted us into a bastion within Madrid's restaurant industry, where our guest can choose between the seasonal, avant -grade Basque cuisine of Goizeko Wellington and the fashionable Japanese Cuisine of Kabuki Wellington.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Your event will always be accompanied by professional hotel staff in order to guarantee your complete satisfaction. MEETINGS Hotel Wellington has two event rooms on the ground floor, one with capacity for 240 and the other with capacity for 130 people. One the first floor we have 8 smaller rooms for meetings and events. Each room has natural light and High-Speed wireless internet (Wi-Fi) in order to allow ease of mobility within our establishment. As a complement to your event, coffee and appetizers will be served to your guests in the recently inaugurated lounge designed and decorated by the Portuguese interior designer, Duarte Pinto Coelho.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Wellington

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Wellington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adriana1234
Colombia
Apr 1, 2013

Excellent

I love it!! It's my favorite in Madrid. This is the 3rd time in this hotel and I think it is great! We all end very pleased. Great Night Club just steps away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Wellington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Raymo
Sheffield
Mar 14, 2014

Fabulous romantic break

Fantastic experience nothing was too much trouble for the staff in all areas of the hotel. We were given access to the Wellington Club the food and drinks on offer here were of a very good standard and staff were extremely attentive.However it was the stunning views from the 7th floor terrace that really made this club special. Thank you for a wonderful break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Sorollla Museum

Review of Hotel Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alex55
london
Sep 25, 2013

our stay in madrid

excellent hotel with great location, close proximity to tourist attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C world traveler
Aarizona
Jan 20, 2013

Wonderful hotel experience

Wonderful accommodations, extreme ly friendly and helpfully desk staff, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Wellington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Resosa
Business
Miami, FL, EEUU
Nov 26, 2012

Best location but....

I go to Madrid very often but this time i just try a different hotel...big mistake,i do not mine old hotel but totaly refurbished,this is not the case,bathroom are too old...70s style,furnitures alre old but not new...,it does not feel clean...air acon does not work becaude is winter...staff is very nice (old but nice),location is the best...i hope a big chain would buy this hotel in order to get what I like " A nice old refurbished hotel " I will not comeback until it happens...good luck

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

you can eat in Madrid in any place and is good but there are ecxellent restaunranta aroun the Hotel like the Alcalde,Catellon 9..etc

Review of Hotel Wellington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Juan, PR
Apr 9, 2012

Consistency

We have visited before and the hotel remains one of Madrid's consistently great Hotels, with great location and very good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The nieghborhood has some of the best boutiques and small stores in Madrid

Review of Hotel Wellington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, Florida
Sep 18, 2011

It has been a very good Hotel and it continued the same

This is aour fourth time in this hotel and we do not have complains, except when we got a smoll room, this last time we gor a very good room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Wellington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charlene
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Sep 1, 2011

Relaxing Madrid home away from home.

We stayed at the Wellington on our last two days of a three week tour of Spain. We absolutely loved this hotel and it proved to be our favourite out of eight hotels we stayed in throughout the country. It has old world class, the facilities were top knotch and it made our second and last stopover to Madrid special. We had stayed at another hotel for four nights earlier in August but wish now that we had spent that time in this hotel. Food was superb, staff attentive and helpful. The pool is a good size for laps and in a private setting with a lovely place to have meals beside it. The next time we are in Madrid this is definitely the hotel we will stay at. Walking distance to the Prado and shopping also were a plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Best location for visiting the big three art museums plus you are a block from the lovely Retiro park.

Review of Hotel Wellington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
"Love to Travel"
Washington DC
Aug 6, 2011

Great location - Great Hotel

Convenient to Retiro park. A great place for kids to play. Has a beautiful outdoor pool. Staff is friendly and helpful. Convenient to the three great art museums, i.e. within walking distance. For nightlife and top restaurants you will have to go by cab. The beds were especially nice and the standard rooms were spacious with large baths. I did not like the fact that certain attractions were free for "seniors" if you were from the EU. I do not think it is fair to discriminate like that. Maybe we should charge for non-US citizens who want to visit our national monuments and museums?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The double-decker tourist bus stops right in front of the hotel and is worth a ride. You can see most of the city and get on and off at your convenience. It is a great way to enjoy the city.

Review of Hotel Wellington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami
Jun 2, 2011

NICE HOTEL

NICE HOTEL. CLEAN, WELL DECORATED. EXCELLENT LOCATION, WALKING DISTANCE FROM CALLE SERRANO (ST). (WHERE ALL HI END SHOPS ARE). BIG SPACIOUS BATHROOM. LINEN SHEETS... DELIGHTFUL! I STRONGLY RECOMMEND IT IF YOU GET A CHEAP RATE, ITS AN OK 5 STAR HOTEL, NOT THE BEST ONE IF BEEN IN. BUT VERY GOOD ENOUGH!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

CALLE SERRANO

Back to menu Return to top

Change search